User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 738 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HimanchuGiri
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    Breath-taking, still replayable to this day. Relive the classic game that defined the extreme sports genre by cutting into a slice of a cake knows as Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2. The whole game revamped what was previously thought un-upgradable and maximized it ten fold. The whole concept is awesome and it appealed to both hardcore and casual gamers. An enthralling game that deserves Breath-taking, still replayable to this day. Relive the classic game that defined the extreme sports genre by cutting into a slice of a cake knows as Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2. The whole game revamped what was previously thought un-upgradable and maximized it ten fold. The whole concept is awesome and it appealed to both hardcore and casual gamers. An enthralling game that deserves its 98/100 metascore. May this game be in a video game museum, shelved as one of the best games of all time. It deserves it. Go on, play the game today! Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    The music are so cool,The challenge is hard!Simple this is the best tony hawk game!The skates options are very extense and the game is very long!Hey Oh Let's Go play Tony Hawk's
  3. StevenT.
    Aug 8, 2001
    10
    Ooooh myyyy god!
  4. JohnD
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    An excellent skating game. I have enjoyed this game for many, many years.
  5. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    Best game of all time, at least I think so, cos this game made many people to go skate
  6. johndoe
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Hands down, the best tony hawk game ever made.
  7. May 15, 2016
    7
    Несмотря на сумасшедшее управление - это один из лучших симуляторов скейтбординга, в который мне когда либо приходилось играть. Советую попробовать!
  8. Mar 26, 2017
    7
    Great game at the time, but THPS3 and THAW improved so much on the formula that it's hard to come back to a time before Reverts. Playing this game now is like going back to Pop-Tarts after you've had a Toaster Strudel.
  9. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Not just the best skateboarding game made, but the best sports game made. Everyone who played this when they first had a playstation will all have very fond memories of THPS2.
  10. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome! Perfect soundtrack, awesome gameplay and original graphics (very nice for PS plataform). A lot of secret areas and easter eggs to find. AWESOME, RADICAL! THIS ONE TOTALLY ROCKS!! It makes me try to fix my good old PS 1 to to play it.
  11. Oct 22, 2015
    10
    It's a 15-year-old PlayStation game and still it holds up as one of the best ever made. So, uh, props.
    It's not a very good pick-up-and-play game, though. But if you've played any other TH game after this one it shouldn't be too hard for you to learn.
  12. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    I'm giving it a 10, because if it's music.Because it's the best skateboarding game.Because haters are stupid (u mad bro?).Because it was the reason I'd like to start skating.Because Spiderman is awesome and because I love it... haters hate it cuz they can't make a simple combo...
  13. Jan 6, 2015
    9
    One of the best games on the Playstation. The Tony Hawk games are always fun and this was a great sequel, sure Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 on the PS2 took the whole series to the next level but this was the last good tony hawk games to come on the PS1. With a great soundtrack and levels this game would keep you busy for hours and not to mention this was one of the first games that let you buildOne of the best games on the Playstation. The Tony Hawk games are always fun and this was a great sequel, sure Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 on the PS2 took the whole series to the next level but this was the last good tony hawk games to come on the PS1. With a great soundtrack and levels this game would keep you busy for hours and not to mention this was one of the first games that let you build your own skate park. This game deserves all the high ratings from critics and may I say might be one of the best PS1 games ever. Expand
  14. May 18, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  15. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    Now this got better. Tony Hawk's skating adventures just got to the next level and it's only for your closest original PlayStation console anywhere if seen.
  16. Apr 16, 2017
    9
    Truly a fantastic sports game. One of a kind, even in its own series of games.
    Great music, great style, fun missions and amazingly memorable levels.
    I have had so much fun playing this game in my life and I will continue to play it alongside the other pro skater games until they stop working or I die.
  17. Nov 23, 2017
    10
    The BEST SKATEBOARDING GAME.YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES.
  18. Mar 7, 2017
    0
    Say whaaaaat?! Number 2 game of all time? I remember having fond memories of it but taking off those nostalgia-goggles leaves me with a glitchy and buggy mess. Nothing about it is memorable and there are way better games made after this that should be rated higher. Ocarina shouldn't be number 1 either but that's off topic, *sigh*, I guess nostalgia wins people over again...
  19. Oct 10, 2015
    10
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 is a game I've been playing a lot of lately. Since THPS5 came around and disappointed just about everyone, I figured it was an opportune time to return to this game after years of not playing it.

