• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Aug 30, 2010
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 87
  2. Negative: 6 out of 87
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    7
    What a strange beast this game is, and I mean beast: there's a lot under the hood. I think my rating will go up with time as the tactical elements become more evident as the game progresses. On the other hand the characterizations, voice acting and general mood of the game seem to be trying to copy Persona 3. It doesn't work to the point that these elements of the game are actuallyWhat a strange beast this game is, and I mean beast: there's a lot under the hood. I think my rating will go up with time as the tactical elements become more evident as the game progresses. On the other hand the characterizations, voice acting and general mood of the game seem to be trying to copy Persona 3. It doesn't work to the point that these elements of the game are actually offputting. It's a shame since the gameplay is excellent. What was Sega thinking? Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2016
    4
    I just discovered this game and am playing it on my PSP now. I find this game to be both intriguing and fun to play and annoying as hell.

    The fun: the actual game play, the portion of the game where you strategize and play the game is great. The annoying: the long, looooong, loooooong enbless dialogs. I am 3hrs into the game and its still tutorial after tutorial and endless dialog
    I just discovered this game and am playing it on my PSP now. I find this game to be both intriguing and fun to play and annoying as hell.

    The fun:
    the actual game play, the portion of the game where you strategize and play the game is great.

    The annoying:
    the long, looooong, loooooong enbless dialogs. I am 3hrs into the game and its still tutorial after tutorial and endless dialog for a really goofy story. I am at the point where if the dialog does not stop soon I am giving up on this one. The amount of detail is just too much w/ this game, endless amount of information and un-neccesary details for what could be a simple and fun game to play.

