User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ListerD.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    I have to say, this is easiest one of the best racing games i have played. The graphics are sweet, and the handling on the cars is spot on just right. yes the cars do feel a wee on the heavy side, but that is how cars feel when your speeding round a corner..On line mode will keep you amused and so will the size of the island your racing around. If only all racing games were like this, I have to say, this is easiest one of the best racing games i have played. The graphics are sweet, and the handling on the cars is spot on just right. yes the cars do feel a wee on the heavy side, but that is how cars feel when your speeding round a corner..On line mode will keep you amused and so will the size of the island your racing around. If only all racing games were like this, good job EA. Expand
  2. ManG.
    Jun 13, 2007
    0
    The worst game ever and the cars are all so slow. the game is just very boring. please dont buy this game. i got it cause of the great reviews, but it is a waste of money!
  3. JesusC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    This is a very good game and easily one of the best on psp, sure it can be slow to start, and doesnt appear as polished as the console counter parts but what do you expect from a handheld game. this is easily one of the most ambitious attempts at multiplayer on handheld, what with the persistant environment. as for the compliants about driving, most racing occurs with cornering at This is a very good game and easily one of the best on psp, sure it can be slow to start, and doesnt appear as polished as the console counter parts but what do you expect from a handheld game. this is easily one of the most ambitious attempts at multiplayer on handheld, what with the persistant environment. as for the compliants about driving, most racing occurs with cornering at 120km/h+, of course its going to be heavy. i had a hard time with the learning curve for driving too but give it time , its a great sim. Expand
  4. MattJ.
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    The PSP version of the game is great! I've played it on 360 and PS2, and in truth, it feels exactly like the PS2 version, save some technical glitches and minor content (boo-hoo I can't get dashboard view- did you say that when GT4 came out?) All in all, with so many cars and miles of road, It's a stellar racing experience, and the world's first CaRPG.
  5. TimS
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    Excellent Design , Like the fact the they kept the map virtually the same as the X360
  6. FuzzyD.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    Let me start off by saying that it's the actually proper PSP version that I am writing about, not the promo or the pc version. As a straight racing game, this rocks, the graphics are sweet some of the best i think i've seen in a race game ( trust me i've played enough). They are sharp and just look really nice, racing around the island is a pleasure to see from the nicely Let me start off by saying that it's the actually proper PSP version that I am writing about, not the promo or the pc version. As a straight racing game, this rocks, the graphics are sweet some of the best i think i've seen in a race game ( trust me i've played enough). They are sharp and just look really nice, racing around the island is a pleasure to see from the nicely textured scenery to the beautiful looking sky.The handling on the cars is spot on, yes it does fill a little heavy but that just makes more realistic (cars are not made out of paper you know) It feels like you are control and good solid heavy car. The sound is ok, nothing special but nothing to sad neither. I've played lots of racing games (my favorite type of game) and this is one of the best. It's just straight racing no boosting no real modin of the cars ( You can choose colours and wheels and upgrade it ).It may start off a little slow (buying a house and car) but once your into the heart of the game it is a quality straight racing game. Give it a bash in my opinion it's much more refreshing that yet another NFS game and much nicer looking than Burnout (which i like a lot too). This is a racer that will keep me amuzed for ages. From racing around and from fleeing from the police. If you like your racing games to be a racing game with quality graphic and fantastic handling then get this, its worth every penny. Expand
  7. PhilB.
    May 1, 2007
    9
    It's open ended racing on a psp (1000 miles of road, not to include the in btwn), has online play, and the cars feel realistic (120 to buy), races are fun, stop comparing the psp to home consoles, it's portable, how about comparing it to the DS, seriously reviewers these days are ridiculous.
  8. OlayodeB.
    Oct 18, 2008
    5
    This game isnt that great. It has some really nice pros that most games dont have, but someworth excessive. The island is WAY to big. Its not like we need to go that many places the graphics are also nice and thats about it. The cons are that they have no night driving. its Always bright like noon. or maybe a little like 5pm noon. Theres never rain or any type of wether. the police are This game isnt that great. It has some really nice pros that most games dont have, but someworth excessive. The island is WAY to big. Its not like we need to go that many places the graphics are also nice and thats about it. The cons are that they have no night driving. its Always bright like noon. or maybe a little like 5pm noon. Theres never rain or any type of wether. the police are stupid and arrest you easily for driving slow when u have stars. theres no damage system which i dont mind that much but coom, at least give an option to use one or not. They also have all this hpouses that you dont need..some even look the same >;/. they have TOO MANY of places to buy the SAMe stupid car. The game gets boring REALLY fast since tehres no interaction with no npc AT all. infact the only person you see is YOU. no pedestrian. and i forgot, the radio songs are good :), but baack to the racing experience. theeres no motocycles or trucks to drive on the PS2 version. and tehres barely any nice cars to drive. If you decide to get this game at all, PLEASe get xbox 360 verson, although it sks, its way better than ps2 version. Expand
  9. Darkwolf
    Mar 16, 2007
    8
    This game is absolutely fantastic. You need a powerful PC to run it in it's full glory though. But when you've got a rig that can handle it then this game will impress you in every aspect of the word. One big world with no loading times. Total freedom. It's ideal!