    The first thing to note about THPS2 is that movement just feels good. Really good. Your character skates along the screen at a breakneck pace, every ollie fees as
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 is a game I've been playing a lot of lately. Since THPS5 came around and disappointed just about everyone, I figured it was an opportune time to return to this game after years of not playing it.

    The first thing to note about THPS2 is that movement just feels good. Really good. Your character skates along the screen at a breakneck pace, every ollie fees as though it has the correct balance of distance and floatiness. The manual system implemented changed the way this entire series was played and designed by implementing ollie, fliptrick, grind, fliptrick, manual, fliptrick, grind, etc. combos. Bails have an impressive range of animations (albeit canned animations, this was PS1, after all) and hit with satisfying thuds and cracks. Grinds feel the right amount of sticky for this style of gameplay. Overall, simply maneuvering and learning THPS2's mechanics is one of the main, if not THE main draw to the game.

    Luckily, there's a solid game backing this movement up. Throughout the game's career mode, you'll have 10 goals to complete through 5 of the game's 8 levels, with 3 levels being designated competition levels. The goals range from high scores, collecting the SKATE letters, finding secret tapes, doing specific tricks over specific environmental hazards, destroying objects, etc. There's a lot to do in THPS2's levels, and the variety you see helps to make for an expertly paced game. Not just variety in the goals, but in the levels themselves. You'll see everything from cold warehouses, to sunny beaches, to schoolyards, to bullrings, so on and so forth.

    Instead of simply accomplishing goals to unlock levels, THPS2 revolves around a currency system. Effectively, you're still completing goals to unlock levels, but the trick is, goals are worth varying amounts of cash, with the game's tougher goals being worth more than your typical high score challenge. It's a system that rewards you more accordingly.

    On top of goals paying out, there are hidden cash icons to find throughout the levels. There are 12 for each stage, and once you complete the goals for a level, you're tasked with finding them all to cross the 100% completion off of the level goals checklist. Again, rewarding you with more money for your efforts.

    Money is not only used to unlock levels though. In between levels you have the ability to spend cash on stat points to make your character go faster, ollie higher, balance more easily, and so on, as well as buying boards with incremental stat upgrades tied to them. THPS2 makes sure that you're always working toward something, whether that be unlocking a new level, board, or the ability to make your skater better, and that's what helps it remain so compelling.

    Which is a good thing, considering once you know your way around the game, a 100% run with a single character can be over within an hour's time. After you complete the game, though, you unlock more characters, cheats, levels, etc., with each character having their own unlock tied to them. I must have played through this game a solid 6 or 7 times now, and I still haven't unlocked everything. Thanks to the game's structure, outstanding level design, and solid skating engine, I've yet to get bored with it. I absolutely plan on playing it through with every other character until I unlock everything possible.

