User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3191 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Astral Chain is an absolutely extraordinary game. It's amazing how the Platinum games have managed to put together such a varied, fun and long-lived action.
  2. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Wow!!! Simply generation defining! Platinum games has just created a masterpiece of epic proportions and created a new world we didn’t even know we wanted but can’t live without now! Thank you platinum games you are definitely one of the best developers around !
  3. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    Very cool game - I brought a Switch for it especially. Combat is original but fiddly, however once you get the hang of it it is really satisfying. Cool visuals, love the sci-fi setting and inter-dimensional threat.
  4. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    I don't frequently replay games right away, but this one I jumped right back in. The NG+ options are excellent. If you like TRPGs, JRPGs, any Fire Emblem games, or just... good games, you will likely love this one.
  5. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    An utterly amazing looking game, that makes you believe you are IN a manga film. Without doubt yet another 'must have' reason to buy a Nintendo Switch.
  6. Apr 25, 2020
    10
    El mejor exclusivo de Switch a día de hoy. Gráficos excelentes, animaciones suaves, jugabilidad entretenida e historia bastante interesante aunque peque del tipico gliché anime. Un juego muy solido del cual no me esperaba tanta calidad y que la historia va desde algo muy normal a algo que realmente sorprende dado que las peleas de bosses son muy entretenidas y la historia que hay detrás daEl mejor exclusivo de Switch a día de hoy. Gráficos excelentes, animaciones suaves, jugabilidad entretenida e historia bastante interesante aunque peque del tipico gliché anime. Un juego muy solido del cual no me esperaba tanta calidad y que la historia va desde algo muy normal a algo que realmente sorprende dado que las peleas de bosses son muy entretenidas y la historia que hay detrás da para mucho juego, en especial por si quieren hacer una segunda parte.

    Las misiones secundarias son muy diferentes unas de otras, así que no te aburrian y la historia principal esta bien llevada a pesar de ser bastante normal al principio, pero los tiempos de las cinematicas y las misiones principales tienen un buen ritmo así que no te aburrira.

    Constar que el juego me ha durado unas 21 horas con secundarias hechas.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2019
    10
    Clarísimo juego del año 2019 en Nintendo Switch y candidato a serlo en global, toda una sorpresa. PG vuelve a firmar un juego único dónde la jugabilidad y el frenetismo de los combates destacan por encima de todo, pero a su vez nos ofrece un juego variado que engloba multitud de mecánicas. Un action RPG (no os equivoquéis, aquí el H&S se huele a lo lejos y sólo en el combate) de corteClarísimo juego del año 2019 en Nintendo Switch y candidato a serlo en global, toda una sorpresa. PG vuelve a firmar un juego único dónde la jugabilidad y el frenetismo de los combates destacan por encima de todo, pero a su vez nos ofrece un juego variado que engloba multitud de mecánicas. Un action RPG (no os equivoquéis, aquí el H&S se huele a lo lejos y sólo en el combate) de corte policial, pausado, que requiere cierta dosis de exploración y recolección de objetos que nos ayudarán a mejorar las habilidades de nuestras Legiones. Quién busque un juego de acción lineal no lo encontrará (no al menos al 100%), este es un juego que se toma su tiempo, necesita reposo, como cualquier JRPG.
    Astral Chain nos ofrece los mejores combates de la generación y un producto global excelente. Mención especial al característico estilo artístico y apartado gráfico general, que muestra una vez más lo que puede llegar a ofrecer Switch con un poco de mimo.
    Una experiencia fascinante que sólo se ve ligeramente empañada por algunas misiones secundarias un tanto anodinas en algunos casos (algunas de ellas directamente desesperantes) que además merman la experiencia de la rejugabilidad, siendo este un título organizado en capítulos en los que puedes obtener una puntación y calificación, eso llega a afectarle negativamente.
    Las historia es ciertamente interesante, acompaña en todo momento, aunque es algo predecible y podría estar más desarrollada y explotada (quizás para un Astral Chain 2).
    En definitiva un juego soberbio que nadie se debería perder, mucho menos si eres poseedor de una Nintendo Switch.
    Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This game is so good. It has a ton of unique combat modes with an interesting story that keeps you coming back for more. It's an excellent looking game on the Switch and has enough flair to wow your friends as they pass by your TV. I really enjoy the character and monster design and the number of things you can do as you get into the game. Sound and music are typical for a PlatinumThis game is so good. It has a ton of unique combat modes with an interesting story that keeps you coming back for more. It's an excellent looking game on the Switch and has enough flair to wow your friends as they pass by your TV. I really enjoy the character and monster design and the number of things you can do as you get into the game. Sound and music are typical for a Platinum Games game--top-notch. If you have a Switch and enjoy action games... get this game! Expand
  9. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great and exclusive. Congratz Platinum and Nintendo. Your partnership is great for gamers. Expand
  10. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Please dont listen to the negitive reviews as you'll find most of them are written by sony fanboys that are unhappy that astral chain is only on the switch. Its a pathetic attack by toxic sony fanboys! And metacritic should stomp it out! Game is simple fantastic, you should definitely buy it!
  11. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    The game is flipping awesome. PeriodT.

