Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
Buy On
  1. Nov 12, 2018
    70
    If you’re looking for a game to get the whole family gathered around the TV - or your Nintendo Switch in tabletop mode - during the school holidays or at a party, Carnival Games offers plenty of silly mini-games to get everyone swinging their Joy-Con. It’s nothing remarkable, but the new games do offer a little more variety than the previous versions, so if you’re looking for a quick pick-up-and-play alternative to Super Mario Party, this colourful collection could be the virtual funfair trip for you.
  2. Nov 11, 2018
    67
    It may not have good graphics and it's definitely dripping with cheese but there's no denying just how much fun you and a few friends can have with Carnival Games. Most of the mini-games offer good times and the overall sense of fun is top-notch.
  3. Nov 21, 2018
    55
    Carnival Games brings a digital carnival to the consoles. With its minigames you can entertain brilliantly on a party. Unfortunately the lack of original games affect the replayability and there is simply too much to unlock. It just ruins the fun.
  4. Nov 29, 2018
    51
    If you're gamers with experience, Carnival Games isn't the title that you're looking for. If you're willing to not take the minigames seriously and you're in a festive environment, then you'll be able to forget easily the many problems that afflict it.
  5. Nov 14, 2018
    50
    Carnival Games is a nice party game with good ideas, but made in a superficial way and sometimes frustrating.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. May 6, 2020
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I’m so pissed! I had so many good memories with this game on the Wii but this revival makes me almost forget my good memories. My boyfriend surprised me with this cause I had been wanting to go on a nostalgia trip and I was super excited and it was sweet of him. But you don’t start off with motion controls and the motion controls are what makes the mini games fun and different. Without it all the mini games are the same. It ruins the experience. And I’m not about to play through the whole game miserable to unlock the controls it originally had in the first place! I’m insulted by this revival and I feel bad for anyone that paid full price for this garbage! Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2019
    10
    It’s a rlly good game! I play with my family and friends all the time. I know loads of people hate it but i find it very very fun!
  3. Jul 18, 2019
    1
    I used to have this game on the wii and absolutely loved it. However, on the switch it is absolutely disappointing. First, to unlock theI used to have this game on the wii and absolutely loved it. However, on the switch it is absolutely disappointing. First, to unlock the motion controls, you have to get a certain score. That’s fine but by the time i unlock all the games and motion controls, I am bored. So before trying any of the motion controls, i unlock all of them because I’m super excited. They are unlocked, and I feel like this game has the calibration of a two year old pitching the Mets. It tells you to aim your throw, i aim left. It’s throwing to the right. Huge disappointment from this game Full Review »