Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 30, 2021
    100
    Death’s Door is a fun and unique action-adventure game with appealing scenery and music. You can pick it up and play on the go, and although the controls require skill, it’s easy to master.
  2. Nov 30, 2021
    90
    Death’s Door is one of those nice combinations of a superb presentation and strong gameplay. The game could coast well enough on either of those points, but it hits them both and is excellent as a result. There’s nothing overly deep about the gameplay mechanics, and its brand of action is going to be familiar to most. The most impressive bits are the bosses, which require strong pattern recognition and good reflexes. The gorgeous sights and sounds along the way add tremendously to its atmosphere, doing their part to keep the player pulled into this unusual, compelling world. Action-RPG fans will certainly want to give this a go.
  3. Nov 23, 2021
    90
    With a moody map just begging to be explored, satisfying secrets in every corner, and some immensely rewarding combat that pushes you to your limits; Death’s Door is a sublime action game wrapped in an amazing well realised world.
  4. 90
    It is likely one of the best action games of 2021 and stands apart using its beautifully varied areas to explore. The soundtrack is also fantastic, with composer David Fenn managing to strike a perfect balance between high energy action and peaceful contemplation. Not to mention the crow you're controlling is just a cute little bird. If you are a fan of action games and have an itch for one that will kill around 8 hours, Death's Door is a pretty good place to clock in and get to work.
  5. Nov 23, 2021
    90
    Death’s Door is a modern classic, utilizing old gameplay ideas in a new setting to make for a short and sweet experience you won’t want to miss. The snappy combat, rewarding exploration, and relaxing music will stick with you once you've finished, and while it may not have anything 'new' to offer, Death’s Door is so high quality that you’ll hardly have time to think about it's lack of innovation. We’d give this one a very high recommendation, especially to any fans of Zelda or Soulslike games — Acid Nerve has crafted an experience that’s absolutely worth your time and money.
  6. Nov 29, 2021
    82
    Clever, original, and beautifully presented, Death's Door is a solid Zelda-like indy title...but not without its faults.
  7. Nov 23, 2021
    80
    Death's Door makes its way to Nintendo's portable console with a solid and competent port.
  8. 80
    Death's Door is a delightful action-adventure indie. It has a lot of heart, great combat, and fantastic exploration, though its difficulty and lack of a map can be off-putting.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Nov 26, 2021
    10
    Amazing! Beautiful and really fun! One of the best games I ever played. The bosses are great, the enemies are also great and you will love allAmazing! Beautiful and really fun! One of the best games I ever played. The bosses are great, the enemies are also great and you will love all the characters. This is a game you should play. I finish the game (is a good challenge but nothing frustrating) and I will finish all the post game stuff. Really really great game! I saw comments about the controls but I enjoy them, very responsive and an amazing combat system, you have magic and melee weapons. The dungeons are well created also, you will find shortcuts, some puzzles, group fights, mini boss fights, boss fights and secrets. As a Dark Souls and Zelda fan, this game exceed my expectations, again is one of my favorites this year. Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2021
    9
    I am really enjoying this game. Mix of puzzle, exploring and action. The challenge is fair and the game is a pleasure to play.
  3. Dec 2, 2021
    10
    Just simply AMAZING!! The bosses are pretty worked and optimized and the history is my favorite thing of this game.