    Combat, gameplay, story are all wacky and over the top ridiculousness. Just amazing.
  12. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Amazing graphics, engaging story. Don't believe those dumb zero scores... It is just losers spamming negative reviews because they have no lives.
  13. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    A must buy for fans of excellent combat and fans of incredible soundtracks. But the game got more than that, it also got a really stylish design with some really awesome use of colours and lightening. The story and the characters are of the quality you would expect to find in this kind of game and while an area of improvement is still at such a level of quality as to no detract from theA must buy for fans of excellent combat and fans of incredible soundtracks. But the game got more than that, it also got a really stylish design with some really awesome use of colours and lightening. The story and the characters are of the quality you would expect to find in this kind of game and while an area of improvement is still at such a level of quality as to no detract from the overall experience. The level that the player can customize their character is good enough that most people should be able to find a design that they like and can look at for the 20ish hours they might need to complete the game! Expand
  14. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    ANÁLISE PONTUAL:

    A história é genérica mas sabe bem disso e mesmo assim consegue te manter entretido. Os personagens são carismáticos e memoráveis, a jogabilidade é "padrão Platinum", ou seja, excelente (destaque para as animações de movimentação do protagonista). Os gráficos claramente não levam o console ao seu limite (comum em jogos hack 'n slash), mas ainda assim são muito bonitos e
    ANÁLISE PONTUAL:

    A história é genérica mas sabe bem disso e mesmo assim consegue te manter entretido. Os personagens são carismáticos e memoráveis, a jogabilidade é "padrão Platinum", ou seja, excelente (destaque para as animações de movimentação do protagonista). Os gráficos claramente não levam o console ao seu limite (comum em jogos hack 'n slash), mas ainda assim são muito bonitos e bem desenhados; por todos os cenários há muitos detalhes interessantes e que conseguem te fazer imergir ainda mais naquele mundo. No entanto, existem algumas inconsistências visuais, mas que não chegam a incomodar. A trilha sonora é bacana, mas a Platinum já fez bem melhor em NieR. Gostaria que o foco na exploração fosse um pouco maior, mas aí já é pessoal. Enfim, os maiores problemas são a câmera, a qual pode não obedecer em lutas mais fechadas, e algumas quedas de frame em batalhas contra inimigos maiores. A Platinum já está trabalhando em melhorias e já lançou seu primeiro update. No mais, o jogo é excelente.