    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 is a literal masterpiece. It's so close to perfecting the genre that it's hard to believe that this was only Neversoft's second effort with the series. It's hands-down the best arcade style skating game ever made, with even its sequels somewhat losing the magic and essence of what THPS2 was. THPS2 is a 10, hands down.
    Expand
  20. Apr 29, 2017
    9
    Fond memories of playing it when i was a teenager.
    The controls are tight, the graphics are amazing for the era and the soundtrack is legendary.
    Plus, you get your own level editor.
    9/10 would still play it even today.
  21. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    One of the best PS games of all time.This game offers great fun and awesome multi player action.
    10/10.
    Graphics-9/10
    Playabilitie -9/10
    SoundTrack-9/10
  22. Sep 11, 2017
    10
    This game was simply AWESOME. I remember doing tricks playing as Tony Hawk while listening to it's classic, timeless soundtrack. Whoever thought of buying this game must've been a genius. It definitely deserves a score of ten from me!
  23. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Top KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop KekTop Kek
  24. Jun 11, 2020
    0
    a good skate game but got overrated by critics good for fun and killing time
  25. Nov 29, 2014
    6
    I personally think this game is overrated. Its not a bad game by any means, but there are so many better tony hawk games out there. since i was a baby when this game was released, i don't have the fond memory's that others may have. I can at least see the appeal of this game. but i don't feel the same way me it just feels very clunky and outdated. which is the exact opposite aI personally think this game is overrated. Its not a bad game by any means, but there are so many better tony hawk games out there. since i was a baby when this game was released, i don't have the fond memory's that others may have. I can at least see the appeal of this game. but i don't feel the same way me it just feels very clunky and outdated. which is the exact opposite a skateboarding game should be. anyways there are some good things about this game as well. the soundtrack is excellent featuring professional bands like rage against the machine, and there are some great areas to explore. but the later games on the ps2 also have these features, but they do it so much better. this is a good game, but off you already have the later games, your not missing out on much. Expand
  26. Oct 24, 2014
    2
    The game is just....bad!! It is so buggy,so poorly executed and it make me vomit.If you are going to buy this game,do it if you are either fan of the previous games or just a big Tony Hawk fan.If you are not, do not buy the game and if you do, you will see what I'm talking about
  27. Feb 8, 2018
    0
    Tony Hawk games are very overrated. The games do not stand the test of time and do not belong in the top games of all time list.
  28. Oct 2, 2017
    3
    I didn't find much enjoyment in it, it gets dull after playing it once. Replay value is huge in video games. doing tricks wasn't all that enjoyable, it's pretty overrated in my opinion.
  29. MadDJoKeR
    Mar 31, 2003
    6
    It was ok.
  30. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    Very entertaining the first time I played it. Definitely the best Tony Hawk game. 10/10 for a skating game, but it just doesn't compare to some other titles on the Playstation. I think a 7 is a fair rating.
  31. May 19, 2020
    0
    This game is a piece of **** and its too overrated! The Controls are also very stupid!
  32. ConnorM.
    Feb 24, 2005
    1
    Will a GAME WITH A STORY, please stand up, please stand up...
  33. Feb 11, 2015
    10
    Amazing game in which I have spent hours playing. Just for those who think this is a game that only the old farts with nostalgia like I'm only 16 and I too find this game to be worth 10 stars
  34. Mar 31, 2018
    10
    the people review-bombing this game are retards, here's a 10 rating because **** you
  35. Jul 19, 2020
    9
    Soft and amazing gameplay , it's rewarding and fun, it looks really well , there are a huge amount of moves and tricks to try, it never gets boring , most of the tracks are very well designed and the controls are easy to learn for any one , it's a must play for sega Dreamcast and Nintendo 64 and easily beats the first and the second game. It's a MASTERPIECE!
  36. Nov 10, 2020
    10
    Soy skate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  37. KirkG.
    Nov 8, 2001
    10
    I bought this game as soon as it came out and I wasn't disapointed. THPS2 rules!!
  38. ColeL.
    Mar 1, 2002
    7
    This is a game I hold close to my heart. But this game does not distinguish itself as the mega game of many systems. This game bores the player after once or twice through the game.
  39. Gods_Grl
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    This game rocks! I own 1 and 2 of tony hawks pro skater games. If the third one is as good as this, I'm geting it! This is definitely a must have for all gamers!
  40. Jenn:)
    Jul 14, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome!
  41. TheElusivePossom
    Apr 16, 2003
    7
    Oh dear! The Tony Hawk franchise has lasted well, and rightly so, for the concept on which it is based bears enough amusement for it to hold its own. But "BEST GAME EVER"? Hardly. It is deeply surprising, and yes, indeed, even disturbing, that it has been given such a title by several individuals. Do not misunderstand: THPS2 was once a great game to have, but it has NEVER COME CLOSE to Oh dear! The Tony Hawk franchise has lasted well, and rightly so, for the concept on which it is based bears enough amusement for it to hold its own. But "BEST GAME EVER"? Hardly. It is deeply surprising, and yes, indeed, even disturbing, that it has been given such a title by several individuals. Do not misunderstand: THPS2 was once a great game to have, but it has NEVER COME CLOSE to ranking among the best. And with 2 sequels out since its release, consider pointing your well-earned cash elsewhere... Expand
  42. KevinS.
    Aug 30, 2003
    10
    Unbelievable!
  43. RafaelC.
    Jun 29, 2005
    8
    Good Game, but kinda Over-Rated by the Hype..
  44. [Anonymous]
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    Why does it need a story it's a skating game. Even without a story name a better skatting game!
  45. DieselC
    Aug 21, 2009
    7
    Highly overrated game. It's a good game but the first Tony Hawk game will always be the one that did it for me.
  46. KarlD.
    Jan 4, 2002
    10
    One of the best games ever for the psx! The playstation world is divided between those who played tony hawk's 2 and those who are going to play it!! Flawless!!
  47. JohnF.
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    It rulez.
  48. EverettP.
    Aug 29, 2003
    10
    This game was the best sequel of all time.
  49. TomP
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    One of the best. Still played today. there is no need for a story with such amazing gameplay
  50. LividFiction
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    While THPS was an oustanding game, THPS2 guaranteed the series' ongoing success. With new tricks and two new modes
  51. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    The soundtrack of my youth. Just the music makes this game a must-own, but the silky-smooth controls, along with the map design, make this one of the finest PS1 and early PC game titles ever released.

