User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 78
  2. Negative: 9 out of 78
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 14, 2022
    10
    This has immediately become one of my all time favorites! One of the most memorable stories in any media, include amazing and well voiced characters, a plot that keeps you glued to your couch, and a killer soundtrack. 10/10 all around! If you're even thinking about playing this, do yourself a favor and get it, and avoid spoilers at all costs since this is a mystery game at it's core.
  2. Apr 19, 2022
    10
    Great plot and graphics, even better frame rate fluency than the PS4, plus this is Mechanical Wind, my favorite.
  3. Apr 16, 2022
    10
    A near-perfect narrative and engaging yet relaxing gameplay. Perfect for handheld mode.
  4. Apr 21, 2022
    10
    Play this game. It's one of the best gaming experiences I've had in years, with the best sci-fi story I've ever seen in games.
    If you have have a passing interest in science fiction, Kaiju, tactical games or mystery, just play it
  5. Apr 19, 2022
    10
    A must play game if you are a fanboy of VANILLAWARE.
    A must play game if you are interested in JRPG.
  6. Apr 18, 2022
    10
    A wonderful game..period. Great Story, Great art style. Playing it is just wonderfull. So glad they did a Switch Port cuz its top notch!
  7. Apr 13, 2022
    10
    I don't play many RTS or anime-esque titles, but this is an absolute exception on every front. The overarching narrative kept me enticed as I conducted through the visual novellas, interacted with the RTS sessions, and scrolled through the encyclopedia. This is a bona fide masterpiece, far better than the Playstation version.
  8. Apr 13, 2022
    10
    A fantastic game, I love how some of the enemies look like Terminators. This game is vanillaware truly at its finest, and I hope they bring more of their games to switch and even PC. These companies wonder why so many people use emulators when in this day and age exclusivity is overrated.
  9. Apr 14, 2022
    10
    Das Spiel macht wirklich sehr viel Spaß.
    Mit deiner Grafik und Story begeistert es auch mich
    Nur im deutschen Text gibt es leider ein paar Rechtschreibfehler
  10. Apr 23, 2022
    10
    Beautiful visuals and Gameplay, Part Visual novel, Part mech strategy, AMAZING STORY, don't sleep on this game, give it a try you will not regret it.
  11. Apr 28, 2022
    10
    Essa é um experiência única de um jogo, essa jornada é maravilhosa em tds os sentidos, o jogo é cheio de plots( o melhor é que, por vc ter uma certa liberdade para avançar na história, alguns desses plots ñ são inteiramente explicados jogando com um só personagem, vc precisa ver cada perspectiva diferente pra ficar boquiaberto pela sensação incrível que é entender 100% cada segredoEssa é um experiência única de um jogo, essa jornada é maravilhosa em tds os sentidos, o jogo é cheio de plots( o melhor é que, por vc ter uma certa liberdade para avançar na história, alguns desses plots ñ são inteiramente explicados jogando com um só personagem, vc precisa ver cada perspectiva diferente pra ficar boquiaberto pela sensação incrível que é entender 100% cada segredo revelado), o jogo é cheio de referências a outras obras de ficção científica, o que deixa ainda mais prazeroso pra quem curte essa temática, o combate tb é legal ( achei que ñ gostaria mt, mas quando vc joga é uma delícia), eu simplesmente recomendo essa obra pra qualquer um, vc percebe que esse é um jogo feito com muito amor pela Vanillaware(Dificilmente deve ter outro assim), qualquer um que jogou esse jogo fica chateado por ñ ter vendido no mínimo dez vezes mais doq vendeu, eu preciso dizer uma coisa: esse jogo possui um dos melhores roteiros dos jogos da história com certeza, vou guardar com mt carinho os momentos que passei nessa carta de amor para os amantes dos jogos. Expand
  12. May 6, 2022
    10
    What i could say... this is it, this is the pinnacle of the RPG genre. Playing this game was one of the best experiences i had this year, give it a try if you love anime styled and sci-fi games like me.