    HISTÓRIA: 7
    VISUAL: 8
    SONS: 7
    JOGABILIDADE: 9
    NOTA FINAL: 8

    Mas eu dou 10 em protesto contra os haters!
    Expand
  15. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    The game is awesome! Art style, story, mechanics and combat. It's a really masterpiece
  16. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Amazing action game by Platinum. Dont pay attention to the salty sony stans, who are review bombing the game. Look up videos on youtube, and youll know, theyre salty. Because this is, AND ALLWAYS WILL BE a Nintendo exclusive franchise. Keep them tears flowing sony drones, im basking in them :D
  17. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Stop review bombing and just buy a switch you sony idiots LOL What a waste of time
  18. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    Another Masterpiece from Platinum Games ONLY FOR NINTENDO, game play, music, its visuals are so beautiful. Dont let the trolls fool you, this game is a must for every Nintendo Switch owner, and for any real player that just want to play a great game.
  19. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Great game, awesome to have system exclusives like this! Always look forward to the next platinum games title.
  20. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    This game is a 10. This game is a 10. This game is a 10. This game is a 10. This game is a 10. This game is a 10. This game is a 10.
  21. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    Creo que merece un 9, pero le doy un 10 debido a la cantidad de ceros sinsentido que tiene. Es un juegazo que mezcla una historia anime con toques de los mejores como Evangelion con unas batallas marca de la casa Platinum muy frenéticas y con unas mecánicas muy profundas que convierten cada batalla en una experiencia increíble. Aunque sus fases de investigación y secundarias son algo másCreo que merece un 9, pero le doy un 10 debido a la cantidad de ceros sinsentido que tiene. Es un juegazo que mezcla una historia anime con toques de los mejores como Evangelion con unas batallas marca de la casa Platinum muy frenéticas y con unas mecánicas muy profundas que convierten cada batalla en una experiencia increíble. Aunque sus fases de investigación y secundarias son algo más flojas, cfeo que esos cambios de ritmos no le hacen ningún mal a un juego que, en casi todo, es excelente. Lo he acabado en 28h y he flipado en casa misión. Expand
  22. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Bayonetta 2 was nominated for GotY, showered with 10/10, and this game is even better. It has the amazing combat as expected, but a better story and more things to do than just fight. Haven’t come close to beating it but, my opinion isn’t going to change. The game is incredible. Another masterpiece from Platinum. You know a game is good when it draws the review bombing fanboys out of theBayonetta 2 was nominated for GotY, showered with 10/10, and this game is even better. It has the amazing combat as expected, but a better story and more things to do than just fight. Haven’t come close to beating it but, my opinion isn’t going to change. The game is incredible. Another masterpiece from Platinum. You know a game is good when it draws the review bombing fanboys out of the woodwork. Expand
  23. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Imagine review-bombing a game because it’s an exclusive. Imagine not having a Switch in 2019. The game is actually a 9/10 for me but you have to counter 0‘s with 10‘s or the trolls will get their way.
  24. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Great game with great gameplay and story. Musthave for any gamer. Good job Platinum!
  25. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    Geat action game with many RPG elements and nice story. Diverse subquests and nice learning curve. Another hit for the switch and platinum games.
  26. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Had to give this game a proper rating because idiots are review-bombing this game.
  27. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Fantastico! Sotto ogni punto di vista.
    Come al solito non basta fare un ottimo gioco per evitare recensioni negative ingiustificate.
  28. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This game is Godlike. How is this running on the Switch? Got it at Walmart for $49.99 and it’s the best money I’ve spend this summer. Hard to put the controller down. Highly recommend this game.
  29. Nov 10, 2019
    10
    I’m gonna be honest with you, 2019 has been a pretty underwhelming year in gaming for me. Sure, I haven’t gotten to play some of the year’s big games just yet (like the “Resident Evil 2” remake or “Devil May Cry 5”), but it feels like, for the most part, the year’s just been really unexciting. Well, unless you’re a Nintendo Switch fan, of course: outside of a few very minor misstepsI’m gonna be honest with you, 2019 has been a pretty underwhelming year in gaming for me. Sure, I haven’t gotten to play some of the year’s big games just yet (like the “Resident Evil 2” remake or “Devil May Cry 5”), but it feels like, for the most part, the year’s just been really unexciting. Well, unless you’re a Nintendo Switch fan, of course: outside of a few very minor missteps (“Yoshi’s Crafted World” was just okay, and I’ve heard mixed things about “Daemon X Machina”), Nintendo’s been consistently putting out well-received titles like “Super Mario Maker 2” (which, I can confirm, is fantastic), “Fire Emblem: Three Houses” (not my kind of game but I’ve heard nothing but amazing things), “The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening” (haven’t started it yet, but I’ll get to it soon), “Luigi’s Mansion 3” (have started it and I’m definitely loving it), and of course this game, “Astral Chain.” Now, this was one I was really excited for: I may not be extremely invested in PlatinumGames’ entire library, but I love the “Bayonetta” games, and I’m one of the six people on the planet that like “Star Fox Zero,” and early looks at the gameplay impressed me a lot. Having played through the game, I can honestly say this may be one of the best games I’ve played this year.
    “Astral Chain” impressed me on all fronts. From a story perspective, I may not be an anime viewer (I know practically nothing about anime), but this game’s story feels like an anime lovingly crafted into a video game; the dramatic moments work perfectly, I love the game’s cast of characters (even if the protagonist is a silent one), and the game’s world is breathtakingly realized and absolutely incredible down to the tiniest details. The anime-like aesthetic not only affects the story, but the visual design as well, and even in the game’s darkest moments, the visuals spring to life with lush, beauty, and an incredible sense of wonder. Adding to the already-strong visual presentation, the music is incredibly varied and fits within the game’s tone perfectly. Gameplay, though, is where the game really stands out: the combat is deep and intricate, made even better by the vast majority of Legions the game gives you to use. The teamwork mechanic between you and your Legion is also well-crafted, and it feels like every Legion is important, making your use of each one incredibly gratifying. The campaign is also quite varied in its mission structure, strikes a perfect balance in regards to length, and features some very memorable boss fights and enemy encounters. It’s a game that checks every box, and not only establishes PlatinumGames’ strong grasp on action games, but also refines their formula and sees them reaching one of their biggest creative highs.
    If there’s one very minor criticism I can give the game, it’s that the AI of your Legion can be the tiniest bit wonky at first, but it doesn’t take long to get it down, and once you do, the game becomes a rip-roaring good time. I could gush about it even more, but I think you guys get the point, “Astral Chain” is breathtaking from start to finish. Not only is it one of the best games I’ve played this year, but this might honestly go down as one of the best games (perhaps even the best game, though it’s a tight race between this and “Bayonetta 2”) in PlatinumGames’ library of titles to date. If you haven’t gotten a chance to play it yet, you’re doing yourself a disservice. Go play this right now. PlatinumGames, thank you. I can’t wait to see where you take this franchise in the future!
    Final rating: 10 out of 10 “Fantastic”
    Expand
  30. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fantastic game in every respect, anything this good is bound to upset some very stupid people. Expand
  31. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    First game in a loooooong time that firstly has me excited to play and secondly I can lose several hours to that feels like minutes! I have been struggling to get into ANYTHING on any console for close to a year but this game has reawakened the spark!
  32. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's like a lite versión of the investigation mechanics of arkham asylum batman's plus the figthing mechanics of metal gear rising! Its a dream game, you got pauses to enjoy the view and listen the wonderful bgm then the mid bosses kick the hell out of you hahaha its so GOOD! In all the stakes you can think of :)! A MUST have for the Nintendo Switch! Expand
  33. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Fantastic game! It is a shame that haters want to try and review bomb due to platform, but all they are doing is drawing even more attention to the game. I am about 10 hours in at the time of writing this, and so far it is a front runner for GotY for me personally.
  34. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    This game is really excellent, I can’t put it down. The art style is amazing and the gameplay is just so much fun. Once you get the hang of switching between legions you can pull off sone really flashy and fun moves! Don’t listen to all the negative reviews, it might not be your cup of tea but it’s a brilliant new ip for Nintendo. A must play in my book!
  35. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    I was going in expecting gameplay similar or at least reminiscent of Bayonetta, but to my delightful surprise, Astral Chain is nothing like it. It's a completely original concept with unique gameplay you wouldn't find in Bayo. The graphics are more on the cartooney side but at the same time absolutely gorgeous. Haven't gotten that far into the story but my experience has definitely beenI was going in expecting gameplay similar or at least reminiscent of Bayonetta, but to my delightful surprise, Astral Chain is nothing like it. It's a completely original concept with unique gameplay you wouldn't find in Bayo. The graphics are more on the cartooney side but at the same time absolutely gorgeous. Haven't gotten that far into the story but my experience has definitely been positive so far. It uses the old "futuristic world on the brink of destruction by otherworldly monsters" troupe but it owns it by adding its own unique flair to it. 10/10 would recommend