    If you love endlessly long stories and super complex UI and tons of detail then you'll probably enjoy this one.
    Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    While the game's plot and setting aren't anything to write home about, (especially comparing them to the first chapter's), Valkyria Chronicles 2's gameplay manages to prove that the original's innovative tactical formula can be not only adapted to handhelds, but also improved in the process. The customization options for the tank and for every single cadet in your army are enormous, andWhile the game's plot and setting aren't anything to write home about, (especially comparing them to the first chapter's), Valkyria Chronicles 2's gameplay manages to prove that the original's innovative tactical formula can be not only adapted to handhelds, but also improved in the process. The customization options for the tank and for every single cadet in your army are enormous, and while some features could have been better streamlined (the degree system, for example) the possibilities are almost endless. The number of missions (many of them optional) has also skyrocketed, as well as the game's longevity thanks to one of the best post-game to grace a game of this genre in the last years. Instead of having a single map as in the PS3 original, VC2's missions are played on many minor maps tied together by command bases, a thing that you will learn to appreciate as soon as you begin to move your units quickly from map to map using the retreatreserve system. Sakimoto's excellent OST only manages to add its unique flavour to an already great game, and every fan of the first Valkyria (and of tactical JRPGs) should give Lanseal's cadets a chance to shine. Expand
  4. May 12, 2011
    6
    The first Valkyria Chronicles game is one of my favorite games of all time. It pains me to say that the sequel does not do the series justice. This is not only because the graphics and art style have taken a dramatic turn for the worse, but also because the story and characters are really bland and uninteresting. Most of them are typical anime stereotypes and lack the refined traits andThe first Valkyria Chronicles game is one of my favorite games of all time. It pains me to say that the sequel does not do the series justice. This is not only because the graphics and art style have taken a dramatic turn for the worse, but also because the story and characters are really bland and uninteresting. Most of them are typical anime stereotypes and lack the refined traits and depth of the characters in the first game. When you take out the beautiful characters, story and graphics from Valkyria Chronicles, what you are left with is the innovative gameplay, which has had some great changes. In Valkyria Chronicles 2 the class system has been reworked a bit and you now have a shied units and you now have multiple small maps in a battle that you travel to by getting to capturing smaller bases, as opposed to a single large map. I don't mind the class restructure however I do have a bit of a problem with the separate maps, as it doesn't make sense to me that you can teleport to a location by capturing a base and having a huge map makes you feel like you are playing a game of chess. It doesn't help that you need to play this strategic game on a portable either. When playing a big screen it was very nice to be able to have a nice large look at the battlefield and plan out your attack. Valkyria Chronicle's gameplay simply isn't something fit for a portable gaming system, it should definitely be on a large screen with a proper controller. Overall as much I loved Valkyria Chronicles, it didn't need a sequel. The ending was one of the most beautiful video game endings I have ever seen in my life and I felt very complete and satisfied afterwards. I do plan on purchasing VC3 if it ever gets localized and hopefully the more serious story there will impress me much more than this title did. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    A great portable version of the original's game concept. While the High School animu date sim story line is less deep than the previous game its an excellently fun and tactical game. It offers the right mix of strategy and RPG on a portable platform, with great ad-hoc co-op.
  6. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    This is the game I would really recommend to every gamer owning PSP. Story is great, missions are challenging, and cut-scenes are masterpiece! Of course there are some little glitches but overall, this is the best possible tactical shooter available for this console.
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This a fantastic game. The story, while cheesy, is entertaining. The characters are well written, albeit a bit stereotyped. The combat is simple yet tactical and is very satisfying. This is also a long game that will entertain you for hours on end. The voice acting is pretty good and the ammount of content makes this a very good buy for any psp owner
  8. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    One of the best PSP games along with Persona 3 Portable. I must say they both have something in common, both are compilations of battles and social elements. The social side of course is much better in Persona, but those awesome tactical missions (some of them are puzzle-like I'd say) in VCII are better and more addictive than P3 mostly routine battles. Also the game has nice and stylishOne of the best PSP games along with Persona 3 Portable. I must say they both have something in common, both are compilations of battles and social elements. The social side of course is much better in Persona, but those awesome tactical missions (some of them are puzzle-like I'd say) in VCII are better and more addictive than P3 mostly routine battles. Also the game has nice and stylish visualization and original setting. Oh yeah and I forgot to mention all of these great memorable characters from your squad. Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    This game is great, Valkyria Chronicles- on the go! The turn based FPS style is neat to. My only and worse complaint about this game is its not as good as the first one and the large maps from the first game have been shrink down to many "mini maps". But you can't really bring a PS3 and play it on the go, and even thought it is the most disappointing VC release, I highly recommend this toThis game is great, Valkyria Chronicles- on the go! The turn based FPS style is neat to. My only and worse complaint about this game is its not as good as the first one and the large maps from the first game have been shrink down to many "mini maps". But you can't really bring a PS3 and play it on the go, and even thought it is the most disappointing VC release, I highly recommend this to PSP fans and fans of the first game. Expand
  10. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    A completely unique fusion of third person shooter with real time strategy, with neither element suffering at the expense of the other. The game is divided between your time hanging around Lanseal talking to classmates and fighting against rebels on battlefields. The story and characters are as JRPG as they come (kooky love interest, sneering rival student, tough guy with a heart of gold)A completely unique fusion of third person shooter with real time strategy, with neither element suffering at the expense of the other. The game is divided between your time hanging around Lanseal talking to classmates and fighting against rebels on battlefields. The story and characters are as JRPG as they come (kooky love interest, sneering rival student, tough guy with a heart of gold) and if you cannot stomach this kind of environment, you may be put off the game entirely. But where this game shines is when it switches to battle. Finding the best route, using the right classes, taking stupid risks. It's highly entertaining and replayable. This game deserves to be given a chance by all RPG fans. Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2015
