User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 173
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. craignasty
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    Honestly, its a console quality game, its a game you can easily spend a couple hundred hours on if you get into it, and even then you wouldn't be experiencing all the content in it. definitely a five star game, this will be the only umd in my psp until final fantasy dissidia comes out.
  2. BobN
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    The PSP is full of promise, but short on delivery. Most games last no more than 2-5 hours and have small replayability. This game is a major exception. This is essentially the same as MHF 2, but with a few new things. If you have never played the others, do yourself a fovor and buy this. It is, quite simply, the best bang for your buck on the PSP. Also, it is incredibly rewarding when you The PSP is full of promise, but short on delivery. Most games last no more than 2-5 hours and have small replayability. This game is a major exception. This is essentially the same as MHF 2, but with a few new things. If you have never played the others, do yourself a fovor and buy this. It is, quite simply, the best bang for your buck on the PSP. Also, it is incredibly rewarding when you KO a pain in the @$$ beast with a hammer to the skull. Great stuff. Expand
  3. AdamK
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    Its sad that so few reviewers gave this game the time of day it deserves. Yes it has a strict learning curve. But if master the camera with your left index, if you master the controls to fluidity, this game will reward you with the greatest gaming experiences. The only real criticism i have for Monster Hunter is that it makes all the great games you used to play, boring.
  4. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    BEST game EVER!! **** fun playing this game!!
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    You are a Hunter. You fight Monsters. It is hard. It is fun. It is everything to me.

    ... Oh, I guess this review is required to be at least 150 characters.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    This is a great game to experience for the psp, it's highly addicting. It's a very long game game to complete, and it fun playing it with friends with up to 4 in a quest. Their are a huge selection of weapons to choose from, same goes for the gear. I highly enjoy this game only issue is the repetitiveness, like after a mission you may get in this routine of going to your farm, then yourThis is a great game to experience for the psp, it's highly addicting. It's a very long game game to complete, and it fun playing it with friends with up to 4 in a quest. Their are a huge selection of weapons to choose from, same goes for the gear. I highly enjoy this game only issue is the repetitiveness, like after a mission you may get in this routine of going to your farm, then your house to eat, then back into another quest, other then that the combat is rewarding even when you get to see (also in color or size) and face a new monster. Personal story: I got very far in the game, but when It was lost/stolen I simply just refused to repurchase because I would get bored of starting over. Other then that it's still a fun game to get even during this day, I havn't tried any others, but this is an awesome game to go handheld with friends. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is part of the 'Monster Hunter' series where you take on the role of a hunter of one of two Archetypes, Hunter or Gunner. In your quest, you are tasked with both defeating hulking beasts and collecting resources to be used for doing so. Monster Hunter has deep game-play and the weapon you choose greatly effects how things will play out. Each weapon totallyMonster Hunter Freedom Unite is part of the 'Monster Hunter' series where you take on the role of a hunter of one of two Archetypes, Hunter or Gunner. In your quest, you are tasked with both defeating hulking beasts and collecting resources to be used for doing so. Monster Hunter has deep game-play and the weapon you choose greatly effects how things will play out. Each weapon totally changes how the game plays and what you will need to take with you. This game may have a steep learning curve, but as soon as you overcome the difficulty, you will find this game to be both an excellent purchase and a heap of fun. This game is widely based around co-op (See 'Unite' in title) and becomes a lot more fun if you played with 1-3 friends, The solo play is very fun, but the game truly shines in co-op. Expand
  8. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    sort of hard for a casual gamer to pick up and play. a hardcore gamer shouldn't have any trouble beating it.
    the monster quests are a little repetitive at times, and you will have to repeat certain quests to get farther in the game. the combat is really action packed and fun, and the monsters are ridiculously challenging sometimes.the feeling you get after killing a hard monster is like
    sort of hard for a casual gamer to pick up and play. a hardcore gamer shouldn't have any trouble beating it.
    the monster quests are a little repetitive at times, and you will have to repeat certain quests to get farther in the game. the combat is really action packed and fun, and the monsters are ridiculously challenging sometimes.the feeling you get after killing a hard monster is like nothing in any other game i have played.
