• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jul 5, 2010
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 0 out of 40
Buy On
  1. 91
    It may be a while before Persona fans get that next big release in the series -- this year's E3 was frustratingly absent of any info on a potential Persona 5 -- so we need to latch on to any morsels Atlus throws our way in the meantime.
  2. Persona 3 was an excellent game to begin with, and if you have never experienced it, Persona 3 Portable is a must-play title. However, if you have played it before, the extra content makes this title worth picking up and playing through again.
  3. We loved it before and we still love it. This title would have sit very high on our recommendation list just as a straight PS2-to-PSP port, but the new additions make it appealing to both the new gamer and the seasoned Persona fan.
  4. All Atlus had to do was faithfully reproduce Persona 3 on PSP and call it a day. Instead, Persona 3 Portable boasts plenty finesse tweaks, realizes fan wishes, and fundamentally doubles the content of the original.
  5. It all adds up to what's just about the definitive version of one of the finest role-players of the last five years.
  6. Game Informer
    83
    Ultimately I can't recommend P3P to every player, and even some RPG fans may be put off by the title's aging formula. For gamers who don't mind that this remake might not be the freshest experience to be had in 2010, there's a vast wealth of entertaining gameplay to be had here.
  7. The story is wonderful and has plenty of twists and turns to keep things interesting and isn't so happy-go-lucky like you might expect.
  8. This release does a fantastic job of appealing to the core fans of the series while also making the experience accessible to a new group of players.
  9. 100
    Despite being familiar with the game, Persona 3 Portable still managed to utterly consume me. When a game has such a profound effect on me, I believe it deserves nothing less than the highest praise I can lavish upon it.
  10. Certainly a worthy entry for any fan of RPG's, Persona 3 Portable stands as one of the longest, deepest, most time-consuming entries on the PSP to date.
  11. 100
    Persona 3 Portable takes the already massive console version of Persona 3 and translates it successfully to the PSP platform, streamlining most of the experience to make a game that is the definitive PSP RPG.
  12. If you missed out on Persona 3 when it first came out, and skipped FES in 2008, then now is your chance to rectify that. Persona 3 Portable is one of the strongest games in the PSP catalogue, and a shining example of a role-playing game done right.
  13. Games Master UK
    Jul 8, 2011
    83
    Minus the original cutscenes and Iwatodai's open world, P3P is still a classic RPG oddity. [Aug 2011, p.81]
  14. games(TM)
    Jul 3, 2011
    90
    Magnificent. [Issue#110, p.133]
  15. 100
    Persona 3 is everything you want a PSP port to be: just as good as the original and customized to make PSP owners feel like thy need the new game even if they played the original for weeks on end.
  16. Welcome tweaks and new story aspects enhance this already great role-playing classic.
  17. Despite it having been released twice already, this is still an adventure worth playing through again.
  18. Dec 20, 2010
    90
    When compared to the typical Japanese RPG, Persona 3 feels like a breath of fresh air.
  19. Aside from some graphical downgrades, this is still a solid version of a great RPG.
  20. Overall the game is still the same Persona 3 that I ended up loving back on the PS2, but the new additions and the inclusion of a gender switch for the hero character add a surprising amount of content that's worth checking out for those that already dumped a lot of time into the first one.
  21. Persona 3 Portable would have been a great game even if it was nothing more than a straight port of the PlayStation 2 game, but instead Atlus added enough new content to make this the first must-own PSP RPG of the year!
  22. It's arguable whether or not it's the ultimate version of the game, but if you want a great PSP RPG to last you more than a few weeks, Persona 3 Portable is your game.
  23. If you own a PSP and love RPG's then you're only doing yourself a disservice if you don't pick up this game.
  24. Atlus has done an incredible job with creating a portable version of Persona 3, and if you are a fan of the series or are looking for a JRPG to add to your collection, then P3P is definitely worth getting.
  25. May 4, 2011
    85
    The game works with very few tricks, but the replayability and the its addictive character make it awesome. RPG mixed with some dialogue and strategy elements just do it.
  26. 85
    Sadly, Persona 3 PSP loses some of its polish, as the game ditches the anime cutscenes and free roaming. However, the heart of the game is still here and still awesome.
  27. The third time is still lucky for the best version yet of one the greatest ever Japanese role-players.
  28. The only flaws that can really be brought up are the nit-picky ones of a true fan. Besides that the game is a wonderful blending of Japanese culture and RPG goodness that should be experienced by anyone with the means to do so.
  29. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    78
    The story is absolute bobbins. [Issue#206, p.92]
  30. Persona 3 has made an amazing transition to the PlayStation Portable system and all of the changes made to the title have pushed this game into a realm of its own.
  31. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2011
    80
    It's not all chatter and romance. [July 2011, p.100]
  32. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    90
    Atlus didn't rest on its laurels with this revival. [Sept 2010, p.84]
  33. May 30, 2011
    90
    Unique, bizarre and totally great, Persona 3 Portable is an Otaku's dream and the strongest antidote to run-of-the-mill JRPGs going.
