• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Nov 20, 2012
Persona 4 Golden Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1799 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Persona 4: The Golden is a remastered version of PS2 classic Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Persona 4: Golden - The Year Begins Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Jul 30, 2012
    100
    The young Persona 4 hero thought he would spend a peaceful year, far from his parents, when he was transferred to that small Japanese town... But murders, spirits, mysteries and RPG are never far away when Atlus decides to make a new Persona game. Persona 4 The Golden is undoubtedly the most exciting and baroque adventure on PS Vita, fully packed with brilliant ideas that will let you experience a totally awesome school year.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    It's the tightest, best-written, and most must-play game Atlus has ever created. Persona 4 started as a strong, singular RPG; with Persona 4 Golden, it is a masterpiece.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    100
    Persona 4 Golden is so much more than just a mere game, it’s a wonderful experience that grabs you by the beard hairs and drags you in, dominating your spare time and idle thoughts until you have reached that ending.
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    94
    Golden is technically the fifth iteration of a formula established with Persona 3 but it feels just as appealing and engaging now as it did four years ago. No one else (literally) is making games like this and if you've somehow avoided a modern day Persona title you owe it to yourself to give Golden a shot. It's sweet icing on a delicious cake.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    90
    Persona 4 Golden is part detective novel, part teenage simulation and part asian RPG – all being important pieces which combine to create some of the most memorable and entertaining moments I’ve ever had with a JRPG.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Persona 4: Golden is the perfect example of a well-done remake. Atlus expanded the already awesome original experience, enhancing the graphics and adding high quality extra contents. This is one of the most interesting PlayStation Vita games.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    As much as I found myself groaning through the parts I knew I would dislike-namely, the grinding and overwhelming sense of repetition that emanates from combat and time management-I grew to respect Persona 4: Golden. I can't say I completely enjoyed my time with the game, but I'm not the kind of person who would be interested in buying it. Those who are will find an admirably polished JRPG and a welcome addition to their burgeoning Vita library.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 239
  1. Aug 13, 2018
    10
    Do you have a PS Vita ? if yes, then buy it ! Hurry up ! This game is amazing. Its story, character, battle mechanism, soundtrack even itsDo you have a PS Vita ? if yes, then buy it ! Hurry up ! This game is amazing. Its story, character, battle mechanism, soundtrack even its school life is beautiful. If you finish this game you will feel empty. Because you will feel like you have friends in this game, and when this game is finished, you lost them :")

    JUST BUY IT
    Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    this i probably one of the few RPG's that i've played in my life that that i actually enjoy playing.
    a fun cast of characters, fun dialog,
    this i probably one of the few RPG's that i've played in my life that that i actually enjoy playing.
    a fun cast of characters, fun dialog, fun gameplay, interesting story.
    pretty much everything you would expect from a good RPG.
    this game gives me high hopes for Persona 5 to be atleast as good as P4G.
    i recommend this game for every PS Vita/PSTV owner out there (or the original PS2 version if you own a PS2/PS3).
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    A perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own aA perfect recreation of an all time classic, with amazing extra features this is something you don't want too miss, defs the reason to own a vita for those yet to pick one up. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    This game, without a doubt, is one of the best games I have ever played. The lenght of the game is extensive. The music is well crafted andThis game, without a doubt, is one of the best games I have ever played. The lenght of the game is extensive. The music is well crafted and uniqu to the game. The battle system is smooth and engaging. Where this game truely shines is in the voice acting and character development. Persona 4 Golden has the player (or at least me) truely caring and feeling for the various characters. The characters can be funny, dramatic, annoying, persistent and a vast arrary of other qualities. The development team produced well rounded protagonists with quite a bit of depth. Everything about this game shines and it deserves to be played. ATLUS is a company that has been producing quality and this is a fine example. Enjoy. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    It is very strange to see such a perfect game in JRPG genre today. It is not a secret, that japanese gaming is already dead, because of theIt is very strange to see such a perfect game in JRPG genre today. It is not a secret, that japanese gaming is already dead, because of the games that look outdated, have a bad outdated gameplay and poor gamedesign. Times of Final Fantasy and Xenogears had passed long long time ago.
    In the PS2 era, ATLUS was the last japanese developer, that made really new thrilling RPG's. Persona 3, SMT Nocturne, Digital Devil Saga, those titles were amazing, brining the modern and mature JRPG formula to the gamer.
    But at the end they failed. Releasing P4 on PS2 was a horrible mistake. Only 80 000 copies where sold, and thousands of gamers (exept fans) missed one of the greatest jrpg's of a decade.

    Re-releasing it was a right step. Re-releasing it on a portable device was even better.

    Now we have a great game on the go. there is no way to judge the gameplay formula of Persona 4. It is very peculiar.
    Characters are interesting and deep, dialogues are polished. This are not the things modern japanese games are made of.

    Persona 4 is not the best in visuals. But graphics are nice, and overwhelming gamedesign does the rest.

    The game became better, bigger, and got in the palm of your hand

    Bravo ATLUS. We hope that it is not the last time. Looking forward for more installations in Persona franchise, modern, cool, and deep. And we wait for more PS2 remakes on VITA.
    Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Persona 4 Golden is what i would call, is a game close to perfection (Yes, it is my favorite game of all time)

    I have not played any of
    Persona 4 Golden is what i would call, is a game close to perfection (Yes, it is my favorite game of all time)

    I have not played any of the early realises nor have i played the original PS2 edition. It was just a coincidence i brought it. I had a PS Vita, which was lacking good games, I saw that P4G got great reviews, and i thought why not? And I don't like playing Turn Based RPGs, i brought it from pure curiosity.

    P4G opened my eyes to something new, i now find turn based gameplay more tolerating and I've fallen got an bigger eye open for games and Anime from Japan.

    I was laughing with the characters, crying, and i even got true feelings for them. P4G is a emotional rollercoaster that keeps you attached to the characters and the world all the way towards the end.

    The Good:
    - Amazing visuals
    - Great voice acting
    - Best writing in gaming history
    - Easy gameplay
    - 100+ Hours of gameplay

    The Bad:
    - You lose your life (The real one)

    I know this review wont be convincing, but really i beg you to try it out. Its the perfect console seller, so buy a PS Vita just for this game!
    Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2016
    0
    Quite possibly the worst JRPG in the history of gaming. Old outdated gameplay, very bad graphics (you might actually go blind from the awefulQuite possibly the worst JRPG in the history of gaming. Old outdated gameplay, very bad graphics (you might actually go blind from the aweful design. I do not recommend at all! Expand

See all 239 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PS Vita Games Image
    Published: October 1, 2018
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PlayStation Vita.
  2. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  3. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.