• Publisher: 7Levels
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2018
Castle of Heart Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A classic action platformer at the genre's best… and most challenging, with plentiful of new twists on formula to experience. The players take control over a cursed knight, turned to stone by the evil sorcerer's spell, but ready to prove that love and courage can conquer even the darkest magic.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Castle Of Heart - Nintendo Switch Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 10 out of 26
  1. Mar 22, 2018
    85
    Castle of Heart is a fun platformer with an interestingly challenging twist. The levels are well designed, but depending on skill, they may not take too long. The story is your run of the mill " slay the bad guy and save the girl" plot, but that meshes perfectly with a world of knights and monsters.
  2. 70
    Input latency and levels that are too long without the ability to save keep Castle of Heart from being as fun as it ought to be. That being said, it’s certainly not a bad experience. It is quite nice to look at no matter how you play. If you can overcome the controller lag, Castle of Heart can quench the thirst for classic action platforming among diehard genre fans. For more casual players, mileage may vary.
  3. Mar 24, 2018
    70
    Castle of Heart accomplishes everything it wants to do, but it doesn't really excells at anything. It's enjoyable and satisfying, and a good option for Switch owners.
  4. Mar 22, 2018
    60
    Castle of Heart looks great and offers a stern challenge to those who don't mind repeatedly playing the same level over and over before finally beating it and moving on. There's definitely some fun to be had finding the best route through each stage and delicately picking off enemies, but the constantly-depleting health bar and frustrating combat will have many players giving up and moving onto games which are less harmful to their general well being.
  5. Apr 10, 2018
    40
    Frustrating combat, unreliable platforming and a swag of other minor issues made this game a struggle to play. Castle of Heart is a tough game to review; in all the hours I played I never ended a session happy or feeling like I accomplished something. Every time single time it was closing the game in frustration and anger and dreading to have to go back to it, and I wouldn’t wish that upon anyone.
  6. Mar 30, 2018
    40
    A could-be ideal indie which is, unfortunately, a big disappointment. A generally rushed game, with few of its mechanics working as they are intended to, gives the impression that it could do much more than what it actually delivers. With a battle system that often gets out of control, a gameplay that is hindered by its level design and by its own nature and with a recommended price tag that does not justify its problems, Castle of Heart is a game for the few brave in heart that can follow the stone knight to his sad journey.
  7. Mar 22, 2018
    20
    I cannot overstate how pointless and infuriating Castle of Heart feels to play.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Apr 2, 2018
    10
    nice game but not to easy, makes a lot of fun. really good graphics . 7levels good job
  2. May 27, 2021
    10
    Hey there. So I bought this game when it was $1.99 which I'm assuming was a sale price. And this game in my honest opinion has already givenHey there. So I bought this game when it was $1.99 which I'm assuming was a sale price. And this game in my honest opinion has already given me a solid 3 hours of fun. I have only beaten the first four levels, (the levels are long) and I am excited to continue playing it, I am very impressed . Other then just a couple things Its almost a perfect platforming game. The mechanics are smooth and it t has tons of good ideas built into it. I am i would honestly be willing to pay the full 10$ for this game its definitely worth a 10 rating at 2$ without any doubt. Next time its on sale I highly recommend just buying it, you won't regret it Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good game! Don’t believe the citics and haters out there. Finished the game with all the gems in every level. It’s fun and challenging. Some parts you have to be patient and start over . But besides that is lots of enjoyment. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2020
    8
    Dasselbe Beispiel wie bei "Slain: Back from Hell" (Switchversion), wo der Metascore eklatant vom Spielspass abweicht.
  5. May 21, 2019
    8
    When you see a game average at 53 you certainly aren't likely to give it a try. You might give it a second thought, though, when it's onWhen you see a game average at 53 you certainly aren't likely to give it a try. You might give it a second thought, though, when it's on offer at eshop for less than a tenth of the initial price... Then you try it and what happens is that you cannot let go of it, simply can't put it down. I found out for myself that the tackily title game is just great. It's got that hack n slash feel of the first God of War on PS(P). Fantastic gameplay, suggestive graphics, Expand
  6. May 17, 2020
    7
    An enjoyable Platformer with some extra mechanics other than just straight up combat. The combat feels good enough with some slight difficultyAn enjoyable Platformer with some extra mechanics other than just straight up combat. The combat feels good enough with some slight difficulty in having to block or dodge roll but does seems to get repetitive after some time. Kinda feels like a Dark Souls Side scroller. I thought it was fun and difficult enough not to bore me. Would recommend since it isnt a very expensive game at all. Expand
  7. May 9, 2019
    1
    Total waste of money. Every time I try to play it I feel more and more frustrated. HOW can you publish a game with such an outdatedTotal waste of money. Every time I try to play it I feel more and more frustrated. HOW can you publish a game with such an outdated mechanics?! The graphics is something else... If you try to find those blue orbs you probably won't see them because they are the same color as the walls or something else! Terrible experience, I'll try my best to return my money for this junk. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews