• Release Date: Mar 1, 2021
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Mar 1, 2021
    88
    PixelJunk Raiders is one of the most beautiful, moody, and tough games I've ever played. But it is the potential of the Stadia community crowdsourcing the game that makes it such a fascinating and unique experience. A unique experience on its own, PixelJunk Raiders has capacity to become a gamechanger if the gaming public choses to adopt it. Either way, this is a fascinating piece of video game history in the making. Attention should be paid.
  2. Mar 5, 2021
    65
    PixelJunk Raiders is not completely to be thrown away because it has some interesting ideas, but this is not enough to make it stand out compared to other roguelikes: it is the classic wasted opportunity because it never manages to fully convince.
  3. Mar 4, 2021
    60
    PixelJunk Raiders plays like an interactive sci-fi album cover from the 70s; one full of Vangelis off-cuts that you're going to try and share with a bunch of your friends despite the fact they're more interested in Rod Stewart.
  4. Mar 8, 2021
    50
    PixelJunk Raiders has a unique vibe and some interesting ideas, including smart implementation of Stadia’s State Share feature, but it isn’t anywhere near as fleshed out or polished as it needs to be. Cheapo presentation, clunky combat, unbalanced roguelike mechanics, and a lack of variety combine to extinguish the game’s promise. PixelJunk Raiders may stand out like a minor oasis on the desolate Stadia release calendar, but there’s a much wider, more vibrant world of roguelike-flavored games out there to explore.
  5. Mar 8, 2021
    50
    From an academic sense, there is a lot to like about PixelJunk Raiders, but not enough to overcome its obvious shortcomings. Combat slowly gets interesting over time, but hunting for weapons never feels like anything but filler. Levels change color schemes, but the objectives mostly remain static and encourage going through the motions to grind out experience and rewards. There aren't any treasure rooms or weird run-specific perks to make missions stand out, and the support of Stadia's State Share feels like a tech demo rather than something anyone would actually use. Google is still searching for a killer app for its cloud platform, and it's sad to say that the latest from Q-Games just doesn't fit the bill.
  6. Mar 1, 2021
    50
    PixelJunk Raiders is almost a good game and certainly isn't horrible, but its best bits, the roguelite systems and some tough melee battles, are still better done in other games in the genre, and those games aren't built around saving survivors who behave more like statues.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Mar 25, 2021
    40
    In a world where games such as Hades, Slay The Spire and Into The Breach have found ways to elevate the Roguelike to new heights, PixelJunk Raiders sadly fails to make a mark. [Issue#357, p.118]
  8. Mar 13, 2021
    40
    PixelJunk Raiders may look like an inventive and colorful world to wander around, but it stumbles hard when it comes to darn near everything else that makes a roguelike fun.
  9. Mar 5, 2021
    40
    Its mix of planetary scavenging, alien-hunting and funky artwork ought to be a smash, but sluggish mechanics and onerous mission demands diminish the fun.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 15, 2021
    A neat aesthetic can't disguise poor combat and a lack of anything to do.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 71
  2. Negative: 17 out of 71
  1. Mar 13, 2021
    9
    I've been playing the game since it came out, I had 0 knowledge of PixelJunk games and I didn't know what to expect. After nearly 22 hours II've been playing the game since it came out, I had 0 knowledge of PixelJunk games and I didn't know what to expect. After nearly 22 hours I can say I love this game and I love how the community comes together thanks to State Share, when a level is too hard you can just take a screenshot, share it in the community forum/discord and someone else will play the level and when they create their State Share with their level progression you will find dropped weapons or used imprints that can be life saving to finish the level yourself. In all those hours i've cleared 28 levels, reached Rank 11 and unlocked treat levels 6 missions , I believe the maximum level is 10. I love exploring levels, they are all different and you can randomly create your own and share them with others. I love trying new levels shared by other people, every single one is unique. The best part of the game is that every time you load a new level you don't know what you will find, nobody knows how the game will end and it's so nice playing something you don't know anything about.

    Update: So after nearly 64 hours of playing the game, after beating 4 "boss fights" and reaching Rank 18 I've managed to finish the main story of the game, That doesn't mean the game is finished tho, I'm not top rank yet, I don't have all the updates or DNA unlocked... Q-Games have implemented a free season pass style system that makes you pick between 2 bonuses every level you unlock and it resets every 31 days so more imprints, weapons and DNA will be available to unlock soon. The community has shared more than 150 State Share that you can pick and play full of other people's avatars and imprints.

    After so many hours I still think that this is a great game and it will improve with time, an update was out on 12/3/21 addressing a request from community that was asking for inverted Y and X axis option, well done.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2021
    10
    Love this game, played it since it came out, 23 hours so far (died 81 times). I can see it being quite divisive though. Its very unforgiving,Love this game, played it since it came out, 23 hours so far (died 81 times). I can see it being quite divisive though. Its very unforgiving, in a good way. The rush you get in those tense situations is very addicting for those with the right mindset.
    Levels are randomly generated. If you happen to find a really difficult one (or a really cool one) you can share it with others, and they can leave turrets, mines, and friendly minions behind to help the next one who tries it.
    This feature is unique to this game.

    Here's a spreadsheet with lots of shared maps from other people https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1jW91ucg7Vc0jFOhcGx3FWmZ1tZ6ctqoHmiCNI92T_uw/edit#gid=543076801
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2021
    10
    Good art style. Interesting world. I think the voice acting is on point and the combat is hard but fun!