• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 1997
PaRappa the Rapper Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Help Parappa rap with the best of the master rappers and straight into Sunny's heart. Guaranteed you'll be singin' and dancin' along with Parappa and his pals to the most fun of mixes.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
PlayStation Store - PLAY Collective Weekly Releases - Spring 2017
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. This game would be super fly at a party You won’t be whizzing through it unless you’re super smartie.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    PaRappa will win over anyone with his hipster looks and smooth style. [Nov 2001, p.50]
  3. 100
    The kind of inexplicable game that you have to own.
  4. The music is incredible, catchy and well-written. But best of all, the concept is original.
  5. The magic of PaRappa will not be easily cloned and we'll probably only get one like it in our lifetime. Sure to transcend cultural differences, PaRappa is special; plain and simple.
  6. The game is on the short side and once you are well practiced it won't take much longer than 30 minutes to beat it. But believe this, this is one great party game, you'll be in stitches as people fumble their way through the rap when they first start. Parappa is a must have game.
  7. The only real problem with Parappa is concerning the depth as this title really does not allow much variation and Sony have only included six fairly short levels.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Dec 13, 2015
    10
    Kick! Punch! It's all in the mind! If you wanna test me, I'm sure you'll find, the things I'll teach ya, is sure to beat ya, but neverthelessKick! Punch! It's all in the mind! If you wanna test me, I'm sure you'll find, the things I'll teach ya, is sure to beat ya, but nevertheless you'll get a lesson from teacher!!! If you read that in Chop Chop Master Onion's voice, you already know why this game was so awesome. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I haven't even played this hip-hop game about a dog, but MAN is it good. I've been wanting this game for awhile, and while I still don't have it, I know when I get it, I'll have a fun time. Sure, the plots are strange, Parappa does karate, drives, sells, bakes, and then holds a **** and gets a party for it. It gets weirder each plot game, but still, it's fun as hell. I can't wait for Parappa's new anime, or his new game, as this Hip-Hop dog's only existence had died...But then light shone out, and Harappa was suddenly given a second chance. Fans played more, made more, and reviewed more. I mean, hell, he's actually what brought music games to it's fame. So without this hip-hop-rapping-pup, other amazing music games probably wouldn't have make me. As you know, when you say Boom-Boom-Boom, I'll say Bam-Bam-Bam, No pause in between, we all jam! Sorry that this review isn't, well, a review, it's more or less just me celebrating Parappa's 20th Anniversary. Which now that I say that, let's all Say ho, ho ho, ho ho ho, and scream for Parappa's 20th Anniversary! We Gotta believe! I give this game a 10 outta 10, the voices and the characters are fantastic! Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2021
    10
    original rhythm game and retro, cute characters and amazing graphics for PlayStation 1. Catchy songs that you can’t get stuck out of youroriginal rhythm game and retro, cute characters and amazing graphics for PlayStation 1. Catchy songs that you can’t get stuck out of your head, and funny story Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2020
    8
    Despite its short story and only 6 levels, Parappa the Rapper is charming cartoony rhythm based game which is targeting for young audience,Despite its short story and only 6 levels, Parappa the Rapper is charming cartoony rhythm based game which is targeting for young audience, but might be appealing for anyone nevertheless. The premise is pretty simple, rap your way through every tough situation in your life and don't forget, YOU GOTTA BELIEVE! Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    Parrapa the Rapper is always fun to play! its songs are catchy and fun to finnish. although, it is kinda hard to get the beats right for someParrapa the Rapper is always fun to play! its songs are catchy and fun to finnish. although, it is kinda hard to get the beats right for some reasons. a lot of times i could be doing bad but more score would be good and when im good my score is bad. the programing for that isn't so good but thats a ps1 game. all the way its still a good game! Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2021
    6
    The big question might be, does Parrappa The Rapper hold up to the test of time? A better question might be, did it ever hold up?

    No one
    The big question might be, does Parrappa The Rapper hold up to the test of time? A better question might be, did it ever hold up?

    No one can deny that this games presentation was great and still is today. From the cute characters to the 3D 'paper like' animations to the hip hop songs. It all comes together in a nice bundle. However, the game-play suffers tremendously. For a game that is all about button prompting along with the rhythm, it sure is inconsistent. It's biggest failing is that there is very little direction as to when the player should hit each button. Sometimes you score for a late press, sometimes for earlier, sometimes on the beat, sometimes on the off-beat. I'm sure some of the allure can be trying to figure all this out level by level. But without clear decisive rules to the game, it can cause a hell of a lot of frustration.

    Very novel in it's day, but the problems stated above sure do overshadow this games originality. Could have been a staple in history if the timing issues weren't there, but is more of a cult classic for the nostalgic.
    Expand
  7. Sophie
    May 27, 2005
    0
    EEEK! It's so wrong! "Slurp it, suck it/I know you all like it/Long and chewy, occasionally gooey/Yeah, your little slippery thing our EEEK! It's so wrong! "Slurp it, suck it/I know you all like it/Long and chewy, occasionally gooey/Yeah, your little slippery thing our tastes so good all this time." With lyrics like that, I gotta say I'm speechless! Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

3
4
#4 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
6
#6 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997