• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2014
Freedom Wars Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Freedom Wars is an action-packed RPG, launching exclusively on the PlayStation Vita.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Panopticon Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 24, 2014
    98
    Freedom Wars may be another hunting game on the Vita, but it's by far one of the best. It screams AAA production with standout graphics, solid audio, unique gameplay mechanics and a fresh story line - bringing them to you in a one of a kind package that only Japan could come up with, but with an execution typical of the Western big shots.
  2. Oct 31, 2014
    82
    Freedom Wars has its shortcomings, but I would still consider it one of the top Vita games available.
  3. Nov 20, 2014
    80
    Once you get the hang of the complex controls and slight camera issues, you're in for a breathless, exhilarating time staring down giant robots, outmaneuvering your rivals, and rescuing your betters.
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    79
    We sure don't have the new Monster Hunter, but Freedom Wars is a good game to keep an eye on. If the premises and the narrative structure of the game had to be maintained at early hours levels, we'd be talking about a true masterpiece. Good game, anyway.
  5. Oct 29, 2014
    75
    Freedom Wars delivers an action RPG in an accessible, pickup-and-play, portable package.
  6. 70
    The game comes so very close to being an amazing experience but the gameplay doesn't quite match with its excellent concept.
  7. Nov 5, 2014
    50
    Combat is the brightest highlight, though it's still dulled by clumsy controls. Beyond that, the environments are so monotonous as to kill any passion for the thing.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 8 out of 58
  1. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    I love the combat system! It's kind of like a mixture of Monster Hunter (Close Quarters) and Lost Planet (With the grappling hook + gunplay).I love the combat system! It's kind of like a mixture of Monster Hunter (Close Quarters) and Lost Planet (With the grappling hook + gunplay). It runs pretty swell as well. The futuristic setting of...102,014...is intriguing with the religious overtone of the governments/City States, known as Panopticons, do to the lack of resources for each Panopticon maintains and would lead to a overpopulation problem; In which case leads to the reason why you're fighting giant robots and monsters, because the government forced you too! Customization for characters has a good variety of outfits and body like choices for you too make.

    Though there's some issues every once in a while (drop in frame rate, etc.), overall i'm a happy camper to know that i have a reason why i bought a vita in first place after this.
    Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2021
    10
    Just perfect, only the things is the discussion and some research for npc sometimes it will take a while but still perfect
  3. Nov 4, 2014
    9
    The best game I own on Vita. It's like Deadman Wonderland meets Attack on Titan. If that doesn't sell you I don't know what will. The combatThe best game I own on Vita. It's like Deadman Wonderland meets Attack on Titan. If that doesn't sell you I don't know what will. The combat reminds me of Monster Hunter and Lost Planet, and boy does it feel satisfying. Every hit packs a punch and flying around with your vines just makes it feel so open and intense. The online is an absolute blast and I love that there is so much damn loot to get. Another great feature is that when you go online and do missions, you get a ticket to pass up that mission in the single player if you so choose. My only gripe so far is I wish there was more maps(I'm only about 2 and a half hours in though) Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2015
    8
    The game play is awesome but it took me some time to get used to the combat controls and the story is a bit disheartening but over then thatThe game play is awesome but it took me some time to get used to the combat controls and the story is a bit disheartening but over then that every thing else is cool! Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2015
    8
    It's a fun game. I appreciate the sound, design, and gameplay. The only real issue I have is that difficult missions can be lenghty andIt's a fun game. I appreciate the sound, design, and gameplay. The only real issue I have is that difficult missions can be lenghty and repetitive unless you have a hardcore player. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2014
    6
    Freedom Wars is a mixed bag. On one hand the combat has the potential to be really good. But it's hampered by dumb as hell AI. I could dealFreedom Wars is a mixed bag. On one hand the combat has the potential to be really good. But it's hampered by dumb as hell AI. I could deal with this if the objectives in a lot of the missions didn't require so much teamwork. For example, when doing rescue missions against other panopticons, your teammates will not revive you if you go down. Even if they're standing right in front of you. Only your accesory will revive you and that's only if he/she is nearby. Many times, my accesory wasnt nearby even when I gave the order to Cover Me. Too many times I've seen teammates simply standing around while the other team was attacking directly or attempting to flank. It left me yelling "what are you doing?" as we failed yet another mission because of idiot AI.

    This is really a shame because the combat has the potential to be excellent all the time instead of sometimes. The grappling aspects of the thorn are awesome and very much like Lost Planet. Combat can be fast and furious at times. Being able to switch from melee to gun based combat instantly is a welcome addition. But the designers made some really queationable design choices by not using the touch screen more intelligently. For instance, in the heat of battle it would make more sense to select the frag grenade, then touch and drag it to where you want to throw it. The manual way can be too slow resulting in death because the throw button is also assigned to the thorn button while also pressing R in the config I use. The lack of full customization of the controls simply sucks and I have no idea why some game designers are clueless in this regard. The preset control variants help but there are some layout choices that i wanted to change but couldn't.

    If developers are going to make hunting games for the Vita, they simply need to hire better artists and monster designers and animators. Freedom Wars isn't the worse in this regard but it's not close to the best. The run animation for the character is good, but the animation for sword combos stinks. The animation for some of the melee attacks with other weapons range from okay to hilariously bad. The great sword's combos make no sense and cause them to not flow well. This can affect your timing. Animation quality control wasn't high on the list of priorities with this game.

    Other positives would be the story and the concept of your 1,000,000 year sentence with the inclusion of the other panopticons around the world. This sets up great possibilities for DLC and a sequel. The music is also really good and the customization level for you character is incredibly high considering this isn't a console release.

    Sony needs to come better with Vita releases that are clearly trying to make up for the loss of Monster Hunter to 3DS. Dimps, Shift and SCE Japan Studio developed Freedom Wars but it's no were near as polished as Soul Sacrifice or Soul Sacrifice Delta by Comcept. Maybe users will get an update that will fix the horrible AI, give better animations to the melee attacks and include Aductors and monsters with better designs.

    I still give Freedom Wars a 6 instead of my original thought of a 4 because when it works, it's excellent fun some of the best on a portable when playing with friends. But when it doesn't work, it's a bumbling disgrace.

    Its a shame because Freedom Wars has the potential to be great...someday.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    we need a real rpg not this piece of junk i know why this flopped because it is terrible all you do is kill the same monsters and get pointswe need a real rpg not this piece of junk i know why this flopped because it is terrible all you do is kill the same monsters and get points but this game is still better than earthbound Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Trailers