Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 14, 2018
    90
    Detention is a perfect example of how the video games medium can be utilised to tell unfamiliar, but important, stories in a novel and impactful way. That by no means takes away from its credibility as a horror game and instead strengthens it.
  2. Mar 14, 2018
    90
    Detention goes beyond what you would normally expect from a horror game: it’s deep, smart and creative. Sometimes atmospheric and dense, other times emotional and delicate; Detention is an unexpected ride that will provide players a broad variety of emotions as well. The way characters and historic events are handled is just the icing on the cake.
  3. Mar 12, 2018
    90
    ​Detention is more than a simple horror, it carries a message that is a warning and a testament we should not underestimate. This is why we can easily overlook its flaws as a videogame, because is much more than that.
  4. Mar 11, 2018
    90
    This is pure psychological terror. Detention comes to Nintendo Switch with the goal of hooking the player in its intense, but short, story. Its plot and context are the best aspects of this game by far.
  5. Feb 26, 2018
    90
    Hot off the heels of Layers of Fear: Legacy, Detention is yet another horror classic that deserves a place on your Nintendo Switch. Its story has an important message behind it as it introduces themes that seem almost unfair when viewed through the eyes of a child, but that only helps to escalate the horror. Through a terrifying atmosphere, chilling ghouls, and a soundtrack that will sink its teeth into you, Detention is a suitably horrifying title that needs to be experienced first-hand.
  6. Apr 18, 2018
    80
    Detention has a flair of the first horror-themed videogames and with its emphasis on the plot, along with its involving visual and sound effects creates an unforgettable setting for the players. Overall, this is one of the best experiences of the kind that can be found in the Nintendo Switch eShop, thanks to its well-crafted plot, art style, simple but effective gameplay mechanics and involving audiovisual component.
  7. Mar 10, 2018
    80
    The master work by Red Candles Games manages to create a gloomy, baroque and dark atmosphere and of a first-class Survival Horror game, demonstrated through a great artistic composition, sound, topic and gameplay. However, they could have squeezed out a bit more plot. The idea is very good, but it have been executed better.
  8. Mar 13, 2018
    75
    It's held back by some dated design philosophies and a short playtime, but Detention still packs one hell of a punch.
  9. 75
    Detention is a complicated package. Everything outside of its gameplay is top-notch. Its story, visuals, and sound flawlessly accomplishes what (I think) the game is trying to convey. At the same time, these things are experienced through slow, somewhat dull adventure gameplay.
  10. Mar 2, 2018
    75
    In terms of technical achievement Detention is mediocre at best. Having said that, it is hard not to like the suspense and weird moments you encounter in this surreal horror adventure.
  11. Mar 23, 2018
    70
    A horror game that is not as deep as we would have liked, but manages to scare you while it lasts.
  12. Mar 10, 2018
    70
    Detention intelligently mixes traditional point and click mechanics with the anxious ambiance of the survival horror genre. Taïwan-based Red Candle Studios delivers a clever lightning on a very dark period of its country's history, which gives the game quite a bit of originality.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Mar 19, 2018
    8
    Gameplay-wise, there is really nothing new here. Just another horror game with a generic gameplay. There are two or three scary moments that IGameplay-wise, there is really nothing new here. Just another horror game with a generic gameplay. There are two or three scary moments that I can remember while playing the game. Puzzles are easy and straightforward; collect items, put pieces together...etc! It kind of reminded me of classic RE puzzles. Even though the gameplay does not stand out, I did enjoy the game greatly. Why? Because of the story. I enjoyed reading through the notes that are scattered across the game. I love the poetic narrative of this game, too. And of course, the overall message within the story.

    Should you buy this game? Depends on what kind of a player you are. If you are dying for another horror game that is inspired by SH series, then this is for you. Otherwise, I suggest you try before buying.

    Be warned, though! The game is really short. I did get over it in under 5 hours *According to my Switch log*. It was worth my time and money.
    Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2020
    9
    I would've liked it to have been longer because I was enjoying it so much. It's a hauntingly beautiful game that I recommend to everyone,I would've liked it to have been longer because I was enjoying it so much. It's a hauntingly beautiful game that I recommend to everyone, especially if you're a fan of the classic psychological horror games of yore - like Silent Hill, especially. The latter portion is a kind of 'walking-simulator-y,' but by that point, the narrative has earned it. And boy does it have an excellent story - and the atmosphere is top-notch. Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2020
    10
    Great game with alot of thought put into the small things. Based around a true story of a high school in Keelung Taiwan when a principal wasGreat game with alot of thought put into the small things. Based around a true story of a high school in Keelung Taiwan when a principal was executed for printing an illegal newspaper while hundreds imprisoned. The game runs a slightly different story of a book club but still has a number of Taiwan cultural aspects and captures the mental stress that the Taiwanese were feeling during a dark period of history Full Review »