Mortal Kombat Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline thatGet ready to re-enter the tournament wherever you are. A full reboot of the franchise, this latest version of the game combines innovative mature oriented fighter gameplay with a deep story mode, enhanced graphics and game technology and new game modes. The game features a storyline that takes you back to the original tournament, exclusive Vita functionality, fatalities presented in graphic detail never imagined in earlier release, and completely new game modes. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mortal Kombat - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 1, 2012
    100
    The single-player story mode is still astoundingly deep and the challenge tower is an exciting and maddening climb.
  2. May 1, 2012
    90
    A straight-forward port would have gone over well enough, but NetherRealm went the extra mile and made this a standout, compelling release that I'm happy to recommend.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2012
    90
    A bursting at the seams port that sets a precedent for future Vita titles. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  4. May 24, 2012
    85
    Mortal Kombat for PlayStation Vita is a game worth your attention, especially if you haven't had the opportunity to check out last year's "big" MK and you miss the original installments. It's a great reboot - well made, reminiscent of the golden age, has lots of fantastic warriors and some unique bonuses.
  5. Play UK
    Jun 17, 2012
    83
    With a staggering amount of content packed in, Mortal Kombat Vita not only benefits from the balance patches from the PS3 iteration but makes for the best version when played on the go. [Issue#219, p.78]
  6. May 28, 2012
    80
    Inarguably one of the finest portable fighting games to have ever been released. Boasting at least twenty hours of single-player content to kick and punch your way through. It's also one of the system's most convincing ports with a platter of mini-games and exclusive features, organically worked into the overall package.
  7. 70
    As a PS Vita game this is no more than a competent port, but as a restatement of one of gaming's most enduring fighters it's still good, dumb fun.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
  1. Nov 11, 2016
    10
    For Mortal Kombat on a handheld is pretty good. I enjoy playing it and can't get enough of it!!!!!! Great graphics and fatalities and x-rays.For Mortal Kombat on a handheld is pretty good. I enjoy playing it and can't get enough of it!!!!!! Great graphics and fatalities and x-rays. I also enjoy the tournament mode. 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Good fighting game. The best background story of its time among all fighting games, outstanding long kombos, a humongous variety of excitingGood fighting game. The best background story of its time among all fighting games, outstanding long kombos, a humongous variety of exciting elements such as hidden kombatants, secret levels, countless finishers which make you have lots of fun while playing. Please, do not regard the people saying this game is too violent comparing to the other games just because of its finishers, because most of them are just too funny to take them serious. Tell me street fighter lovers, do you think it is too violent when the Coyote is crushed by a huge rock after falling to the ground on his face while chasing the Roadrunner, or IS IT FUNNY? The Coyote still lives, so does Sub-Zero in MK... To conclude, I personally believe this is how a fighting game should be. Expand
  3. May 3, 2012
    10
    Main reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. SeriouslyMain reason I bought a Vita was so I could rip off people's legs and beat them to death with it (Quan Chi fatality). Never gets old. Seriously though, I felt the same way another person commented, that I fired up story mode at first and when the game switched from pre-rendered graphics to in-game graphics I was gob smacked how poor it looked. No damage shows up either. However, once I went to other modes like arcade + training + challenge tower, the difference in lighting + damage model turned on (I assume it's disabled in story mode on purpose) makes the game look fine. Sure not console quality, but its fast and fluid. Very happy with my purchase. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    Now I'm reluctant to give any game a 10/10 but this game is close. Mortal Kombat on the Vita is the best handheld fighting game out there.Now I'm reluctant to give any game a 10/10 but this game is close. Mortal Kombat on the Vita is the best handheld fighting game out there. Great graphics just like a console game, all the special moves and fatalities. Good sound effects and great character choice. You can play for hours and if you own a Vita and like fighting games you have to buy this Expand
  5. Gaz
    May 17, 2012
    8
    Alright, so Mortal Kombat has finally hit the Vita. Now, I've been waiting for this game for a while and trust me when I say that bothAlright, so Mortal Kombat has finally hit the Vita. Now, I've been waiting for this game for a while and trust me when I say that both newcomers and fans of the the series won't be dissapointed by this portable port. The amount of "kontent" in the Vita version is amazing. For 40 bucks you get a full-fledged story mode, arcade mode complete with regular acrcade ladder mode and tag ladder mode, challenge tower, a bonus challenge tower that utilizes the features of the Vita, training mode, fatality training, all four DLC character from the console verion, including PS3-exclusive, Kratos, and more. And if that doesn't make your mouth water, there's also the massive Krypt, which you can use koins you earned in the game to unlock new content such as concept art, alternate costumes, and alternate fatalities. The fighting is intense, satisfying, and fun. The fighting engine works very well on the Vita, and being able to unleash those kombos on your enemies on the go makes it even more gratifying. The cutscene graphics during story mode are near-pefect, and stage graphics really look great on the Vita. The only downside to the graphics is that the character models look somewhat horrendous. While you're fighting, they look fine, but zoom in for the beginning of a fight or a fatality, and you'll find that the graphics leave a lot to be desired in comparison to the game's console counterpart. Another downfall of the game is the extremely annoying and cheap battles with Shao Kahn. Don't expect a straight-up fight with this guy. Instead you'll be dodging and upcutting you're way through two rounds praying that you don't fall victim to his unblockable hammer-throw attack. Not to mention that his X-ray move does 52% damage, so try not to get your head smashed in(which he literally does, by the way), and take him down. Aside from these gripes, Mortal Kombat proves itself, in my opinion, as the greatest fighting game on the Vita. Street Fighter fans can keep their flashy, complicated hyper combos to themselves. I'm sticking with a game that's simple to pick up and play, yet so deep that you won't want to put it down(unless you're fighting Shao Kahn). This makes MK a no-brainer for fighting game fans, MK veterans, or someone who just wants to rip people's heads off. When it comes to fighting games on the Vita, Mk reigns supreme. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    MK does a good job of bringing a Mortal Kombat "virgin" into a well developed fighting series. I instantly fell in love with the game and it'sMK does a good job of bringing a Mortal Kombat "virgin" into a well developed fighting series. I instantly fell in love with the game and it's amusing-in-a-kinda-dumb-way story, but the presentation of the story is done very well. After the story mode i didn't find myself playing it all that much, since i am not much for competitive fighting gaming against strangers, speciall not in a game like MK, which i am not that good at. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    Well, it's a pretty decent port, lots of content.
    But there are some problems. The visuals are really bad. Namco should've handled this part.
    As for the content, while there is more of it, there's not enough DLC. Ridge Racer has you covered in this regard.
    All in all, average, but not a classic.
    Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers