Suikoden II

PlayStation
  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Aug 31, 1999
Suikoden II Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sequel to the early PlayStation RPG. As a member of the Alliance, a military force only really hinted at in the original, you play the unwitting hero of the game: an orphan who has been raised by a quiet, unassuming battle hero in a seemingly ancient war. Alongside you in the ranks is yourSequel to the early PlayStation RPG. As a member of the Alliance, a military force only really hinted at in the original, you play the unwitting hero of the game: an orphan who has been raised by a quiet, unassuming battle hero in a seemingly ancient war. Alongside you in the ranks is your best friend Jowy, a boy born of nobility but who has never been able to receive approval in his stubborn father's eyes. As the game begins, you are immediately tossed into a tale of political strife, betrayal and war on a grand scale beyond your scope in the early stages. As the game wears on, the plot will twist, turn and develop in numerous ways that expose the personalities of each of the characters involved. The battle system is turn-based, with the option to equip Runes for special abilities, combine party member attacks to create chain combos or devastating spells, and the option to run the battle in Auto mode. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. netjak
    97
    I would place this one up there with "Xenogears" and "Grandia" as the three must buy RPGs for the system.
  2. Recreates some of the humor and visceral energy of the Chinese novel that loosely inspired it. But the characters and dramatic movement in this story of war are given enough time, thought, and care to come into a life all their own.
  3. 90
    A true sequel in nearly every aspect, Suikoden II manages to achieve the rare feat of actually picking up where the former game left off, taking gamers for a familiar ride that proves to be deeper and much more detailed than the original.
  4. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    But most of all, Suikoden II is a game easily enjoyed by both RPG newbies and veterans alike. [Nov 2001, p.52]
  5. Fans of the first Suikoden game will love the sequel - it improves on everything that had made the first game memorable. Suikoden II brings nothing new to the genre, but it executes well enough that no one will really care.
  6. Even though they did try to clear up a lot of issues some people had with the game, it just didn't seem to come off like the epic that was Suikoden I. It's not a bad sequel at all, it's just more of the same.
  7. New tactical, turn based war battles which offers total control, upgraded graphics and new special effects on spells and animations.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. AndréN.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the game I've appreciated the most out of all the games I've played. The characters. The gripping story. The Without a doubt the game I've appreciated the most out of all the games I've played. The characters. The gripping story. The beautiful music. Marvellous! Thank you, Konami. Expand
  2. KaraC.
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    I love Suikoden!! Both the 1st and the 2nd are the BEST!! I haven't tried the 3rd or 4th yet but I can't wait!! I heard I love Suikoden!! Both the 1st and the 2nd are the BEST!! I haven't tried the 3rd or 4th yet but I can't wait!! I heard they're even better!! lol, see ya!! Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Have to admit that as a J-RPG fan this game has pretty much everything that you could want in a roleplay game. After playing it countlessHave to admit that as a J-RPG fan this game has pretty much everything that you could want in a roleplay game. After playing it countless times I find it very hard to find fault with in the experience of playing Suikoden II.

    Strong plot, interesting characters (of which most are actually playable, with there being 108 to recruit) and the game is presented so well. A wonderful score by Miki Higashino with memorable and mood setting pieces.

    The game has six member part battles much like the original, strategic war battles and a number of mini-games and side quests which can either result in plot based rewards or new characters joining your army of stars.

    Suikoden II rates in as perhaps one of the best role-play games I have ever played and is timeless in the fact that I can come back and play it over and over... years after it's original release. It corrects and improves on a number of things from the original though I have to admit that there are some translation errors but it's hardly something that really effects the game.