    Expand
  9. AbeH.
    May 14, 2010
    10
    It's a must have game for psp (If you are into action-strategy rpg game that is) You will be the one to choose it is a fun game or a masochistic and monotonous game. This game is not just a hack and slash game like Dynasty Warrior, it requires thinking. Go hunt a quick wyvern with a slow powerful hammer and you will be in a lot of trouble than when you use a quick long range and less It's a must have game for psp (If you are into action-strategy rpg game that is) You will be the one to choose it is a fun game or a masochistic and monotonous game. This game is not just a hack and slash game like Dynasty Warrior, it requires thinking. Go hunt a quick wyvern with a slow powerful hammer and you will be in a lot of trouble than when you use a quick long range and less powerful lance. Hunt a boar with a quick not so powerful sword to make the fight last forever than using hammer. Hunt monsters that have paralysis effect with metal armor that is vulnerable with paralysis effect to make this game a masochistic one. The downside of this game is that it's too addictive. Seriously don't play too much of this game or you will be in trouble with your life. Expand
  10. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    MHFU was a great game at first. But it too quickly becomes extremely repetitive. Most of the creatures you fight are a little too similar and since you can't level up, your only option is to get more powerful equipment which can take tons of grinding the same missions over and over. It's a good play every once in a while with friends but certainly nothing incredible.
  11. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Definitely an expansive game: A huge range of foes to face, which you can either face alone, with a feline companion, or with three of your friends. Marvellous graphics for a PSP game at its time, and a memorable soundtrack. You can spend well over 300 hours on this game, and still have quests to complete, which makes it one of the most successful series of game for the PSP. If you areDefinitely an expansive game: A huge range of foes to face, which you can either face alone, with a feline companion, or with three of your friends. Marvellous graphics for a PSP game at its time, and a memorable soundtrack. You can spend well over 300 hours on this game, and still have quests to complete, which makes it one of the most successful series of game for the PSP. If you are looking for a game for your PSP, this is the one you should get. Expand
  12. ChrisF.
    Jun 27, 2009
    8
    One of the best games I have played all year. Once I hooked up with a friend and we went questing together, it only got better. challenging and fun. I would have rated it 10 if capcom had included the ability to play online somehow. I understand that it is a handheld game, but being able to connect to other people online would make this game so much sweeter.
  13. MilesM-M
    Aug 4, 2009
    8
    This game is really deep yet alot of the time it is unnecisarily boreing. lots of the quests are pointless timewasters. Alot of the quests repeat themselves but other quests are terribly hard. But I do have to give this game credit. It is adicting, looks great and often is pretty fun. I recomend this considering the psp's small amount of good games. For 30 bucks I don't know any This game is really deep yet alot of the time it is unnecisarily boreing. lots of the quests are pointless timewasters. Alot of the quests repeat themselves but other quests are terribly hard. But I do have to give this game credit. It is adicting, looks great and often is pretty fun. I recomend this considering the psp's small amount of good games. For 30 bucks I don't know any other psp game that will kill this much time. Expand
  14. SimonM
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    A steep learning curve probably scared away the reviewers. If you are new to Monster Hunter, this game will be very difficult at first. I was new to it with MHFU. However if you can find people with this game to play with, you'll understand that it is actually a very rewarding experience after you've spent upwards of 50 to 100 hours of your life figuring it out. The gameplay is A steep learning curve probably scared away the reviewers. If you are new to Monster Hunter, this game will be very difficult at first. I was new to it with MHFU. However if you can find people with this game to play with, you'll understand that it is actually a very rewarding experience after you've spent upwards of 50 to 100 hours of your life figuring it out. The gameplay is simply 3rd person combat as you roam around the map to kill various monsters, harvest materials, and more. Each monster has different weaknesses and attacks. What works with this game that doesn't in others is that it doesn't focus on experience levels and stat increases that suddenly make your hunter godly - rather the game focuses on creating weapons and YOUR skill as a player. After you figure out that you have to grind not for levels - but to get the correct items for weapon/armor creations - you'll get sucked in to the game. Also, the atmosphere of the game is great. The town, cat people, the maps - it's pretty fun and a revolutionary game for its genre. Expand
  15. MattS.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This is a game for the gamers. Casual gamers may also get sucked in, but if you are the type of person who checks up a games score on metacritic, chances are this game is for you. Extremely rewarding, and lasts longer than any other game in recent time. It is a little steep in terms of learning curve, and that is why many reviews gave it a lower score, but if you have the ability then, This is a game for the gamers. Casual gamers may also get sucked in, but if you are the type of person who checks up a games score on metacritic, chances are this game is for you. Extremely rewarding, and lasts longer than any other game in recent time. It is a little steep in terms of learning curve, and that is why many reviews gave it a lower score, but if you have the ability then, this game deserves a higher score. To summarise, in the case of Monster Hunter Freedom Unite, score should correlate to your level of gaming ability. Expand
