User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 103
  2. Negative: 16 out of 103
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    This game is being ridiculously underrated for reasons entirely separate from quality.
    It started with a hack gaming pundit who accused this game of supporting eugenics.
    Yes, Conception II: Children of The Seven Stars supports killing off the weak and the sick, and sterilizing mental degenerates. Chlotz is especially guilty in this regard, having a callous disregard for human life,
    This game is being ridiculously underrated for reasons entirely separate from quality.
    It started with a hack gaming pundit who accused this game of supporting eugenics.
    Yes, Conception II: Children of The Seven Stars supports killing off the weak and the sick,
    and sterilizing mental degenerates. Chlotz is especially guilty in this regard,
    having a callous disregard for human life, that is comparable to Stalin.
    They say satire is funniest when the people don't realize it's satire,
    but in this case it is tiresome. Accusing this game of any moral crime
    is like saying The Life of Brian is deeply offensive to Christians.
    It doesn't just objectify women, it objectifies absolutely everything,
    it objectifies the men, it objectifies the women, it objectifies the
    children, it even objectifies the monsters. That's What Makes It Funny!!!

    Most of the reviewers here appear to have gone, "This game has fanservice, automatic 6!"
    Fanservice?! In a dating sim?... Stop The Presses!!

    Well screw you, fanservice is awesome. If only it could have reached
    to the heights of OliOli.

    The story is ludicrous, you are a professional douche, on his way to
    the academy, you want to kill monsters, or get laid or something,
    within the first 3 and a half minutes they discover with machines that
    you have a massive overabundance of male sexual energy, which can only
    mean you have been sent by God, to have sexytime with pretty girls.
    By getting sexy with pretty girls, you can produce children, which
    you use as minions to fight for you in the dungeons. That's the
    PG version. The game is a lot less subtle. Everybody is perverted.
    Really perverted. If you liked Leisure Suit Larry you'll like this game.

    You've got Chlotz, who is just a douche, if Junpei and Yosuke had
    a baby, it would be Chlotz.

    This is actually starting to piss me off. There's absolutely nothing
    wrong with this game, it's fine. I'm starting to wonder exactly
    how many hidden gems have been buried by these reviewers over the
    years, never to be seen again.

    Do you know what I'm giving this? In my world this deserves an 8.5 or a 9,
    it's not perfect, it's just harmless fun, a guilty pleasure. But if you're
    going to give this a 5, with absolutely no regard for the quality of the game,
    whatsoever, just because of your personal agenda, then screw you I'm giving this a 10.

    There's problems... The waifus seem a bit empty and lifeless, they're kind of
    just waifus for the sake of waifus. Chie was the best Waifu, because she
    was such an amazing character.

    Incidentally, the Japanese reviews were generally positive.
    If you hate this game, you have no sense of humor.

    The gameplay is good. The battle system is neat. It's a really decent
    approximation of the Persona dungeons. They're all randomly generated,
    you run around killing monsters and leveling up on your way to kill bosses. The battle system is great, it's weird, they're doing their own thing, there's so many layers it's kind of difficult to even know what the hell is going on. They expect you to pour over those tutorials, because they're throwing systems at you by the dozen, at least at the start. But you don't really need to know what's going on to win, so whatever. The graphics are really nice. Also this game has the best porn music ever. As for the visual novel style story, I surrendered to visual novels long ago, and it no longer bothers me. I find it massively entertaining. Practically every scene has me on the verge of giggling crazily. It's just so damn stupid, it's wonderful. It's just about getting laid, everybody just wants to get laid, with monsters. Maybe they do something with the plot, I hope not, because this is hilarious. It even has 8 endings, one ending for each of the girls, and, heheh, the harem ending. Really the best way to describe this game is that it's a parody of the Persona games, but that's the point, they boiled Persona down to it's component parts, threw away all the good stuff, and kept the fat. Every time you play Persona, you're actually playing this game, on some level. That is why it's glorious. Keep in mind, I've only played this for about 4 hours, but so far I've enjoyed every minute. So I can't really give this game a fair hearing yet, my opinion might change, one way or the other. But I'm glad I bought this, it's pure stupid fun. ATLUS games aren't always well received, but even the bad games maintain a level of quality. This game is a love letter to ATLUS from Spike Chunsoft, the love letter says; "Screw you".
    Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    I just picked this up this week and am a couple hours in. I think if you try to take this game seriously you will come out disappointed. I tried to look up info for the game but it was scarce other than "make babies that fight with you". I'll be honest I wasn't super excited about the idea but seeing that Atlus was on it made go "welll ok". This is all to say I wasn't expecting it to beI just picked this up this week and am a couple hours in. I think if you try to take this game seriously you will come out disappointed. I tried to look up info for the game but it was scarce other than "make babies that fight with you". I'll be honest I wasn't super excited about the idea but seeing that Atlus was on it made go "welll ok". This is all to say I wasn't expecting it to be super serious and was pretty much ready for weirdness. Now that I'm actually playing it's quite fun. It's got a good mix of humor, the characters (while somewhat clichéd) are likeable, the voice acting has it's moments when its really good and bad. Gameplay wise they are trying something I've never seen before so it's interesting. It's a mix between Persona and FF Tactics...Kinda.

