Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 75 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 75
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 75
  3. Negative: 0 out of 75
Buy On
  1. 100
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the perfect getaway from daily life, putting players in a serene world where the only thing that matters is catching fish and arranging furniture. Its crafting system creates a sense of ownership over the island while also doubling as a creative outlet. It's an absolutely delightful and refreshing experience.
  2. Mar 30, 2020
    100
    Sometimes, playing a video game really is the best distraction from the real world. If you’re looking for an escape to an idyllic place of relaxation and quirky animals, where you can be creative, productive, or just chill in a virtual environment, Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the right game at the right time.
  3. Mar 27, 2020
    100
    Time apart can be good for the soul and New Horizons is proof of just that. Seven years in the making, this is the definitive Animal Crossing experience. This is as close as it gets to Animal Crossing perfection.
  4. Mar 22, 2020
    100
    Playing New Horizons was well worth the wait. The game is relaxing, enjoyable, well thought out, and fantastic chilled out fun for all ages. Right now, we really need a distraction from the chaos around us, and this game has come at the perfect time. So relax, hop on that plane, and enjoy your new life on the beach, in the woods, or even by the river. The choice is yours.
  5. Mar 18, 2020
    100
    As in the past games, this is rich with culture, community, humour, and charm. There's a reason why the series has such a dedicated fan base - and with such hype, there's always the worry that the expectations may not match reality. However, New Horizons exceeds expectations in every way. It proves to be the ideal gateway game for many people and, with added touches of magic, Animal Crossing: New Horizons is perfect for players old and new.
  6. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Animal Crossing; New Horizons, much like its predecessors, operates outside of the boundaries of most games. While the most tension you'll ever feel is while sprinting away from wasps, there's a warmth and comfort in the code which you won't find almost anywhere else.
  7. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Know that if you’re overwhelmed with the world, stuck inside, or adrift in a life that you know will look totally different next week — get Animal Crossing.
  8. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    With a game this broad and lengthy, there’s more to discuss than I could fit in one review, but suffice it to say, this a game that Nintendo have clearly worked incredibly hard to get right. It shines at every moment, from the wind rustling through the trees, to the sunset glinting off the water to the jaunty tunes at the start of the day fading into more relaxing melodies in the evening. Add dozens of much needed quality of life features (hello player customisation, autosave, couch co-op, and eight-player online play) and it all adds up to the perfect DIY recipe for the most chilled out, relaxing, and engaging life simulator ever.
  9. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is everything I hoped it would be, and it’s yet another stellar release that showcases a confident Nintendo at its best. It is excellent, and is easily another must-own Switch title – at least, if you can understand and embrace Animal Crossing’s uniquely lazy pace.
  10. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Above all else, Animal Crossing: New Horizons is an unbeatable feel-good experience and an essential purchase for anyone that owns a Nintendo Switch. As heartwarming as it is wholesome, Nintendo has delivered meaningful changes that help to structure your peaceful island existence. Every day has the potential to offer something new, and, thanks to that, it will be a game that many will enjoy investing countless hours (and Bells) in. Oh, and heroically leaping across rivers with the Vault Pole will never get old.
  11. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the best game I've played this year, and immediately cements itself as one of the generation's defining experiences. Fans will be playing it for years, watching as the seasons roll by and unveil the true potential of what has been created here.
  12. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Nintendo's comforting life sim is a tranquil haven at a time the world needs it most.
  13. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    A beautiful, welcoming game that is everything and anything you want it to be. This is one you'll play all year and beyond, and it's exactly what the world needs right now.
  14. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons takes Animal Crossing and not only drags it back onto home consoles, but improves upon every single facet imaginable. There's more to do, more to see, more to change, more to mould, and more to love; fans and first-time players are going to find themselves losing hours at a time gathering materials, creating new furniture, and making their island undeniably theirs. Every moment is unashamedly blissful, with excellently-written characters that truly feel alive and an island paradise that gives infinitely back more than you put in. Back when Animal Crossing: New Leaf hit the shelves all those years ago and created a whole new generation of fans, many people were wondering how Nintendo could possibly top it, but here we have our answer. This is a masterpiece that has been well worth waiting for.