  16. Chris.McC.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is one of the only reasons to own a PSP, the PSP system has always had a shortcoming with it's catalogue of short, lack-lustre titles. This game fills that gap. With a challenging learning curve, extremely lengthy play time (it could be said that it is impossible to truly finish this game, you could easily beat the final monster and then carry on to play Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is one of the only reasons to own a PSP, the PSP system has always had a shortcoming with it's catalogue of short, lack-lustre titles. This game fills that gap. With a challenging learning curve, extremely lengthy play time (it could be said that it is impossible to truly finish this game, you could easily beat the final monster and then carry on to play for another 300+ hours) and some nice new features it is an improvement on the precedent title. If you own a PSP you should definitely give this game a look in. Expand
  17. EveningsEmpire
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    Great game, extremely challenging and rewarding. Certainly not for everyone as you can
  18. AlexL
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    This game is not several things. It is not forgiving. It is not hand-holding. It is not easy. It is something that will challenge you every step of the way, with every mission an achievement, every new hunt a fear-inducing experience that forces you to learn all your options and those of the monsters you are trying to hunt. If you truly get into it, this game will earn your respect. This game is not several things. It is not forgiving. It is not hand-holding. It is not easy. It is something that will challenge you every step of the way, with every mission an achievement, every new hunt a fear-inducing experience that forces you to learn all your options and those of the monsters you are trying to hunt. If you truly get into it, this game will earn your respect. Unlike some other games that feel like a cheap one-night stand to be tossed aside with the dawn, Monster Hunter will gain your respect, and eventually, love. Expand
  19. JoseC
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    I think Monster Hunter games are cool, but then they become like Medal of Honor, sequels and sequels about the same thing, its kind of monotonous, just killing monsters, you don't have to be smart to kill one of these.
  20. MichaelL.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    The Monster Hunter series of games are simply amazing. This latest entry in the series adds the usual new missions, new monsters, new weapons and armor, and new items, but it also adds more. Now you are also able to hire a Felyne companion to go with you on missions. At $30, this game is a ridiculously high value. You can easily put several hundred hours into the game. I highly recommend The Monster Hunter series of games are simply amazing. This latest entry in the series adds the usual new missions, new monsters, new weapons and armor, and new items, but it also adds more. Now you are also able to hire a Felyne companion to go with you on missions. At $30, this game is a ridiculously high value. You can easily put several hundred hours into the game. I highly recommend that EVERYONE check this out. Expand
  21. WilfredoR
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    This game is basically what most of us have been waiting for. It includes knowledge on how the monster you are currently fighting moves. It also tests your ability to adapt to certain situations such as when a monster ends up freezing you you drink a thawing agent etc. Even if you are not a fan of this type of games i can guarantee that you will like this game. It might be hard at times This game is basically what most of us have been waiting for. It includes knowledge on how the monster you are currently fighting moves. It also tests your ability to adapt to certain situations such as when a monster ends up freezing you you drink a thawing agent etc. Even if you are not a fan of this type of games i can guarantee that you will like this game. It might be hard at times but that is what makes this game great! Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is not a game where you can go in and beat it in a short amount of time but it is a game in which you will have a lot of fun and your understanding in video games will change forever after you've played this game. Expand
  22. CodyC
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Beginning with Monster Hunter Freedom, I became addicted. Never before on a game have i put over 250 hours of my life into, and I have been playing games since i was 5 (I am now 17.) The multiplayer is unmatched. I know many will disagree with me, but i find working together to strategically hunt giant monsters with 3 friends by my side much more engrossing than other multiplayer games Beginning with Monster Hunter Freedom, I became addicted. Never before on a game have i put over 250 hours of my life into, and I have been playing games since i was 5 (I am now 17.) The multiplayer is unmatched. I know many will disagree with me, but i find working together to strategically hunt giant monsters with 3 friends by my side much more engrossing than other multiplayer games such as the Halo series, Gears of War, Super Mario Bros., and even Super Smash Bros. Although those comparisons are biased in which each is of a different genre, i personally find the fun factor and depth a lot more intense and engrossing. Plus, the high customization levels help a player show off his/her new exaggerated weapon or armour. There just is not a fault to be found in this game, everything about the game runs smoothly, nothing is tedious, and the graphics makes one forget he/she is on a PSP, and think the game is a PS2 game. Truly perfected party game. Expand
  23. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is the legendary game and a must have PSP game and i just wasted 100+ Hours just to play this game...even through this game isn`t not for everyone,and looks same as Freedom 2,the new system Data Install makes it faster loading game,New Monsters,New Missions,New Places, and of course......it also best if you played with your friends.