    TL;DR: If you do go for it, don't take it too seriously.
    Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    Now that I just beat the game, I'll give you a full personal review, rather than first impressions. To start off let's talk about the plot and story. I'm sure you already looked up the basic premise of the game so I won't bore you with the details. The game has a very straight-foward plot structure, and there isn't any complications or major twists of to note about throughout the entireNow that I just beat the game, I'll give you a full personal review, rather than first impressions. To start off let's talk about the plot and story. I'm sure you already looked up the basic premise of the game so I won't bore you with the details. The game has a very straight-foward plot structure, and there isn't any complications or major twists of to note about throughout the entire story. I guess this will turn some off, that this isn't a game that is deep like the Persona series, especially since it's coming from Atlus and Spike Chunsoft. The better story elements you'll find throughout the game, are within the individual character-arcs from the games main heroines. Though most of the girls you'll talk to are nothing more than anime tropes, I enjoyed them enough to them one of my favorite parts of the game. This mechanic where you socialize with the main girls is very similar to the social link mechanic in Persona 3 and 4, and this got me hooked and interested in what each heroine had to say, as it is mostly well written and voice acted.

    The gameplay aspect other than socializing with the main girls is your typical turn-based JRPG and the battle system is simple and easy learn. I really did enjoy it but it did get very repetitive as the later dungeons have enemies all across every room, essentially forcing you to grind alot to prepare for the next dungeon boss. However the biggest gripe I have with the combat is that it is extremely easy for most of the dungeons, except for the last two ones, which is very disappointing. This game would've benefited from a harder difficulty mode, especially since you are stuck with the default difficulty with no option to change it. With the casual and easiness of the game, it makes the very in-depth party building mechanic pretty much pointless, as there is not an incentive to make you build a better and more diverse party to fight with.

    The music is fantastic, it's similar again the Persona series with it's catchy Jpop and jrock songs played throughout the game. It's no Shoji Meguro work, but it's good enough to not make your ears bleed after hearing it several times. The graphics are very pretty to look at, due to the game's fantastic art direction. The anime style helps give this game a unique charm like the Persona series does and the animations and character models are pretty solid, so there is nothing to complain about from me. (sorry for referencing persona too much, but this game is often compared to it so why not still do it for the sake of ease.)

    Overall this game has alot of short comings, but for some reason, I still enjoyed every minute of it. I'm giving it an 8 out of 10. I know I'm being very liberal with the score, but this is out of my own personal enjoyment, and I recommend buying the game too since you're only spending 40 bucks for a pretty solid and lengthy handheld RPG.
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed it. Yes the dungeons are a bit bland, so was Persona 3 and 4 (2 of my fave games). The party building and combat on the other hand are awesome. the first 4 dungeons where pretty easy, after that you start having to use strategy. The girls are varied and fun to get to know. I do however feel a little let down by the endings for the girls, I feel with how flushed out they where,I enjoyed it. Yes the dungeons are a bit bland, so was Persona 3 and 4 (2 of my fave games). The party building and combat on the other hand are awesome. the first 4 dungeons where pretty easy, after that you start having to use strategy. The girls are varied and fun to get to know. I do however feel a little let down by the endings for the girls, I feel with how flushed out they where, they could have done more with them. Another thing, this game does a good job of knowing what its offering and knowing who its pandering to and isn't trying to hide it like Persona does.