  13. Apr 16, 2022
    9
    13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim, c'est un bon jeu. J'ai bien accroché à l'histoire jusqu'à un point où je me suis rendu compte que c'était tarabiscoté. Pas mauvais, ni mal écrit, mais compliqué pour pas grand chose à mon goût. Par contre pour le gameplay, je suis tout à fait fan : un mélange de tower-defense et tactical super fun. J'ai choisi la difficulté "intense" dès le départ, et je ne l'ai13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim, c'est un bon jeu. J'ai bien accroché à l'histoire jusqu'à un point où je me suis rendu compte que c'était tarabiscoté. Pas mauvais, ni mal écrit, mais compliqué pour pas grand chose à mon goût. Par contre pour le gameplay, je suis tout à fait fan : un mélange de tower-defense et tactical super fun. J'ai choisi la difficulté "intense" dès le départ, et je ne l'ai pas regretté du tout. Un très solide 17/20. Expand
  14. May 6, 2022
    10
    The game has one of the best narratives I've ever played. A very unique experience when you switch between the 13 main characters through 5 different era ( from 20 to 22 centuries) to discover the truth behind the complicated story.
  15. Apr 16, 2022
    9
    La trama está muy bien elaborada y te mantiene constantemente intrigado esperando a saber más. Quizá el elemento en el que falle sea el modo batalla, que lo siento un poco desconectado del modo aventura, aunque igualmente es un juego muy bueno.
  16. Apr 15, 2022
    0
    this game is not good. terrible gameplay and really awful graphics. the soundtrack is annoying
  17. Apr 27, 2022
    0
    The game itself is pretty indy and average. Graphics are a mix between Super nintendo and ps2. A lot of boring dialog. Nothing special. But was is absolutely outrageous is the political pervertion that have gone too far. We are sick of it. Enough is enough. The friggin ppl who are doing this whatever their ill intentions arent changing a darn, just are getting the people hate ,they areThe game itself is pretty indy and average. Graphics are a mix between Super nintendo and ps2. A lot of boring dialog. Nothing special. But was is absolutely outrageous is the political pervertion that have gone too far. We are sick of it. Enough is enough. The friggin ppl who are doing this whatever their ill intentions arent changing a darn, just are getting the people hate ,they are engrossing their pockets from unknown sources but not from the consumers. Is just revolting. Expand
  18. Apr 16, 2022
    5
    Languages are region locked? Then it’s a 5 for me. why these Japanese publishers love doing this.
  19. Apr 24, 2022
    3
    But if it is a visual novel and it stands out in the narrative, why play it? I better read his story, if it's just a good story turned into a game, I better look for his novel and lore in some forum and that's it. Visually it looks boring and monotonous, with a simple design, like a basic mobile game, I don't see how precious and beautiful it comments, in general it is rather (if its valueBut if it is a visual novel and it stands out in the narrative, why play it? I better read his story, if it's just a good story turned into a game, I better look for his novel and lore in some forum and that's it. Visually it looks boring and monotonous, with a simple design, like a basic mobile game, I don't see how precious and beautiful it comments, in general it is rather (if its value is only in the narrative) it stops being a game), that bad conformist and idealistic tendency of today to call any game "precious precious", in short a matter of tastes and colors, Expand
  20. May 1, 2022
    0
    Hopefully this game gets the love it deserves on the switch. Once you understand the gameplay it becomes really enjoyable, it may take some time but its totally worth it
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 85
    As a whole, 13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim is an incredibly engaging game. It is equal parts entertaining and compelling whilst remaining fun and light. It’s super easy to pick up and pass the time, and is something that I constantly find myself thinking about. The story is thick enough to really sink your teeth into. There’s enough depth to keep you coming back to it time and time again. If you’re a fan of previously published titles from Atlus and Vanillaware, then I cannot recommend this enough.
  2. 100
    13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim is lengthy and complex, particularly if you really want to understand every little nuance of the story. The story might not feature player agency, as it has no branching choices or bad endings (and I’d argue that this is a strength of the game, that it’s determined to tell one story and tell it well) but even then the narrative alone will take at least fifteen hours to see to the end. Add on a few hours of the strategy RPG and you’ve got a hefty title on your hands. Ultimately though, I stuck through with 13 Sentinels because it’s paced immaculately – the mystery of the narrative gets its hooks into you and rushes you through an intricate web of conspiracy, discovery, and self-reflection. It got me to laugh, to gasp, and to view the world differently. We talk a lot about the potential of interactive storytelling to deliver experiences beyond film or print, and yet not many games do – but here is Vanillaware making it look effortless. Here’s hoping that 13 Sentinels is remembered long afterwards for all it has achieved.
  3. Apr 20, 2022
    82
    13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim weaves a complex, intriguing tale that spans many characters and time periods, and manages to pull it all together in the end. This narrative 2D adventure offers little traditional gameplay - though the battle sections provide a satisfying enough distraction.