  15. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Similar to how Breath of the Wild and Odyssey reimagined 3D Zelda and Mario, New Horizons represents an exciting new milestone for the Animal Crossing series. By truly handing the player the reins, Nintendo has delivered a deeply customisable and effortlessly joyous experience which is, quite simply, an essential purchase for all Switch owners.
  16. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons takes everything good about Animal Crossing and improves it ten-fold.
  17. Mar 24, 2020
    98
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons could end up being the most important game of 2020. It certainly will be one of its best. It will be the coping mechanism that helps people both recover from and overcome the dark things around them.
  18. Mar 30, 2020
    95
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is easily the best Animal Crossing game to date. This life simulator is the most immersive, feature-filled, and customizable to date, having exponentially amplified all the charm and addicting qualities of New Leaf. A must have for any fan of the series, or anyone who simply needs a distraction from the current state of the real world.
  19. Mar 23, 2020
    95
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons hit every checkbox for me. It’s clear in their handling of New Horizons that Nintendo truly cares about this series and understands its value to its audience.
  20. Mar 16, 2020
    95
    New Horizons is the crown jewel in the beloved Animal Crossing franchise: Nintendo managed to surpass every expectation by refining the gameplay with a plethora of features which improve visuals, quality of life and customization.
  21. Mar 16, 2020
    95
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is fantastic. It is the best Animal Crossing game ever made.
  22. Mar 16, 2020
    94
    If you've never played a game in the series, New Horizons is a great start. On the other hand, if you are already familiar with Animal Crossing, you will find a good amount of nostalgia but also pleasant little news, which will make this new adventure worthy of being lived day by day.
  23. Mar 16, 2020
    94
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the biggest reinvention of the series' mechanics and core gameplay loop, and that also makes it the best entry yet. This is a completely new kind of Animal Crossing experience, while retaining everything you loved about the previous games. You'll spend hours catching fish and bugs, making money to pay off your loan, and do it while having more power over how you customise your experience than ever before. I adore Animal Crossing: New Horizons, and this is quickly becoming one of my most-played games on Nintendo Switch. If you've ever had a love slow-paced social sims like Animal Crossing or The Sims, this game is essential.
  24. Mar 24, 2020
    93
    Thanks to new customization possibilities, a lot of classic charm and many QOL improvements, Animal Crossing: New Horizons stands as the best of the franchise so far. This game builds a community sense in different levels, something that we need at present time.
  25. Mar 16, 2020
    93
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons easily wins the "best entry in the series" title, bringing in much needed new content in the franchise.
  26. Mar 16, 2020
    93
    Animal Crossing: AC is back with New horizons. A game that feels big, polished and absolutely addictive. Nintendo has managed to create yet another entry in the series that has enough changes without leaving behind the feeling and philosophy of Animal Crossing.
  27. Mar 19, 2020
    92
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is just the game we wanted and much more. This franchise demonstrates once more why it is so special.
  28. Mar 16, 2020
    92
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons changes the game in a lot of subtly but meaningful ways, giving it more depth, freedom and a better flow.
  29. Mar 16, 2020
    92
    I always knew Animal Crossing games as something you played for like, 30 minutes a day at most. Grab some fruit, chat to your neighbors, call it a day. This game will take over your whole dang life, but in a really fun way. If you’ve ever had even a whiff of interest in this franchise, Animal Crossing: New Horizons will be an absolute slam dunk. Don’t sleep on this one for a second.
  30. Mar 16, 2020
    91
    Start from scratch on a deserted island, collect resources to help its growth, form a small community, progress to get an idyllic place we dream of and, when we think that there is nothing else on the horizon, millions of players will share with us their own vision of our own story. A different and deep game, something that is undoubtedly a sensation that lovers of video games should experience.
  31. Mar 30, 2020
    90
    New Horizons is the definitive Animal Crossing experience—that much is clear after a relatively short amount of time spent with it. And with the promise of future holiday updates, it’s guaranteed that fans both new and old will return to their islands again and again for many years to come.
