Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 10, 2023
    100
    If I had more time to play through Chained Echoes before the holidays hit, it most definitely would have made my top 10 list for the year of 2022. It’s every bit as stellar as you’ve likely heard so far, and something that is certainly worth checking out regardless of your platform preference. I’ve found it to be a perfect Switch experience, but I’d imagine that it runs extremely well on any console you might choose, and right now it’s freely available to play on Xbox via Game Pass. So definitely check out Chained Echoes, you will not be disappointed.
  2. Jan 4, 2023
    100
    Chained Echoes really surprised me with its quality. I feel like I have a good sense of what to expect from these indie JRPG-style games that throw back to the 1990s, both their lows and highs. Chained Echoes blew past the upper end of those expectations, and is among the very best RPGs I played in 2022. If you like the genre at all, give it a shot. Between its fascinating world, enjoyable characters, unique and entertaining mechanics, and excellent presentation, this one is a winner from top to bottom.
  3. 100
    There are so many “retro homage” JRPGs these days that I tend to approach them with caution. Even when they’re made well, they rarely live up to the standards of the games that inspired them. Chained Echoes not only meets that standard but, were this released back on the SNES when Final Fantasy IV, V, and VI were flying high, people would have considered them comparable. It’s more than a homage. It’s a genuine and powerful contribution to the genre.
  4. Jan 10, 2023
    95
    Ultimately, Matthias Linda's video game is a must for fans of the genre as well as for those who want to approach JRPGs in an accessible way, in the name of absolute excellence.
  5. Jan 3, 2023
    95
    Don’t look at Chained Echoes as a throwback to the 16-bit JRPGs of yesteryear, just look at it as an amazing game with an engaging battle system and wonderfully paced story. You can also look at it as one of the best Nintendo Switch games of 2022.
  6. Dec 14, 2022
    92
    Fans of old school 2D JRPGs, who would like something made today that resembles the great Super Nintendo and PS1 classics, need to play Chained Echoes. It’s a wonderful game. It’s more ambitious than the common indie throwback JRPG, but has many of their modernizations. Every single element of Chained Echoes is full of loving attention to detail. Hopefully Chained Echoes is a success and we can see future projects from its creator. I’ve already ordered a physical copy.
  7. Jan 13, 2023
    90
    I’ve played a lot of retro-inspired games this year, and Chained Echoes easily stands out as one of the best – and it’s not even particularly close. With gorgeous artwork, addicting mechanics, and a world that blends steampunk with high fantasy seamlessly, Chained Echoes is a loving homage to old-school RPGs while still managing to proudly blaze its own path. If you’re looking for a challenging (but not punishing) RPG with an engaging story, enjoyable characters, and mechanics that will keep you coming back for hours at a time, Chained Echoes is an absolute must.
  8. Jan 9, 2023
    90
    Chained Echoes is one of the best RPGs we have played in a long time: charming, colorful and wisely designed, it's a love letter to fans of the genre.
  9. Dec 15, 2022
    90
    Chained Echoes is a wonderful mash-up of '90s JRPG tropes, masterfully woven together to produce an experience that feels simultaneously nostalgic and fresh. A well-paced story, unconventional progression system, tactical combat system, and expansive world all come together to make for a game that is shockingly one of the very best RPGs that we’ve played this year. Really, there’s no place where it feels like Chained Echoes drops the ball, which is all the more impressive when you consider that the vast majority of it was put together by one person. If you consider yourself a fan of JRPGs, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up as soon as possible. Even if you aren’t a fan of the genre, we’d still encourage you to snap this one up; it stands as a shining example of everything that makes RPGs great.
  10. Dec 13, 2022
    89
    With a captivating storyline led by a splendid ensemble of characters and combat systems that remain involving throughout a 30+ hour playtime, Chained Echoes nails the tenets of any respectable RPG while rethinking many of the genre’s more creaky conceits.
  11. Jan 25, 2023
    88
    While Chained Echoes has the advantage of decades of distance from the games it looks to for inspiration, it’s a better experience in many instances than those vaunted games from which it arose. I prefer this combat, storytelling, and approach to progression and exploration to many of the JRPGs I grew up so enamored with playing. That’s the highest praise I can heap on a game so removed in time from the games to which it might be compared. Whether you currently count yourself a JRPG connoisseur or fondly recall the ʼ90s heyday of the genre, Chained Echoes is well worth your time.
  12. Jan 8, 2023
    87
    This is a JRPG that you shouldn’t miss if you enjoyed the 16-bit era of the genre, although it also manages to balance the nostalgia with a modern design to make both old-schoolers and new comers fall in love with it.
  13. Jan 13, 2023
    55
    Chained Echoes is an incredibly uneven RPG heavily inspired by the likes of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears. With bad writing, poorly thought out mechanics, and an overly complex… everything it can be hard to get through. Even so, there is a little fun to be found here, mostly near the beginning.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52
  1. Dec 9, 2022
    10
    Good combat, sprite and story. Giant robots, good characters and 10 hours in an engaging story, I am stoked on this game. Might be a bit oldGood combat, sprite and story. Giant robots, good characters and 10 hours in an engaging story, I am stoked on this game. Might be a bit old school for the kids, but classic jrpg fans will definitely enjoys Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2023
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Half decent, it has a lot of good things going for it: the graphics, the gameplay, the music. It's all made (somewhat) by one dude.

    The story? It just falls apart. It tries too hard to be Xenogears, even copying entire plots, but not in a way that makes it fit with the rest of the story. The dude just doesn't know how to write a story. How can you expect people to relate to your protagonist if you make him out to be some mish mash of anti-hero/hero?

    Oh, so the dude was a major **** in the past, but then spent lifetimes "apologizing"? Oh, so the dude at the very end of the game decides "fk it, I'm too tired to keep on living, I'll let the guy we were just fighting have my body".

    No, this is sht writing. It also has some wke elements as well.

    It's a shame that the story tries so hard to be "different", but ends up just being a jumbled mess. So we have the major evil bad guy, who we NEVER fight, that inspired the ACTUAL villains of the game to keep killing humanity every few centuries IN ORDER TO FIGHT HIM. I know there is a reason given, but it's still rtrded as fk.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 28, 2022
    10
    Perfect RPG games i'm looking so for. The combat not boring as other RPG game.