Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Mar 8, 2019
    90
    With controls feeling slick whichever way you play, the Switch version comes recommended due to its versatility and if you’ve yet to take the plunge (literally) with Downwell, there’s never been a better time to do so.
  2. Feb 22, 2019
    90
    Simple, sweet, and oh so stylish, Downwell is a perfect fit on the Switch. With its easy-to-learn controls, steep but fair difficulty, and some great looking pixel art, this is a must have for anybody wanting a little challenge on their handheld hybrid.
  3. Feb 10, 2019
    90
    Fast and engaging, the simple concept of falling indefinitely in a deep abyss shooting from your feet proves to be still a strange but perfect base for an addictive shooter.
  4. 90
    Despite being four years old this year, Downwell is still as maddeningly enticing as ever and, thanks to the multitude of ways of playing, might be at its most compelling on Switch.
  5. Jan 31, 2019
    90
    This is an excellent port of a game that feels like it’s found a natural home on Switch thanks to a plethora of control options and the console’s natural facility with vertical orientation. Short of popping your 4K TV on its side, Switch offers the very best way to play Downwell. Its roguelike structure and twitch platforming might not be for everyone, but you should really give it a chance. For our money, it’s a modern classic that should be in everyone’s collection.
  6. 90
    I definitely don’t regret the download – even though my Switch is bloated full of titles, I can see myself always coming back to Downwell whenever I need to fill a short five to ten minutes.
  7. 90
    After years of hearing how cool Downwell is, it’s great to see just how fantastic it really is. It’s a straightforward, no-nonsense masterclass in design where it’s super easy to sit down with the intention of playing for five minutes and walk away a dozen runs and more than an hour later. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some gun boots to fire off so I can get to the bottom of this well.
  8. Mar 18, 2019
    80
    At a first glance, Downwell doesn’t catch the eye; it’s a simplistic game with a minimalistic art style, and basic mechanics. But it becomes compelling due to its slick controls and synergistic elements.
  9. Jan 31, 2019
    80
    Downwell continues to be a gripping, fast-paced action game that thrives by pushing you into taking huge, exciting risks. The new Switch version of the game is on par with other versions but carries a few unique pros and cons.
  10. Jan 31, 2019
    80
    If you have the patience and desire to fail often and learn from your mistakes, Downwell is well worth falling into.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 49
  2. Negative: 33 out of 49
  1. Feb 7, 2019
    8
    The movement is smooth, jumping on enemies is satisfying and the amount of understanding you get about the game from each run is just enoughThe movement is smooth, jumping on enemies is satisfying and the amount of understanding you get about the game from each run is just enough to make you want to keep going deeper.
    A phenominal little indie game for just 3$!! You can probably get that for free with your gold coins, definitely try it out!
    Full Review »