Cadence of Hyrule: Crypt of the NecroDancer Featuring The Legend of Zelda Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the latest rhythmic action-adventure from Brace Yourself Games, you can enjoy the gameplay of Crypt of the Necrodancer in the setting of The Legend of Zelda series. As Linkor even as Princess Zeldayou'll explore the randomly generated overworld and dungeons on a quest to save Hyrule.In the latest rhythmic action-adventure from Brace Yourself Games, you can enjoy the gameplay of Crypt of the Necrodancer in the setting of The Legend of Zelda series. As Linkor even as Princess Zeldayou'll explore the randomly generated overworld and dungeons on a quest to save Hyrule. Every beat of each remixed, The Legend of Zelda tune is a chance to move, attack, defend, and more, so stay one step ahead of each enemy and bossor face the music. From modern-looking Lynels to the Hyrulean Soldiers of old, you must master the instinctive movements of each pixel-art enemy, and strategically outstep them in rhythmic combat. So equip yourself with an arsenal of iconic Legend of Zelda items, as well as the spells and weapons from Crypt of the Necrodancer. You must be prepared to face Hyrule's most wicked bosses, which have been transformed by magic, granting them mighty, new forms!

    * A rhythmic action-adventure game in the world of the Legend of Zelda series
    * Explore the randomly generated overworld and dungeons to save Hyrule as Link or Princess Zelda
    Use items from the Legend of Zelda series, plus spells and weapons from the Crypt of the Necrodancer game
    * Outstep legendary enemies and bosses in rhythmic combat
    * Keep the beat with 25 remixed classic Legend of Zelda tunes
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Cadence Of Hyrule - Opening Minutes Cinematics And Exploration Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jun 20, 2019
    100
    Cadence of Hyrule is a potent combination of nostalgic looks, creative takes on emotionally charged Zelda music and unusual, rhythm-powered moment-to-moment play. Stylish and excellent fun, this tribute captures the excitement and sense of discovery that makes Zelda what it is: a real adventure.
  2. Jun 19, 2019
    90
    Cadence of Hyrule is the Legend of Zelda and Crypt of the NecroDancer crossover we never knew we needed, but now that it's here, we want the song to go on forever. Brace Yourself Games' expert handling of the Zelda property is commendable. Here's hoping we get an encore with some DLC.
  3. Jul 1, 2019
    90
    Cadence of Hyrule is a startlingly successful remix of the classic Zelda template, bringing a whole new rhythmic core to the Hyrule we all know and love.
  4. Jun 23, 2019
    85
    Cadence of Hyrule is great fun that skillfully stages the catchy melodies of the series, adding new elements and a totally fresh challenge with its dance mechanics.
  5. Jun 17, 2019
    84
    As unique and original as Crypt of the NecroDancer, but set in the world of Zelda. It’s easily one of the best spin-offs of the franchise, and one of those games everyone should, at least, try.
  6. Jun 28, 2019
    80
    In Cadence of Hyrule two games meet on the dance floor and their dance is awesome. As roguelike this might not be as convincing, as the rhythmic gameplay is too easy. It works for Zelda though.
  7. Jun 24, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 3 out of 57
  1. Jun 14, 2019
    10
    The game has been out for two hours now... I haven't put it down other than to write this small review. Cadence of Hyrule is... fun, reallyThe game has been out for two hours now... I haven't put it down other than to write this small review. Cadence of Hyrule is... fun, really really REALLY fun. The music is absolutely amazing, the gameplay is well serviced and the visual design is beautiful. I found it to be quite hard at first, but more time spent learning the rhythm of different songs and using different elements to kill certain enemies has made it a very challenging but fair experience. The price may be high for what is an indie title... but so far I think its worth every pound, dollor or euro. Do yourself a favour, and buy this game. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2019
    10
    Easily the best Switch game of the year.
    Simply amazing game blending the innovative gameplay of NecroDancer with all the lovable aspects of
    Easily the best Switch game of the year.
    Simply amazing game blending the innovative gameplay of NecroDancer with all the lovable aspects of The Legend of Zelda. I have seen no collaboration to date done so well.
    The music is unquestionably amazing, the graphics are some of the best sprites I've seen in ages, the varying challenge levels are great for any kind of player, and the simple but surprisingly interesting story elements are hidden within the dialogue.
    Exploring the overworld is a lot of fun, and going through the dungeons and fighting a ton of enemies and bosses is extremely entertaining.
    One of the only games worth playing again and again.
    Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2019
    10
    I love how Nintendo was able to trust an indie developer to make a Zelda game, that won't happen again soon and it never happened before.
    Also
    I love how Nintendo was able to trust an indie developer to make a Zelda game, that won't happen again soon and it never happened before.
    Also the game was basically perfect, music, playability, graphics.
    Nothing bad to say about the game
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2019
    10
    Amazing gameplay, Soundtrack, and artstyle. It takes a good 15 minutes to get the rhythm movement down but after that it is a Joy to play.Amazing gameplay, Soundtrack, and artstyle. It takes a good 15 minutes to get the rhythm movement down but after that it is a Joy to play. 100% worth the price Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2019
    9
    Absolutely stellar game. A wonderful upgrade to Crypt of the Necrodancer, and the most worthy Zelda spinoff game ever. On each new game, theAbsolutely stellar game. A wonderful upgrade to Crypt of the Necrodancer, and the most worthy Zelda spinoff game ever. On each new game, the world is generated to make each gameplay experience unique to the last. The soundtrack is one of the best I have heard in years, and the visuals, animations, and Zelda flair is so excellently implemented. I was glued to the screen for my whole 5-6 hour first playthrough.

    The difficulty has been toned down from the previous installment (Crypt of the Necrodancer), so that will help ease the fears that many had about the game being inaccessible.
    Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2019
    9
    I loved this game as a Zelda fan. I switched between fixed beat mode on and off. Off for the dungeons and on for exploring. I ended up withI loved this game as a Zelda fan. I switched between fixed beat mode on and off. Off for the dungeons and on for exploring. I ended up with 121:55:33 hours played snd 63461 steps. I didnt exit out of the game so my hours were counted. I would say I played a total of 8 hrs Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2019
    1
    The level design,music and graphics are great. The map has that Zelda feel to it. The enemies feel like they belong in a zelda game.The level design,music and graphics are great. The map has that Zelda feel to it. The enemies feel like they belong in a zelda game. Problem is the playability of the game rivals that of StarFox Zero. Players are forced to move and attack only when the rythm allows them to. You have no clue when enemies will attack. Forcing the player to guess and take damage. Waiting to move and attack only when the rythm allows makes the gameplay feel slow and restricting. With the rythm mechanic their is literally only one way to play this game. There is no freedom for the player and basically turns the game into a on rail experience. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best Video Games of 2019 So Far

    The 20 Best Video Games of 2019 So Far Image
    Published: July 5, 2019
    These were the best-reviewed games (for all platforms) released during the first half of 2019.