Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 7, 2019
    100
    If someone told me that I would someday enjoy the frantic experiences of a twin-stick shooter, I’d have told them they were bonkers... yet here we are! It’s got well-designed characters with unique personalities and skill sets, as well as a tough yet fair difficulty curve. Being able to play with a single-stick is a fantastic edition for the Switch version, and while it’s a pain when big enemies are around, it really does work. If only the game came out a couple of months ago, I would have voted for it in our recent top 19 Switch games list.
  2. Mar 22, 2019
    90
    A masterclass in twin-stick shooting. The controls are simple, but the environments and enemy waves are complex and perfectly crafted. The huge variety of game modes and unlockables help give me a reason to keep coming back again and again. For a solo-player who loves some arcade action, or a group of friends looking for their next co-op challenge, Assault Android Cactus+ is a must buy.
  3. 90
    Assault Android Cactus' greatest weakness is that it defines itself as an "arcade dual stick shooter" in such a traditional fashion that it's limited by that. The game's greatest strength is that it is so slick, smooth, and energetic that its limitations don't matter in the slightest. This is one cracking game.
  4. Mar 7, 2019
    90
    Assault Android Cactus+ is the ultimate version of an excellent game, and a perfect marriage between console and content. It's exciting and intense without ever being impenetrable, and the new Campaign+ feature is a great reason to dive back into the game even if you've already completed it elsewhere.
  5. Mar 7, 2019
    89
    Charming twinstick-action with precise controls and a plethora of interesting ideas.
  6. 85
    Challenging bosses, fun gameplay, and solid controls make this a tough one to pass up. The remixed Campaign+ might not be enough of a reason for previous owners of the game to jump back in, but the plethora of online leaderboards should entice the high-score chasers among us. The local multiplayer and ease of play are perfect reasons to bust this one out for group gaming sessions, too. Assault Android Cactus+ is an easy recommendation for Switch owners looking for an exciting arcade experience.
  7. May 5, 2020
    80
    Assault Android Cactus+ is a tough but moreish space-set shooter. Infuriatingly difficult in places, it sure does feel satisfying to polish off the later bosses in particular. It left me wanting more, and provided the good kind of ‘game rage’.
  8. Mar 9, 2019
    80
    Assault Android Cactus was an incredible game when it released a few years ago and it's just as great now with a few extras, too.
  9. 80
    Assault Android Cactus+ is the baked potato of twin-stick shooters. A perfectly cooked center, loaded with all the extra goods, and a dollop of charm for good measure. It's a perfect fit on Switch with its drop-in multiplayer and bite-sized levels, especially for those with score-chasing in mind.
  10. 80
    If you are a fan of the genre, this is very easy to recommend. However, I would go further and say that, if you have a passing interest in shooters or are just after something new to play on your Switch, then give this a go.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Mar 19, 2019
    9
    I love this game. I created this account just to review this game. I played this on PC when it came out and it is a great twin-stick shooter,I love this game. I created this account just to review this game. I played this on PC when it came out and it is a great twin-stick shooter, and now I am redoing it on the Switch!

    Controls:
    The controls are smooth, especially if you use both sticks. Do not sit still too long in this game, it will make you pay.

    Graphics:
    They hold up well in this port. The bullets start flying and I have no trouble finding my pathway through them, which is definitely needed.

    Gameplay: This is the shining star. This is my favorite game to introduce my friends to. It's excellent for co-op, and watching the sweat bead off their heads as the levels get more difficult is great. The SHMUP aspect of this game has a mixture of puzzle thrown in, so the levels are never static.

    Watch the videos of this game to get an idea, but I love this game, and I hope others will too.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2020
    8
    I am usually terrible at twin stick shooters but really enjoyed Assault Android Cactus+ on Switch. Each level could be beaten in about 10 orI am usually terrible at twin stick shooters but really enjoyed Assault Android Cactus+ on Switch. Each level could be beaten in about 10 or so minutes which made it pick up and play. The difficulty was much more on my level.

    Game(s) like: Twin-stick shooters

    Pros:
    - Good difficulty (on normal) as I could actually beat this game
    - Like the different characters and weapons
    - Enjoyed the staged bosses

    Cons:
    - It is exactly what it is - a twin stick shooter. For me this means some quick plays and nothing in depth.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 7, 2020
    9
    This a bit of a mixed bag. This is a amazing game, i've played only on ps4. Sadly the devs did NOT bring ANY of the changes or updates toThis a bit of a mixed bag. This is a amazing game, i've played only on ps4. Sadly the devs did NOT bring ANY of the changes or updates to older consoles (ps4/xbox) this includes all the Campaign+ content, Character balance changes, Score changes, enemy updates, Hard mode bosses, Infinity drive tweaks, basically everything the switch version is doesn't exist for previous consoles.
    This game is absolutely amazing but ONLY on Switch or PC.

    So if your reading this, then good job, you are looking at the Correct version to buy. Just be weary, they might abandon this version just the same as they did with their previous consoles.

    Still great, just wish they would be honest and give us a reason as to why the fixes aren't coming to previous iterations of the game.

    Switch version is cool though, new costumes. YAY.......
    Full Review »