• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2006
Mega Man Powered Up Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mega Man is on a quest to restore peace in the world after Dr. Wily takes control of several robots in hopes to rule the planet. Completely re-designed for the PSP with new bosses and puzzles to master, Mega Man Powered Up is the only action platformer that lets gamers create their ownMega Man is on a quest to restore peace in the world after Dr. Wily takes control of several robots in hopes to rule the planet. Completely re-designed for the PSP with new bosses and puzzles to master, Mega Man Powered Up is the only action platformer that lets gamers create their own levels and share with friends. Totally redesigned level structure - every level features modified map structures as well as varied item locations. Intuitive level editor option allows endless possibilities. Players can design their own stages creating challenges that are only limited by their own imagination. Customize everything from enemy and object placement to music. Mega Man Challenge 100 – take a break from the main story mode by putting skills to the test in 100 different short stages, each with its own objectives and challenges. Play as any of the eight boss robots in the game – utilize their unique abilities and characteristics to zip past obstacles. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 100
    By far my favorite PSP game yet. Not only is it an outstanding remake of an already fantastic game, but there's an entirely new version of the game with tons of replay value thanks to all of the unlockable characters.
  2. Nearly every aspect of this game is perfect, and despite its historic roots, becomes a 'must own,' not only for Mega Man fans, but for every PSP owner out there.
  3. Powered Up is definitely the most comprehensive Mega Man game out there.
  4. Game Informer
    83
    Mega Man Powered Up shows its Mega Man heritage by being cheap at times and somewhat short in length, but it delivers in just about every way you could hope for, given that it's basically a remake of a game that's almost 20 years old. [Apr 2006, p.133]
  5. Radically revamped graphics, a new adventure, an old adventure, unlimited challenge, and the amazing Construction mode add up to one very compelling package.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    A fun action experience with plenty of the old-school Mega Man platforming that everyone has come to love. [May 2006, p.92]
  7. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    40
    There's little speed, skill or urgency to any of the platform/shooting action - making this another ignominous entry in Mega Man's CV. [Apr 2006, p.100]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. DonF.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This is the best game for the PSP! I couldn't stop playing once I had gotten it.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I've heard of this game. I'd love the facts that you can play as the Robot Masters, but it's worth the challenge when it comes to defeatingI've heard of this game. I'd love the facts that you can play as the Robot Masters, but it's worth the challenge when it comes to defeating them in normal mode with the Mega Buster. Not only you can as the bosses, but you can create your own levels and publish them online. I don't know why Capcom wouldn't make us Mega Man Powered Up 2. There's no reason why this game is underrated. I loved everything about this game so much there's nothing negative to say about it. The music should be fixed, but otherwise, please buy this game. I'll give this game an A+ and it's worth buying. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Mega man powered up is best psp game along with mega man maverick hunter X, It features oil man and time man as new bosses, however 8 bossesMega man powered up is best psp game along with mega man maverick hunter X, It features oil man and time man as new bosses, however 8 bosses roll and protoman are playable, get mega man power up. Expand
  4. PaulC.
    Mar 18, 2006
    9
    Very good game. If you like Mega Man, this is a MUST BUY. If you like infinite replay value, this is also a MUST BUY due to the level editor. Very good game. If you like Mega Man, this is a MUST BUY. If you like infinite replay value, this is also a MUST BUY due to the level editor. You actually get to build your own Mega Man levels which, I'm sorry, is something that most games SHOULD do, but don't. Solid game, great update on the graphics and just fun to play. Highly reommended. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    This game has the essence of the first Mega Man for NES. Capcom has redesigned it with updated graphics and music. Besides, if you liked theThis game has the essence of the first Mega Man for NES. Capcom has redesigned it with updated graphics and music. Besides, if you liked the game when it was released in the 80s, this is much more challenging. You can even play with all the boss characters as if they were the real Mega. Besides, there are several challenges for each of them which makes this game longer. A special characteristic of this game is the level editor, which is not really difficult to get used to. Apart from this, you can upload your stage to a web server where you can download other levels made from fans.

    Truly recommendable.
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    This is a fact, the graphics makes me cry by the cutesy that brings packed with the most simplistic gameplay formula . For fans and casualThis is a fact, the graphics makes me cry by the cutesy that brings packed with the most simplistic gameplay formula . For fans and casual gamers , MMPU will be a worthy tittle the it'll make your PSP proud . Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2016
    3
    I can't believe this game has that high score. Its lvl design so bad and boring and the controlls are not very smooth. Also it was made to beI can't believe this game has that high score. Its lvl design so bad and boring and the controlls are not very smooth. Also it was made to be very childish game. for being a real megaman fan of the series I find this a disgrace to the megaman title. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

10
12
#12 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
41
#41 Most Shared PSP Game of 2006