  24. May 11, 2011
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is a game that is a gatekeeper. Depending on how you approach the gatekeeper depends if you can make it through the gate. After the gate, you have multiple tiers of content but each tier of quests is blocked by another gate and gatekeeper. However, the more gates you pass through, the more engaging content starts coming your way. Take weapons and armor forMonster Hunter Freedom Unite is a game that is a gatekeeper. Depending on how you approach the gatekeeper depends if you can make it through the gate. After the gate, you have multiple tiers of content but each tier of quests is blocked by another gate and gatekeeper. However, the more gates you pass through, the more engaging content starts coming your way. Take weapons and armor for example. There are some armor sets that'll hold your attention and you'll use them almost none-stop until another more awesome looking armor comes along. The only difference in the armor is the resistances and skills that are activated if you wear a full set. Also there is the ability to gem armors for skills that suit your playstyle. There are gems that can raise your sharpening skill to sharpen your weapon in one stroke of your whetstone while others may raise your affinity to score a critical hit. Other times you may have to gem out negative skills such as Health-10 but are normally easily to gem out. The difficulty of monsters depends on your armor and what weapons you go in with which researching monsters before fighting them pays off in the long run for when you face harder and harder monsters, you'll want to kill them as quickly as possible or else the monsters will finish you before you finish them. Expand
  25. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    As much as I hate to do it, I'm giving it a 9. I love the game, looks amazing, controls perfectly, and is fast, skillful and responsive. I'm only reviewing this from singleplayer experience, because the only other person I met with the game was a HR2, and I'm HR6. The difficultly curve is a steady 45 degree angle, until you try the G-Rank (ultra high rank) quests, where it's cranked upAs much as I hate to do it, I'm giving it a 9. I love the game, looks amazing, controls perfectly, and is fast, skillful and responsive. I'm only reviewing this from singleplayer experience, because the only other person I met with the game was a HR2, and I'm HR6. The difficultly curve is a steady 45 degree angle, until you try the G-Rank (ultra high rank) quests, where it's cranked up to 80 degrees. Playing solo, with some of the best armor and weapons high rank can offer, I can take out one of the two monsters you have to kill-in 40 out of the 50 minutes. Other complaints I have are that some of the monsters are either really annoying with **** attacks, or just boring. The Tigrex falls into the former, with a **** rage mode, that had me standing on the top of a mountain for 5 minutes waiting for it to calm down. The Gravios or Lao Shan Lung fall into the latter, with both having **** overpowered attacks, and a giant health bar. I can safely ignore Lao for a while, but in order to get my armor, I needed to grind-solo- high rank Gravios for something their tail dropped 11% of the time.
    I love the game, but the grind needs to be cranked down some, and you need a better way to collect Honey.
    Other things I can complain about is the lack of an actual story, you're set up as being sent to a village to protect it from really tough monsters, armed with almost nothing. The Tigrex tosses you off the mountain, and you have to climb up to kill it. It appears twice really early on in unavoidable quests, and as they're both easy gather quests, it made it a bit more fun (also a good way to farm Tigrex Tails). After you kill it, there's really no story until the Akantor in the middle of the game.
    Something I can take satisfaction with is that I can have lots of trouble with one monster early on, then come back a long time later and slaughter it in less than a minute, truly the ultimate "F**K YOU!" in any game.
    Expand
  26. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Ludicrously addictive grinding game, particularly over multiplayer. Essentially a collection of really interesting boss battles. Gathering items for your armour and weapons becomes almost a full time job. If you want to blow your free time then buy this game.