    8
    A good tactics which takes its time to get itselve together. It's too much of a repetetive missions on the same maps at the beginning, but later it becomes better.
    GUI's terrible, crafting and managing is very clumsy. I recommend to search for special missions and stickers codes to lighten the burden of grinding.
    The cadets characters are realy what I miss in XCOM – it's nice to see more
    A good tactics which takes its time to get itselve together. It's too much of a repetetive missions on the same maps at the beginning, but later it becomes better.
    GUI's terrible, crafting and managing is very clumsy. I recommend to search for special missions and stickers codes to lighten the burden of grinding.
    The cadets characters are realy what I miss in XCOM – it's nice to see more humane soldiers and considering that these "humans" are anime stereotypes it makes the combat very funny.
    Expand
  12. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    If your playing this after the first Valkyrie chronicles you will be disappointed by the story and characters. However, that dose not mean the characters or story are bad. The story is more anime in themes with many characters and in a school environment. Some people will like this others will hate it. over all the gameplay is the same as the first one with the expction of new classIf your playing this after the first Valkyrie chronicles you will be disappointed by the story and characters. However, that dose not mean the characters or story are bad. The story is more anime in themes with many characters and in a school environment. Some people will like this others will hate it. over all the gameplay is the same as the first one with the expction of new class system. Also there are tons of missions to play expect to spend about 50 hours to clear the main story and other 30-40 for the dlc and class,paid missions. If you liked the first vc and like anime themes then you should really like vc2. Expand
  13. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    My favorite PSP game of all time. Such a perfect mix of real-time action and turn based strategy. Memorable characters (a bit of cheese story and dialog though). Music is great, fits the game very well. You really get attached to the characters over the course of their schooling careers. The tank customization is awesome. Just so fun!!!
  14. Nov 13, 2021
    9
    While being not as good as the original game it is still really good and makes some interesting additions to the formula. I really like the characters, art style and gameplay of the game. It is a turn based tactical RPG set in a fictional Europe around 1935 to 1940 with minor fantasy elements. The game is set approx 2 years after the event of the first game. There the small and neutralWhile being not as good as the original game it is still really good and makes some interesting additions to the formula. I really like the characters, art style and gameplay of the game. It is a turn based tactical RPG set in a fictional Europe around 1935 to 1940 with minor fantasy elements. The game is set approx 2 years after the event of the first game. There the small and neutral country of Gallia (Swiss in our world but in the region of Lithuania) has defeated the Imperial Alliance (Equivalent of Russia in our world) in hard fought battles. Sadly they paid not only a huge price in life's but inner struggles followed. A group of aristocrats lead by Count Gassenarl started a civil war against the ruling Archduchess Cordelia Gi Randgritz and a crusade against the Darcsen people living in Gallia. Darcsen are discriminated because of events in the far past as history was written by victors to summarize it and the Archduchess bloodline is Darcsen because her ancestors fought back then on the side of the victors and received the rule of Gallia as reward for their services. Meanwhile Avan Hardins received the notice that his older brother Leon died but because he was a student in the Landseal Military Academy and participated in secret missions no details are given. He decided to become a student there to find out the truth. He becomes the chair of class G who is the catchment fond of misfits (Not criminals, rule breaker or big troublemakers!). Because the students participate in mission in the civil war he will get dragged into the events. I like the story but it is different from the first game and less intense but enjoyable too. They added parts of school and slice of life elements. The twist work well and the cast is full of likable characters. The main characters are (of cause) Avan, Cosette and Zeri. Each of them has arcs and character development. The rest of the class have also their unique personalities and if you deploy them you unlock more and more of their personal stories and maybe something good if you finish it. Some have deep and meaningful arcs while others and I don't mean this negative have more personal problems. It will be hard to chose my favorites from them but would go with Aliasse, Alexis, Helmut, Noel. Rene, Pete and Lavinia to name a few. In short they won me over and I was fully invested in them. The gameplay is a mixture of development of your squad including equipment / weapons and tactical RPG. You participate in missions / battles. In the battles you have turns and a limited amount of actions per turn (Officers add some if deployed). You see your units in a map and chose one. Now you are in a third person view and can maneuver them and take one action. Beware as enemies in shooting range will attack, movement range declines if used multiple times per turn, extra weapons like hand grenades are limited and you should end your turns covered as when you finish the enemy will do the same on their turn. There is more to it as you have different classes, an armored vehicle / tank, obstacles and multiple approaches are very often possible if not encouraged. They added a new class and a lot of sub classes for the established ones. This game has more options and I like it. I experimented a lot with my set ups. Also you can customize your armored vehicle far more than in the prequel. With the right parts you have a Swiss army tool that allows you unique solutions otherwise impossible. As you progress you unlock better equipment, parts for vehicles and items you can get as rewards (Needed for changing classes and / or higher tiers). Again this worked well in the prequel and here too. For the presentation I will repeat my statements from the first game: The graphics are unique. The game looks like a water color painting. It aged surprisingly well and I would like to buy an artbook for it. The soundtrack is amazing but mostly in a sneakingly way. It took me a while to recognize how good and fitting it is. I have some negatives. The missions can be a bit to repetitive. You revisit a lot of the same maps and have missions that feel like you have done them before. Also some twist I have seen from far away. Overall I say it is a worthy sequel and one of the best RPGs on the PSP. Worth playing especially foo strategic RPG lovers. Expand
  15. Jul 15, 2019
    9
    Phenomenal gameplay fusion between RPG, action, and turn based strategy. Couple this with wonderful story telling. While the cut scenes are minimal, the way the voice acting and story progresses really pulls you in.

