Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 1, 2019
    75
    If you’re a Carcassonne fan who wants the game on your Switch, you should be happy to discover that the version that’s made it over offers a pretty faithful simulation of the real deal — and if you’ve never before played the game and you’re eager to learn (and don’t mind the easy AI kicking your butt repeatedly), then this is a pretty good time to start.
  2. Nov 2, 2019
    60
    Carcassonne, the classic board game, lands on the Nintendo Switch, bringing a quality local multiplayer experience and the possibility of playing solo at any time and anywhere. If this sets the bar high, this version doesn't fully satisfy expectations due to its lack of an online component and of an asynchronous multiplayer mode, which puts this Switch version at a disadvantage.
  3. Jan 30, 2019
    60
    Carcassonne on Switch is a good porting, with the incredible absence of the online multiplayer.
  4. Dec 30, 2018
    60
    Not to mix historical context here, but Carcassonne on the Switch feels Spartan; it is bare of furnishings that would make it truly shine.
  5. 60
    Unfortunately, this version does have too many ugly blemishes to recommend over other digital versions available on other platforms. But if your only avenue is playing on Switch, you can still get definitely some enjoyment out of playing locally against your friends or against the varying difficulty levels of the computer. And hey, at least you don’t have to clean up the game pieces when you’re done!
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    3
    I'm extremely disappointed with the Switch version of Carcassonne... I've played it on Xbox 360, iOS, Android and the real life board game,I'm extremely disappointed with the Switch version of Carcassonne... I've played it on Xbox 360, iOS, Android and the real life board game, and they are all superior to this version.

    -No online play. At all.
    -The AI takes forever to "think" of a move to make. Everywhere from 5-15 seconds.
    -You can't move the camera at or anything at all while the AI "thinks".
    -Framerate issues.
    -I really need a top-down view as well as the isometric view.
    -You have to hold A to end the turn, except for when you put a piece down and you can't put on any people on the piece, because then it's just auto-end-turn. I liked how the Xbox 360 version did this, just press X to end turn, don't hold it, and never auto-end the turn.
    -The price point is extremely high. On Xbox 360 I paid 66 NOK (about 10 USD at the time?), and much less on iOS and android. The Steam version (that is made from the same company) is 72 NOK. The Switch version is 190 NOK.
    -The game feels so slow, the AI that uses so much time to "think", the framerate issues, holding A to end turn, the super slow camera... The Xbox 360 version was super snappy over 10 years ago, and in every way the superior version to play.

    This is the first Switch eShop game I've bought where I really want a refund. To bad the Switch eShop doesn't have that... :(
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2018
    0
    Go buy the board game or any other version! The constant controller rumble alone has me trying to beg Nintendo for a refund.
  3. Dec 26, 2020
    1
    Hideous design of the tiles, especially compared with the board game, which together with a weird default camera angle makes it hard to seeHideous design of the tiles, especially compared with the board game, which together with a weird default camera angle makes it hard to see what's going on, odd control with a built-in joycon drift that can't be explained, cheap sound effects, can't select the color or icon of the players. Just a poor attempt when compared with the original iPad version which did justice to the game. Also, why am I playing on what feels like a floorboard? Full Review »