• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jul 5, 2010
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 100
    Despite being familiar with the game, Persona 3 Portable still managed to utterly consume me. When a game has such a profound effect on me, I believe it deserves nothing less than the highest praise I can lavish upon it.
  2. 100
    Persona 3 is everything you want a PSP port to be: just as good as the original and customized to make PSP owners feel like thy need the new game even if they played the original for weeks on end.
  3. 100
    With its numerous mechanical improvements, ridiculous amount of content additions, and of course the simple ability to carry the game around with you, Persona 3, RPGamer's RPG of the Decade, is at its greatest in Persona 3 Portable.
  4. Persona 3 has made an amazing transition to the PlayStation Portable system and all of the changes made to the title have pushed this game into a realm of its own.
  5. Persona 3 Portable would have been a great game even if it was nothing more than a straight port of the PlayStation 2 game, but instead Atlus added enough new content to make this the first must-own PSP RPG of the year!
  6. If you missed out on Persona 3 when it first came out, and skipped FES in 2008, then now is your chance to rectify that. Persona 3 Portable is one of the strongest games in the PSP catalogue, and a shining example of a role-playing game done right.
  7. 100
    Persona 3 Portable takes the already massive console version of Persona 3 and translates it successfully to the PSP platform, streamlining most of the experience to make a game that is the definitive PSP RPG.
  8. Overall the game is still the same Persona 3 that I ended up loving back on the PS2, but the new additions and the inclusion of a gender switch for the hero character add a surprising amount of content that's worth checking out for those that already dumped a lot of time into the first one.
  9. We loved it before and we still love it. This title would have sit very high on our recommendation list just as a straight PS2-to-PSP port, but the new additions make it appealing to both the new gamer and the seasoned Persona fan.
  10. With its unique blend of traditional JRPG combat with a social simulator that makes you juggle life between friends and school and work, Persona 3 is a game that will stand the test of time!
  11. This is the third release of Persona 3, and even for an excellent RPG, it's difficult to justify buying it again and again. However, Persona 3 Portable contains enough new features to make it a worthwhile purchase.
  12. It's arguable whether or not it's the ultimate version of the game, but if you want a great PSP RPG to last you more than a few weeks, Persona 3 Portable is your game.
  13. All Atlus had to do was faithfully reproduce Persona 3 on PSP and call it a day. Instead, Persona 3 Portable boasts plenty finesse tweaks, realizes fan wishes, and fundamentally doubles the content of the original.
  14. The only flaws that can really be brought up are the nit-picky ones of a true fan. Besides that the game is a wonderful blending of Japanese culture and RPG goodness that should be experienced by anyone with the means to do so.
  15. 91
    It may be a while before Persona fans get that next big release in the series -- this year's E3 was frustratingly absent of any info on a potential Persona 5 -- so we need to latch on to any morsels Atlus throws our way in the meantime.
  16. The story is wonderful and has plenty of twists and turns to keep things interesting and isn't so happy-go-lucky like you might expect.
  17. games(TM)
    Jul 3, 2011
    90
    Magnificent. [Issue#110, p.133]
  18. May 30, 2011
    90
    Unique, bizarre and totally great, Persona 3 Portable is an Otaku's dream and the strongest antidote to run-of-the-mill JRPGs going.
  19. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    When compared to the typical Japanese RPG, Persona 3 feels like a breath of fresh air.
  20. Despite it having been released twice already, this is still an adventure worth playing through again.
  21. While releasing Persona 3 for a third time might seem like a little much, P3P is more than different enough to be a fresh and interesting PSP title.
  22. This release does a fantastic job of appealing to the core fans of the series while also making the experience accessible to a new group of players.
  23. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    90
    Atlus didn't rest on its laurels with this revival. [Sept 2010, p.84]
  24. It all adds up to what's just about the definitive version of one of the finest role-players of the last five years.
  25. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jun 4, 2011
    88
    Good news for buffs: new players are probably best with the original. [July 2011, p.94]
  26. Atlus has done an incredible job with creating a portable version of Persona 3, and if you are a fan of the series or are looking for a JRPG to add to your collection, then P3P is definitely worth getting.
  27. May 4, 2011
    85
    The game works with very few tricks, but the replayability and the its addictive character make it awesome. RPG mixed with some dialogue and strategy elements just do it.
  28. 85
    Sadly, Persona 3 PSP loses some of its polish, as the game ditches the anime cutscenes and free roaming. However, the heart of the game is still here and still awesome.
  29. Certainly a worthy entry for any fan of RPG's, Persona 3 Portable stands as one of the longest, deepest, most time-consuming entries on the PSP to date.
  30. Welcome tweaks and new story aspects enhance this already great role-playing classic.
  31. 85
    The only way you'll be disappointed is if you go into the game expecting a brand new game. For all those looking to play an enhanced version of an old favorite, there's no better way to do it than Persona 3 Portable.
  32. Aside from some graphical downgrades, this is still a solid version of a great RPG.
  33. Persona 3 was an excellent game to begin with, and if you have never experienced it, Persona 3 Portable is a must-play title. However, if you have played it before, the extra content makes this title worth picking up and playing through again.
  34. Games Master UK
    Jul 8, 2011
    83
    Minus the original cutscenes and Iwatodai's open world, P3P is still a classic RPG oddity. [Aug 2011, p.81]
  35. Game Informer
    83
    Ultimately I can't recommend P3P to every player, and even some RPG fans may be put off by the title's aging formula. For gamers who don't mind that this remake might not be the freshest experience to be had in 2010, there's a vast wealth of entertaining gameplay to be had here.
  36. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2011
    80
    It's not all chatter and romance. [July 2011, p.100]
  37. Persona 3 Portable is a good porting from the original PlayStation 2 version, it has another character to play and a lots of features carried from Persona 4. A good deal for old and new fans.
  38. If you own a PSP and love RPG's then you're only doing yourself a disservice if you don't pick up this game.
  39. The third time is still lucky for the best version yet of one the greatest ever Japanese role-players.
  40. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    78
    The story is absolute bobbins. [Issue#206, p.92]

