User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 119
  2. Negative: 53 out of 119
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Excellent game love the old enemies and RPG elements. Its not for everyone but give it a go. I like the weapons different enemies and the game works exceptionally well with multiplayer. So give it a go. Though I hope the next one improves but with this game, downpour and revelations getting horrible reviews we are probably near the end of our time with the order of Valtiel and this realmExcellent game love the old enemies and RPG elements. Its not for everyone but give it a go. I like the weapons different enemies and the game works exceptionally well with multiplayer. So give it a go. Though I hope the next one improves but with this game, downpour and revelations getting horrible reviews we are probably near the end of our time with the order of Valtiel and this realm of silent hill. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    For the most part, it has all the core fundamentals that make up a good RPG action game (notice I didnt call it horror because there is no sense of horror in this game). However, it lacks severely in variety, because the levels are all too similar (walkway, room, another walkway, another room). Every new level is divided into 3 zones and you fight a boss at the end of each level. TheFor the most part, it has all the core fundamentals that make up a good RPG action game (notice I didnt call it horror because there is no sense of horror in this game). However, it lacks severely in variety, because the levels are all too similar (walkway, room, another walkway, another room). Every new level is divided into 3 zones and you fight a boss at the end of each level. The only difference between these levels is the theme (light, water, fire, etc). The level designs are just about as lazy and lackluster as CodedArms on PSP. The storyline, or lack thereof, also hurts the experience. Often times I would celebrate as I leveled up and acquired new items. But at the same time, I would wonder what's the point of proceeding furthur. There was no sense of direction. Overall this game is pretty good and should keep you busy until the next big title arrives for the Vita. But if you have the patience, I would save my money for COD or Assassins Creed. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    No doubt konami has dragged Silent Hill series to other dimensions. With the latest release on this series, "The Book of memories" the face of silent hill has gone too far from its origins. We had such a good silent hill games on PSP and this game looks very disappointing. As a dungeon crawling game, we can say Book Of Memories does a good job however in some aspects it has lack of contentNo doubt konami has dragged Silent Hill series to other dimensions. With the latest release on this series, "The Book of memories" the face of silent hill has gone too far from its origins. We had such a good silent hill games on PSP and this game looks very disappointing. As a dungeon crawling game, we can say Book Of Memories does a good job however in some aspects it has lack of content or its lost being a RPG or a Hack n slash game. In the other hand it has a Silent Hill feel Theme over its levels n so on but it doesnt mean it is a silent hill game. I hope konami put more thoughts before planning to develop a game, at least they could port the HD Collection simply and it would be much more better than this. Well, as a fan of silent hill who loved this series over 10 years i should say Book Of memories is all about dissapointmen, however still buying it for fans may cool us down that "Oh finally there is SH game to play on handheld". Otherwise if you not the fan of silent hill this can be a good game actually. its a entertaining hack n slash, its quiet long...looting n leveling up is fun. it has different atmosphere than other dungeon crawlers, its not happening in a fantasy world of magics n bla bla instead it has its own dark town of colors, dark rooms require you to use flashlight and violence. well its interesting idea and it has good potential but then, the story is lacking depth, the menu design is a bit childish and weird , overall good ! well lets put being a fan and being a disappointing person behind, its not solving anything after this many years and what happened to the series .... its not a bad game ! its just in a wrong place :D Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2018
    6
    A game that gets talked about more for what it isn't, rather than what it is. All because people don't understand the concept of spin-offs. I'm not saying it's a great game, but Book of Memories is far from the franchise tarnishing change in direction so many would have you believe. That would be Konami's Silent Hill themed pachinko machines which appear to be the sad future of the series.A game that gets talked about more for what it isn't, rather than what it is. All because people don't understand the concept of spin-offs. I'm not saying it's a great game, but Book of Memories is far from the franchise tarnishing change in direction so many would have you believe. That would be Konami's Silent Hill themed pachinko machines which appear to be the sad future of the series.

    The reason this game has such a bad rep is because it moves away from the traditional survival-horror gameplay we've come to associate with the SH brand in favor of top-down ARPG action à la Diablo. There's also co-op. This is definitely going to seem like an unforgiveable sin to any purist, but when you consider that this is a one-off side-excursion with no effect on the main continuity things are a little easier to swallow. Especially seeing as how it's a mostly competent experience that has you battling it out with enemies from all across the series and is packed to the brim with fan-service. I would be lying if I said there weren't irritations though.

    The moment-to-moment gameplay is fine. I enjoyed exploring the procedurally generated levels and fighting classic Silent Hill foes. Things like degradable weapons and limited supplies are a nice touch that add some tension and serve as throwbacks to the series' survival-horror roots. The problems arise when the game tries to be any more complex than just killing your way through rooms of enemies. The convoluted karma system sucks a lot of fun from the experience. It's one of the many things the game never explains to the player. Given how it's tied to which ending you'll receive, it's frustrating to find yourself getting penalized and working your way to a conclusion you don't want for reasons you don't understand. I like the idea of discovering systems out through actually playing the game rather than having them spelled out for you right at the beginning. Take The Binding of Isaac for example. It explains very little to you and only by diving into it's twisted world will you discover how everything works. I feel this is what developer WayForward was trying to go for with Book of Memories, but they completely dropped the ball as there's no way to figure anything about the karma system in game. At least not as far as I could tell. I had to find my info online. That's just poor design. The load times are also atrocious.

    WayForward did manage to create an interesting narrative for Book of Memories. The idea of changing the past to affect the future at the cost of others is interesting and quite twisted. I just wish it felt like I had more control over the outcome. Graphically, while far from the most impressive title on the Vita, it at least looks like a Silent Hill game. The soundtrack is also fantastic despite the loss of Akira Yamaoka. The vocal tracks in particular are among the series' best.

