• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
Silent Hill: Origins Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Silent Hill Origins tells the tale of a solitary truck driver stuck in the terrifying town while making a routine delivery. New gameplay elements, such as a barricade system that lets players block off rooms from enemies, and an enhanced camera system deliver an added sense of isolation andSilent Hill Origins tells the tale of a solitary truck driver stuck in the terrifying town while making a routine delivery. New gameplay elements, such as a barricade system that lets players block off rooms from enemies, and an enhanced camera system deliver an added sense of isolation and anxiety in this frightening adventure. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Unfortunate camera and combat issues aside, Silent Hill Origins is a worthy addition to the series and should scare the socks off even the most jaded survival horror devotee.
  2. Play Magazine
    85
    This is not some side-story relegated to the PSP, but a true new chapter worthy of its name and console-sized in scope. [Nov 2007, p.77]
  3. Silent Hill Origins may do a few things that fans may love or hate, but what it does well is allow you to play the events that lead up to the first game and solve some of the mysteries and questions.
  4. The game works well because it doesn't stray from the known formula, but at the same time it leaves you with a strange sense of having done it before.
  5. 75
    Sure, it's predictable, conventional, and a little bit short, not to mention ill-suited for brief pick-up-and-play sessions on the bus, but we're encouraged to see developers making an original, console-quality experience for PSP.
  6. While Silent Hill Origins cannot offer its legions of fans anything they haven't seen done before (and done better), it still represents a solid stop-gap release, and is worth checking out if you're a series die-hard with a desire to fill in some gaps in the story.
  7. Pocket-sized foibles aside, what keeps Origins out of the big-leagues that its brethren inhabit is what saved the title from disaster in the first place- it's simply too conservative by far, with none of the occasionally misplaced inventiveness found in the other titles.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Nov 16, 2016
    10
    No doubt Silent Hill Origins is one of the best Silent hill of the saga, in spite of being a little bit short and the little problems with theNo doubt Silent Hill Origins is one of the best Silent hill of the saga, in spite of being a little bit short and the little problems with the camera, this game make honor to this amazing saga as a great sequel, the enviroment is awesome, the variety of weapons is excellent and the story is interesting. Definitly one of my favorite Silent Hill. Expand
  2. TomR.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    Wow! this is like SH1 and 2 wrapped up in a torrid lovefest of horror that will haunt me... _forever_
  3. FrancuccioC.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    A revolution in the silent hill saga, may be the best, but has some problems first the camera is like a kid without candies second is not a A revolution in the silent hill saga, may be the best, but has some problems first the camera is like a kid without candies second is not a game that can be played outside, you must play it in a dark room with headphones third you can finish it in 5 hours, i agree that is a handheld console, but a game is made for entertain his owner for longtime by the way this is a "must have" for this console. Expand
  4. AramisG.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    I enjoyed most everything about this game. It captured the feel of Silent Hill 1, more so than any of the other games in series. Yeah, it I enjoyed most everything about this game. It captured the feel of Silent Hill 1, more so than any of the other games in series. Yeah, it could have been longer, but what is here is pretty effective. My only complaints are the cut-scenes, which are poorly done and obvious, the breakable weapons (I doubt a meat cleaver is going to break), and the final boss (looks a little stupid, like the original monsters planned for this game). Overall a step in the right direction from the lame Silent Hill 4. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    This game is an amazing adventure. I remember playing this a few years ago, back when PSP was released. Reviewing this right now is somethingThis game is an amazing adventure. I remember playing this a few years ago, back when PSP was released. Reviewing this right now is something nostalgic for me, but this game, for it's time and for being one of the PSP's first games, is an amazing adventure.

    Gameplay: 8/10 - Easy controls and nice camera.
    Graphics: 8/10 - Good enough to immerse you into the game.
    Music: 8/10 - Sad and depressing music (which is good).
    Story: 9/10 - Perfect story for such an adventure.
    Expand
  6. J.R.
    Jan 3, 2008
    8
    I cant believe they actually pulled it off! Silent Hill Origins works well as an entry into the series and I can only complain that it can be I cant believe they actually pulled it off! Silent Hill Origins works well as an entry into the series and I can only complain that it can be too generic at time and has a story thats less involved and emotionally draining than the other games. Expand
  7. DirkD.
    Nov 11, 2007
    3
    Completed the game in less than 4 hours. The game is ok for a handheld, but to be honest its the weakest Silent Hill game in the market. With Completed the game in less than 4 hours. The game is ok for a handheld, but to be honest its the weakest Silent Hill game in the market. With few puzzles and bosses that are simple to beat the challenge is not so great. Breakable weapons also becomes a real pain in the butt after awhile. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

19
4
#4 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
7
#7 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007