Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Jul 11, 2019
    100
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 is the perfect sequel. The kind that improves on every aspect of the original, adding more meaningful content to the mix, quality of life fixes and throwing some interesting new aspects at players, whilst maintaining that core that made the first game so enjoyable in the first place.
  2. Aug 2, 2019
    95
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 takes everything that made the first entry great, and refines it. While the core combat can be a bit on the dull side, the incredible options available for building and crafting make this one an absolute joy to play. Anyone remotely interested in building games and RPGs should do themselves a favour and play it ASAP. You'll quickly get lost in a charming world with seemingly endless options for fun.
  3. Jul 12, 2019
    95
    We found ourselves a complete, long adventure with countless possibilities: a real homage to Dragon Quest and its legacy. It is a vide ogame that, as a spin-off, manages to achieve something very rare: to surpass some of the main entries. And the only way to do this is by caring about the brand, treating it the way it deserves, and adding mechanics the way they should be added.
  4. 95
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 features solid controls, attractive presentation, online multiplayer and limitless charm, but these don’t tell the whole story. Each element of the experience on its own would be less than impressive, but like a pile of wood, bricks, mortar, and steel before its shaped by human hands, the sum of its parts culminate in an impressive and memorable architecture.
  5. Aug 8, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 is an impressive game that shines especially bright on the Nintendo Switch. The game's constant sense of progression and discovery is a joy to behold, whether you're docked to a television, relaxing on the couch, or playing from somewhere else entirely. While the game's performance issues, small text, and barebones online functionality put a slight damper on the fun, the ability to play the game wherever you want more than makes up for it. Whether you're new to the Builders series or are fresh off the original game, Dragon Quest Builders 2 is a great addition to the franchise and a solid choice for your Switch library.
  6. Jul 29, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 takes the base formula from creative sandbox titles such as Minecraft, and mixes it with the best elements from a lengthy JRPG. Its single-player campaign offers tons of quests to conquer, places to explore, and people to meet, resulting in a charming experience.
  7. Jul 24, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 takes the original game's qualities and improves on them to deliver a vast, open world with more possibilities when it comes to progression, city-building and interaction with the other characters. A marvelous game that should, without hesitation, be sought by not just fans of its predecessor and of the Dragon Quest series but by everyone who enjoys spending long, involving hours building the perfect city.
  8. Jul 19, 2019
    90
    A sequel that treads very familiar ground whilst remaining fresh and innovative, Dragon Quest Builders 2 is a great title that delivers on both its promise to give the player an immersive narrative, and also in giving them untold freedom to play the game however they want, as long as they can deal with a dumb hunger meter. Building might be bad, but has never felt so good.
  9. Jul 16, 2019
    90
    Overall, Dragon Quest Builders 2 is just a damn nice game to play. There are loads of small improvements here that really add up, and the game has a lovely atmosphere. If you were ever curious about the original and didn’t play it, I would recommend skipping straight to Builders 2 and diving in as soon as you can. Happy building!
  10. Jul 14, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest Builders sets itself way beyond what we were expecting. Close from the first game in its essence, it also fixes all its issues and add many new ideas and more freedom. A real ode to creativity.
  11. Jul 12, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 is in every right a proper sequel. It takes the good from the original Builders title and improves upon its weaknesses. Sure, maybe the characters prattle on a bit too long, and maybe it takes forever to find the torches in the bag that I know I made, but at this point, these are minor complaints with a game so jam-packed with stuff to do and things to create. If you liked the original Dragon Quest Builders, this is a must-play. Otherwise, if you enjoy Dragon Quest and enjoy building, I’d recommend giving Dragon Quest Builders 2 a go.
  12. Jul 11, 2019
    90
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 is simply everything that its predecessor was and then some, with some improved mechanics, more block types to choose from and a new and more interesting story. This is topped off by a much more social experience thanks to the great implementation of online sharing of creations and the inclusion, at last, of multiplayer.
  13. Jul 11, 2019
    90
    It was hard for me to imagine a way to expand on a game that was already so god but Dragon Quest Builders 2 has managed to do just that. A bigger story, new things to build, multi-player and more make this an absolutely jam-packed experience. Building game enthusiasts will love the blend of crafting and survival management, while Dragon Quest fans are sure to love the unique spin on the long-running JRPG franchise, and if you’re a fan of both? Well, Dragon Quest Builders 2 is the must have game of 2019.
