Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Become the most feared pirate in the Caribbean in Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag. Take part in an award-winning naval experience and explore a massive open world. Become the ultimate assassin hunter in Assassin’s Creed® Rogue, and play as a Templar for the first time in franchise history.Become the most feared pirate in the Caribbean in Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag. Take part in an award-winning naval experience and explore a massive open world. Become the ultimate assassin hunter in Assassin’s Creed® Rogue, and play as a Templar for the first time in franchise history. Experience enhanced features like Handheld Mode, HD Rumble, Touch Screen Interface, and Motion Control Aiming. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Dec 16, 2019
    100
    It can feel weird going back to the older format after spending hours acclimating yourself to the gameplay of New Creed but neither Black Flag or Rogue feel dated in any way and remain insanely playable to this day. And if that doesn’t sell you, perhaps knowing that the Rebel Collection offers the finest collection of sea shanties this side of the West Indies will have you galavanting over to the Nintendo eShop.
  2. Dec 13, 2019
    90
    Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection on Nintendo Switch is nothing short of a technical marvel, proving what a big-time publisher can achieve with a port on the platform when dedicating enough time and effort.
  3. Dec 30, 2019
    83
    Assassin’s Creed: The Rebel Collection is an easy recommendation. While one game is indeed better than the other, there are still two very strong games for one single price. And you can’t forget the addition of the previously released DLC that makes this whole package an extremely good value. Ubisoft has redeemed themselves with an almost perfect port of Black Flag while understanding the advantages that the Switch had to offer such as the motion controls. And of course Rogue is no slouch either. Ubisoft proves that you can port large scale games with some hard work and passion.
  4. Dec 6, 2019
    80
    Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection has come as something of a surprise to us after the disappointment of Assassin's Creed III Remastered. Here are two excellent swashbuckling epics ported to Nintendo's console in fine fashion. Black Flag is a revelation in portable mode and looks and performs almost flawlessly as you blast your way around the Caribbean on Edward Kenway's captivating pirate adventures. Rogue, although it struggles to keep up slightly here and there, is always eminently playable and together with the excellent Freedom Cry, they give Assassin's Creed fans something they've wanted for a very long time now – this is handheld Assassin's Creed at a standard we weren't particularly sure we'd ever see on Switch.
  5. Dec 18, 2019
    80
    With plenty of content to explore, whether on the water or dry land, the sea-based battles remain addictive to this day and the inclusion of all additional content makes this package a wonderful gem for everyone who wants to return to Assassin's Creed or simply try it for the first time.
  6. Dec 9, 2019
    80
    On Nintendo Switch, with the Rebel Collection, Ubisoft has created a small jewel, capable of guaranteeing technical performance that (especially in portability) did not make us regret the console versions in the slightest.
  7. Dec 19, 2019
    60
    Assassin's Creed: The Rebel Collection for Nintendo Switch significantly undermines visuals for portability; there are better (and cheaper) options for Black Flag and Rogue.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 6, 2019
    10
    I really enjoyed this game, the sound was clearer than the ACL port on switch.
    I think the team that worked on rogue did really well on both
    I really enjoyed this game, the sound was clearer than the ACL port on switch.
    I think the team that worked on rogue did really well on both the FPS and graphics.
    During the ship battles i noticed that there was little to no frame drop even with the particles and explosions.
    This game must have been tested thoroughly as it has a great finish to it. I love the touch screen and it was very helpful at times.

    Over all great game 10/10;
    Love ACR;
    Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2019
    10
    the game is really great. I think it's fantastic what ubisoft gives us. the 2 assasinen are really good for playing. It is very sweet. Ithe game is really great. I think it's fantastic what ubisoft gives us. the 2 assasinen are really good for playing. It is very sweet. I recommend it to you. uwu Expand
  3. Dec 7, 2019
    10
    This is my first time to write a review on impulse. I would highly recommend every NS player to purchase one copy! Every!
    I have spent my
    This is my first time to write a review on impulse. I would highly recommend every NS player to purchase one copy! Every!
    I have spent my entire day in this game. I cannot believe one day this kind of 3A games can run almost at 30FPS in both Dock and handheld mode with such a high-level graphics performance
    (1080p on Dock and 720p on the handheld). The experience of playing this game is exactly the same as my 1st experience of playing ACBF.
    You can have a comparison with any other NS game.
    This game makes me confident in purchasing further NS games.
    Nice one, Ubisoft!
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2019
    9
    Just a wonderfully superb port of two very fun games. Very stable framerate and graphics!
  5. Nov 30, 2020
    9
    One of the best action/adventure experiences on the Switch to be sure, and in my opinion the best all-around Assassin's Creed experience poundOne of the best action/adventure experiences on the Switch to be sure, and in my opinion the best all-around Assassin's Creed experience pound for pound. In the Rebel Collection, you go from pirate, to liberator, to Assassin, to Templar. There's a LOT of variety when it comes to 'way of life' and exploring the intrigue of the underground societies of the Assassin Brotherhood and Templar Order and their philosophies, and you will probably enjoy all these transitions and the diversity of range they offer.

    The gameplay between both games is mostly pretty uniform, but despite that, Rogue manages to improve upon Black Flag's formula and brings some unique add-ons to the experience and environments. Some improvements include military land-battles, reverse boarding, Assassin stalkers, double counters while fighting aboard enemy ships, the air rifle (possibly the single greatest piece of equipment in any AC), official hunt challenges, and much more. The only feature withheld from Rogue that was in Black Flag is underwater exploration, but that has a lot more to do with the environments than simply stripping content for the heck of it.

    That being said, the games run well on Switch and there are very little issues with framerate or bugs. It's a well-tailored port and one that will more than likely be enjoyed by any gamer with an appetite for adventure. If you've played Assassin's Creed before, but stopped after II or Brotherhood, or were thinking about getting into the franchise, but only have a Switch, I would personally recommend this as it's a delight to play and offers fun exploration, naval combat, nice all-around customization, interesting stories, great characters, and one of the best AC experiences, even today.
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2020
    9
    My first time playing ACIV and wow, what an amazing port and game. I love all the support Nintendo Switch has been getting from Ubisoft andMy first time playing ACIV and wow, what an amazing port and game. I love all the support Nintendo Switch has been getting from Ubisoft and other third party developers. Looks amazing in both handheld and docked. Smooth frame rate and gorgeous visuals. Man, I love this generation. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2020
    6
    This is fun but Assassin’s Creed 2 was better. I stopped buying Assassin’s Creed after Assassin’s Creed 2 because I went to play exclusivelyThis is fun but Assassin’s Creed 2 was better. I stopped buying Assassin’s Creed after Assassin’s Creed 2 because I went to play exclusively on Nintendo consoles after my X-Box 360 and PS2 broke. I was so excited to pick this game up. But the long tutorial segment took away all my hype. I just wanna run around a city and hide form guards and it takes forever to get there. The ship battles are great and I’m glad the game starts off with that, but I just wanna jump run and explore and the map limits that greatly Expand

See all 26 User Reviews