Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Dec 16, 2019
    100
    It can feel weird going back to the older format after spending hours acclimating yourself to the gameplay of New Creed but neither Black Flag or Rogue feel dated in any way and remain insanely playable to this day. And if that doesn’t sell you, perhaps knowing that the Rebel Collection offers the finest collection of sea shanties this side of the West Indies will have you galavanting over to the Nintendo eShop.
  2. Mar 17, 2020
    91
    What’s really striking about the two games in The Rebel Collection is that, like I said up top, unlike ACIII they’ve both aged fairly well. Both Black Flag and Rogue are excellent additions to your Switch library, and they’re well worth the dozens of hours you’ll get out of both.
  3. 90
    Between The Rebel Collection and the Assassin's Creed 3 + Liberation packs, the Nintendo Switch has the pinnacle of the series available for it now, as far as I'm concerned. Having these games available for on-the-go play makes the mild concessions made more than a fair tradeoff, and it speaks to the quality of Rogue in particular that I was more than happy to play it through yet again. It's a rare game indeed that ropes me in for a third replay.
  4. Dec 13, 2019
    90
    Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection on Nintendo Switch is nothing short of a technical marvel, proving what a big-time publisher can achieve with a port on the platform when dedicating enough time and effort.
  5. Jan 7, 2020
    88
    Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection provides a lot of gameplay for your money, even though overall Rogue feels a lot like Black Flag reskinned and moved to a new setting from a gameplay perspective. It's easy to recommend The Rebel Collection to action game fans, especially those who want to turn their daily commute into an adventure on the high seas.
  6. Dec 13, 2019
    85
    For fans of Assassin's Creed who only own a Switch now or who simply want a reason to play these games again, this is a lot of game to sail through. And for anyone who never experienced Black Flag, or indeed the series as a whole, this is a great entry point.
  7. Dec 30, 2019
    83
    Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection is an easy recommendation. While one game is indeed better than the other, there are still two very strong games for one single price. And you can’t forget the addition of the previously released DLC that makes this whole package an extremely good value. Ubisoft has redeemed themselves with an almost perfect port of Black Flag while understanding the advantages that the Switch had to offer such as the motion controls. And of course Rogue is no slouch either. Ubisoft proves that you can port large scale games with some hard work and passion.
  8. Jan 10, 2020
    82
    The Rebel Collection is an all-around enjoyable and if you can understand that these games have some age to them, then I think anybody will find themselves enjoying it. Even those who have grown up with butter-smooth controls.
  9. Jan 25, 2020
    80
    If you don’t mind encountering several glitches along the way, then you’re sure to have a blast with Assassin’s Creed: Rebel Collection on Switch – particularly with Black Flag which remains one of the best entries in the Assassin’s Creed series.
  10. Jan 6, 2020
    80
    The Assassin’s Creed Rebel Collection more than makes up for the iffy start Assassins' Creed 3 on the Switch suffered from. While favourite Assassin's Creed games are a more personal preference, Black Flag is still one of the best games in the series and helped give the franchise a breath of fresh air after the lagging Desmond saga. Rogue may not be as big as Black Flag, but still has plenty to offer as well as a different take on your usual Assassin’s Creed game. If you’re looking for a game that will last you a while with a nice big open world within a decently priced package, then the Rebel Collection is worth plundering. (Buying, not actually stealing)
  11. Dec 24, 2019
    80
    Without a doubt, Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection offers the strongest selection of AC games on the Switch so far. The titles are more engaging, the Switch port works wonderfully, and the overall package has dozens of hours of content, all for just $39.99.
  12. Dec 20, 2019
    80
    Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection includes the Black Flag and Rogue episodes and features a comprehensive and very exciting experience, providing that you enjoy the piracy universe and the outdated structure of the games, published six years ago.
  13. Dec 18, 2019
    80
    With plenty of content to explore, whether on the water or dry land, the sea-based battles remain addictive to this day and the inclusion of all additional content makes this package a wonderful gem for everyone who wants to return to Assassin's Creed or simply try it for the first time.
