• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 1999
Crash Team Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 528 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's a multi-player kart racing game starring your favorite bandicoot CRASH and a host of his friends...and foes! The stakes are high and the competition is fierce. Ready...Set...GO!!!

Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Crash Team Racing Nitro-Fueled Reveal Trailer | The Game Awards 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    Control is also nearly-perfect... The transparent controls allow you to concentrate on racing and blasting your opponents, and so the races are faster, more fluid and more fun.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    The game that made kart racing cool. Nothing has ever matched its quality. [Mar 2002, p.34]
  3. Just like the previous Crash games, CTR is utterly polished and addictive to a fault... That's right, you heard me, CTR is a better game than Nintendo's "Mario Kart."
  4. GMR Magazine
    90
    Countless mascot racers flooded store shelves during the PlayStation era, and Crash Team Racing was the only good one. Really. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  5. 85
    Once you get past the insanely capitalistic smile of Crash, the game is rock solid in playability and graphics. Hell! It's a four-player kart game that's on the PlayStation. Isn't that enough?
  6. Though it doesn't add much to the tired genre, it manages to do everything well.
  7. A good game, not a phenomenal game, just a plain and simple good game. Though, a little on the cute side, the challenge out weights such matters.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 95
  2. Negative: 2 out of 95
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Best kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This gameBest kart racer ever!!!!!!! Ive been playin this game since i was 7 and it never gets old. The music is great and tracks are so fun. This game is so awesome i went out of my way to get platinum relics for all the tracks. I got all platinum but sewer speedway and n.gin labs are the hardest for platinum. I love this game so much i own for ps1, ps2, ps3, and psp. This so much more fast pace than mario kart. the adventure is much fun especially if you unlock the bosses. In my opinion the best ps1 racing game. Expand
  2. PaulW
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I do not give out 10s lightly but, in my opinion, anyone who ever got excited about any Mario Kart game ever again after this game was I do not give out 10s lightly but, in my opinion, anyone who ever got excited about any Mario Kart game ever again after this game was launched was easily pleased. Crash Team Racing gives you something that no MK game ever did - a proper adventure, proper characterisation, a hubworld, boss battles, some clever level design. Naughty Dog gave up Crash Bandicoot too easily - a PS3 sequel to this game would be very welcome. Miyamoto may innovate but other developers nearly always improve on the original idea. Expand
  3. May 6, 2022
    10
    This is a Kart racer really focused on skill. Give the right amoung of time of learn the mechanics and the game turns into a incredibleThis is a Kart racer really focused on skill. Give the right amoung of time of learn the mechanics and the game turns into a incredible experience. There is also a lot of single player content for casual players, such as the adventure mode (that any kart racer should have, in my opinion). For me, a perfect game for the genre. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    Still an amazingly fun game and probably the best kart racing game next to the original Mario Kart. It's too bad all of the more recent kartStill an amazingly fun game and probably the best kart racing game next to the original Mario Kart. It's too bad all of the more recent kart racers (with the exception of DS) are nowhere near as good. Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    after mario kart 64,this my favourite racing game
    it had a good story,and good graphics with a great gameplay
    and great characters the last
    after mario kart 64,this my favourite racing game
    it had a good story,and good graphics with a great gameplay
    and great characters
    the last great game of crash bandicoot
    Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2018
    9
    A really good game, there are lots of cool things about it and it is a lot of fun to play.
  7. Aug 13, 2019
    1
    The game was good but after the update with microtransacions...I just gived up on the game.

See all 95 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

13
3
#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
7
#7 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999