  32. Mar 28, 2020
    90
    With an addictive and rewarding gameplay, great multiplayer aspect, good writing and a huge amount of content, this is quite literally the best Animal Crossing has ever been.
  33. Mar 27, 2020
    90
    A perfect entry-point for series’ newcomers and a warm comfort blanket for veterans, this is what I wanted out of my favorite series’ Switch debut.
  34. Edge Magazine
    Mar 26, 2020
    90
    To play New Horizons is to retreat to a fairer, kinder place, where even the supposed bad guy is a philanthropist who gives you interest-free loans you can pay off at your leisure. Animal Crossing has always been a pleasure; never has it felt quote so essential. [Issue#344, p.110]
  35. Mar 26, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons offers players a plethora of things to do at a very measured pace. The slow build does well to lull players into a cadence and get them used to some of the basics before going full bore — while still managing to be a relaxing jaunt. Solo play is near-perfect with the new additions that make this feel different from previous outings, while multiplayer is a treat even if some of the methods can feel slightly archaic. Ultimately, this is the kind of long-term game you want to get addicted to because it has a wealth of things to discover and do.
  36. Mar 26, 2020
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  37. 90
    We all need games like Animal Crossing: New Horizons, and while I don't think it's perfect by any means, and some of the new elements this time around come at the expense of what made previous titles so wonderful, the winning charm is still there in full. This will be Nintendo's biggest game of 2020, and with good reason - everyone who has been looking forward to it will be absolutely delighted by what Nintendo has delivered.
  38. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    There’s no arguing that Animal Crossing isn’t for everyone. But, if you’ve been a fan of the series before, and you’re looking for something juicy to sink your teeth into, then New Horizons is everything you could ever want from the franchise and then some.
  39. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    There has never been a better time for a new Animal Crossing game to arrive. It cannot fix what’s going on in the world right now, but Animal Crossing: New Horizons gives us the joyful, meditative escape that so many of us desperately need right now. Whether you’re young or old, you’ll find something to like. What isn’t to love about customising your dream island and being able to sit on a bench by the beach, listening to the waves, just because you can? Nothing I can think of, that’s for sure.
  40. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons will easily become your lovely new daily routine. Every day you’ll be coming back and discovering something new, you won’t be feeling alone even in sinlgeplayer and you’ll become a part of a community that will transform a tropical island into a paradise on Earth (just forget about the couch coop, though).
  41. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing New Horizons is simply adorable! Its world full of colors, its cute look and its multitude of possibilities make it an absolutely awesome and extremely generous game. The crafting allows a very satisfying experience, you can do just about anything on your island and transform it radically at your leisure. This exotic adventure is a real piece of paradise and the feeling of freedom is total.
  42. Mar 17, 2020
    90
    In case of Animal Crossing, a dull slogan like "this game is addictive" becomes true. I have been, with utmost pleasure, fishing, and planting flowers; I have decorated my house and talked to the residents of the island, and it was all fun. And even though I've spend more than 5o hours with New Horizons, there are still lots I of things haven't seen. If you own a Switch and like a splendid grind, you simply have to play it.
  43. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is beautiful and peaceful, offering safe harbour from the stresses of everyday life. There’s so much to do and so much to see, so what’s wrong with making a back seat?
  44. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    With fully customizable gameplay and a game experience that changes daily, Animal Crossing New Horizons is the perfect companion for a dream life. Having kept the basics and the principles of the franchise, Nintendo has introduced some great new features that allow even more total immersion in this bubble of tranquility. Whether it's with the ability to shape your island as you wish, more customisation than ever before, or the addition of a crafting system, while keeping the basics of the franchise, this new game fully meets the expectations of fans and will even manage to convert even the most skeptical.
  45. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    The amazing, relaxing gameplay we love is now available in a beautiful new look. The new quests and crafting systems are great for both newcomers and fans of the series and it is great to see Animal Crossing grow without losing its charm.
  46. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing New Horizons did everything right by jumping on the switch. The controls are pleasant, the crafting is clear and the challenges are so diversified that they will motivate hobbyists and craftsmen for a long time.