  34. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jun 4, 2011
    88
    Good news for buffs: new players are probably best with the original. [July 2011, p.94]
  35. 85
    The only way you'll be disappointed is if you go into the game expecting a brand new game. For all those looking to play an enhanced version of an old favorite, there's no better way to do it than Persona 3 Portable.
  36. 100
    With its numerous mechanical improvements, ridiculous amount of content additions, and of course the simple ability to carry the game around with you, Persona 3, RPGamer's RPG of the Decade, is at its greatest in Persona 3 Portable.
  37. Persona 3 Portable is a good porting from the original PlayStation 2 version, it has another character to play and a lots of features carried from Persona 4. A good deal for old and new fans.
  38. While releasing Persona 3 for a third time might seem like a little much, P3P is more than different enough to be a fresh and interesting PSP title.
  39. With its unique blend of traditional JRPG combat with a social simulator that makes you juggle life between friends and school and work, Persona 3 is a game that will stand the test of time!
  40. This is the third release of Persona 3, and even for an excellent RPG, it's difficult to justify buying it again and again. However, Persona 3 Portable contains enough new features to make it a worthwhile purchase.

Awards & Rankings

1
2
#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
3
#3 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 571 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    My favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommendMy favourite PSP game yet, coming on the tail of Metal Gear and Kingdom Hearts (both of which I loved) that is a big call. I cannot recommend this game enough to RPG fans there has been proper care taken to make this PSP version as addictive and fun as the PS2 releases without making it feel watered down, and in my opinion it is the best version of all three. Full Review »
  2. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    THE PROS: great story line,solid game controls,graphics are great for a port both handheld and the composite cable on my 46" HD T.V lookTHE PROS: great story line,solid game controls,graphics are great for a port both handheld and the composite cable on my 46" HD T.V look good,the game gives you a choice which affects the outcome of the story line, Long game play I have found some replayability in this game that can't be found in any other RPG,and the best con is if you decide to challenge levals that don't really provide a challenge in order to rank up "death will be your challenge".
    THE CONS:you have to fight the same monsters over and over again (I do have to say this atleast the monsters do leval up which can surprise you and that I like)
    CONCLUSION: I love this game and it is the first one that I can"t seem to put down! (I have 56 games for my PSP GO) and this one has kept me playing at an addictive leval more than all the rest combined
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg,I was both excited and scared when this game got announced: I'm a HUGE fan of the persona series, with persona 3 being my most favorite rpg, and of course the hype got me and I was literally counting the days for its release. The things I heard the most were the obvious female protagonist and some other innovations, which I don't remember, but I was anyway gonna buy even if it was the same exact game for the ps2. But I can clearly say, this is one of the best rpgs on the psp, if not THE best: the game not only is an improved version of the ps2 version, it also adds a "new" storyline with the female counterpart, meaning that the 2 stories, even if the same, are also different at the same time. The game is also very long (I finished in about 60-70 hours, 80+ with the secondary tasks and the additional fusions) which really strikes out considering that most of the rpgs on portable consoles aren't very long (unless you do the additonal stuff...of course). The combat is also very improved, basically taking the best parts from persona 4 (the possibility to control your members, for instance) and still remains one of the strong points of the game, together with the story. My only BIG complains are mostly 2: 1) the game has a very simplified interface outside the dungeon, meaning that you will NEVER control your character outside the dungeon, but only a cursor. I know that they did this in order to make more space for the game and luckily you will still see your characters during the dungeon exploration, and I'm ok with that, but it's going to take a while to get used to it. Luckily the navigation works perfectly: you can move easily anywhere by pressing the Square button (taken from persona 4) and the cursor is quite precise and works good. Overall, it's fine, just too bad that you'll basically never see your character(s) outside the dungeon, especially when there are a lot of costumes to unlock, Also, because of this, most of the cutscenes got cut as well. 2) NO FES! If this game had also Fes (the second part of the game, called "The Answer",that roughly lasts about 30 hours), this would be perfect, but unfortunely we only have few things from Fes (the possibility to choose different Stewards, some extra scenes, new persona, etc). Again, probably the lack of space made them cut the additional scenario, or else it would be perfect in all ways. And really, that's about it: the game is the same as the original, with a different interface, but with 2 very well detailed campaigns that aren't necessarily the same: they basically tell the same story with 2 different perspectives and, actually, it really encourages you play twice, doubling the hours and the ways to play the actual game. I personally recommend to try it out if you want a good rpg for your psp (it's a dungeon crawler RPG, the ideal for portable consoles) and even if there are some flaws (it can be slow if you don't install the game into your memory card) it still remains one of the best rpgs on the psp. Must try at all costs. Full Review »