  27. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. A must have game for the PSP system. Amazing graphics and very fun gameplay. A very challenging game but very fun. If you own a psp and don't have this game get this game
  28. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This (like all MH for PSP) is the best game for the PSP. The Gameplay is just perfect and i played it 200h+ and still love to play it. It has also the best coop I've ever played.
    I would kill for a MH sequel for PC / PS3 / XBox.
  29. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This game is the most amazing and involving action RPG that I've ever played. The graphics are those of a console grade game. Now normally, to me, I wouldn't really give a crap about a game's graphics, with just rare exceptions. This is one of those exceptions. The game wouldn't be the same without graphics like this. As a previously Hardcore fan of Nintendo, I have to say that, along withThis game is the most amazing and involving action RPG that I've ever played. The graphics are those of a console grade game. Now normally, to me, I wouldn't really give a crap about a game's graphics, with just rare exceptions. This is one of those exceptions. The game wouldn't be the same without graphics like this. As a previously Hardcore fan of Nintendo, I have to say that, along with Phoenix Wright and Viewtiful Joe, Capcom got another game right. Expand
  30. May 3, 2013
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is possibly the biggest and, in my opinion, the best Monster Hunter game released in the U.S. The mechanics are fluid, the scenery is breath-taking, for a psp, and the multitude of monsters to hunt add to the games length. The game mechanics are original and unique. Kill monsters to gather their materials and make weapons and armor from them. It's quick,Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is possibly the biggest and, in my opinion, the best Monster Hunter game released in the U.S. The mechanics are fluid, the scenery is breath-taking, for a psp, and the multitude of monsters to hunt add to the games length. The game mechanics are original and unique. Kill monsters to gather their materials and make weapons and armor from them. It's quick, action-packed gameplay is sure to hook just about any RPG player into the game. A must-buy for any rpg fan or Monster Hunter fan at that! Expand
  31. Mar 31, 2020
    6
    This is a very good, but broken game.
    It has almost everything I love about the franchise, but probably one of the worst gameplay ever. I had no fun playing alone or with somebody. I had no fun with short ranged weapons. And I definitely had no fun with some of the most dated aspects, like the meal part.
    But there's a lot of heart and charm to this game. Especially when it comes to
    This is a very good, but broken game.
    It has almost everything I love about the franchise, but probably one of the worst gameplay ever. I had no fun playing alone or with somebody. I had no fun with short ranged weapons. And I definitely had no fun with some of the most dated aspects, like the meal part.
    But there's a lot of heart and charm to this game. Especially when it comes to customization and the gorgeous monster design. Also, this game is great (albeit much slower) when it comes to long range weapons.
    Good game, but extremely frustrating.
    Also, why are the hitboxes so punishing??
    Expand
  32. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    I played this games litterally for years, it's addictive, difficult and fun. Best played with 3 friends of course, but also the single player "campaign" it's worth it.
  33. Apr 10, 2020
    5
    Broken hitboxes everywere. They are soo bad that it ruined the game for me. It's playable but very annoying. Other than that it's a good game where the basics are alright.
  34. May 26, 2015
    10
    Best PSP game for sure and maybe my favourite game of all times. If you never tried this franchise you totally should and this one has all of the features from Freedom 1 & 2 plus a lot more. You are a hunter and you have to craft your weapons either from pieces of the monsters you kill or minerals and stuff like that. There are dozens of strategies to kill each single boss and pretty muchBest PSP game for sure and maybe my favourite game of all times. If you never tried this franchise you totally should and this one has all of the features from Freedom 1 & 2 plus a lot more. You are a hunter and you have to craft your weapons either from pieces of the monsters you kill or minerals and stuff like that. There are dozens of strategies to kill each single boss and pretty much infinite side quests to make the ultimate monster hunter out of you. Expand
  35. Jan 10, 2016
    8
    Action-packed, there's a lot to do, Good sounds and cinematography. I appreciate this PSP game for its robustness and world detail. There's a lot of classes and lot of way to get strong, like upgrading your weapons and armor. I just don't like its difficult controls, repetitiveness and too much reliance with the guild hall.
  36. Oct 11, 2017
    10
    (Played on the Vita)

    Been playing this on the PSP before, now on the vita. How does it hold up? Better. Adding a right analog stick to the mix made it even better. The OLED makes the colors vibrant than the PSP does, but the graphics would be a bit stretched but bilinear filtering fixes things up. All in all, getting this on the vita really makes sense since it controls better.