    Remember its totally not sex... its a "Ritual", I might have to preform a "Ritual" tonight cause hot damn.
    Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2015
    6
    Conception II is a title published by Atlus and Spike Chunsoft. Generally this should be the formula for a good game. If you like dating sim dungeon crawlers then I would consider recommending this to someone who is new to the field.

    The good side to this game is that the frame rate is superb. They set this game to work well with the limitations of the hardware. The 2D sprite images
    Conception II is a title published by Atlus and Spike Chunsoft. Generally this should be the formula for a good game. If you like dating sim dungeon crawlers then I would consider recommending this to someone who is new to the field.

    The good side to this game is that the frame rate is superb. They set this game to work well with the limitations of the hardware. The 2D sprite images are visually appealing. There is a lot of diversity and customization options.

    The downside is that the games potential is held down by trying hard to have sex appeal. The concept is great and the dialogue is amusing at times but it suffers from atlus inability to think dual audio is good. The dating sim portion is actually enjoyable, so much so that the dungeons are almost a chore in progressing the story. Combat is in my opinion this games weakest part. Even after hours and hours of play i still fail to see main mechanics shine and it honestly begins to show later on when you have been doing the same thing for hours. Tie that into the fact there are several girls to level individually along with their star children, any new girls introduced or the ones you have neglected tend to become useless fast.

    All in all, get this game if its on sale during a psn flash or something. Its not a bad game by any means, but not worth its full price.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2014
    8
    While the game's not amazing, it's great light-hearted fun. The dungeons' designs get old fast and it is a little grindy, but the art direction and music are just awesome! The dating sim element is easy to jump into and keep rolling and the characters are good in their own right. You may dislike some at first, but once you get into the meat of their story you really will start to likeWhile the game's not amazing, it's great light-hearted fun. The dungeons' designs get old fast and it is a little grindy, but the art direction and music are just awesome! The dating sim element is easy to jump into and keep rolling and the characters are good in their own right. You may dislike some at first, but once you get into the meat of their story you really will start to like really them. One of the best things about the game is you can take it at absolutely your own pace. There's no calendar or time to think about. Even of you screw up a conversation you can just try again!

    However; the game does take itself too seriously, and the bosses are entirely too easy.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    - okayish visuals and design
    - nice voice acting
    - good waifu side stories
    - fun classmating mechanics
    - city improvements

    cons:
    - dull combat system
    - similar dungeons
    - the writing is average
    - banal story

    Overall, I had fun playing the game, but the labyrinths are way too repetitive. Still a solid JRPG for PS Vita.
  8. Apr 15, 2014
    8
    Same Review from my Amazon CA Review. This game is totally worth.....it niche for sure but for system that needs traction, it is one that delivers. Akiba Trip, Demon Gaze, and many of the games that we don't expect to hit western shores are showing up. If you one of the few that are into this type of game than it a 10 for you. The average person not going to feel comfortable about it andSame Review from my Amazon CA Review. This game is totally worth.....it niche for sure but for system that needs traction, it is one that delivers. Akiba Trip, Demon Gaze, and many of the games that we don't expect to hit western shores are showing up. If you one of the few that are into this type of game than it a 10 for you. The average person not going to feel comfortable about it and will probably give it an average score.

    I can see the child making aspect being a turn off to some people and the fan service may seem uncomfortable.

    Past that the gameplay is simple while having enough variety to be entertaining. The story is decent but the comedy is stellar. It entertaining to keep going for an hour or so a day.

    I liked the English dubs, would prefer having Japanese voice to switch every now and then. Many did not like the voice acting.....tbh most Jdub games aren't always great because it hard to voice Japanese influences and traditions.

    There a problem of overleveling...it could get stale because the game is not timed....you can do whatever you want in your pace. I liked that I am not stressed out on time like the Atelier games.

    Obvious here I have to manage my time with the ladies and the levels before proceeding to the story....so that game does not get too easy.

    For me it a new concept....never got to experience such quirky Japanese games because they don't usually release these type of games here. It a breath of fresh air....don't listen to the average scores this might get. Give it a chance.

    This is probably the best JRPG of 2014 for Vita so far. Worth the full price...for the others on the fence I would wait a bit if you aren't interested in the limited first run edition. Still worth it to have in your collection.
    Expand
  9. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    This game is a lot of fun! If you enjoy SMT and persona games it is for you. It's part dating sim and part dungeon crawl rpg. Its turn based combat is great and new.