  47. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the best entry of the series so far, but it is not the ultimate Animal Crossing yet. There are some minor flaws, but nothing really noticeable. Its quality of life details, the daily routine of grabbing some fruit, chatting to your neighbors or looking for surprises, plus the very new mechanics are so delightful that we can only say good things about one of the most rewarding Nintendo experiences yet.
  48. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    The fresh thrill of discovering an uninhabited atoll tends to fade once such wild life gets cosier with crafted items, buildings, shops and incoming residents, until it looks like a village from the previous iterations. But the larger size of this wholly reshapable island, the customization's vertiginous level and the improved community interactions create an even more fertile ecosystem, hence Animal Crossing can slowly though decidedly stare further, towards New Horizons, equipped with an ever updating NookPhone.
  49. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    New Horizons has a lot to see and do, and much of the joy comes from discovering it on your own. I still get a kick out of the real-time elements, such as how a construction project that takes a day to complete takes a real day’s time to finish, or how the various merchants keep actual store hours. That little hook keeps me excited to check back in later when I end each session. Animal Crossing: New Horizons has something new to experience every day, and, best of all, it’s built on a foundation of joy and earnestness that’s all too rare. If the tradeoff is that I have to craft a few fishing poles, I guess it’s worth it in the end.
  50. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Leaf remains the pinnacle of the series, but New Horizons brings with it a bunch welcome quality of life changes, such as terraforming the island to your every whim. The addition of crafting isn't a burden as I worried it would be. In fact, it becomes a fun objective to work toward, effectively diversifying the usual chores of selling bugs and fish to pay your never-waning debts to that rascally raccoon. With real-world headlines more harrowing than ever, there's never been a better time to go on vacation within Animal Crossing: New Horizons.
  51. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is a beautifully relaxing title – exactly as it should be. With so much to offer in the coming months, such as seasonal events and new NPC characters we have yet to encounter, it’s a rewarding game that takes pride in its little moments of heart-warming joy. If you’re an Animal Crossing fan, you don’t want to miss this.
  52. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing New Horizons delivers on all fronts. Even though you know what to expect, the game manages to surprise you in meaningful ways that'll keep you playing for hundreds of hours. The localisation could've been better, but that doesn't impact the fun that you're guaranteed to have.
  53. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Nintendo Switch gets another must-own exclusive as Animal Crossing: New Horizons delivers on the expectations of fans without scaring off newcomers.
  54. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the perfect island escape, drawing you in to play day after day. All of the charms of the series' previous games are here, but with gorgeous new graphics, DIY crafting and the eventual ability to remodel your island, you can really create the island settlement of your dreams.
  55. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing is back with the most complete entry so far, full of options to make this virtual world truly yours. It makes the series feel fresh while keeping its essence intact.
  56. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is an expanded, polished, next-generation reboot of a classic Nintendo game that's full of surprises.
  57. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing finally gets a sequel that moves the franchise forward, in a surprisingly timely release that is perfect for this year in terms of both its gameplay and its philosophy.
  58. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is refined by the technological evolution of the last decade and the experience gathered with New Leaf and the various spin-off titles: the new game has a soul that has always been present in the franchise, but never fully expressed as today . All that remains is to wait for the launch and hope for a far-sighted management of the free updates and (not yet confirmed) microtransactions, crowning a title very close to conceptual and executive perfection.
  59. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    There continues to be nothing quite like Animal Crossing, and New Horizons proves that there's life in the old Nook yet.
  60. Mar 16, 2020
    88
    Animal Crossing New Horizons adds new customization elements, tools, objects and activities to the classic formula. It´s not a game for everybody, but fans will love it.
  61. Mar 16, 2020
    86
    Under the illusion of a relaxed island existence, this Animal Crossing gives you more to do, experience and build than ever before, all in a thoughtful, pleasant, time-and-time seductive way, making it the ultimate AC. An enrichment of my existence where I hope to spend many days, months and years.
  62. 85
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is a whole new approach to the series. While it has created some downsides, I can't understate how great this game has come together. The overall flow has been expanded with Nook Miles goals, DIY projects, and very lively animal friends. What I'm impressed by is how I was never left without something to do, and how I could see the world improve around me. There are a few things that New Horizons could have explained better, but they are also part of the more free flowing future that the franchise wants. Even after all these years, there is a daily routine that I hold dear and makes me adore the various elements that glue this game together. It has been sharply dialed up to eleven, without disagrading any newcomers.