    P.s. ignore the fanboys giving it bad scores because it's a Switch exclusive
    Expand
  36. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    Ya lo ves te jodes pipero le doy un 10 diez en respuesta a tu 0 ceroYa lo ves te jodes pipero le doy un 10 diez en respuesta a tu 0 cero !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  37. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    This game is epic. Clapping back at trolls giving 0 scores! #AstralChainThis
  38. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Platinum does it again, yet another killer app on the Switch

    Enter the Anime Police Squad boys
  39. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    After i played Wonderful101, Nier:automata, Bayonetta 2, then i found Astral Chain is something new and very unique action gameplay. This game can not be compared to other hack and slash or action game. Yes, the based gameplay is action, but you will unlock something new (battle mechanism, JRPG element, etc) during the progress. This game is very recommended!
  40. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    The sound track is awesome.
    The art direction is one of the best on the Switch so far.
    I can't believe how great it looks.
  41. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    So much fun! The fighting reminds me of neir automata, just super smooth, fluid, with cool combos. Ofc they have a progression system where you rank up and learn new moves, combos, and skills. Just the bread and butter of a really good story rpg game. Highly recommend this one!!
  42. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    What in the world is going on with the review for this game? It's amazing! Another masterclass effort from Platinum Games. Are people really still mad that Nintendo saved them and kept them in business when they funded Bayo 2? Disgusting.
  43. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    El juego tiene todo para entretener, el sistema de combate es muy bueno y todo lo relacionado con la candena da un toque de aire fresco a un hack slash mas tranquilo a lo que estamos acostumbrados
    Gráficamente el juego se mueve perfecto en la pantalla de la consola y mejor aun en el dock, siendo en este sentido uno de los grandes de la consola
  44. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    amazing game i dont really know whats wrong with all these hating reviews just dont trust them and try it yourself im enjoying it so far
  45. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    For anyone who actually puts in the effort to understand it, the game is as deep as any game in genre. It stands toe to toe with DMC, Bayonetta and all its peers.

    Legions upgrade tree, upgraded weapons and abilities add tons more depth so make sure you don't neglect them.
  46. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    What a fantastic game! A total win for Platinum and the Switch! Beautifully done, and very eclectic gameplay. Bravo!
  47. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    GOTY 2019!!! Best Hack&Slash ever made!! Better than Bayonetta 2, Nier Automata anda Devil May Cry 5, includes crazy combos and exploration zones, is the perfection.

    Sorry for the haters will loss this masterpiece.
  48. Sep 7, 2019
    10
    Very special game which gave me Zelda Vibes + Great Platinum like combat. Nice Action-Adventure
  49. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Sin duda es uno de los mejores juegos del año, Platinum Games lo hace de nuevo como con Bayonetta 2, los graficos son impresionantes y mas para ser de Switch, el juego te da para muchas horas de diversión, buena historia y el oST es increíble, pero como pasa con Nintnedo los usuarios de otras consolas envidian este juegazo y sin tener el juego solo califican negativo, los 30 fps no son unSin duda es uno de los mejores juegos del año, Platinum Games lo hace de nuevo como con Bayonetta 2, los graficos son impresionantes y mas para ser de Switch, el juego te da para muchas horas de diversión, buena historia y el oST es increíble, pero como pasa con Nintnedo los usuarios de otras consolas envidian este juegazo y sin tener el juego solo califican negativo, los 30 fps no son un problema Expand
  50. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Sony Fans: Nintendo is for kiddos lol
    Also Sony Fans: WHAT!?! Platinum drops an Amazing Game exclusively on the Switch? But... we want It >:( Let's review bomb them, without even played the game and saying b*****it! like serious gamers do!.
    Jokes apart, I'm playing this Masterpiece, and I think that It's one of the best games that you could get on the Switch, Plot and Gameplay are
    Sony Fans: Nintendo is for kiddos lol
    Also Sony Fans: WHAT!?! Platinum drops an Amazing Game exclusively on the Switch? But... we want It >:( Let's review bomb them, without even played the game and saying b*****it! like serious gamers do!.

    Jokes apart, I'm playing this Masterpiece, and I think that It's one of the best games that you could get on the Switch, Plot and Gameplay are amazing!, the character design and the soundtrack also are fantastic. If you have a Switch go get it.!
    Expand
  51. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This game rocks. God-bless Astral Chain and God-bless America!
  52. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    GOTY!. Do not listen to angry sony fan boys, this game is amazing and simple.
  53. Oct 28, 2019
    10
    El juego es increíble, así como ya hizo el Fire Emblem consigue unir diferentes estilos de juego y extender cada uno a niveles inesperados.
    Sin spoilers.
    Por un lado tenemos las mecánicas típicas de juego de acción, tienes tres tipos de arma que tu puedes usar mas 5 legiones diferentes cada una con su árbol de desarrollo y gran amplitud de habilidades; En los combates controlas al
    El juego es increíble, así como ya hizo el Fire Emblem consigue unir diferentes estilos de juego y extender cada uno a niveles inesperados.
    Sin spoilers.
    Por un lado tenemos las mecánicas típicas de juego de acción, tienes tres tipos de arma que tu puedes usar mas 5 legiones diferentes cada una con su árbol de desarrollo y gran amplitud de habilidades;
    En los combates controlas al protagonista y tu legion ataca al objetivo que elijas automáticamente, pulsando ZL podemos controlar a la legión también para realizar todo tipo de maniobras desde usarla para impulsarte hasta enredar enemigos usando la cadena que os une.
    Por otro lado tenemos la exploración, el juego, al igual que Fire emblem, cuenta con un “hud” (central de policía Neuron) al que siempre volvemos y en el que se dan distintos tipos de misiones secundarias y desarrollo de historias paralelas de otros personajes; Fuera de ese hud la historia se desarrolla en operaciones (niveles) cada una con un numero de misiones principales y secundarias que completar, cada operación se desarrolla en lugares diferentes y aunque se revisitan algunos puntos es en situaciones completamente diferentes. Estos lugares son generalmente grandes y ricos a nivel de contenido habiendo misiones tan variadas como atrapar a un ladron, evitar que la prensa fotografie una escena del crimen o llevar un helado a un niño asi como multitud de secretos para los más exploradores habiendo zonas solo accesibles con la ayuda de una u otra legión.
    También hay misiones de sigilo y escolta, nótese que la mayoría de interacciones de misiones si no todas tienen doblaje de voz.
    También resaltar el desarrollo de personajes (prácticamente todos) al mas puro estilo anime de los 2000 que te hace conectar mucho mas con el juego.
    A nivel técnico es una maravilla, lo primero que a mi me llamó la atención son las animaciones, desde un agente que estaba trabajando en un escritorio y gira su silla para Hablar contigo hasta la forma en que una mujer abraza a su gato en una misión menor se nota un nivel de detalle exuberante, a nivel de rendimiento los 30fps son constantes (se que hay gente que se queja pero yo no, asi como no me quejo de los 18fps a los que va control en una ps4...) y van perfectos con el ritmo de acción del juego.
    El hecho de tener que controlar dos personajes puede parecer algo titánico de aprender pero una vez se maneja es una gozada y los arboles de desarrollo desbloquean diversas habilidades que aumentan y mejoran el ritmo; por último a nivel de “vida” estoy feliz de reportar que no hay ninguna zona del juego que se asemeje mínimamente a las zonas vacías de nier, por ejemplo; todo esta vivo y lleno de gente, objetos, animales y trasfondo.
    PD: realmente esta página DEBERÍA tener un modo de:
    1- identificar usuarios solo con carnet de identidad para eliminar los clones (y las opiniones de nenes que no dan la cara)
    2- tener que probar que tengo el juego para puntuarlo porque un 60% de lo que veo por aquí denota claramente una ignorancia gigantesca respecto al título.
    Expand
  54. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best games for this year. After 10 hours of gameplay. This action and detective game is really goo. Expand
  55. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Its the bayonetta 2 situation again: PS4/Xbox owners are mad that Platinum games made such a beautiful game exclusive to a Nintendo console
  56. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great gameplay, great game design, pretty original. This is a good example of how to create a game, good music. Expand
  57. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    This game is a fun and comfortable throw back to good story telling and great gameplay with a really good variety of difficulty. It's definitely worth the buy.
  58. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Greaaaat a couple of tasteless, salty losers come and destroy a great game's user score.....AGAIN. Don't believe the lies of a couple of sausage finger morons who suck at the game and therefore qualify it as bad. It's a fantastic piece of art. It's fun, rich, interesting, it's everything you want from an action RPG. Enjoy it !
  59. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    One of the best games made by Platinum. Congrats for Nintendo for his new IP!
  60. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    I'm really happy Platinum decided to take a chance with a new IP! Also, I loved Bayonetta 2 and can't wait for Bayonetta 3!
  61. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Everything I hoped for and more. Those of you trolling with 1’s just go out and get a Switch. It’s a great console.
  62. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    DO NOT listen to the haters that are review bashing this game because its a Switch exclusive. This game is absolutely incredible. The story is amazing the graphics are top notch and the game play is super fluid. If I could give this game a higher score I would.
  63. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent game! Must buy for Switch. Perfect action meets great art design! Expand
  64. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Es simplemente PERFECTO! Es sin duda alguna mi GOTY, tiene unos gráficos increíbles y corre mejor todavía, es mágico ver con la fluidez que se puede jugar. En cuestión de gráficos es de lo mejor que se puede ver en la consola, y en tema de música tiene un soundtrack hermoso. Platinum junto con Katsura hicieron todo bien!
  65. Sep 13, 2019
    10
    Amazing game! A New way to play the genre. A true master piece from Platinum Games. I'm really in love for this.
  66. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Best Platinum Game so far. Awesome Gameplay, cool Setting and Characters, cool OST.
  67. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    This game is great. Once you finish file 2 the combat open up and the more time you spend playing it and unlock more moves and abilities, the better it becomes. The music is amazing, the story is very interesting with some deep lore and likable characters. Sequel when?
  68. Sep 10, 2019
    10
    One of the best soundtracks of any game ever made. Easily one of the best looking games on the Switch. Solid action gameplay but also mixes in investigation parts that are an excellent way to giva a bit of a breather between the action heavy parts.
    Would say this is a must buy for any Switch owner.
  69. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Astral Chain es un juego de alta calidad, que va más allá del género al que pertenece, añadiendo mecánicas únicas y diferentes que no se encuentran en ningún otro juego en el mercado
  70. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous and fantastic game! I don't like beat-em-up and slasher games, but this one caught me very vell!! I play a lot "Astral chain" and will play a lot! Strongly reccomend! Cant say anything else about! You have to see it by yourself!
  71. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Platinum Games makes it again.
    The beautiful gameplay, stylish design, and love for their creation is the top priority.
    Play it, don't be a hater!
  72. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    I keep it as simple as possible.
    Wonderful presentation, great story, and amazing gameplay!
    If there is something that might be a con about this game, this is the fact that there is not a great variety in terms of environments. This is perfectly fine with me considering the story and setting of the game, but i can see that it can be an issue for some.
    One of the best Action games ever!
  73. Sep 5, 2019
    10
    Positives:

