User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2017
    9
    This game is the best anime rhythm game thus far on the Switch, very well executed and I cannot emphasize how good the songs are. So much variety, not just piano. Over 200 songs and a well paced artistic story will keep you going for hours. Every songs artwork is based off of the mysterious figure named "Deemo" and the little girl whom he encounters, so it's not completely different songsThis game is the best anime rhythm game thus far on the Switch, very well executed and I cannot emphasize how good the songs are. So much variety, not just piano. Over 200 songs and a well paced artistic story will keep you going for hours. Every songs artwork is based off of the mysterious figure named "Deemo" and the little girl whom he encounters, so it's not completely different songs when it comes to the artwork, per se. All in all, the game is better than VOEZ in my opinion, and truly a hidden gem that people should be aware of. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2020
    8
    This feels like a triple A rhythm game with top notch presentation, original songs and simple but refined gameplay.
  3. Jun 26, 2018
    8
    The song is very good and well made, but there is no reason to enjoy it with the switch.
  4. Nov 22, 2019
    10
    Deemo is a masterpiece of visual storytelling, the gameplay tells a story to you through the music as you feel every note that is hit, the price you pay for all the DLC in one package for the switch version is a steal as it would add up to hundreds of dollars so paying 45$(Canadian) is a very good price for the amount of content you get with every DLC to come will be free on it as well.Deemo is a masterpiece of visual storytelling, the gameplay tells a story to you through the music as you feel every note that is hit, the price you pay for all the DLC in one package for the switch version is a steal as it would add up to hundreds of dollars so paying 45$(Canadian) is a very good price for the amount of content you get with every DLC to come will be free on it as well. This game has gotten me into a wider range of music that I would not try or think about if it wasn’t for this game. A one of a kind experience 10/10 Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beaiful Music and melody

    I have been playing this game on app I am so glad its on ps4 now!!

    100% recommend
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2020
    9
    It's an awesome rhythm game with cute and well-done visuals, good story and music that you will re-listen over and over. Worth every penny and absolutely recommend it.
  7. Apr 6, 2021
    10
    This game is an absolute delight to play. All of the playable songs are beautiful in their composition and a lot of them will have you coming back, not even necessarily to beat your score or 100% it, but just because they can be so much fun just to pull off and play. There is a story here that unfolds as you play through songs and it is very touching, but I wouldn't say its center stage,This game is an absolute delight to play. All of the playable songs are beautiful in their composition and a lot of them will have you coming back, not even necessarily to beat your score or 100% it, but just because they can be so much fun just to pull off and play. There is a story here that unfolds as you play through songs and it is very touching, but I wouldn't say its center stage, which is honestly just praise for how good the gameplay is. I genuinely love that you can use the touch controls on the screen to play the notes just like on the phone version it started as. Highly recommend this game, easily my favourite rhythm/music game Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Feb 23, 2018
    90
    This is easily the best version of the game and a fantastic rhythm game that I’d put alongside Superbeat Xonic which is my favourite one on the platform.
  2. Nov 29, 2017
    80
    Deemo excels in every aspect for a game of its genre. On the surface it may seem like any other rhythm game, however its musical accuracy combined with a stellar and diverse song selection makes it an incredibly captivating experience - it even has an emotional story! The premium package will seem a lot to those not into the genre, but it's an easy recommendation for anyone who is.
  3. 90
    Deemo is a very gentle game. Its minimalist aesthetic aims to connect with players emotionally rather than intellectually or physically, and the end effect is akin to sitting down at a piano and playing a favourite song; but not for the benefit of an audience, and not as an examination or other test of musical skill. Sometimes people play music purely for the joy of music, and that’s what Deemo succeeds in tapping into. Sometimes, just sometimes, people play music simply for the joy of it.