User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2014
    7
    It may be short but it is fun! It's trackmania crossed with Mario kart! Who can go wrong with that. Making your own tracks can be fun aswell but be carefull of falling off edges.
  2. BrandonCounts
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    My favorite game on the PSP! It might be easy but there is over 100! Levels. I paid $9.99 at Gamestop - Used. My family also has a PS3 and there was a Grip Sift Demo in the PlayStation Store and we downloaded it, We loved it! Get Grip Shift today!!!
  3. MikeH.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite things about this game was the bonus games. There are lots of fun levels and I really like the music.
  4. AJ
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    My favourite game on the PSP, I'm surprised to see such mixed reviews, yet I can understand this. Gripshift is a game that is unlike any other- it's really a puzzler, despite the fact it appears to be a racer, and this will catch many off guard. The game requires pinpoint precision at high velocity, as well as a willingness to put your ego aside and watch yourself fail My favourite game on the PSP, I'm surprised to see such mixed reviews, yet I can understand this. Gripshift is a game that is unlike any other- it's really a puzzler, despite the fact it appears to be a racer, and this will catch many off guard. The game requires pinpoint precision at high velocity, as well as a willingness to put your ego aside and watch yourself fail repeatedly. However, this makes the joy of victory so much sweeter - when you do finally nail that evil track, you'll be fist-pumping the air as you watch your sublime performance in the replay, over and over again. And you'll want to show that replay to every stranger in town. The Gripshift experience reminds me a lot of Super Monkey Ball challenges, but the speed factor and added depth of Gripshift leaves that other game for dead. The difficulty level of Gripshift gradually becomes unbelievably insane, guaranteeing that most people will never complete it. People who can live with that will still find Gripshift just plain fun, and hardcore puzzlers should become obsessed with this one. Expand
  5. NeilA.
    Jan 12, 2006
    7
    this game isnt bad but it isnt great either. Its fun and quick to pick up and play... the 19.99 price tag didnt hurt either...play it you might be surprised....
  6. SteveB.
    Dec 18, 2005
    7
    Another game that could have been awesome but is just average. The tracks are very short and the puzzle elements just slows down the action and makes it boring. I am all in favor of experimenting with new gameplay ideas but when it doest work it just doest work. They should have figured this out and make it more action oriented before release it. 20 secs long races wich slow moving Another game that could have been awesome but is just average. The tracks are very short and the puzzle elements just slows down the action and makes it boring. I am all in favor of experimenting with new gameplay ideas but when it doest work it just doest work. They should have figured this out and make it more action oriented before release it. 20 secs long races wich slow moving platforms... fun for about 3 or 4 hours. The music is very good and so are the graphics. Playing it you get a sense of how great if could have been especially in the 1 on 1 races that involve no puzzles and very little platform jumping. The track editor is a nice touch as i can make courses that are nore puzzle oriented and more how i would have liked the game to be. Try before buying. Expand
  7. GordonG.
    Nov 9, 2005
    10
    Gripshift seems like an odd mix of genres for a video game, and it's difficult to get a sense of the game from just screenshots and movies. It's pure old school arcade magic. If you grew up with fast reaction games and you like racing games, then this is your gaming nirvana. Basically the game is a puzzle game, you start on a track suspended in mid air, and the object is to get Gripshift seems like an odd mix of genres for a video game, and it's difficult to get a sense of the game from just screenshots and movies. It's pure old school arcade magic. If you grew up with fast reaction games and you like racing games, then this is your gaming nirvana. Basically the game is a puzzle game, you start on a track suspended in mid air, and the object is to get from the start line to the finish line. There are always 3 objectives, 1) get to the finish line in the fastest time possible, 2) collect the Gripshift symbol and get to the finish line within the level time limit and 3) Finish the level and collect all the stars littered around the level. Sounds fairly easy, but no, every level has been crafted to challenge you. The game is extremely responsive and each attempt at a level can be a whole new experience, touching an edge to force your car into the air might help your chances of getting to the finish quicker. Basically anything goes in your quest to complete the level. Graphics are beautiful throughout. Best feature of the game is the instant restart of the level if you mess up. Just press start, choose restart and try again. You'll be thankful for that the 35th time you try to beat that evil level. You just can't put the PSP down until the battery dies. Fantastic! Expand
  8. MattB
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Looks good, sounds cool, I'll buy it as soon as I can.
  9. BilboBaggins
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    Checked out a friend's copy the other day after he recommended it to me. I think the best way to describe this game is playing Super Monkey Ball in cars. It's a puzzly driving action game. :) It's definitely NOT a racing game like NFS and Burnout and would be a shame to compare it to those games because it offers so much more than those boneheaded racers. You've gotta Checked out a friend's copy the other day after he recommended it to me. I think the best way to describe this game is playing Super Monkey Ball in cars. It's a puzzly driving action game. :) It's definitely NOT a racing game like NFS and Burnout and would be a shame to compare it to those games because it offers so much more than those boneheaded racers. You've gotta actually think out of the box and use your brain in this game. Besides, GripShift is actually one of the few games on the PSP that's completely new- you've gotta give some props to the developers for trying to come up with something new. GripShift definitely has lots of cool moments and challenging gameplay that's just perfect for the PSP. Expand
  10. NickH.
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    I've already played this game for 10 hours and I can't seem to put it down! Very addicting.
  11. TonyS.
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    This game is just more fun than your average typical racing game. Makes you use your brain!
  12. PoppaS.
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    This game rocks! Its like Hot Wheels, meets Mario Kart, TrackMania, with puzzle solving elements all rolled into one! Definately the best buy I've made on PSP so far! Its so damn addictive with all the different gameplay modes. I am only 9% through it but I've already unlocked some cool mini-games! The track editor feature looks pretty cool, and I hear you can upload & share This game rocks! Its like Hot Wheels, meets Mario Kart, TrackMania, with puzzle solving elements all rolled into one! Definately the best buy I've made on PSP so far! Its so damn addictive with all the different gameplay modes. I am only 9% through it but I've already unlocked some cool mini-games! The track editor feature looks pretty cool, and I hear you can upload & share your tracks over the net. Its great for quick play while waiting on the bus, and the load times are very quick. 10/10 Expand
  13. May 29, 2014
    7
    It may be short but it is fun! It's trackmania crossed with Mario kart! Who can go wrong with that. Making your own tracks can be fun aswell but be carefull of falling off edges.

Awards & Rankings

37
30
#30 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
38
#38 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    In terms of addictive qualities, it's certainly no "Lumines." But it is a surprisingly solid game. [Oct 2005, p.108]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    55
    If Dr. Frankenstein made a game, he'd probably patch together something like this self-proclaimed puzzle/platform/driving/actioner. [Oct 2005, p.122]
  3. 75
    While GripShift does in fact offer varied, unique and entertaining gameplay, it feels like these genres never really gel together as well as they should. Still, it’s fun once you get used to the idea.