    Story is also fun and the characters are adorable as heck. This isn't a game for everyone however, if you don't like RPG's or persona games don't bother getting this game you won't enjoy it at all.
  10. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    Screw the detractors of this game, I'm getting tired of the lack of professionalism in the medium, if you like dungeon crawlers with dating sim elements ala persona, then this game won't let you down.
  11. Apr 15, 2014
    5
    Being a huge fan of the Persona series, you'd think this game would have been right in my wheelhouse. And while I will give props to an interesting risk/reward combat system that reminds me of shades of FF Tactics with the 'facing sides', its specifically targeted and overly racy content makes it difficult to even sit through the character interaction. In a dialogue-reliant RPG like this,Being a huge fan of the Persona series, you'd think this game would have been right in my wheelhouse. And while I will give props to an interesting risk/reward combat system that reminds me of shades of FF Tactics with the 'facing sides', its specifically targeted and overly racy content makes it difficult to even sit through the character interaction. In a dialogue-reliant RPG like this, it thus quickly becomes its overwhelming 'problem'.

    While the Persona Team writers are quite good at presenting characters that, while generally presenting a pretty 'usual' anime personality, have a surprising and enjoyable amount of character depth and development, Spike Chunsoft gets halfway up to the standard and roots itself with boring, creepy, and off-putting stereotypes that serve to remind me why I don't watch most anime. There's no question why every cutscene employs exaggerated breast physics and why the only 3D models in the game outside battle are the protagonist and the women: they know their genre's general market quite well and play a full house of features around it.

    Persona oft gets labeled an RPG/dating sim mixture by its dialog system and the importance of people you know actually liking you, and Conception II treads in similar territory, but the usage makes all the difference. Almost the entire point of Con II's dialogue is courting your female classmates, which, while dumb, might be tolerable if the choices made sense. Normal, polite human conversation seems to upset every potential heroine, and someone needs to tell me how responding to "I'm [name], nice to meet you" with "I'm [myname], hello" is making them angry. And for God's sake, why is there a function called "Touch Communication" (paraphrased from the games own manual, "Listen to what the heroine says and touch or rub the heroine as requested")???
    Persona's pretty friggin' anime at times, but at least its characters and dialogue options are presented as actual human beings. Oh, and the dialogue is helping people and solving problems, NOT HITTING ON THEM FOR BABIES.
    I'll refrain from touching on 'Classmating'. It's dumb magical anime baby-making with high school ladies. Go read about it if you actually want to know.

    Ultimately I turned the game off a couple hours in from frustration. I'll likely not explore it any further.