  63. Mar 16, 2020
    85
    Animal Crossing reaffirms how important it is also to have an alternative: a welcoming and relaxed space where to stop. And relax. And breathe ...
  64. Mar 16, 2020
    85
    The series has managed to evolve without betraying the spirit of the previous parts: to spend peaceful days and do what we want, without pressure. Possibly, New Horizons is the breath of fresh air we needed.
  65. Mar 16, 2020
    85
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is a right evolution in the series, based on customization, looting and crafting. Definitely, the biggest title in the AC franchise, but also a very conservative one.
  66. Mar 16, 2020
    85
    Based on what I have been able to experience, it's what I've wanted Animal Crossing to be for many years.
  67. Mar 16, 2020
    85
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is a game that manages to be wholeheartedly cathartic, relaxing and adorable for every second you play despite some legacy flaws and clunky menus that may vex just a little too much.
  68. Mar 16, 2020
    82
    Animal Crossing debuts on Nintendo Switch with New Horizons, a game that draws heavily from users of previous titles feedback, but with too slow a progression in comparison.
  69. Mar 28, 2020
    81
    This latest Animal Crossing delivers the same charm and laidback fun that fans love. Plus, it provides more structure with its nifty Nook Miles system. In the end, this is a game that you'll be glad to pick up and play in short bursts for weeks, months, or even years.
  70. Mar 24, 2020
    80
    New Horizons is a great evolution for the Animal Crossing franchise. As always Nintendo has integrated some amazing innovations into the formula, but in the process made some really weird design decisions that detract from the fun.
  71. Mar 23, 2020
    80
    Animal Crossing New Horizons is a good entry in the series with it's new features like terraforming and crafting, but overall it's not a revolution, and it surely won't convince gamers who dislike the IP.
  72. Mar 17, 2020
    80
    New Horizons is packed with delight. It’s fun, with rare cross-generation appeal. The deserted island theme had some worried the latest entry would stray from the traditional model, but those fears should quickly be alleviated. It does, however, allow for new experiences and prevent the series from feeling stale almost 20 years after its debut.
  73. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    Nintendo's island adventure can be boring at times, but also tremendously recreative – in any case it is unbelievably charming.
  74. It’s a blissfully lighthearted and colourful game filled with charm, humour — I giggled aloud the first time I caught a black bass, described in-game as “the most metal of all fish” — and a much needed sense of normalcy that comes at a time when we could all use a little pick-me-up.
  75. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    While New Horizons doesn't do much - or anything at all, really - to win over anyone who didn't "get" Animal Crossing previously, veteran fans and interested newcomers alike will find 2020's sweetest, most wholesome game yet.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 16, 2020
    People will talk about this game as an ideal escape during uncertain current events, but I'd like to emphasize how much I enjoyed AC:NH even when I had other viable social and outdoor entertainment options. Animal Crossing games have always delivered a compelling version of self-quarantine, and this one overflows with quantity, without sacrificing quality, to do so at a scale series fans have never seen. Consider this a very high recommendation for anyone who thinks shooting the breeze with neon-colored, gym-loving ponies and hot-pink, coffee-chugging kangaroos is a great idea for a video game. [Ars Technica Approved]
  2. Mar 17, 2020
    It’s weird to say that New Horizons doesn’t feel like a game at all. It’s more of a service – an essential. Yes, it’s fundamentally not that exciting when you think for more than a few moments about picking fruit or snagging bugs; yet it’s the kind of thing you just expect to have included with every Nintendo Switch. Because once you’ve played it you sort of can’t imagine not playing it. You’ll struggle to imagine a morning, or evening, or afternoon when you haven’t felt that persistent pull to escape to a better place. And a game like that has never come at a better time.
  3. Mar 16, 2020
    For now, Animal Crossing: New Horizons feels like a no-brainer for fans of the franchise, and a perfect place to start for newcomers—with the exception of ruining every other previous Animal Crossing game, should you ever want to go back to them.