  14. 80
    Overall, you’re getting a massive amount of content in Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection, with the port of Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag being one of the more impressive examples of an open-world game on Nintendo’s handheld and Assassin’s Creed Rogue being worthy of a playthrough if you haven’t yet played it. The collection features two complete open-world experiences that are still a joy to play.
  15. Dec 13, 2019
    80
    Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection gives you plenty of bang for your swashbuckling buck.
  16. Dec 9, 2019
    80
    On Nintendo Switch, with the Rebel Collection, Ubisoft has created a small jewel, capable of guaranteeing technical performance that (especially in portability) did not make us regret the console versions in the slightest.
  17. Dec 9, 2019
    80
    The Rebel Collection offers two great games that you can enjoy in a new way on Switch, thanks to a single package full of contents that will allow you to experience the journey of four different characters.
  18. Dec 6, 2019
    80
    Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection includes two different games and two expansions that will keep you entertained for dozens of hours.
  19. Dec 6, 2019
    80
    Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection has come as something of a surprise to us after the disappointment of Assassin's Creed III Remastered. Here are two excellent swashbuckling epics ported to Nintendo's console in fine fashion. Black Flag is a revelation in portable mode and looks and performs almost flawlessly as you blast your way around the Caribbean on Edward Kenway's captivating pirate adventures. Rogue, although it struggles to keep up slightly here and there, is always eminently playable and together with the excellent Freedom Cry, they give Assassin's Creed fans something they've wanted for a very long time now – this is handheld Assassin's Creed at a standard we weren't particularly sure we'd ever see on Switch.
  20. Dec 31, 2019
    79
    Assassin’s Creed The Rebel Collection does not bring anything new to the series, yet this was expected. Fortunately the Nintendo Switch conversion went unharmed, and both games allow two big single-player “pirate simulators” to be portable. Shay and Edward suffer little technical issues but their respective design limits are counteracted by each other, even for the majority of the public only Black Flag will be worth the buy. Only for collection or if you didn’t have the chance to play these games on current gen.
  21. Dec 23, 2019
    75
    This pack is the best way to enjoy Black Flag and Rogue, as both take advantage of all the features of Switch and include their respective DLC. However, we realize that they are titles released a few years ago.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 97
  2. Negative: 12 out of 97
  1. Dec 8, 2019
    9
    Two big games...Great miracle ports and great optimization for switch, a wonderful dream! ..much much better than ac3/liberation ports..30Two big games...Great miracle ports and great optimization for switch, a wonderful dream! ..much much better than ac3/liberation ports..30 solid fps like ps4 in our hands!!!!! Very good work Ubisoft!! Now we want Ezio Collection and (if possible) AC Unity! Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2019
    10
    I really enjoyed this game, the sound was clearer than the ACL port on switch.
    I think the team that worked on rogue did really well on both
    I really enjoyed this game, the sound was clearer than the ACL port on switch.
    I think the team that worked on rogue did really well on both the FPS and graphics.
    During the ship battles i noticed that there was little to no frame drop even with the particles and explosions.
    This game must have been tested thoroughly as it has a great finish to it. I love the touch screen and it was very helpful at times.

    Over all great game 10/10;
    Love ACR;
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    I'm loving every minute of this game. You owe it to yourself to buy the Rebel Collection. I've only tried BF, but am looking forward to RogueI'm loving every minute of this game. You owe it to yourself to buy the Rebel Collection. I've only tried BF, but am looking forward to Rogue after playing through AC: 4. It runs great in handheld and docked, and you get to be a pirate! I love having my own ship and crew, and in the game, you can pet the dogs!

    I played Black Flag years ago but never got into it. I think having to be stuck in one place to enjoy it was a big deterrent all those years ago. Now however, i've experienced this amazing game while still watching football with my family, in the car while travelling, and at home while watching Disney+ :D

    I don't know if the devs who made BF will ever read this review, but if you are, thank you for a fun and amazing experience.
    Full Review »