    (Played on the Vita)

    Been playing this on the PSP before, now on the vita. How does it hold up?
    Better. Adding a right analog stick to the mix made it even better.

    The OLED makes the colors vibrant than the PSP does, but the graphics would be a bit stretched but bilinear filtering fixes things up.

    All in all, getting this on the vita really makes sense since it controls better. No need to claw anymore, that's the way it was meant to be played.
    Expand
  37. Feb 1, 2018
    8
    Really similar to Monster Hunter Freedom 2 but still there are some nice additions.
  38. Mar 31, 2018
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is excellent by the amount of monsters, his challenging difficulty and his great arsenal of weapons available for creation besides the free choice in the class of the character being able to change in the course of the game
  39. Jul 1, 2019
    10
    When i had to choose my score my mind was telling rate it a 9 but i can't do that.This game graphics are so good, i know it looks more like a 2004 game but remember that this game was make a a small portable console wich...isn't that small with all the games it has,There is so much content,actually this game has the most content of a monster hunter game with the highest number ofWhen i had to choose my score my mind was telling rate it a 9 but i can't do that.This game graphics are so good, i know it looks more like a 2004 game but remember that this game was make a a small portable console wich...isn't that small with all the games it has,There is so much content,actually this game has the most content of a monster hunter game with the highest number of missions,armors yea and again it's for a portable console this game is one of the thousands or million reasons to have a PSP after so much time.The online looks awesome,i say looks because i can't play it since i don't have one of those PSP conexions.And if you think OH! Look i fought that monster when i was at 3 Stars this is gonna be easy.Your totally wrong fighting a monster at a low range is for kids but fighting it again like at high range or G range is alot harder. Expand
  40. Aug 20, 2019
    9
    Besides the broken hit boxes, weird controls, and the odd choice of forcing your character to stay still when he/she heals, this game is an absolute home run. To this day it remains my favorite game in the Monster Hunter series.
  41. May 1, 2020
    8
    I just love this game but the reason I give this game eight is it not all weapons are rewarding as the others.if you want me to give a example its double blades. you can cheese not all but a lot of monsters.
    Other than that let me give you a tip PREPARE TO DIE
  42. Jun 20, 2020
    6
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is one of the most overrated games in the Monster Hunter franchise. It is a game that despite having aged quite badly is a game that lives on the nostalgia of the fans of the saga, its mechanics are rusty and of questionable difficulty, it is just a classic, But only that, it is not one of the best installments but it is a title that brings together all theMonster Hunter Freedom Unite is one of the most overrated games in the Monster Hunter franchise. It is a game that despite having aged quite badly is a game that lives on the nostalgia of the fans of the saga, its mechanics are rusty and of questionable difficulty, it is just a classic, But only that, it is not one of the best installments but it is a title that brings together all the concepts of the first two Monster Hunter, arguably it was the GenU of its time Expand
  43. Dec 22, 2020
    9
    Jogo com gráficos incríveis rara a época muito funcional bem polido, os melhores dragões ever seen, tigrex, diablo, monoblos, rathalos. Tem o melhor modo campanha que já vi em um jogo do gênero, e pela quantidade consegue ter muitos utensílhos, armaduras.
    Muito difícil e estratégico, mas ainda ss divertido. Só carece de um modo história...
  44. Feb 24, 2022
    10
    This is my favorite PSP game. I played this game for 30 hours the first weekend I had it. This game made me a monster hunter fan 10 out of 10.

Awards & Rankings

13
2
#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2009
2
#2 Most Shared PSP Game of 2009
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Monster Hunter Freedom Unite offers everything to everyone. There is no PSP game today that sports the same depth and amount of game time and even though you might think the genre of action role-playing isn’t for you, think again because this is the best thing that has happened to the console in a long time.
  2. 100
    Freedom Unite is a huge game, and, naturally, a little intimidating. But not only are you getting the best installment of the Monster Hunter franchise so far (though Monster Hunter 3 will no doubt be just as grand), you're getting an enormous action RPG that gives you a lot in return for putting a lot in. And it can potentially keep you attached to your PSP longer than you ever thought.
  3. It requires enormous quantities of patience, planning and persistence. If you're up to the challenge, prepare yourself for one of the most rewarding opportunities in gaming.