Tekken 3

PlayStation
  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Apr 29, 1998
Tekken 3 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 792 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An ancient evil force has reawakened, attacking in secret and feeding on the souls of mighty warriors. To lure it out of hiding will take the greatest fighting contest the world has ever seen...Tekken 3. Some are fighting for revenge, some for honor, Ultimately, all are fighting for theirAn ancient evil force has reawakened, attacking in secret and feeding on the souls of mighty warriors. To lure it out of hiding will take the greatest fighting contest the world has ever seen...Tekken 3. Some are fighting for revenge, some for honor, Ultimately, all are fighting for their lives and the fate of all mankind. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The History Of Tekken In 8-Bit
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    In order to outshine Tekken 3, a game will need to have a ton of moves (T3 has over 100 per character), multi-hit combos (all T3 fighters can pull off 10-hitters), outstanding graphics (T3 has no breakup on the fighters, no "blind spots" where clipping occurs, and no slowdown), and seamless gameplay that includes juggles, counters, and linking moves.
  2. I'd come off as a huge hypocrite if I didn't put Tekken 3 at the top of the list. "Tekken 2" was a 10, and Tekken 3 is a better game in most respects.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    An amazing conversion, given the difference between the arcade and PlayStation hardware at the time. Set the standard for bonuses. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A "better than arcade" overall game translation here that will truly stand the test of time and perhaps be the best fighter we will ever see released on the Playstation.
  5. 93
    The only gripe that we'd have with it is that Namco's set the bar so high that we shudder with anticipation and dread over what the designers'll have to do to top this.
  6. After the first fight you will see how much time was spent on the details of making the characters look and react as realistic as possible.
  7. While the backgrounds are 2D, they are rich and diverse and those spot explosions, though pixilated, feature high quality light sourcing.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 1 out of 86
  1. DanB.
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    I have a PS One, but I don't play it much anymore (now that I have the Wii) But from time to time, I plug in my Tekken game and play it. I have a PS One, but I don't play it much anymore (now that I have the Wii) But from time to time, I plug in my Tekken game and play it. It's so addicting, and pretty good graphics for the PS One. Despite being old, I would still play it for a long time. Expand
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    I can not stress on how amazing this game is. For a PS1 game, this was easily in the Top 5 games of all time back then. Tekken 3 still remainsI can not stress on how amazing this game is. For a PS1 game, this was easily in the Top 5 games of all time back then. Tekken 3 still remains the best in the franchise next to Tekken 5. For some odd reason, Namco decided to go multiplatform outside of the PlayStation brand. Ever since that, Tekken hasn't been very good. Hopefully they will return back home where they belong. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2021
    10
    After all these years this is the greatest Fighting game ever. The characters are well balanced and fun to play.
  4. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    Tekken 3 was the best fighting game for me in early 2000s it's the best in 2020(even after playing tekken 7)
    Non over the top clutter on the
    Tekken 3 was the best fighting game for me in early 2000s it's the best in 2020(even after playing tekken 7)
    Non over the top clutter on the screen, no 9000 same characters, no hulk looking male characters and no loli looking female characters, visible hp bar

    Best music in tekken series as well

    for me it's perfect game
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2020
    10
    Legendary and revolutionary fighter. Yeah, I know that there were Tekken 1 and 2 before, but Tekken 3 was something else. The graphics, theLegendary and revolutionary fighter. Yeah, I know that there were Tekken 1 and 2 before, but Tekken 3 was something else. The graphics, the music, the characters, the movesets, the game modes, the movies. It pushed PS1 to it's limits. I dare to say that there is no better Tekken game to this day. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2016
    9
    This game is one of the best fighting games out there and is unique from others because of it's 3d style where you can move to the left orThis game is one of the best fighting games out there and is unique from others because of it's 3d style where you can move to the left or right and not just forward and back. It is also the final and best Tekken there is, the newer ones just have better graphics and more game modes. Expand
  7. May 11, 2016
    0
    Worst fighting series ever. relies to much on clunky cheap juggle combos. Cheap gimmicky characters. Choppy sorry deformed animations, uglyWorst fighting series ever. relies to much on clunky cheap juggle combos. Cheap gimmicky characters. Choppy sorry deformed animations, ugly flickering jaggy polygons with low res textures. clumsy 4 button system that creats the illusion of depth but a punch is a punch unless one is a power hand and a jab hand. Gimmicky goofy characters. Soul Caliber on Dreamcast was Namcos only good fighter. Tekken is and always was just hype. Sony paid for good reviews because they knew that if people found out that VF is superior in every way the saturn might gain some ground. Good thing Sony owned media companies like Viacom which owned media outlets and the defunct blockbuster. Do yourself a favor Play Virtua Fighter 2 and you will see that tekken 123 are trash hype nothing more than a studio pop singer. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.

Awards & Rankings

1
5
#5 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
2
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998