    Excellent enemy variety Good level design Good cast of characters Interesting lore/universe Amazing over the top stylish action The detective segments (which aren't bad) don't overstay their welcome The combat, while maybe not on the same level as DMC, has good depth and variety Cats Good boss design Negatives: No button mapping No prolonged i-frames like in
    Positives:

    Excellent enemy variety
    Good level design
    Good cast of characters
    Interesting lore/universe
    Amazing over the top stylish action
    The detective segments (which aren't bad) don't overstay their welcome
    The combat, while maybe not on the same level as DMC, has good depth and variety
    Cats
    Good boss design

    Negatives:

    No button mapping
    No prolonged i-frames like in other Platinum games
    The story (while still good) can get really predictable
    Runs at 30 FPS
    The graphics are good but the Astral Plain [an in-game location] gets bland to look at after a while
    Expand
  74. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    A very good game, another great exclusive title for Nintendo Switch, i recommend
  75. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Amazing ost, smooth gameplay with lots of variety, interesting setting and story, and looks really stylish and nice. Worth it just like every other Platinum game

    P.S: the people review bombing this are children, the game is well worth the $60 and they just have nothing better to do
  76. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    The game's great, Sony's fanboys just jealous. Why they mad over Nintendo exclusives? They have their own great exclusive tho. smh
  77. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    The game is sadly receiving a "hate review bomb" from people who cant play it, dont listen to them.

    Is incredible, probably the best game that dropped this year and the best looking game Platinum did so far, is fun, really unique, innovative and very ambitious.
  78. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Great action, great character design and great soundtrack. Made in Platinum Games.
    Beware of the fake reviews due to the fanboys/hardware elitist saltiness.
  79. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    You can tell all the 0 reviews are jealous that a high quality Platinum title wasn't on their fanboy system. The game isn't perfect, but it is amazing for a Switch title. The anime-esque quality is really beautiful visually. The story is interesting from the introduction on
    this game is very awesome.
  80. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    Variado, combate divertido, historia típica pero que te puedes dejar llevar. Muy buen juego
  81. Sep 14, 2019
    10
    Given 10/10, can't think of any less for a game that is both awesome & not on potatostation 4
  82. Apr 12, 2020
    10
    This game is so flipping cool, awesome storyline, gorgeous graphics, flippin' sweet action, thumping mesmerizing soundtrack. Platinum games makes THE best games, and I am so glad they have a good reputation with Nintendo.
  83. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    Excelent Game is perfect in all, game play, and replay value! Very,very perfect
  84. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best game I have played ever!!!
    Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhgggggh
    Expand
  85. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    Its platinum... its a good game dont deserve those 0, this game its wonderfull, give it a chanse, buy a switch for him.
  86. Sep 4, 2019
    10
    This game looks like a playable anime, the artistic direction is so beatiful, that feel a cyberpunk age and what to say about the gameplay it feels really nice when you take and push the buttons. Is a must buy for a Switch owner.
  87. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Astral Chain is such an amazing game because of how many risks it takes and how original it feels compared to other action games. The combat system is very unique since you can control two characters at once and rather than being combo heavy it is focused primarily on strategy and calculated movement of your legion. There's so many cool characters like Lappy and the Legions themselves haveAstral Chain is such an amazing game because of how many risks it takes and how original it feels compared to other action games. The combat system is very unique since you can control two characters at once and rather than being combo heavy it is focused primarily on strategy and calculated movement of your legion. There's so many cool characters like Lappy and the Legions themselves have such amazing designs with their environmental abilities and customization. There's very funny side quests and overall great writing and voice acting for some characters in this game. The game took the risk of not being 60 fps so it could have the graphics it's type of art style needs (also it's running on the switch so reaching 60 fps for this type of game is very difficult) Overall it's a very good game and I'm proud Nintendo and Platinum are making new IPs with so much personality and innovation and I hope this series is supported for a long time. Expand
  88. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    El mejor juego del 2019 junto al Mario Maker 2 a dia de hoy de la Nintendo Switch en 2019. DENLE UN 10 PODEMOS ECHAR A LOS TROLLS DE METACRITIC
  89. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    This game hits on every note story,gameplay,music ,sound are all amazing. It's so hard to put this game down its one of those games where you'll say to yourself just 10 more mins and you look up and 3 hours have gone by,Not much of a review but had to say something about how amazing this game is
  90. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Absoluta sorpresa lo de este juego, y en donde más importa y donde mejor lo hace en su jugabilidad, totalmente fresca y original. Suma eso su cuidada ambientación futurista, muy en la línea de Ghost in the Shell y otros clásicos del anime, más una banda sonora espectacular y da como resultado una de las mejores exclusivas de switch. Lo de los haters y sus 0 no tiene nombre. RECOMENDADISIMO
  91. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    O jogo é Maravilhoso, chora Haters
    Bons gráficos
    Boa Jogabilidade
    Mais um exclusivo pro Switch
  92. Aug 30, 2019
    10
    Awesome game with an excellent story and a world of drawing and attractive gameplay is simple but distinctive and inclined to Action
  93. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    El juego es simplemente espectacular, tiene toda la mano de platinum games, me acaba de llegar y ya le heche mas de 5 horas seguidas, me tiene atrapado su jugabibilidad y estilo artistico!!
  94. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    I usually never rate games on Metacritic or write a review, but I give Astra Chain 10/10 points just to compensate for the idiots who review-bombing the game.

