Animal Crossing: New Horizons Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 111 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5947 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: If the hustle and bustle of modern life’s got you down, Tom Nook has a new business venture up his sleeve that he knows you’ll adore: the Nook Inc. Deserted Island Getaway Package. Sure, you’ve crossed paths with colorful characters near and far. Had a grand time as one of the city folk.If the hustle and bustle of modern life’s got you down, Tom Nook has a new business venture up his sleeve that he knows you’ll adore: the Nook Inc. Deserted Island Getaway Package. Sure, you’ve crossed paths with colorful characters near and far. Had a grand time as one of the city folk. May’ve even turned over a new leaf and dedicated yourself to public service. But deep down, isn’t there a part of you that longs for…freedom? Then perhaps a long walk on the beach of a deserted island, where a rich wealth of untouched nature awaits, is just what the doctor ordered. Peaceful creativity and charm await as you roll up your sleeves and make your new life whatever you want it to be. Collect resources and craft everything from creature comforts to handy tools. Embrace your green thumb as you interact with flowers and trees in new ways. Set up a homestead where the rules of what goes indoors and out no longer apply. Make friends with new arrivals, enjoy the seasons, pole-vault across rivers as you explore, and more. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
11 Things You Should Do Every Day In Animal Crossing: New Horizons
Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 0 out of 111
  1. Apr 8, 2020
    100
    The latest Animal Crossing is also the best, full of life, charm, and near-endless ways to make your very own island paradise.
  2. Mar 16, 2020
    100
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the best game I've played this year, and immediately cements itself as one of the generation's defining experiences. Fans will be playing it for years, watching as the seasons roll by and unveil the true potential of what has been created here.
  3. Mar 16, 2020
    95
    New Horizons is the crown jewel in the beloved Animal Crossing franchise: Nintendo managed to surpass every expectation by refining the gameplay with a plethora of features which improve visuals, quality of life and customization.
  4. Mar 16, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing: New Horizons is the perfect island escape, drawing you in to play day after day. All of the charms of the series' previous games are here, but with gorgeous new graphics, DIY crafting and the eventual ability to remodel your island, you can really create the island settlement of your dreams.
  5. Apr 2, 2020
    90
    If Animal Crossing was always a very simple concept with very complex features, New Horizons is a toy hammer with the capacity to forge a universe, powered by each player's imagination. It's must-have game in the library of every Nintendo Switch user that perfectly exemplifies Nintendo's idiosyncrasy. Similar to a bonsai, It offers something that can be cared for and appreciated every single day.
  6. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    Animal Crossing New Horizons is simply adorable! Its world full of colors, its cute look and its multitude of possibilities make it an absolutely awesome and extremely generous game. The crafting allows a very satisfying experience, you can do just about anything on your island and transform it radically at your leisure. This exotic adventure is a real piece of paradise and the feeling of freedom is total.
  7. Apr 12, 2020
    70
    By consolidating so much power in your hands, the game threatens to upend the Animal Crossing vision of community living.

See all 122 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Cant stop playing!
  2. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best Animal Crossing and one of the best game of my life. All is positive in this game and the idea of one island for one console is the best and unique. The people who have played to this game understood for why. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2020
    9
    Great game. Boring start, but starting from the third day on this ac starts to shine
  4. Mar 31, 2020
    2
    Horrible for poor kids. Me and my little brother share a switch (technically mine, I paid for it and all the games) He uses it when I'm atHorrible for poor kids. Me and my little brother share a switch (technically mine, I paid for it and all the games) He uses it when I'm at work or sleeping. I heard of animal crossing though a friend, said it was a calm way to spend quarantine. Never played before, but the hype got me excited. I didn't know what to expect, I haven't played before.I played for about in hour or two then let my bro on, only to see he couldn't play. 69+ dollars and a second person couldn't even play. I can't get another switch and a second copy, I get my stuff with a part time job, and my brother is only 11. My parents have jobs that get them though paycheck to paycheck so asking them to lay down 400+ dollars is ridiculous. Obviously Nintendo doesn't care for their poor families, if I knew this is the way the game functioned I would have saved my money. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2020
    1
    Это самая скучная игра в моей жизни в которую я играл! Я реально несколько раз засыпал играя в это! По геймплею это типичная игра соЭто самая скучная игра в моей жизни в которую я играл! Я реально несколько раз засыпал играя в это! По геймплею это типичная игра со смартфона, только без доната, конечно такая халтура не стоит full price! Ставлю заслуженные 1/10 ! Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2020
    0
    It is not a multiplayer game. it is a single-player game where others can visit and support your Island. That's it. No method to changeIt is not a multiplayer game. it is a single-player game where others can visit and support your Island. That's it. No method to change Residents or share Residency. Tech support had zero solutions. My wife and I allowed our son to play the game first and it is now unplayable for us. I'd get a refund if I could. We bought it as a multiplayer game and shared family experience. Expand
  7. Mar 27, 2020
    0
    Nintendo, this is greedy! The only reason to limit one island per console is to force your gamers to buy more switch console. Please listen toNintendo, this is greedy! The only reason to limit one island per console is to force your gamers to buy more switch console. Please listen to your gamers. I'm a long time fan of the series and is really disappointed to see this happening on switch console. The purpose of having different gaming account on your console is for your gamers to enjoy their gamers independently. Expand

See all 3707 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2020

    The Best Videogames of 2020 Image
    Published: January 4, 2021
    We reveal the best-reviewed games released in 2020 for PlayStation, Xbox, Switch, and PC.
  2. The 20 Best Video Games of 2020 So Far

    The 20 Best Video Games of 2020 So Far Image
    Published: July 10, 2020
    We rank the 20 highest-scoring videogames (for any platform) released during the first half of 2020.
  3. The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch)

    The 40 Best Console-Exclusive Games of This Generation (PS4, Xbox One, and Switch) Image
    Published: June 15, 2020
    We rank the 40 best console-exclusive games available on current generation hardware (PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Switch).
  4. 2020 Games Preview: 40 Notable Releases Including Cyberpunk 2077, The Last of Us Part II, and More

    2020 Games Preview: 40 Notable Releases Including Cyberpunk 2077, The Last of Us Part II, and More Image
    Published: January 22, 2020
    Get details on the most anticipated games headed to PlayStation, Xbox, Switch, and PC in 2020. We also look at the year's most intriguing indie games.
  5. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.