Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 7, 2022
    100
    The Stanly Parable may seem so simple and straightforward at the first glance, but every time you beat the game and start over from Stanly’s office, things can change so drastically that you can’t even believe it, making The Stanly Parable a benchmark when it comes to story telling and how decision making affects gameplay.
  2. May 6, 2022
    100
    The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe is an essential gaming experience. It’s simultaneously a hilariously absurd adventure that can be enjoyed on its own merits and an insightful examination of storytelling in gaming. The acutely self-aware new content reframes the original game to give it refreshing new purpose alongside a cluster of new barbs aimed at the flaws in modern gaming. A must play.
  3. May 13, 2022
    93
    Insanely fun and clever walking simulator with fresh content that brings a new dimension to the original adventure and pushes the video game medium forward.
  4. Apr 29, 2022
    90
    The Stanley Parable Ultra Deluxe is a conversion, remake, update, sequel and denial of the original work. All together. A title that nine years ago changed the videogame landscape and that today returns not to complete its mission, but more to reflect on itself, on what it represented and on what it left to the industry. Some passages of the "New Content" are hallucinating and ingenious, and blend with the original content in a masterly way. In short, The Stanley Parable is one of those experiences that anyone should play at least once in their life.
  5. Apr 27, 2022
    90
    Visually it's definitely an improvement, although it's behind the curve by modern standards. It makes up for that by doubling the size of the game with all-new content, alterations to existing endings, and more that fans will adore. If you've played The Stanley Parable before, Ultra Deluxe gives you lots of reasons to revisit the experience. If this'll be your first time, well, lucky you. Once the element of surprise is gone, there's little reason to return — but while it lasts, this is easily among gaming's most unique and memorable journeys.
  6. May 15, 2022
    80
    It’s a pseudo-sequel in the guise of a console port with some nice new accessibility options that cannot stop riffing on the fact that the original game was pretty much already a masterpiece.
  7. May 3, 2022
    80
    Although it's short-lived, I had some good fun with The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe. Its sheer absurdity had me laughing out loud on a few occasions but I also wish there was more to it such as additional gameplay elements other than simply walking through doors.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 20, 2022
    In conclusion, The Stanley Parable: Ultra Deluxe is a game that can, and should, be played. [Polygon Recommends]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Apr 29, 2022
    10
    So glad I went into this game blind, without knowing anything beforehand. Definitely stop reading reviews and just play the game! Amazing experience!
  2. Apr 28, 2022
    10
    Great game. I had a smile on my face from start to finish. Its so hard to describe withut actually spoiling it. So if you like funny games,Great game. I had a smile on my face from start to finish. Its so hard to describe withut actually spoiling it. So if you like funny games, that dont take anything seriously and are joy to explore - just go in blindly. The best part of this game is exploring it and finding out all the weird stuff by yourself.
    For anybody who played the original, I will just say that Ultra Deluxe is worth purchasing. It is not some cheap remaster. But there is a lot of new content that just keeps going even when you thought you finished. The amount of content is approximatelly double of the original. Maybe even little bit more. So if you are afraid of getting old game with few new easter eggs, dont worry. This is so much more.
    Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2022
    10
    I am doney with the funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!