    Now this game has an audience, for sure. If you enjoy wooing the stereotype anime ladies, and don't mind a pretty decent combat system for an intermission, go for it, it's not my place to shame you. Ultimately I guess I have to ask myself what exactly I expected from a game called Conception II. Well, from a game with Atlus USA backing? Something that actually treats me like a mature adult.
    Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2014
    6
    Trying to think of a way to phrase my thoughts on this game, but am having quite a difficult time, mostly because the game was about as enthralling as watching paint dry, and my overall time playing it was spent thinking about not playing it. While I can't fault it for being a terrible game, it worked at the very least and managed to flaunt some amount of originality that wasn't blatantlyTrying to think of a way to phrase my thoughts on this game, but am having quite a difficult time, mostly because the game was about as enthralling as watching paint dry, and my overall time playing it was spent thinking about not playing it. While I can't fault it for being a terrible game, it worked at the very least and managed to flaunt some amount of originality that wasn't blatantly ripped from a Persona game, I can certainly say it was extremely dull, the characters were 1 dimensional knock offs of pretty much every female character you'll ever see in an anime; the busty girl with no self confidence, the rambunctious small girl who looks like she's about 12, etc. All that wouldn't be so bad if the side attraction of the game was trying to woo these cheap right hand replacements...which of course you obviously do, with a name like 'conception', a dead give away. It's not all bad though, after successfully seducing your card board cut outs, you can proceed to the 'classmating' section of the game, in which you initiate in an awkward totally not sex, but completely sexual mating ritual to make a 'star child', which is kind of like a Pokémon, but without all the love-ability, you take it into randomly generated dungeons, and pit them against monsters until they die, or you die of boredom. Surprisingly the dating sim and child making was the only really fun part of the game, in the same way smashing pots to earn rupees in the legend Of Zelda series would be if those games were at all rubbish. That said one cannot call the act of making children not fun in any sense of the word and still call himself a man, so there's that. That said the discussions you had with the girls int he dating sim side were heavily limited and repeated after a while, which became laughable after a while when the same girl would always act surprised when I guessed her bashing two rocks together was her attempt at making a golem when she'd done the exact same thing the day before. The voice acting is terrible, though you kind of have to expect that these days, but with no option to change to Japanese voices, I found myself muting the game most of the time, which greatly takes away from the experience. The absolute worst part of this game though is the story, it has a pretty basic concept; there are 7 dusk circles, cleverly named after the 7 sins (harharhar), your job is to go in and eradicate the duck spawners and save the world I imagine? Pretty standard stuff, but they try to expand upon it, with some half-assed story, driven by boring and uninspiring characters that made me want to throw up. So that's the game in a nutshell, a dull dungeon crawler, with 1 dimensional characters, awkward NOT sex scenes with a barely adequate dating sim, a pathetic excuse for a story and the ability to give birth to your own child slave army. A game that truly revels in its own mediocrity, if anything the score I've given it is a kindness Expand
  13. Apr 16, 2014
    4
    Spike Chunsoft and Atlus have been real winners for me in the past, having been involved in my #2 and #1 favorite games respectively. It's too bad then that such breeding grounds for talent produced such a mediocre game. While the art direction is solid, the dungeon crawling is boring and uninspired. The only saving grace would be the classmating system, a dating sim clearly trying toSpike Chunsoft and Atlus have been real winners for me in the past, having been involved in my #2 and #1 favorite games respectively. It's too bad then that such breeding grounds for talent produced such a mediocre game. While the art direction is solid, the dungeon crawling is boring and uninspired. The only saving grace would be the classmating system, a dating sim clearly trying to remind us of Persona but falling short on milquetoast characters and tired tropes.

    This game clearly *wants* to be edgy, but in the end it feels like lazy pandering to an increasingly irrelevant audience.
    Expand
  14. May 31, 2014
    0
    The game is a dating sim, with easy, and monotonous, gameplay. Most scenes are meant to simply arouse the undoubtedly teenage player with shots of the females' undergarments, and breasts. Coupled with poor, and awkward writing, it makes the game unbearable for anyone who would rather simply watch adult videos instead of playing a game to get hard.
  15. May 11, 2014
    4
    A true gaming UFO, Conception II had seduced me by its attractive character design. 40 hours and a western release later, it's time for a frank verdict

    In Conception II, a deep-rooted evil force sends to the world armies of monsters via seven «labyrinths of sin», threatening mankind's future. Only a few chosen ones called 聖徒 (roughly «sacred children», kinda rings a bell) have to power
    A true gaming UFO, Conception II had seduced me by its attractive character design. 40 hours and a western release later, it's time for a frank verdict

    In Conception II, a deep-rooted evil force sends to the world armies of monsters via seven «labyrinths of sin», threatening mankind's future. Only a few chosen ones called 聖徒 (roughly «sacred children», kinda rings a bell) have to power to seal them. And that's actually one dude (you) and seven girls. This ultra-generic and highly cliché setting being an excuse to throw you in the progression system of this game that consists in dating and make children (!).

    Therefore, you have to choose a girlfriend. Well actually you don't have to, because you can have several at the same time. The first phase consists in dating your classmates to raise your friend level. Those mini-events are rather well done : the girls look pretty cute and funny, character modeling and animation are very nice. Even if only a limited part of the dialogs is dubbed, the little conversations you have with your mates are really enjoyable as the Japanese voice actresses delivered their best. In particular, Rorona's voice actress Mai Kadowaki does a wonderful job as Toori who is adorable. Unfortunately for you guys, you won't be able to experience that since Atlus USA scrapped the Japanese voices. Sadly, there are not that many of those events, or least not enough to last 40h without regularly repeating the same ones. While talking you'll often be prompted to choose between several answers, but as far as I noticed the impact on the gameplay is nil. After that you go directly to the church, not for the marriage, but to give birth to your children directly (!). No need to panic though, everything's done by a simple hand contact between the main protagonist and his partner (!). Your kid get immediately off his egg (!!!) and you now just have to assign him some job (Lancer, Gunner, Healer, etc.) before going down the mazes with him. Because in clear violation of International Labour laws, you'll have your kids do most of the fighting against the demonic creatures standing on your way.

