Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. 90
    Chicory: A Colorful Tale is an incredibly enjoyable and wholesome experience. Its characters are so charming and endearing; its graphical style and world design encourages creativity and wants you to color the world back in. The soundtrack is stellar and completes the package on display here. It's a game that can be enjoyed for all ages and if you decide to pursue all the sidequests, complete the decorating minigames, and find all of the collectibles, you can certainly spend a lot of time in the world of Chicory. My only gripe is a personal one—that I didn’t play this game last year—because without a doubt it makes for a wonderful late addition to the best of what 2021 had to offer. I cannot wait to see what Greg, Lena, Em, Alexis and Madeline will make next, because Chicory can’t be described as anything other than a piece of modern art.
  2. Jan 14, 2022
    90
    The gameplay mechanics, which benefit immensely from touch controls on the Nintendo Switch screen, will grab the players right away and those with creative skills will feel even more stimulated by how the game advances. A real gem of a game that contributes to enrich the Nintendo Switch catalogue beautifully.
  3. Jan 11, 2022
    90
    Chicory: A Colorful Tale, while not perfect on Switch, is still a great game you need to play. The new controls schemes have their issues, but they also have their moments to shine.
  4. Jan 3, 2022
    90
    Chicory: A Colorful Tale is an engrossing adventure that you won’t put down. The main story is enough to pull you in, but it’s the world that you’ll crave more of in the moments you’re unable to play, which is why it’s a good thing this game is finally on Switch.
  5. Dec 23, 2021
    90
    As an adventure game, Chicory is quite sincerely up there with the very best of the genre. There’s plenty to see and do and a full completion run will probably take you 25-30 hours. The characters and their travails are rich and likeable, the game’s sense of humour is generally inspired, and it’s all very sweet without being sugary-twee and talking down to the player. It’s also an affecting little tearjerker that will definitely strike a chord if you make art, and almost certainly will even if you don’t – so long as you’re capable of pretty basic empathy. Chicory is simple to play but impressively long and complex, with perfect controls, performance and visuals. Throw yourself into painting the world and you’ll be left with a game that’s very much your own and speaks to you directly – a beautiful marriage of mechanics, themes and visuals.
  6. Dec 21, 2021
    90
    A beautiful realisation of the joy of playing, Chicory is an astounding use of the medium of video games that also leans heavily into the emotional weight of expectations and doubt. An incredibly real and human story is told with fantastic gameplay, and bringing the world of Picnic back to life is a journey I won’t forget.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 3 out of 8
  1. Jan 19, 2022
    8
    This game is amazing, the characters are super interesting, it makes great usage of the puzzles and paint mechanics, and the bosses areThis game is amazing, the characters are super interesting, it makes great usage of the puzzles and paint mechanics, and the bosses are EXTREMELY fun. I didn't cry while playing this game but the story is super interesting and none of the characters feel 2-dimensional. This game is basically a giant coloring book where you can just sit back and relax. I highly recommend this game if you have played Wandersong, that is made by the same people who made this game! Full Review »
  2. Jan 17, 2022
    9
    An excellent game with great characters and a good plot. Not for everyone, but successfully pulls off what it's going for without fallingAn excellent game with great characters and a good plot. Not for everyone, but successfully pulls off what it's going for without falling into being saccharine. I enjoyed it far more than I expected to, especially after the first few hours. Full Review »
  3. Dec 29, 2021
    9
    Quite probably, my favorite game of all I've played this year. An utterly charming mixture of different influences (Link's Awakening, paintingQuite probably, my favorite game of all I've played this year. An utterly charming mixture of different influences (Link's Awakening, painting games like deBlob, ...) that somehow manages to find its own unique voice.
    It's a bigger and longer game than it may look at first sight, with quite a few optional side quest and collectibles thrown in for good measure. The painting mechanic gives the player lots of freedom, allowing you to paint as much or as little as you wish in whatever way that strikes your fancy, echoing neatly the themes about self-expression found in the story. The Switch version also allows for optional touch screen and motion controls, making it probably the ideal way to enjoy this game.
    Also, great to play local co-op with a kid.
    This is my first ever review on this site, but I simply had to share my love for this beauty. If you feel like playing a game with more than a little influence of 2D Zeldas (with the puzzles and exploration but without the combat) and/or enjoy games about bringing color back to the world, give this little gem a try.
    Full Review »