    I seriously recommend picking this game up if you love a good plot and fun characters who will surprise you with depth (especially if you've played the later entries in the series). Konami released a winner with Suikoden II, countless modern JRPGs have tried to match it but so many have failed.
    Expand
  4. HikaruS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Masterpiece. No game ever made can beat it's plot, that even with some clichès, makes a genial use of them. Even if you have a Masterpiece. No game ever made can beat it's plot, that even with some clichès, makes a genial use of them. Even if you have a new-generation console, you'll not be wasting your time playing this. Solid gameplay and soundtrack, marvellous storyline, charismatic characters(and a great variety of it), beautiful visual for the "magics"(that were implemented in a interesting way), a couple of different endings... With some of it based on the ancient chinese literary, more specifically on "Shu?h? Zhuàn"(Suikoden in japanese, Water Margin in english). So yes, you can expect much of this, unless you are a unbrained action(and maybe childish) games die-hard fan. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    Suikoden II in my opinion is one of the greatest RPG's I've ever played, and I'm privileged to be a holder of such a great game which I willSuikoden II in my opinion is one of the greatest RPG's I've ever played, and I'm privileged to be a holder of such a great game which I will explain shortly, the amount of content included in a game of this size is generally astonishing as you can max out over 30 hours on the story alone and still be gasping for more afterwards.

    I remember as a child playing this for the first time when RPG's where the FPS's of now; so I played the likes of the Final Fantasy franchise and Shining Force to name a few. So I didn't really know what to expect when playing, I was so attached with the characters and usually the toughest part of the game was selecting a party of 6 characters out the possible 50+ available. Sometimes I would dress up as the "Hero" and became closely attached to sticks that look like Tonfa's.

    The game seems a lot like a kids game but that view is quickly dismissed with the dark nature of the story with evil characters who kill helpless civilians and depressing hanging scenes. As I a kid I loved it surprisingly, though the years of therapy to make me socially acceptable again hahaha.

    My final review on this game would be to pick this game up and play it, if your an avid RPG fan and if your not you should defiantly give this game a try. You can also buy it as a financial investment because its price will defiantly rise the less and less there are available around the world. I'm keeping mine till the day I die, can't sell a game with such memorable moments plus its 15 years old and had it took long it can move out when its18 haha

    Thanks for reading my review of Suikoden II PS1

    Ninjo
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    one of the best games of JRPG from PS1. When i play this game with FF 7 in my chilhood. Is never late for a review for a big tittle like this,one of the best games of JRPG from PS1. When i play this game with FF 7 in my chilhood. Is never late for a review for a big tittle like this, i till waiting for Suikoden 6 Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2019
    8
    Pros
    72 Playable Characters
    Auto Battle Feature Improvement of 16 Bit Sprite Animations, really expressive Sprinting now not being locked
    Pros
    72 Playable Characters
    Auto Battle Feature
    Improvement of 16 Bit Sprite Animations, really expressive
    Sprinting now not being locked behind a Rune like in the first game
    Even Cooler Rune Magic Attacks and Unite Magic Attacks
    Being able to move your save data from the first game is cool (even though I wasn’t able to)
    Different Endings are executed very well and are quite emotionally good
    Great Villain Luca Blight

    Cons
    Encounter Rate (7/10) High
    Second Half of the game (story wise imo) fell short after which is after Luca Blight’s death
    World Map Sprinting still locked behind a Rune
    The Dialogue Options during Dual Fights did not necessarily match what they there going to do next, dual fights also don’t last long enough to leave a memorable impacting experience or methodical challenge thought and lastly the amount of dialogue for each category (10 for each 30 in total) is not utilize for since duals only last about a couple (1 to have 4 strikes on you or your opponent) not many duals take place in the overall game leaving unheard dialogue extremely high and a complete waste

    Nitpicks
    Certain characters join your cause and the game wouldn’t even notify you that they’ve join
    Dialogue Options for the main character are lazy too many options consist of “.....” or “Forget about it” to the point where it’s hard to get a grasp of who the main character is. This was not an issue in Suikoden 1. If they were trying to portray the main character as a projection of the player then this can debatable but even if they did decide to take that route, it doesn’t change the fact that it’s way too consistent that the dialogue.
    Although there is a tablet where you can see all of the Stars of Destiny you have recruited there is no total number telling you how many you have recruited so far basically forcing you to manually count all of them if you want to know how much you have recruited at that given moment.
    Riou and Jowy’s ambitions were way too similar to the point where (for me) it’s hard to understand why they couldn’t come to a non-violent conclusion seeing as though they were best friends, it felt force to have the Jowy character become the antagonist for the sake of having a conflicting drama force conclusion of some kind.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

16
4
#4 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
5
#5 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999