  10. JP
    Mar 28, 2007
    6
    OK, sums this driving game up, nice enough graphics, with a huge sprawling area to drive around, the draw distance is huge but plagued by slow draw speed , this is highlighted more when driving faster...controls are middle of the road, terrible shame there is no damage/collision adjustments at all, real let down, you can't have a view of the dash board and look out left and right OK, sums this driving game up, nice enough graphics, with a huge sprawling area to drive around, the draw distance is huge but plagued by slow draw speed , this is highlighted more when driving faster...controls are middle of the road, terrible shame there is no damage/collision adjustments at all, real let down, you can't have a view of the dash board and look out left and right through the windows either... The gameplay is very loose and sometimes you might think I am just driving about for no reason, the races are fairly tough and will keep you driving miles and miles to find the next one... All in all I feel they have crammed as much as they could into a PSP package size and well done to that, but perhaps they lost a few very important parts along they way...shame now if they had merged Race Driver (toca) with this well that would be a fine game indeed... So I give this game 6/10....not good enough Expand
  11. RuutA.
    Feb 21, 2007
    5
    Horrible handling, horrible artifacts. As a racer this feels heavy and slow. NFS Carbon is a much better game.
  12. JayL.
    Feb 25, 2007
    5
    Based on prerelease, the game is not nearly as polished as on the 360. Of course, high hopes on such a lesser platform indeed! What really lacked was the interior view and distinguished engine sounds. Everything has been dumbed down and more bland for the handheld limitations...
  13. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    If you have looked at ALL previous racing games and this one, you will notice that this one is worth the cost. I have played all racing games for the PSP and come away pretty disappointed. Except for TDU! This game is great. It is a lazy man's racing game that pretty much allows you to race in whatever fashion you please. Graphics are good, music is relaxing and races are not too hard.If you have looked at ALL previous racing games and this one, you will notice that this one is worth the cost. I have played all racing games for the PSP and come away pretty disappointed. Except for TDU! This game is great. It is a lazy man's racing game that pretty much allows you to race in whatever fashion you please. Graphics are good, music is relaxing and races are not too hard. Collecting cars and houses are fun. If Gran Turismo PSP is too real or hard, try this game. Expand
  14. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Engaging, beautifully looking and LARGE! This is by far the largest gameworld you'll encounter in a PSP title, thus never really getting bored of it, especially since there are no loading times anywhere you go. But that's quite the only plus it has compared with the other games. The game is made with multiplayer in mind, so on every start you are asked if you want to play online and youEngaging, beautifully looking and LARGE! This is by far the largest gameworld you'll encounter in a PSP title, thus never really getting bored of it, especially since there are no loading times anywhere you go. But that's quite the only plus it has compared with the other games. The game is made with multiplayer in mind, so on every start you are asked if you want to play online and you can't disable this feature in the menus, which is irrational for a portable console that is not granted to have network access at the rate of a pc. Paired with that, the servers are out by now, since the devs apparently no longer support multiplayer on this title, apparently being buggy since it's inception (though i think it has more to do with hardware's limitations, not coding faults), so you have to spend some "clicks" and some loading times from entering the game to being on the road. It might not seem much at first, but it gets frustrating after starting the game like that a few times. Then you have the occasional bugs with roads or other objects not showing up, and the in-game police is too much of a nuisance to allow the fun to last when yo speed with a fast car. But the soundtrack is there to sweeten things up a bit and afterall, if you're more like a cruiser than a competitor, there is enough road to burn all the rubber you want! Expand
  15. Nov 16, 2012
    4
    A severe framerating issues are keeping this game from having any fun from racing or driving around beautiful island. It is big shame because Test Drive is elaborate game and the open world offers a lot to explore and many races to win. However due to the aforementioned performance issues it's all in vain.
  16. Jul 10, 2021
    10
    In my opinion psp and ps2 versions are the definitive versions of the game when it comes to content i HIGHLY recommend playing

Awards & Rankings

12
14
#14 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2007
32
#32 Most Shared PSP Game of 2007
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Games Master UK
    76
    A mature and serious racing game that ill impress you. [Mar 2007, p.84]
  2. Pure Magazine UK
    90
    A great race title if you can persevere past the initial frustration. [Mar 2007, p.74]
  3. The PSP version of Test Drive Unlimited crams in just about every feature found in the PS2 version of the game, including the open-ended online world, and it does so without mucking up the experience.