  14. Jul 11, 2019
    87
    Despite certain performance problems, Dragon Quest Builders 2 brings us a bigger and more ambitious adventure than its predecessor, with a new and independent story, many new objects to build, fun mechanics and the addition of a multiplayer mode that make this title an essential game not only for fans of Dragon Quest, but for anyone looking for a game with tons of content to discover and enjoy.
  15. Jul 16, 2019
    85
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 makes the combination of action rpg and sandbox even better. There are so many building styles and objects to use, it is a game to play endlessly. The only thing we could wish for is better controls.
  16. Edge Magazine
    Aug 15, 2019
    80
    The essence of the classic JRPG distilled into an unlikely form. [Issue#336, p.114]
  17. Jul 17, 2019
    80
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 is a great game, combining exploration, sandbox-building, questing, and town-management into a delightful package that will gladly suck up your time and put a big smile on your face. It's the sort of game that you'll intend to play for a little while, only to find that hours have flown by once you manage to actually put it down. Don't dismiss this one when you see big square blocks on the box--you'll be missing out on a very fun twist on an excellent gaming foundation.
  18. Jul 12, 2019
    80
    The charming mix of Minecraft and Dragon Quest works even better the second time round, with a smart sequel that address the flaws of the original while adding plenty of new features of its own.
  19. Jul 11, 2019
    80
    The slow pace and relatively easy combat make for a great game to relax with, which fits the Switch perfectly.
  20. Jul 11, 2019
    80
    It takes a surprising amount of effort to beat Minecraft at its own game, but we’d argue that Dragon Quest Builders 2 in many ways surpasses its inspiration in fun factor and replayability. The melding of JRPG conventions with the open-ended and creatively focused sentiments of sandbox gameplay proves to go over much smoother than you’d expect, especially now that Square Enix seems to know what it’s doing with this sub-series. Dragon Quest Builders 2 is a much more confident game than its predecessor, boldly expanding on its concepts, fixing many of its flaws, and providing an overall more robust adventure experience that fans won’t want to miss out on. Charming characters, a well-tuned gameplay loop, and near endless replayability ensure that you’ll be coming back to this one for quite some time, and though the performance issues are disappointing, we’d still highly recommend you pick up Dragon Quest Builde rs 2.
  21. Jul 11, 2019
    80
    Dragon Quest Builders 2 is an inventive and engrossing sequel, offering a significant, graceful expansion of scale.
  22. Jul 11, 2019
    80
    This is a very slow game, and while I enjoyed the gentle journey, the constant stream of new things to learn sometimes made me feel as though I were trapped in an endless tutorial. But breaking up your list of tasks with some independent creation and exploration time makes it a lot more tolerable. After completing a long series of main missions, I unwound by creating my own dream cabin and garden, as the villagers built a huge pyramid. (It was not lost on me that this division of labour seemed entirely unfair.) That gentle back-and-forth between idle creative play and world-saving missions makes Dragon Quest Builders 2 absorbing and likable.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 107
  2. Negative: 15 out of 107
  1. Jul 15, 2019
    10
    This game is so much fun. I've never played any of the dragon quest games before and figured i'd give this one a shot, I was instantly hooked.This game is so much fun. I've never played any of the dragon quest games before and figured i'd give this one a shot, I was instantly hooked. I saw a review complaining about the game teaching you how to play which I don't think is a good enough reason to leave a negative review. If those tutorials weren't there I wouldn't know how to play the game.... This game is a mixture of minecraft but with a story and fun fighting mechanics. I would highly recommend it. Full Review »
  2. Jul 13, 2019
    10
    If you don't want any story or structure just play Minecraft, otherwise try this.

    Really fun and a great sequel to the first game. I guess
    If you don't want any story or structure just play Minecraft, otherwise try this.

    Really fun and a great sequel to the first game. I guess if you didn't like the first one you wouldn't really like this but if you had any fondness for it you should adore this. It's a refined but similar game play experience. Yes some of the scripting is obviously intended for a Linear A->B style playthrough but there's as much freedom as you want outside the specific, story driven tasks.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 12, 2019
    10
    hoes mad

    hoes mad The game is super good and a great sequel to the first game dragon quest builders 1 the controls are smoother and
    hoes mad


    hoes mad The game is super good and a great sequel to the first game dragon quest builders 1 the controls are smoother and responsive the world is huge and looks amazing
    Full Review »