    Gripes and irritations without a doubt hold Book of Memories back from feeling like a true welcome addition to the franchise. Yet, this isn't a complete slap in the face to Silent Hill or it's fan-base as there is some fun to be had with the core gameplay. What we have ended up with is a serviceable, albeit inessential hack 'n slash dungeon crawler that has a nasty reputation because it tried to do something different with a long-running and now dormant series.
    Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Good game, does change alot from the older titles. If you're into dungeon crawlers with rpg elements then I would recommend picking this up! there is fun to be had
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    The game is not that bad as some people say, i love that game on the vita and i like every silent hill game. This one bring a lot of enemies and great boss battles and a large variety of weapons and combat style. In my country it was a little expensive so i pre-ordered it from England by a good price. It was a great deal and i have played more than 10 hours on it and im just on theThe game is not that bad as some people say, i love that game on the vita and i like every silent hill game. This one bring a lot of enemies and great boss battles and a large variety of weapons and combat style. In my country it was a little expensive so i pre-ordered it from England by a good price. It was a great deal and i have played more than 10 hours on it and im just on the beginning :) The only thing is the story, it could have been way better but let's hope that the next silent hill game becomes a great success. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    6
    while i applaud silent hill for doing something new, this was a bit much. liked the customization (limited) idea but turning the series into a dungeon crawler was not the way to go. the first few "zones" all ok but soon it gets pretty repetitive. story doesn't fare well either as many holes litter the plot. only pick this up if you are a huge silent hill fan and like dungeon crawlers. evenwhile i applaud silent hill for doing something new, this was a bit much. liked the customization (limited) idea but turning the series into a dungeon crawler was not the way to go. the first few "zones" all ok but soon it gets pretty repetitive. story doesn't fare well either as many holes litter the plot. only pick this up if you are a huge silent hill fan and like dungeon crawlers. even then, wait for that price drop. Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2015
    7
    I am not going to write this review this as a silent Hill game review, because this is not a silent Hill game it is just a dungeon crawler happen with the name "silent hill" slapped on the title. it was fun to play and it was fun to see a character from silent Hill downpour making an appearance in this game. The graphics aren't terrible and the story is OK I guess but the whole dungeonI am not going to write this review this as a silent Hill game review, because this is not a silent Hill game it is just a dungeon crawler happen with the name "silent hill" slapped on the title. it was fun to play and it was fun to see a character from silent Hill downpour making an appearance in this game. The graphics aren't terrible and the story is OK I guess but the whole dungeon crawler gameplay gets pretty old real fast. It's sad that this is the last silent Hill game are going to get. Expand
  9. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    Silent hill book or memories , where do I start , as a silent hill game ? its a HUGE disappointment , but this can be forgiven as it is a spin off , GONE is the survival horror , GONE is silent hill in general , GONE is the silent hill fan base , as the series has gone downhill after silent hill 4 , the games afterwards were decent , but they lost there original impact that the first 4Silent hill book or memories , where do I start , as a silent hill game ? its a HUGE disappointment , but this can be forgiven as it is a spin off , GONE is the survival horror , GONE is silent hill in general , GONE is the silent hill fan base , as the series has gone downhill after silent hill 4 , the games afterwards were decent , but they lost there original impact that the first 4 left , that aside , as a stand alone game its pretty good , It has the mechanics and feel of diablo 3 but in the silent hill universe , back are every silent hill monster in one game , and the character creation is a nice touch as well , plus as a fan of persona 4 , I was surprised that the male character is voiced by the guy who played "Konji" the tough guy , it has a very plain story , and it is very repetitive , but it is fun which keep you going , it has a pretty good fighting system , simple but refreshing puzzles , cool rpg elements , and decent voice acting , cool atmosphere , pretty good graphics and a hint of nostalgia. Bottom line despite how mediocre the plot is and how disappointing it is as a SILENT HILL GAME ,as a stand alone game? this game is fun and worth a buy , seeing as now you can buy it for 30 bucks now , just don't buy it if your looking for a genuine silent hill experience , you will be disappointed , buy this game for what it is , a fun diablo esc silent hill spin off nothing more and nothing less Expand
  10. Sep 30, 2014
    7
    Ignoring the fact that its a very different game, more like Diablo than Silent Hill, Book of Memories is actually pretty fun. The controls are solid, graphics are good, sound and overall presentation is there. Honestly, download the demo like I did before purchase, and give a it a try :)
  11. Oct 9, 2014
    5
    Silent Hill is known for it's grotesque stories. Good or Bad
    However, SH BoM has almost NO STORY. This is a bit of a problem for me. Also, though the game is fun, it is almost unfairly difficult.(One word......TRAPS!)
    The only way to make this game easier is to download DLC.
    This review seems negative however why didn't I give it a 1?
    Because despite my complaints, I love it!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    50
    While RPGs and dungeon crawler games are my favorite style of hand held games, there are better options than Book of Memories. The Silent Hill aesthetic is pretty well represented, but the game itself struggles to maintain mediocrity. The game is great in short bursts, but fails to hold your attention for long periods of time.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    70
    WayForward seems to have saved its 'A Game' for their own IP. Book of Memories feels odd, as though a Diablo has murdered a Silent Hill, and is traipsing about wearing its skin. [January 2013, p70]
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    68
    It's a pity where the Book of Memories is taking the Silent Hill series: Only quantity, no quality; a lack of gameplay and story; a shift in genres which should have been done with much more caution and love. Silent Hill fans, don't touch this.