Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 70
    Which brings me back to that question: what is the point of Uncharted: Legacy of Thieves Collection, really? Sure, Lost Legacy is a wildly enjoyable adventure in classic Uncharted style, and even Uncharted 4, for all my complaints about it, is a game a lot of people clearly loved, and they'll love it again here. But when the only thing these "remasters" have over the PS4 originals that you can already play on PS5 are modest technical upgrades whose practical and aesthetic improvements are marginal at best, what purpose do they actually serve? When even someone who's never played either game before and is breaking in their brand new console and can get an identical experience for half the price by just buying the existing PS4 bundle, what is this Legacy of Thieves Collection other than a half-step in a pointless technical arms race and a chance to cynically sell some unnecessary version upgrades? We would all be served better if Sony focused on bringing us some of the incredible games that aren't readily available on the console already.
  2. Jan 26, 2022
    70
    The bundled games are undeniably great, their enhancements solid -- but nonetheless, these are old titles pulled off the shelf and given a fresh coat of varnish, and at an additional cost to those who've already purchased them at that.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 26, 2022
    Uncharted Legacy of Thieves Collection is a somewhat basic remaster with few improvements beyond 60 frames per second and 3D sound, but it is an opportunity to vindicate one of the greatest games of the last generation.
  2. Jan 26, 2022
    Given that these are single-player experiences first, it makes sense that there wouldn't be a focus on bringing in multiplayer.
  3. Jan 26, 2022
    I can't help but feel that Naughty Dog could have unlocked the frame-rate on the existing PS4 Pro code and delivered a locked 1440p60 experience - in the way that the studio's PS5 patch for The Last of Us Part 2 worked - and much of the audience would have been perfectly content with that. However, the $10 upgrade does give you multiple modes, enhanced visuals and far better loading. And as a collector of physical media, I'm happy that we now have a complete version of both of these games, fully patched up and enhanced - it's basically an archive version of Uncharted 4 and The Lost Legacy, which I greatly appreciate. It's not unlike buying a deluxe 4K UHD Blu-Ray movie of a film you had on normal BD. I really enjoyed returning to these games and look forward to seeing how these upgrades scale when the remastered collection hits PC some time in the future.
  4. Jan 26, 2022
    Both newcomers and longtime fans will find a lot to appreciate in Uncharted: Legacy of Thieves Collection, although they won’t find the original games’ serviceable multiplayer component (an omission I don’t mind one bit). This is the definitive way — at least until the PC release, which will presumably support 4K at 60 fps — to play a pair of beloved games that are two of the best at what they do. The package’s upgrades might seem perfunctory on paper, but as ever, the play’s the thing. [Polygon Recommends]
  5. Jan 26, 2022
    Long after Nathan Drake hung up his holster for the last time a half decade ago, Uncharted’s legacy still remains. This collection crams two genre-defining prestige hits together - the kind of linear AAA action games we rarely see today. Let’s hope for more treasure-hunting adventures to come.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 699 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 699
  1. Jan 29, 2022
    10
    The game looks absolutely stellar on PS5, and the 3D Audio really makes all the difference in realism- far more than I expected. It exceededThe game looks absolutely stellar on PS5, and the 3D Audio really makes all the difference in realism- far more than I expected. It exceeded my expectations. If you’ve never played, $49 is well worth it. I don’t completely agree with charging $10 for existing owners of both games, but at least there is an upgrade path. The storytelling and cinematic style are top notch. I know there’s a movie coming out, and honestly it’s a terribly idea simply because the game is better than any movie could possibly be. That’s the issue- it’s just too good. Naughty Dog crushed it with this one. Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2022
    0
    Not only is this game too expensive, it is a literal scam. The greedy developers are charging $50 for the exact same game that you could buyNot only is this game too expensive, it is a literal scam. The greedy developers are charging $50 for the exact same game that you could buy on PS4 for $20 (even cheaper for a used copy), and it is $30 in total after paying for the upgrade. This game is so worthless, I've seen it countless of times in a 4 for $10 sale on Gamestop. To make matters worse, the standalone versions of Uncharted 4 and Lost Legacy were delisted from the PS Store, in a pathetic attempt of scamming players to pay $50.

    If you already own Uncharted 4 or Lost Legacy, it costs $10 to upgrade. This game offers no new content or massive improvements to justify the $10 upgrade. The upgrades are just FPS and resolution boosts that most developers would give away for free. This outrageous greed makes Ubisoft look like saints in comparison. Ubisoft gives away their upgrades for free, while Naughty Dog charges $10 for upgrades of older games. Forget new content, the greedy developers are charging $10 to get less content. They removed the multiplayer and co-op, basically removing half of the game. The developers were too cheap and lazy to keep the multiplayer. Not even EA would be that cheap and lazy to remove multiplayer from their PS5 upgrades. The developers are so lazy, they couldn't even add ray-tracing. The physics are still trash in this game. When I shoot an enemy off a cliff, they still fall off like statues. I was hoping to get physics that look like the E3 demo of Uncharted 4, but the developers were too greedy and lazy for that. Even PS3 games like GTA 5 have better physics than this game. Imagine a PS3 open world game having better physics than a PS5 linear game. That is embarrassing.

    There is no multiplayer. So once you beat the story, there is not a reason to play this game again. Charging $50 for a game with no replay value is a cash grab. And the greedy developers had the audacity to cut out half of the game and still charge $50. This outrageous greed makes Activision look like saints in comparison. When Activision released Modern Warfare 2 remastered with no multiplayer, they were only asking for $20. Naughty Dog wants $50 for half of the game. Pathetic. I don't recommend you buy this garbage at all, even for the $10 upgrade that should be free. Do not support these greedy practices. Just wait for it to be free on PS Plus. "Legacy of Thieves" and "Naughty Dog", these developers really live up to their names.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 29, 2022
    0
    no offense to original game, uncharted 4 is a masterpiece, but just like with Ghost of Tsushima for PS5, this is a 10$ next-gen tax( in caseno offense to original game, uncharted 4 is a masterpiece, but just like with Ghost of Tsushima for PS5, this is a 10$ next-gen tax( in case if you already have uncharted 4 or lost legacy on your accont or on disk or even both games cool yeah?). In case if you have ps plus version, there is no 10$ upgrade for you, you have to pay full price for this patch, because this collection literally just a patch, with unlocked frame rate and dualsense features. Just a reminder that many developers give you a free ps5 upgrade, just look at doom eternal or metro exodus. Sony NEED TO STOP scamming their players with next-gen taxes. Full Review »