    Nevertheless, I have played the game currently 8 hours and it is really a lot of fun, also the resolution of the game in both docked-mode and undocked-mode looks very good, I've experienced framedrops only very few (while fights
    I usually never rate games on Metacritic or write a review, but I give Astra Chain 10/10 points just to compensate for the idiots who review-bombing the game.

    Nevertheless, I have played the game currently 8 hours and it is really a lot of fun, also the resolution of the game in both docked-mode and undocked-mode looks very good, I've experienced framedrops only very few (while fights where very much was going on), Platinum Games did a great job in that regard

    I dont know what score I would give the game when I played it through, but right now I would give the game a 9/10. (but i will still leave it by 10/10 on metacritic just for the review-bombers)
    Expand
  95. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    Jogo com jogabilidade única, história envolvente e criativa, personagens carismáticos, uma boa combinação de elementos RPG com hack n'Slash, gráficos impressionantes tanto no modo portátil quanto no modo TV, um dos melhores jogos da Platinum Games até agora, sem dúvida!
  96. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    Wonderful game, full of action, I love the graphic style and visuals, and the story is great.
  97. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    With most new franchises, I try to keep my expectations realistic. I'll usually give them a shot, but withhold my opinion until the game 'turns a corner' (i.e. passes a point of greatness where I can't contain my enthusiasm anymore). THIS GAME IS FREAKING AMAZING. Aesthetically, mechanically, and narratively. Wildly original, beautiful, and fun as hell. A masterpiece.
  98. Sep 3, 2019
    10
    news that this video game brings. As always, the combat system is complex and challenging. The mechanics of the chain is very creative. as soon as the artistic and sound section are outstanding
  99. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Various gameplay choice, little investigation (perfectible but still fun) , a bit of platformer but not too much, and those bosses, everywhere bossessss . Lot of replay value to min-max out Legions, equipment, and ofc trying to get the better score after each file battles.
    I recommend a first tour in easy mode to grasp mechanics , then playing in normal and platinum usual scoring to grab
    Various gameplay choice, little investigation (perfectible but still fun) , a bit of platformer but not too much, and those bosses, everywhere bossessss . Lot of replay value to min-max out Legions, equipment, and ofc trying to get the better score after each file battles.
    I recommend a first tour in easy mode to grasp mechanics , then playing in normal and platinum usual scoring to grab rewards (can be items or cosmetics.)
    One of the typical 4-5 games i'm buying every year.
    Expand
  100. Sep 2, 2019
    10
    One of the most interesting games in the current generation.

    Platinum Games had created another great franchise, providing cool combat and deep story
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 92 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 92
  2. Negative: 0 out of 92
  1. NF Magazine
    Apr 28, 2020
    85
    This one is more of a crowd-pleaser than a game-changer. [Issue #42 – October 2019, p. 68]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 28, 2020
    100
    Astral Chain consists of varied genres, but is mostly an action game, which has great ideas and interesting, relaxed humour, that doesn´t spoil its serious plot. [Issue#298]
  3. Nov 7, 2019
    85
    Despite the hardware limitations and a handful of odd design choices, Astral Chain is one of the best new IPs to hit in recent years and one deserving the attention of every Switch owner.