User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    YOU LIKE DEATH? THEN DIE!!! Man, I love this game. Sure the "graphics" are poor (even when compared to its xbox 360 counterpart) The "polish" is lackluster, and the animations are laughably stiff, if you resonate on the same level as this game, you'll have a blast. When a giant horde of bouncing alien spiders outnumbering you 1000 to one is slowly and mercilessly bounding your way, andYOU LIKE DEATH? THEN DIE!!! Man, I love this game. Sure the "graphics" are poor (even when compared to its xbox 360 counterpart) The "polish" is lackluster, and the animations are laughably stiff, if you resonate on the same level as this game, you'll have a blast. When a giant horde of bouncing alien spiders outnumbering you 1000 to one is slowly and mercilessly bounding your way, and all you have is a rocket launcher to literally "launch" the aliens hundreds of feet, the awesomeness indescribable. If you've always wanted to play a ridiculously silly old school Japanese monster/invasion movie in video game form look no further. Come for the sillyness and camp, stay for the addictive gameplay. But, be a little weary of the repetitiveness. Also, the addition of a new character and fully functioning online coop over the xbox 360 version is fantastic and gives the game a lot of staying power. On a side note, the bite sized nature of the missions is perfectly suited for online play. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    nice and hectic multiplayer 3d shooter !
    coop play was very popular in japan and always fun.
    messaging during the game makes this a slightly crazy experience 'edf edf !!'
    also nice that you have tons of weopons and a special jetpack character to
    unlock.
    in the last level the graphics can get a bit choppy. really fun game!
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Crazy and exhilarating... the fps down sometimes bugged me but it's okay though... I screamed like crazy while playing.. mostly when it's spider part..
  4. Mar 31, 2017
    0
    All things considered, the game gives no reason to keep playing even after 30 levels and 5 hours. The thought of trudging through another 30 levels made me feel there were better games to play and to give up with this title. The loot feels completely redundant as weapons have no weight to them, the vehicles are crap and feel completely redundant on any of the few maps they appear. I'veAll things considered, the game gives no reason to keep playing even after 30 levels and 5 hours. The thought of trudging through another 30 levels made me feel there were better games to play and to give up with this title. The loot feels completely redundant as weapons have no weight to them, the vehicles are crap and feel completely redundant on any of the few maps they appear. I've read some of the other reviews and other people must have been playing a different game as there are PS1 games on my vita provide a more rewarding feeling than this. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    its the b movie of video games, i may just love it for that reason alone. But with the very long campaign, the decent graphics for a portable game, and hundreds of guns to unlock, this game was well worth my money, and my time.
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    that one simple game of blowing s*it up in future style with the exception of monsters invading? welcome to this game! the gameplay is rough with the exception of good combat...barely any story to me...its worthy of it being a vita game since the experience wouldn't be the same on consoles. touchscreen sometimes comes into play. this game is ok and worth waiting for if your iffy about it.that one simple game of blowing s*it up in future style with the exception of monsters invading? welcome to this game! the gameplay is rough with the exception of good combat...barely any story to me...its worthy of it being a vita game since the experience wouldn't be the same on consoles. touchscreen sometimes comes into play. this game is ok and worth waiting for if your iffy about it. its a great game in my opinion thou so...8/10 Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    Everything about EDF 2017 is a slog. Graphically atrocious and sonically awful, low-res buildings comically disappear after being grazed by heavy weaponry. While the bugs and bots twitch and spasm around their own character models, the bipedal robots are the worst offenders here, often getting caught up in their own limbs. [March 2013, p79]
  2. Play UK
    Mar 21, 2013
    82
    Unpretentious in the extreme, comical by accident, irritating when it wants to be. [Issue#229, p.80]
  3. Mar 17, 2013
    70
    It’s far from a perfect game, but it is extremely entertaining and Earth Defense Force 2017 Portable is proof that the joy of playing a game is far more important than graphics and physics. If the developers had put just a little more time in fixing some of the bugs and the presentation it would have been an instant classic.