Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 18, 2023
    100
    Characters are memorable and well drawn, literally and figuratively, and the game ably tackles thorny issues such as the consequences of school bullying, and the terrible toll taken by anxiety, depression and domestic abuse. For the most part, the 12-hour runtime flies by as you get to know every delightful nook and cranny of the cosy neighbourhood; only the final third drags a little. It feels worthwhile after the superb ending, though, which ensures that this game will live on in your memory for a long, long time after the credits roll.
  2. Jan 25, 2023
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Jan 24, 2023
    90
    While a few of the gameplay portions in the middle dragged a bit too much, A Space for the Unbound is one of the best narrative driven indie games I’ve played. Despite not having been to Indonesia which inspires the setting, the storytelling, characters, and atmosphere all felt perfect. It reminded me of how I felt playing The Kids We Were and Persona 4 Golden in that sense. If you enjoy memorable stories and great characters, A Space for the Unbound is an easy recommendation on Nintendo Switch.
  4. Feb 2, 2023
    88
    A Space for the Unbound delivers its story of domestic/school violence (and overcoming it!) with its own imagination and well written characters. The tiny little details in the game that introduce Indonesian culture not only showed the developers' affection for their home country, but also made me want to know more about the country.
  5. Jan 27, 2023
    85
    A Space for the Unbound tells a beautiful story with a lot of humanity and fantastic elements. Although its gameplay can get a bit tedious, it is an experience that we recommend to indie game lovers.
  6. 85
    Overall, A Space for the Unbound is a must play for those that enjoy getting an emotional experience from their games. The puzzles are generally easy to understand, and the game does a good job of making each space dive throughout the story feel different from the last in some meaningful way, helping gameplay not get stale as you go. It may take a tad longer than it should to get to the various emotional payoffs, but those moments are well done and generally worth it.
  7. Jan 18, 2023
    85
    A Space for the Unbound starts 2023 off right with one of the better narrative romps I’ve had in a long time. A slice-of-life narrative tale set in 90’s Indonesia and filled with supernatural twists finds a way to be compelling to all walks of life thanks to a well-crafted story with a lot of heart. Excellent world design and music help seal the deal. The game is moderately slowed down due to extensive foot travel and some strange point and click mechanics but the rest of the game is so interesting that you learn to roll with it.
  8. Feb 2, 2023
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Jan 30, 2023
    80
    I especially recommend it if you’re a fan of adventure games with a lot of puzzles. You definitely won’t be disappointed given how plentiful and unique they are. Overall I am happy I got to play this gem of a game and am looking forward to more from Mojiken.
  10. Jan 27, 2023
    80
    A Space for the Unbound is an ode to teenage nonchalance, and an emotional lesson in learning to let go, all wrapped up in a story about a superpowered calamity. Its disparate parts thoughtfully work together to create a heartfelt story, full of characters you won't want to say goodbye to.
  11. Jan 18, 2023
    80
    A Space for the Unbound takes us on a wholesome and emotional adventure across an Indonesian town, following a high school couple working around mystical and unforeseen problems.
  12. Jan 18, 2023
    80
    A Space for the Unbound is a brisk 15-hour story that is full of surprises and potent emotional beats. While it doesn’t offer much in the way of replayability, it’s a hugely memorable experience nonetheless.
  13. Jan 18, 2023
    80
    Despite the runtime being padded out by some meandering requests, A Space For The Unbound is a perfect little adventure title to curl up with on a rainy day. The myriad puzzles, while never overtly challenging, switch things up often enough to keep from growing tedious. At the same time, we wholeheartedly recommend it for its bittersweet, sombre narrative alone. It never veers too far into melancholic territory yet handles some heavy topics with grace. We didn’t come away gloomy from the potentially depressing themes depicted via the wonderful inhabitants of this beautifully rendered snapshot of Indonesia. Rather, we came away genuinely touched and inspired.
  14. Jan 19, 2023
    70
    A Space for the Unbound tries to stand on its story, but wraps it in a gameplay that is unbearably tedious.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 1, 2023
    Disparate parts pull together to form a beautiful game that's only more potent for its awkward adolescence. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 20, 2023
    10
    Story, music, also the graphic is top-notch as narrative game! Also, the game is very nostalgic about the environment :D and the importantStory, music, also the graphic is top-notch as narrative game! Also, the game is very nostalgic about the environment :D and the important thing, YOU CAN PET A LOT OF CATS Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2023
    10
    A great pixel art game with relaxing music and visual. It really drew me back to 90s era. Love it for every single moment of this game