User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 66
  2. Negative: 17 out of 66
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2014
    9
    To those of you you who enjoy RPG's of mixed caliber. I don't mean as in normal Final Fantasy RPG but rather an RPG much like the Persona series. I would highly recommend this game. It acts like a mix between Persona and Digital Devil Saga from what i have seen. I'm not to far in the game myself maybe just 20 hours. However everyone has different tastes and this may not be the game forTo those of you you who enjoy RPG's of mixed caliber. I don't mean as in normal Final Fantasy RPG but rather an RPG much like the Persona series. I would highly recommend this game. It acts like a mix between Persona and Digital Devil Saga from what i have seen. I'm not to far in the game myself maybe just 20 hours. However everyone has different tastes and this may not be the game for you and it may not feel like a Shin-Megami game either. To me it does and I enjoy this game. Expand
  2. Jun 2, 2014
    8
    I decided to give this game a chance since I like dungeon crawlers, seems like I made the right choice. It takes the setting of Persona and the gameplay of Etrian Odyssey, with a compelling story and a nice combat system, plus some great dungeons to explore. I'm liking it much more than some other Vita rpgs.
  3. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    First off...do not expect this to be a Persona clone, it doesn't play like Persona at all. That being said...

    This game is nearly finished. The story, characters, art direction, and dungeons visuals aren't at their fullest potential. The game ends with a couple big cliffhangers that will probably never be answered as the game did so poorly it'll never get the sequel that fixes all the
    First off...do not expect this to be a Persona clone, it doesn't play like Persona at all. That being said...

    This game is nearly finished. The story, characters, art direction, and dungeons visuals aren't at their fullest potential. The game ends with a couple big cliffhangers that will probably never be answered as the game did so poorly it'll never get the sequel that fixes all the shortcomings. It truly is a shame as you can really see the makings of a fantastic game in here. Mind Zero shines most in its dungeon crawling, music, and battle systems (especially the skill system) and I'd say that those things really pull the game through.

    I recommend it if you're interested in, and are okay with, a lower-budgety, gothic styled 1st person dungeon crawler.
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    Mind Zero is your typical J-RPG dungeon-crawler with a twisted dark art style. There is nothing to wow at and once you complete it you'll probably never play it again. The characters seem individualistic however you seem to know what your next line is going to be as their personalities are pretty one-dimensional, male lead character very calm and collective but wants nothing more than toMind Zero is your typical J-RPG dungeon-crawler with a twisted dark art style. There is nothing to wow at and once you complete it you'll probably never play it again. The characters seem individualistic however you seem to know what your next line is going to be as their personalities are pretty one-dimensional, male lead character very calm and collective but wants nothing more than to 'find out' whats going on, the sports-nut female character that constantly slags another character off, a posh snobby princess and so forth, each with their own unique 'MIND' which look well designed.

    GamePlay is pretty easy to grasp however learning whats strong against weak and vice-versa is hard to remember as fire vs water, earth vs wind etc is always different between each J-RPG. The animation is somewhat dull and rushed and the graphics almost look PSP style with enemies looking nearly 2.5-D and the characters looking 'chibi' style however this could be to save memory on the Vita and decrease loading times.

    The soundtrack is nice and blends in nicely with its enviroments. Its nor a brilliant J-RPG as im sure others overtake it by miles but the art style is dark and sleek Graphics could have been improved as well as gameplay but it sits nicely with the Vita
    Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2014
    5
    Really, If you haven't yet played Persona 3 or 4, you should play those instead - they're very similar but better in almost every way. If you HAVE played both those games, you'll probably be disappointed in Mind Zero. It tries to mimic their formula but falls short with extremely tedious, pointlessly verbose cutscenes, and only mildly interesting combat. The characters really fall slatReally, If you haven't yet played Persona 3 or 4, you should play those instead - they're very similar but better in almost every way. If you HAVE played both those games, you'll probably be disappointed in Mind Zero. It tries to mimic their formula but falls short with extremely tedious, pointlessly verbose cutscenes, and only mildly interesting combat. The characters really fall slat compared to the interesting, multi-dimensional Persona heroes. Not the worst RPG I've ever played, but you could find much better ways to spend your time and money. Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2014
    7
    This game is obviously a Persona knock-off. However, saying that, I actually enjoy this game very much.
    Combat is fun, Dungeon exploration is fun, and voice acting is top notch. Overall plot however is terrible.
    The character humor is somewhat amusing.(SOMEWHAT) And the interactive story book form the plot takes doesn't work all to well..... I'll tell you one thing, this game is Persona
    This game is obviously a Persona knock-off. However, saying that, I actually enjoy this game very much.
    Combat is fun, Dungeon exploration is fun, and voice acting is top notch. Overall plot however is terrible.
    The character humor is somewhat amusing.(SOMEWHAT) And the interactive story book form the plot takes doesn't work all to well..... I'll tell you one thing, this game is Persona 3's spiritual successor. If you hated Persona 3's ending play this. The protagonist lives through this one....
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2014
    6
    I can't say it's a bad game, but it is not good ether. The story and characters are pretty cliche. The dialogs are banal, but the voice acting is decent. The battle system and the dungeons are well made. So if you like dungeon crawling, you can check this out, if you want a good story with interesting characters, you can skip the game.
  8. Jul 28, 2018
    6
    + The story concept is pretty good.
    + Lots of well voice acted scenes and characters.
    + Battle system is unique and fun.
    - The story is too slowly paced, despite the story concept been cool.
    - Dungeons are very long and uninteresting to look at.
    - The game is very tedious.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Oct 25, 2014
    50
    Mind Zero is in no way a travesty, but despite glaring shortcomings, it's very average.
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    60
    An interesting mash of ideas that never quite gels together, Mind Zero rambles on too much for its own good.
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    50
    The game just depends too much on its uninteresting characters, only damaged further by tedious dungeon crawling and its other half-baked aspects. We think that there’s something buried here that would have made the game a must-have, but it’s too undeveloped to butt heads with better titles in its class.