    That's where everything begins to collapse : the battle system allows you to attack the enemy from 4 sides, a bit like Atelier Ayesha but in far less complex or interesting. Unlike Atelier where you have to master a variety of alchemy items and skills, in Conception II you just have to spam your most powerful attack to progress. Buffs and debuffs exist but in 40h I haven't seen a single moment where they could be important. In the same way, the specialty of the children hardly matter in general. There's Also a «chain» system to push back the enemy in the timeline, but it's far from efficient (at least it gives you extra exp. points). Adding to an already tiresome battle system, the game has some stupid difficulty spikes, especially at the end when the sixth boss of the last dungeon flattened my team while I had met little resistance so far. Seriously, being robbed of the ending trophies after hours of boring fights is unacceptable.

    Only one half of Conception II is decent : the dating is cool, the dating artworks are cool, the dating music is cool, but combat is really terrible in every aspect. I have a feeling that the fundamental problem about this game is that it's too long. Shorter, the poor battle system would have been less annoying and you wouldn't have had to repeat the same dating events which would have allowed the player the enjoy the character design more serenely (despite some awful kitsch here and there)
    Expand
  16. Jan 2, 2015
    3
    this game can be easily summed up as "Persona. Minus the good". It is so similar to Persona that it is a waste of time to compare it to anything else. Now there are definitely things that I like about this game. such as the Class mating system (the name of which makes me laugh every time I say it) and the occasional fight does manage to be somewhat entertaining. In addition to all of thisthis game can be easily summed up as "Persona. Minus the good". It is so similar to Persona that it is a waste of time to compare it to anything else. Now there are definitely things that I like about this game. such as the Class mating system (the name of which makes me laugh every time I say it) and the occasional fight does manage to be somewhat entertaining. In addition to all of this the art design is very well done. easily the best part of the game.
    But all of this doesn't even come close to making up for the horrible writing. I would normally forgive it. If it wasn't half the game. Also like persona, the game is half dungeon crawling, half dating sim. a feat which requires very good writing to pull off. Something that this comes nowhere close to doing. The dating sim elements vary from "Hilariously bad" at best to "Painfully dull" at worst. All of girls are such blatant anime stereotypes that I don't believe I ever learned any of their names. I more-or-less just called them "Vanilla, Mature, Tsundere" and so-on.
    And while the dungeon crawling was occasionally interesting. It is typically pretty average, with only a few bosses and the aforementioned "class-mating" mechanic to redeem it. I would give the combat 6/10. But it is completely not worth suffering through the other half.
    As a long-time fan of the persona series. And a visual novel and jrpg enthusiast. This really seems like it should be right up my alley. But I cannot bring myself to like this game. From the above score I can safely assume that some people obviously do.
    I wouldn't be reviewing this game if I didn't think it was for me. But I honestly think I was exactly the person they wanted to play it.
    Expand
  17. Jun 15, 2014
    2
    This game is terrible.

    I took a chance and bought this game because a number of people claim that if you enjoyed Persona 4 that you will enjoy this. They cannot be more wrong. The relationships developed between characters in this game are so shallow as to be little more that tropes. The sexual euphemisms and imagery are as subtle as penis jokes when eating a hot dog. The combat
    This game is terrible.

    I took a chance and bought this game because a number of people claim that if you enjoyed Persona 4 that you will enjoy this. They cannot be more wrong.

    The relationships developed between characters in this game are so shallow as to be little more that tropes. The sexual euphemisms and imagery are as subtle as penis jokes when eating a hot dog.

    The combat is the only thing even slightly interesting and was quite fun, but the intermissions between dungeon crawls made me wretch to badly that my stomach is now located somewhere in the region of my adams apple.
    Expand
  18. Jan 7, 2015
    1
    Lets NOT make games with teenagers having forced, church ordered 'sex'. This game was creepy to me from the getgo. The seemingly antigravity boobs do it no justice either. Atlus should have used these resources to make another persona/etrian oddyssey game
  19. May 10, 2017
    7
    A super solid dungeon crawler that might not be for everyone but for those who it do appeal to its fantastic.

