• Publisher: Nicalis
  • Release Date: Jun 20, 2017
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Jun 20, 2017
    92
    More than ten years after its first release, Cave Story+ still holds its ground as the apex of its genre. There is hardly anything left to be improved upon regarding its gameplay, visuals, or soundtrack - and this plus version is truly the definitive release of the game. You'd be doing yourself a disservice by not adding it to your library.
  2. Jun 21, 2017
    91
    It uses the upgraded visuals of previous ports, and does feature multiple soundtrack options, but outside of that it’s essentially Cave Story as you remember it. Of course that is still a positive thing, but as someone who has played through the game a few times, I’d only suggest it to fans if you’re either dying to play some more Cave Story, or looking to scratch a Metroidvania itch on the Nintendo Switch.
  3. Sep 1, 2017
    90
    Cave Story+ may have already been around in other formats before but it's such a delightful game to play that it's still recommended to everyone, this time with the added bonus of including all the soundtracks of the game's previous versions. Its finely designed difficulty curve will set everyone on their course and the magnificent boss fights only make this even more of a timeless classic.
  4. Aug 1, 2017
    90
    Cave Story+ is an excellent port and it feels right at home on the Nintendo Switch.
  5. Jul 21, 2017
    90
    The biggest addition is to the price tag, but Cave Story itself is still a masterclass in minimalist video game design.
  6. NF Magazine
    Jun 23, 2017
    90
    Cave Story, I now know, is considered a classic for good reason! [Issue #28 – July/August 2017, p. 23]
  7. Jun 20, 2017
    90
    If you haven’t played Cave Story yet, you need to; it’s an essential title for any fan of Metroidvania style games. Its wonderful pacing, fantastic controls and charming visuals make it a must-have for fans of the genre, especially those that have yet to play it. If there was the equivalent of a required reading list for games, Cave Story+ would be on it.
  8. Jun 9, 2017
    90
    Cave Story+ is an absolute blast of a game. It’s addicting, it’s entertaining, and the multiple endings will keep you playing time and time again. It’s one of the Switch’s best releases and one you shouldn’t miss out on.
  9. Jun 5, 2017
    90
    It's almost incredible how well Cave Story has managed to stand the test of time. It isn't a particularly old title, but its limited resources and one-man development team seem like a recipe for a dated entry. Instead, it manages to justify its existence in any given generation with each re-release. The Island has yet to lose its lustre, the characters their charm, and the level design that sweet balance of difficulty, which makes defeating a challenging boss or getting through a brutal platforming section all the more satisfying. Beneath the surface lies a poignant narrative about the consequences of war that takes itself surprisingly seriously without compromising the overall whimsical mood. Cave Story+ isn't just a good game in 2017; it's downright impressive.
  10. Jun 7, 2017
    81
    Countless fantastic 2D action games released since Cave Story initially debuted yet it remains a wonderful experience that every genre fan needs to play. Now that it's available on Switch, even more gamers can see why it's such a timeless classic.
  11. Aug 11, 2017
    80
    This game is fun to to play. The gameplay is addictive. However, 50 euros is way too much for an old game.
  12. 80
    Cave Story+ isn’t the definitive version of Cave Story—I think that crown still belongs to the WiiWare version, but then again, that version isn’t portable. I do miss the ability to switch graphical styles, but it’s really the only regrettable absentee. Having no Pro Controller support is more concerning, but I’m hoping that sees a patch fairly quickly. The bottom line, though, is Cave Story is great and you should play it.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 166
  1. Jun 23, 2017
    10
    I adore Cave Story. This is my first time playing it, and I can say that this doesn't feel like the 13 year old game it is. It feels like aI adore Cave Story. This is my first time playing it, and I can say that this doesn't feel like the 13 year old game it is. It feels like a fresh, modern indie game that takes the best of games like Metroid and Master Blaster and blends them with gorgeous visuals, expert level design, and an amazing well-paced story to create a retro game experience unlike any other. Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    I had never played Cave Story prior to CS+. Although it was a quick play, I classify it as the best game I've played this year. The way theI had never played Cave Story prior to CS+. Although it was a quick play, I classify it as the best game I've played this year. The way the game goes it really prods for multiple play throughs. If you've yet to play Cave Story I would recommend this over any other switch game except for maybe MK8D. Full Review »
  3. Sep 17, 2017
    10
    I've played this game for an incredibly long amount of time. I have gotten both endings for this game in normal mode so I'm pretty sure I haveI've played this game for an incredibly long amount of time. I have gotten both endings for this game in normal mode so I'm pretty sure I have enough experience to write this review. This video game was made out of compassion as the creator spent over 5 years making it in this spare time, and boy does all that time and effort really show. This game is a classic in my eyes, some people may say it's too short and some people may say it's too hard when your trying to get the best ending. But in my opinion, this video game is perfect for all ages. (Though I have to agree that the hard mode is ridiculously difficult and I would not recommend it whatsoever, but that still doesn't stop this game from being a true masterpiece) Full Review »