    Thanks to the community, the PC release has now been patched with high-res stereo sound, and support for Windows 10 and new high-res widescreen resolutions... it STILL ROCKS!
  52. Jul 23, 2021
    10
    People who rated this game below an 8 are the garbage of the world. You must of not played it at the time of it's release, because you're a poopy zoomer. Was definitely one of the greatest games of the decade. Best soundtrack to date.
  53. Jan 17, 2019
    10
    I will go on record and say that this game hasn't aged well in how complex the controls feel and how it lacks many useful skills like the revert. When this game first came out, it was easily the greatest skateboarding game in the world at that point. It's very obvious that when Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 came out, it made the second game obsolete instantly in terms of graphics, gameplay andI will go on record and say that this game hasn't aged well in how complex the controls feel and how it lacks many useful skills like the revert. When this game first came out, it was easily the greatest skateboarding game in the world at that point. It's very obvious that when Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 came out, it made the second game obsolete instantly in terms of graphics, gameplay and controls. If you can play this game as if it is the year 2000, you can get a lot of enjoyment out of it. It's still a very fun and challenging game to learn and master. Just don't expect it to hold up in today's standards in quality. Expand
  54. Feb 11, 2019
    9
    I played this game for so long. One of the first games where I just completed pretty much everything the game had to offer. Multiplayer was fun too. Don't know why the user score isn't higher.
  55. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    The best pro skater. Level design is near perfect, goals are challenging but not too difficult, soundtrack is phenomenal and the amount of content is staggering. An exceptional game that I would recommend to anyone.
  56. Jul 19, 2019
    9
    Main evaluation criteria:
    -Atmosphere: 8
    -Graphics and design: 9
    -Gameplay: 10
    -Sound and Music: 10
    -Bugs: 10
    -Interface: 9
    -Completeness of the world: 10

    Аdditional evaluation criteria (Do not really affect the assessment):
    -Coop in Story mode: 10
    -Mods and the ability to change the game: 0

    Scores from 1 to 10, the higher the better
  57. Jul 10, 2021
    10
    This game is pure nostalgia for me I’ve been playing this game since I was 3, absolute classic.
  58. Mar 8, 2018
    9
    ohhhh the memories.... I remember playing this game no my own and I had no problems making all the goals in everylevel. Including secrets and such. I replayed every level so many times that I even made lists of how to complete the 10 goals with less attempts possible.

    When I first played this game with friends, they were so bad that they worshipped me as a god. They could make that many
    ohhhh the memories.... I remember playing this game no my own and I had no problems making all the goals in everylevel. Including secrets and such. I replayed every level so many times that I even made lists of how to complete the 10 goals with less attempts possible.

    When I first played this game with friends, they were so bad that they worshipped me as a god. They could make that many points. My trick? half pipe most of the time and in every jump, first a trick with the Square and a trick with the circle, all that while spinning 720º at least. Try everycombination to make 200.000 minimun. Their best score was roughly 10.000 therefore, I was a god for em.

    and thats my story and my best memory of the game. Everything in this game is perfect. I still play sometimes nowadays with the PSX emulator in my raspberry pi3
    Expand
  59. Aug 14, 2019
    10
    Great sequel that improves on the Tony Hawk franchise. Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 is a great game! The game is very fun to play with a fantastic career mode that is very fun to play. The levels in this game are awesome and well designed. Also, the soundtrack is fantastic and one of my favorites in the franchise. Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 is a great sequel.
  60. Jul 11, 2021
    8
    Больше и лучше первой. Не лучшая часть серии, но в свое время все играли и угорали.
  61. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    Great game, great characters, and very revolutionary for its time. Very amazing graphics and I can not stop playing. It really makes you feel like batman.
  62. Nov 9, 2019
    10
    This game is so good, it is by itself reason enough to buy a PS2 again. The graphics were amazing for the time, the hidden areas kept people playing, the surroundings were creative, ... There is not much to dislike about this game.
  63. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Hands on easily the best tony stawk game and deserves to be the best ps1 game
  64. Sep 10, 2020
    0
    Most overrated game of all time in video game history. Bad physics and it feels like your skating on cardboard. If you want a version that's good get the Dreamcast. That version has aged phenomenally and has much better physics and gameplay. And much better draw distance and graphics as well on top of that.
  65. Nov 20, 2019
    10
    This is one of my favorite PS1 of all time

    The Gameplay
    The Skaters
    The Levels
    And Obviously
    The Soundtrack

    It's all great
  66. Oct 1, 2020
    10
    Такой игры больше нет сейчас, шедевр своего времени, залипал уйму часов, и был в щенячем восторге, 10/10
  67. Jan 8, 2020
    10
    The only game I continue to play year after year. There is no other 10-rated game for me.
  68. Jun 14, 2020
    9
    Fantastic game. Not only levels are even better, but you get skater creator, park creator... this is a game you can play for years and not be bored with. When you look past technical limitations, it might just be the best one in the series.
  69. Jun 20, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mal juego de patineta la vdd es divertido pero ha envejecido mal y otro punto negativo por aparecer hasta arriba Expand
  70. Jun 20, 2020
    8
    Jogo muito divertido, apesar de ser um pouco casual e apresentar bugs algumas vezes.
  71. Jun 26, 2020
    0
    Los juegos de deporte no son mis favoritos pero hay algunos rescatables pero Tony hawk no lo es
  72. Aug 2, 2020
    8
    I love this game. Learning the tricks and pulling them off feels great. And the Soundtrack is so nostalgic. This whole game evokes many emotions of the era it was released in. And it is absolutely 100% nostalgia speaking but it's still viable to me personally because of the memories.
  73. Jun 28, 2020
    10
    I spent more time on the first game but this one took everything from the first and added quite a lot more and more fluid gameplay
  74. Jun 29, 2020
    10
    My favourite sports game of all time! Great arcade gameplay and fantastic punk soundtrack.
  75. Aug 17, 2020
    0
    Mítico juego de patinaje que no tiene nada que ofrecer aparte de golpes cuando intentas cosas.
  76. Sep 18, 2020
    0
    Best game that i ever played the soundtrack the fell i perfect the flow the gameplay the phicychs are soo good recomended
  77. Oct 20, 2020
    9
    I spent more time on the first game but this one took everything from the first and added quite a lot more and more fluid gameplay
  78. Nov 7, 2020
    0
    Este juego es espectacular, tiene todo lo que le hace falta a un juego, tetas, culos y cascos.
    Tiene una maravillosa narrativa oculta solo apta para los mas inteligentes, como cuando Tony Guts adopto a Bart Simpson y peleo en un duelo de skate con Homero Grifith.
  79. Nov 7, 2020
    9
    What do I have to say. I wan't even old enough to play this game and playing it after I played the later games. I find myself playing this the most. Let me list why.
    Create-A-Park, Create a skater, Spider-Man, Officer Dick AGAIN, Levels, goal refinement, BEST SOUNDTRACK IN THE SERIES
  80. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom Expand
  81. Feb 18, 2021
    0
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  82. Mar 3, 2021
    10
    El mejor juego de skate de todos los tiempos. En su época una barbaridas al que echarle horas y horas divirtiendose, una obra maestra.
  83. Aug 31, 2021
    9
    just trying to play, it turns out this game is a masterpiece, the graphics are like ps2, the skates are all good and fun
  84. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    Was ok, but many other games are much better !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  85. Sep 20, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just an absolutely perfect skateboarding game. From the levels to the soundtrack this game has little to no faults. Expand
  86. Nov 21, 2021
    9
    I'm definitely a fan, just feels a little clunky after all these years. Still a fantastic time for any skater game fan.

Awards & Rankings

1
4
#4 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
1
#1 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. CNET Gamecenter
    100
    The best skateboarding game ever and one of the greatest PlayStation games of all time.
  2. GMR Magazine
    100
    The best installment of the series in terms of control, music, and course design. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  3. CheckOut
    90
    With its customizability, near-perfect gameplay and copious amounts of fun, Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2 is the real deal -- a great sequel and a stellar game.