    First let me start out by saying the music is simply fantastic in this game. With multiple dungeon and battle themes you wont be getting bored of the music selection at all. Its all so very catch and got that nice Jpop feel. Also all the characters have their own theme music.
    A super solid dungeon crawler that might not be for everyone but for those who it do appeal to its fantastic.

    First let me start out by saying the music is simply fantastic in this game. With multiple dungeon and battle themes you wont be getting bored of the music selection at all. Its all so very catch and got that nice Jpop feel. Also all the characters have their own theme music.

    Presentation is top notch. The art style and cutscene are of the highest product quality you'd expect from a anime style game.

    The gameplay: Its grind heavy. Most of all the fun comes from creating star children. To do this you build your social links like you would do in persona. With higher social bonds you get the abilities to "classmate" which allows you to make children. The children are pretty much minoins. Think of them like your own persona pokemon. Leveling up finding new skills and getting the ultimate ones is just to much fun. Plus theres ton leveling up too.

    The only issue people are having with this game realistically is the crude humor. It is very much your typical troppy anime game. Sexual content is high and for some that might offend. If you love your silly japanese high school animes like azumanga you're gonna just love this.

    *Follow up: After around 15 hours into the game you're gonna feel a lot of drag and repitition. The greatness that the game sets up wears out fast and really brings the game down a ton. My intital love of the game gave it a 9 but its really a 6 after the begining wears off so the game average out to be an enjoyable but eventually boring experience.
    Expand
  20. Aug 30, 2015
    6
    Notice me, Persona-senpai!

    Seriously guys, this game wants to be Persona. It wants to be Persona sooooo bad. It was even published by Atlus USA. Now that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The Persona formula of merging JRPG gameplay with visual novel elements can be very addictive and engaging when done right. When done wrong it ends up like....well, not EXACTLY Conception II. I feel that
    Notice me, Persona-senpai!

    Seriously guys, this game wants to be Persona. It wants to be Persona sooooo bad. It was even published by Atlus USA. Now that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The Persona formula of merging JRPG gameplay with visual novel elements can be very addictive and engaging when done right. When done wrong it ends up like....well, not EXACTLY Conception II. I feel that this solid Persona-y formula, and the occasional likable character are able to allow this game to rise just above average.

    But it's still no Persona.

    THE GOOD
    + Dungeon Crawling/Visual Novel Forumla
    + Solid Turn-Based Combat

    THE MIXED
    +/- Fuuko and Alec are interesting characters...but they're the only ones.

    THE BAD
    - Classmating sessions can be a bit unsettling
    - Generally Unmemorable Story
    Expand
  21. Nov 2, 2017
    5
    While some could (and do) have a field day tearing apart Conception II for several of its questionable thematic elements, the real culprit here is how many interesting-on-the-surface systems the game provides the player with while demanding next to nothing of the player. The battle system is unique and should be a bunch of fun, but there's no reason to use it efficiently because theWhile some could (and do) have a field day tearing apart Conception II for several of its questionable thematic elements, the real culprit here is how many interesting-on-the-surface systems the game provides the player with while demanding next to nothing of the player. The battle system is unique and should be a bunch of fun, but there's no reason to use it efficiently because the battles are so easy. Spending time with your party members to build affection should've had a time management component, but it doesn't. There are several instances of shortcomings like this. While I certainly can't call Conception II a 'good' game, I also struggle to call it an outright bad one. While it fails at nearly everything it tries, there's enough different going on here that it makes for a unique experience. Conception II isn't good, but it is interesting, which is more than I can say for a lot of games. Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    65
    There's both a lot of JRPG and a lot of dating sims better than Conception II out there, especially on PSVita and 3DS, but if you want a taste of both genres in a single game, this is the way to go.
  2. Jun 20, 2014
    70
    It’s not a great RPG – it’s too easy for starters – but I feel Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars is good enough that I can recommend this B-tier social linking, dungeon crawler to the diehard JRPG fans looking for a unique twist on the genre for their Vita.
  3. Jun 2, 2014
    65
    Conception II: Children of the Seven Stars is bland, tedious, and unexceptional.