Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
Buy On
  1. Nov 8, 2018
    70
    This remaster of one of the most influential games of the last generation gets the basics right but fails in other important aspects. The sound quality is quite weak and it delivers a visually inferior performance compared to the other versions of the same remaster, which cannot be justified with the Nintendo Switch hardware. However, truth of the matter is that it gives Nintendo players the chance of getting their hands on this marvelous work for the first time, with the added bonus of playing it wherever they want. That alone is worthy of praise.
  2. Oct 23, 2018
    70
    Again, a Remastered version comes for the Nintendo Switch, this time bringing the Miyazaki’s masterpiece on a new console. The Switch is powerful enough to render every texture in HD but the framerate is not so stable as the last Remastered on PlayStation 4. Maybe not the best version, but the only one that allows to bring Dark Souls with you outside.
  3. Oct 19, 2018
    70
    Dark Souls: Remastered for the Nintendo Switch runs very well performance-wise, but its audio issues are too blatant. It's what keeps an otherwise pretty decent port from reaching absolute excellence.
  4. Oct 18, 2018
    70
    There’s no denying that handheld Dark Souls is still a cool concept, but its struggling framerate makes it difficult to recommend too highly.
  5. Oct 18, 2018
    70
    Dark Souls is one of the most important and powerful games ever made. Switch is the least pleasant place to play it. It works—this is still Dark Souls and Dark Souls is still very good—but sacrifices in presentation and control scream inferiority next to original and Remastered editions of the same game.
  6. Oct 25, 2018
    67
    The game is here in its entirety and feels good to play both with Joy-cons and especially the Switch Pro Controller. Framerate seemed mostly consistent with a few dips that didn’t affect my experience, so the performance is pretty successful. Some new functionality includes gesturing with motion controls and the use of amiibos. Both of these are nice to have, but of all the tweaks and any custom Switch additions I still can’t believe the menu buttons are like they are. Otherwise the base game was the real prize and for better or worse is here as promised.
  7. Oct 18, 2018
    67
    A hasty and superficial porting.
  8. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2019
    50
    It’s another edition of the same old thing. One that has nothing to offer apart from what should be offered in the least – and still doesn’t accomplish it well enough to be worthy of any praise. [13/2018, p.76]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 18, 2018
    There is no denying that Dark Souls on Switch is not the absolute best way to play the game. That honor belongs to your PS4, Xbox One, or PC, but the Switch version of the game is perfectly fine. You sacrifice a higher frame-rate for the opportunity to play the game handheld (and have the option to pause!), and in my experience the trade-off has been worth it.
  2. Oct 23, 2018
    Dark Souls Remastered finally came out for Nintendo Switch, and it’s… okay. I’m not insulted by the graphics or audio because I expected worse, but they’re definitely a step back compared to other versions. Still, I got my handheld Dark Souls, even if I don’t see quite so many players to enjoy it with.
  3. Oct 18, 2018
    The Switch version of Dark Souls simply lacks the polish that the remaster brought with it, and even added in a few issues that aren’t present anywhere else. The ability to play the game on the go isn’t something that you can get anywhere else, and it is hard to quantify just how much that makes up for the issues. Souls Remastered is still a very worthwhile game, but it is hard to justify this version over any other given the weaknesses that are unique to it.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 278
  1. Oct 19, 2018
    10
    this is hands down one of my favorite games ever, and now i can play it on the go with better performance than the original! if your a soulsthis is hands down one of my favorite games ever, and now i can play it on the go with better performance than the original! if your a souls fan and own an switch, this is a must have. this is one of those games that sucks you into its world and haunts you for days after playing. from the world building to the unforgiving but fair game play, Dark Souls is what gaming is all about. Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2018
    8
    This release seems to have more in common with the original release, rather than the current-gen remasters, and that's okay! Especially whilstThis release seems to have more in common with the original release, rather than the current-gen remasters, and that's okay! Especially whilst playing handheld, the game performs well and I found myself only becoming frustrated due to my own lack of patience. I never feel like I am battling poor controls, hitboxes, or poor game design. Easily a quality title for the Nintendo Switch. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2018
    9
    As a person who has never played the first Dark Souls, this was a very satisfying port. The frame rate is consistent and the graphicalAs a person who has never played the first Dark Souls, this was a very satisfying port. The frame rate is consistent and the graphical downgrade is perfectly acceptable (especially after the flack the remaster got on other consoles). There are a few nitpicks though, there is a noticeable compression in the audio and the button mapping in the menus is weird and can't be changed for some reason, but I got used to the compression very quickly and the the B and A buttons don't ruin the experience. Also, fantastic game. Full Review »