Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. 90
    Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King is a delightful collection for two of the greats of their generation.
  2. 90
    This is an essential entry into the greater view of video game history and I’m so happy that a collection like this exists.
  3. 85
    Overall, this is a great package of some excellent games from the 16-bit era. While I personally believe that the Genesis version of Aladdin is much better than the one seen on the Super Nintendo, the Disney Classic Games collection could’ve used the Super Nintendo version of Aladdin to make this feel more like a complete package. However, the art gallery, quick-save features, and added extras such as the final cut of Aladdin solidify this collection as the definitive way to experience these games. It would certainly be great to have more Disney compilations following this.
  4. Oct 29, 2019
    83
    For an industry notoriously bad at preserving its history, it’s shocking to see a compilation like Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King. After all, how often do we see Super Nintendo, Sega Genesis and Game Boy versions of the same game all together on a single cartridge? Though the omission of Capcom’s Aladdin is certainly a bummer, it can be easily overlooked in a package this robust. While I can already think of other Disney titles I’d like to see receive a similar treatment (Toy Story!), I would love to see other publishers offer similar packages for classic games. This is a model the entire video game industry should get behind. Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King is the new gold standard for compilations. Long live the king.
  5. Oct 30, 2019
    80
    Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King is an admirable package. While some game editions are missing (and Lion King fails to hold up) this bundle shows the kind of care I long to see in all re-releases. It’s worth it for Aladdin alone, while the extras should tempt those on the fence.
  6. Dec 11, 2019
    70
    Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King celebrate the much-loved movie tie-ins in this latest package, filled to the brim with extra content to draw fans new and old in. While some gameplay inclusions go against the grain, they’re entirely optional.
  7. Nov 24, 2019
    70
    Disney Classic Games: Aladdin And The Lion King is a collection for current-gen machines of the action platform games so popular in mid 90s. The museum sections offers some sweet fan-service, together with a good amount of value for nostalgic players and Disney lovers.
  8. Oct 31, 2019
    70
    Aladdin and The Lion King is a well-thought compilation : with only two games (plus some of their handheld variations), Nighthawk put so much extra content to please fans of both the movies and the games : interviews, guide books taken from the movies... We wish we would have more games to play, but the intention is really there.
  9. Oct 30, 2019
    70
    This is a fantastic collection of fantastic games. Most of them have aged quite well, and all the extras included are just incredible –a true treasure for the video game industry. However, some absences like SNES Aladdin are hard to justify.
  10. Oct 29, 2019
    70
    While neither game has stood the test of time without any blemishes, Disney Classic Games: Aladdin and The Lion King is a solid collection full of behind-the-scenes tales from development as well as nearly every edition of both games available.
  11. Dec 3, 2019
    60
    Aladdin and The Lion King are amongst my favourite movies ever, like most kids who grew up in the 90s I’m sure. One thing I never did though was play through any of the games on this collection before, at least not for more than a handful of minutes. I’m not sure if that helps me here or not, but despite this being a great and well put together collection, there’s just not a lot here if you have no nostalgia for the games.
  12. Oct 30, 2019
    60
    An unfortunately tough release to recommend. Though Digital Eclipse did a fantastic job of emulating these releases and throwing all manner of extra features in to sweeten the deal, the hard truth is that the two games that lie at the core of this package just haven't stood the test of time all that well. Aside from the excellent presentation quality, the years have not been at all kind to these releases, and given the wealth of similar retro content available on the Switch eShop now, it’s tough to recommend that a newcomer pick them up. If you played these games as a kid and want a nice walk down memory lane, this is by far and away the best way you could possibly experience them – and that’s not something to be dismissed out of hand. Bearing that in mind, we’d give this release a light recommendation to those who are willing to shell out some cash for pure nostalgia. If you don’t fall into that camp, you should probably steer clear.
  13. Oct 29, 2019
    60
    While Aladdin got a fairly decent treatment in the Disney Classic Games port, The Lion King is left just as barebones and hard as the original.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Oct 29, 2019
    1
    Just saw this on the eShop. Lol 35€ for a couple of 25-year-old games. You have GOT to be joking. I feel sorry for anyone who buys this atJust saw this on the eShop. Lol 35€ for a couple of 25-year-old games. You have GOT to be joking. I feel sorry for anyone who buys this at full price. Especially considering that you can get games like Okami HD or Ori & The Blind Forest for 20€. Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2020
    6
    I was very disappointed when I realized after I purchased this game that the Aladdin is NOT the Super Nintendo version. I wouldn't have boughtI was very disappointed when I realized after I purchased this game that the Aladdin is NOT the Super Nintendo version. I wouldn't have bought this if I would've known, since that version of the game is so much better. Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2019
    5
    These games are decent, Lion King for me was a bit harder compared to the older ones since sometimes, on this newer one, it just wasn'tThese games are decent, Lion King for me was a bit harder compared to the older ones since sometimes, on this newer one, it just wasn't responding as quickly as the older one. Aladdin was alright but it still had a flaw where the fire pits were to big to jump across completely where I would jump right when I get to the fire but still fall onto the fire pit a few times. Full Review »