  4. Mar 16, 2020
    An impressive suite of improvements combine with a more clearly defined structure for Animal Crossing's finest outing to date. [Eurogamer Essential]
  5. Mar 16, 2020
    New Horizons certainly has a slower pace than other Animal Crossing games, partially because you have to work to get things up and running on the island at the start. And while I'm impatient to discover what upgrades might be coming my way (and I need to mess around with Island Designer more), I still feel as though I've done a lot on my island. I've crafted tons of furniture, upgraded my house seven times, picked thousands of weeds, and done far too many drastic outfit changes. I'm as excited to see what random events await me each morning as I am to decorate my island and make it my own, and that's sure to keep me coming back for the foreseeable future. [Provisional Score = 80]
  6. Mar 16, 2020
    Animal Crossing is everything I have been craving: it is gentle, soothing, social and creative, and my group chats are already buzzing with hype about beetles and villager fashions. If there was ever a perfect time for a game such as this, that time is now.
  7. Mar 16, 2020
    Aurora Island started off as an escape, a way for me to run away from the people and things that were weighing me down. It became so much more than that in just a short amount of time. I found community here. Not a community shackled together by economy or industry, but one connected by mutual compassion. That doesn’t mean everyone is blithely ignorant of reality or brainwashed into mind-numbing positivity, but there’s an undercurrent of tenderness for your fellow animal that inspires each and every action we take. I know life is waiting for me back on the mainland. I know this can’t last forever. But in the meantime, I’m going to absorb as much from my time here as possible in the hopes of taking at least a little bit of Aurora back with me.
  8. Mar 16, 2020
    The game is relaxing and soothing. That's it's strong suit and it nails it completely, making it easy to sink hours and hours into in a single day...It is without a doubt the best entry in the series yet.
  9. Mar 16, 2020
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is a respite from the current state of the world. I find my general anxiety slowly subside as I run through my town, water my plants, and build furniture for the sassy chicken gentleman living down by the beach. It’s exactly what I need right now. There are moments when I look up from a long session and realize that I’ve been ignoring everything around me. Then I take a look around at what actually is going on around me, and realize that maybe I’d better stay in my island paradise for a little while longer.
  10. Mar 16, 2020
    It’s the video game equivalent of a relaxing getaway — and we could all use that kind of respite right now.
  11. Mar 16, 2020
    There's a simplicity to life on Ella that I cherish.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2803 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 20, 2020
    4
    My gf started playing before me. No option to create my own island and guys, being the 2nd player to start on a console SUCKS!!!! You miss outMy gf started playing before me. No option to create my own island and guys, being the 2nd player to start on a console SUCKS!!!! You miss out on so much that only the 1st player gets in terms of activities, resources, etc. It's absolutely terrible. You have to buy a 2nd console if more than one person in your household wants to get the full game experience. That's unacceptable. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2020
    0
    My wife and I were looking forward to playing this game when it released. I bought it, I let her play first she made an island and played forMy wife and I were looking forward to playing this game when it released. I bought it, I let her play first she made an island and played for a bit. Then I decided to play only to discover that Nintendo only allows one island per switch! Not only that, the second player cannot build anything on the island and tool building is considerably harder to do. So, if you have more than one person in your home that wants to play the game, you need two switches. Worst decision I have ever seen, this even beats EA.
    Congratulations Nintendo, you have officially become the worst video game company this year!
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2020
    0
    The limitation of one island per Switch (not per cartridge, per Switch) is nonsensical. It‘s obvious Nintendo is just trying to sell moreThe limitation of one island per Switch (not per cartridge, per Switch) is nonsensical. It‘s obvious Nintendo is just trying to sell more Switch consoles. This means only one person in your family can enjoy the game to its fullest extent. Player 2 can barely do anything, and their progression is blocked until player 1 progresses further. Player 2 can’t make any administrative decisions. Players 1 and 2 have to share limited daily resources. I had to delete my save so my brother could enjoy the game.

    Sorry but this is an instant 0/10. The Switch is a family-oriented console and this is not a family-oriented game. This is a colossal failure on Nintendo’s part.
    Full Review »