    Avan, the main character, tackles issues of nationalism, hate and racism, pride, selfishness, self-confidence, mistrust, etc. A wonderfully handled narrative
  16. Dec 12, 2017
    8
    Valkyria Chronicles II is a great sequel to the existing franchise, available portably on the PSP. The gameplay is still the same great gameplay from its predecessor, and with a large cast of characters to take control of, the game keeps itself fairly fresh. There is a significant increase in grinding compared to the first game but overall it's not enough to make the game feel too tedious.Valkyria Chronicles II is a great sequel to the existing franchise, available portably on the PSP. The gameplay is still the same great gameplay from its predecessor, and with a large cast of characters to take control of, the game keeps itself fairly fresh. There is a significant increase in grinding compared to the first game but overall it's not enough to make the game feel too tedious. Valkyria Chronicles 2 is a welcomed sequel. The two words that best describe Valkyria Chronicles 2 are wonderful and portable.

    Cons
    Grinding can get tedious and may bore some players
    Story is a hit or miss
    Expand
  17. Feb 2, 2020
    9
    This game is great. The game is the perfect sequel to the first game, I believe that if it wasn't exclusive the the PSP it would have sold far far better. The game continues the themes and story of the first game and honestly in a lot of places it's arguably better than the first game.
    It's difficult but I think that it's very rewarding to get through a tough mission and get that sweet,
    This game is great. The game is the perfect sequel to the first game, I believe that if it wasn't exclusive the the PSP it would have sold far far better. The game continues the themes and story of the first game and honestly in a lot of places it's arguably better than the first game.
    It's difficult but I think that it's very rewarding to get through a tough mission and get that sweet, sweet story which in my opinion is the best in the series. I think that it's great because of the continuation of the heavier parts of the first game being the holocaust stuff. due to this I prefer it over the fourth game's story which dragged on and on and continued my hate for the "good guys" I think that if you're a history enthusiast for the communist revolution in Russia or China, or if you're interested in proxy wars in the cold war you'll love this game.
    Overall a really good game but it has flaws. First off, the missions are short but hard but there are more of them however they reuse many of the same maps from the story missions which make the story and the skirmishes blend together. Second, there are fewer people you get, I know it's so it would run well on the PSP but only six people come on in the first game you can have like 15 at most in one mission also you really have to specialize that force you really don't really have the option to use everyone equally due to the relationship mechanic and credits system. Third the training system sucks you need ridiculous amounts of xp to level up and even then you don't get elite soldiers that earned through a tart credits system sort of like X-COM where you don't chose what they get.
    Overall even with its flaws I like and I have high hopes for the series and would love an HD remake of 2 and a localized and HD remake of 3 here in the US for the PlayStation 5 and X-Box Scarlet.
    Expand
  18. Jan 8, 2022
    7
    I had a lot of fun with this game but I had a lot of frustration either. This game can truly be challenging and sometimes it's was simply too hard. I've had a lot of moments when I just couldn't go on and those moments were seriously not fun at all. It's a really long game but psp is really comfortable platform and we can still just an hour of the game simply anywhere. Story is great andI had a lot of fun with this game but I had a lot of frustration either. This game can truly be challenging and sometimes it's was simply too hard. I've had a lot of moments when I just couldn't go on and those moments were seriously not fun at all. It's a really long game but psp is really comfortable platform and we can still just an hour of the game simply anywhere. Story is great and characters are amazing! I would give a much higher score if only this game had difficulty selection... But It's worth checking out for sure. Expand

Awards & Rankings

4
6
#6 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
14
#14 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 25, 2011
    80
    Demanding. You'll love it and curse it at the same time. Much better with friends. [January 2011 p80]
  2. Jan 15, 2011
    81
    Valkyria Chronicles' transition to a handheld platform went surprisingly smooth. The developers preserved everything that made the original game so great, and added many nice little touches. The gameplay and even the key maps are the same as before, so fans of the series will feel right at home.
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    83
    A rewarding and deep strategy JRPG, not watered down by the translation from the home consoles version. If only the A.I. could've been better, then it would have been an absolute must buy for all PSP owners.