Awards & Rankings

1
2
#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
3
#3 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 746 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    My favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommendMy favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommend this game enough to RPG fans there has been proper care taken to make this PSP version as addictive and fun as the PS2 releases without making it feel watered down, and in my opinion it is the best version of all three. Full Review »
  2. Dec 10, 2020
    9
    Persona 3 Portable is my favorite game in the PlayStation Portable and I can say that with all of my heart. I played this game right afterPersona 3 Portable is my favorite game in the PlayStation Portable and I can say that with all of my heart. I played this game right after finishing Persona 4 Golden and I set my expectations really high for this game. I am glad to say that it delivered really well. I found myself addicted again.

    The game gives you a dark narrative unlike the newer games, since this was the first installment in the franchise to have the social links and the slice of life elements making the game feel a little like the mainline series, Shin Megami Tensei. It surprises me how the gameplay still holds up really well even in this day and age, the combat is inferior to the newer installments in the franchise but it still never gets tedious and was always fun. The soundtrack in this game boozes a chilly feeling that will give you goosebumps, this was also the first time that Atlus decided to make songs as most of their background music and battle themes. I also love every character in this game especially the main ones, I really like how some of the characters had a persona before you making it feel like the new strong member rather than being than the leader right away.

    I also played the Female Character in the New Game+ and I was really blown away. The new soundtrack that changes the theme and the dark vibe to a cheerful vibe that the game has is absolutely amazing. I really like the number of details they added to this new option of character, while not being canon. The Female Character also has a new circle of friends a new set of romance options. Playing as the Female Protagonist doesn't feel like just changing the gender of the character but it feels like playing as another person as it both male and female protagonists feels and acts different.

    After replaying the game after many years, I would say that it never disappoints. Not a single bit.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg,I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg, and of course the hype got me and I was literally counting the days for its release. The things I heard the most were the obvious female protagonist and some other innovations, which I don't remember, but I was anyway gonna buy even if it was the same exact game for the ps2. But I can clearly say, this is one of the best rpgs on the psp, if not THE best: the game not only is an improved version of the ps2 version, it also adds a "new" storyline with the female counterpart, meaning that the 2 stories, even if the same, are also different at the same time. The game is also very long (I finished in about 60-70 hours, 80+ with the secondary tasks and the additional fusions) which really strikes out considering that most of the rpgs on portable consoles aren't very long (unless you do the additonal stuff...of course). The combat is also very improved, basically taking the best parts from persona 4 (the possibility to control your members, for instance) and still remains one of the strong points of the game, together with the story. My only BIG complains are mostly 2: 1) the game has a very simplified interface outside the dungeon, meaning that you will NEVER control your character outside the dungeon, but only a cursor. I know that they did this in order to make more space for the game and luckily you will still see your characters during the dungeon exploration, and I'm ok with that, but it's going to take a while to get used to it. Luckily the navigation works perfectly: you can move easily anywhere by pressing the Square button (taken from persona 4) and the cursor is quite precise and works good. Overall, it's fine, just too bad that you'll basically never see your character(s) outside the dungeon, especially when there are a lot of costumes to unlock, Also, because of this, most of the cutscenes got cut as well. 2) NO FES! If this game had also Fes (the second part of the game, called "The Answer",that roughly lasts about 30 hours), this would be perfect, but unfortunely we only have few things from Fes (the possibility to choose different Stewards, some extra scenes, new persona, etc). Again, probably the lack of space made them cut the additional scenario, or else it would be perfect in all ways. And really, that's about it: the game is the same as the original, with a different interface, but with 2 very well detailed campaigns that aren't necessarily the same: they basically tell the same story with 2 different perspectives and, actually, it really encourages you play twice, doubling the hours and the ways to play the actual game. I personally recommend to try it out if you want a good rpg for your psp (it's a dungeon crawler RPG, the ideal for portable consoles) and even if there are some flaws (it can be slow if you don't install the game into your memory card) it still remains one of the best rpgs on the psp. Must try at all costs. Full Review »