Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. 100
    The Spring of 2019 has been a wonderful stroll down memory lane of Square Enix glory, and Final Fantasy XII is the high note it ends on. Featuring every quality-of-life improvement to date, and the ability to play in handheld or on a television at a moment’s notice, it’s an easy decision to call the Switch version the definitive experience. Final Fantasy XII may end up being the best of the franchise on Switch, but with so many titles still available, hopefully it won’t be the last.
  2. Apr 30, 2019
    100
    In terms of the quality of Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age on Switch this is a very worthy port. And in terms of value that’s up to how you want to look at the whole package because where it’s virtually double the cost of any previous Final Fantasy port yet you do have a load of added features and content that weren’t in the original PS2 version and even extras to the Switch and Xbox One since then which make this one the definitive and best way to play Final Fantasy XII. So it almost squares even and really you can’t go wrong with this version of the game no matter when you choose to jump in.
  3. May 21, 2019
    90
    Final Fantasy XII feels like one of those games that has gotten more appreciation with age, and that feeling is richly deserved. It also feels like one of those games that the Nintendo Switch was built for. The remastered visuals look great on the handheld screen and the controls and UI work nicely, while new features such as the autosave lend themselves to playing it on the system or otherwise add much welcomed quality of life improvements. It has some flaws and a story that feels like it doesn’t quite tell the full tale, but overall it’s an excellent experience that holds up incredibly well.
  4. May 20, 2019
    90
    With the enhancements and ability to play anywhere, The Zodiac Age on the Switch is everything I wanted from a portable release. It was obviously not feasible to have this on Vita but I’m glad Square Enix put this on a portable because the gameplay perfectly suits portable play and it is the full game with even more features than the PC version that was already a step above the PS4 version. I know its unlikely but the only thing I’d want more from this version is the ability to sync my save with Xbox One since I have that version as well.
  5. May 20, 2019
    90
    Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is even better now that we can follow Vaan, Balthier and the gang on the couch, during the train or vacation. Functions like fast forwarding and auto-saving come in handy when we explore huge catacombs and endless fields, especially for portable gaming.
  6. May 16, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. May 13, 2019
    90
    Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is a good remaster that improves all aspects of the original version with new mechanics that feel great. Despite being less clear in portable mode and specific problems with the camera, it is an excellent game that you should not miss.
  8. 90
    Perfectly suited for portable play, Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is a must buy for any RPG fan on the Nintendo Switch with the game's most definitive release to date.
  9. 90
    Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is arguably one of the best games in the franchise, and with amazing new features like the Zodiac Job board and a newly recorded score, the best just got better.
  10. 90
    Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age on the Switch is a dream come true.
  11. May 3, 2019
    90
    Today as thirteen years ago Final Fantasy XII is still a great game, blessed by an innovative combat system and a great and vibrant world. Maybe the story is not as grasping as others, but it still is a pleasure to play.
  12. Apr 29, 2019
    90
    This is a fantastic version of one of the most unique FF games. It isn’t perfect, but it still is a wonderful game we think RPG fans should try.
  13. May 7, 2019
    88
    Nintendo Switch and Xbox One are now home to the best FFXII version, a port that contains all the new elements from The Zodiac Age edition for PS4 and adds some requested functions, like the job licenses' reset. And, don't forget, the Switch version is the only one that you can play on portable mode, a fact that some of us can't resist.
  14. May 2, 2019
    87
    Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age is a PlayStation 2 title which barely aged in this remastered edition for Nintendo Switch thanks to its divisive but interesting design choices, beautiful art style and fascinating lore.
  15. May 16, 2019
    85
    Final Fantasy 12: The Zodiac Age Remastered is one of the better ports I have played in any game series. I played entirely in handheld mode and only ran into the problem of recharging the system every three hours of gameplay or so. You can once again get lost in FFXII with all updated graphics and gameplay. And if you've never had the chance to play it before, any Switch owner and RPG lover would do well to pick this one up.
  16. May 14, 2019
    85
    Final Fantasy XII was a great game on the PS2 and The Zodiac Age is a great remaster of that classic. The new mechanics works perfectly, visually it's still an outstanding work and the game deserves to be replayed or rediscovered by a new generation of JRPGs enthusiasts.
  17. May 13, 2019
    85
    This was and still is one of the best JRPGs. If you haven’t played it yet, you should give it a chance. Despite its original age, It looks quite decent and the battle system is a dream once you get used to it.
  18. May 1, 2019
    85
    For such a largescale RPG as Final Fantasy XII, it’s great being to experience the title at home and on the go with all necessary enhancements.
  19. Jun 17, 2019
    80
    Final Fantasy XII is a solid entry in the main series that has definitely been improved by updates made with the remaster. Elements of the game that were quite a shake-up at the time stand out much less given where the series has gone over the last decade. If you missed it the first time, this is the best version I could recommend thanks to the portability and all of the most up to date additions and improvements. More importantly, the game is fun. After countless hours of turn-based battles, it was a pleasant change. If you missed it the first time, it’s time to fix that mistake and grab Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age.
  20. May 29, 2019
    80
    All of this comes together for a mostly engaging strategic experience that is just long enough to not wear out its welcome. You’re not going to sink hundreds of hours into it like you did with Breath of Wild and Xenoblade Chronicles 2, but that’s a good thing in this case. Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac age chugs along at a decent speed (albeit sometimes slowed by long, repetitive environments and the micromanagement of the gambit system), with story elements dropped in just often enough to keep you intrigued.
  21. May 28, 2019
    80
    This new (and supposedly last) edition of Final Fantasy XII perfects the already excellent one on PlayStation 4 in 2017 and the following year on PC. The portability of Nintendo Switch is an added value of that version, thanks to a flexible gameplay that adapts to gaming sessions of any duration.
  22. May 20, 2019
    80
    Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age is great. It was great in 2017 on the PS4. It’s greater now on the Switch. It looks amazing and the frame rate is consistent in the dock and in handheld. The price point is an issue. A port of a game more than a decade old should not cost the same as a full price Triple A new release title. There are indie games on the Nintendo Shop that are amazing for only a fraction of the price. Hell the original PS4 version of the Zodiac Age can be found in most stores of $25 and it is ostensibly the same game. If you can find a copy on sale, it is an essential title to add to your Switch library.
  23. May 13, 2019
    80
    Going back to when Final Fantasy XII first released, I must say that I regret not giving the game a fair shot. Roughly 12 years after its release, Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age brings an epic narrative and deserving entry to a classic franchise to the Nintendo Switch. The game also feels right at home on the console and brings with it all the improvements and additions from throughout the years.
  24. May 6, 2019
    80
    Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age on Nintendo Switch is a great porting that can match its PS4 counterpart, adding portability to the mix.
  25. May 6, 2019
    80
    This is the best-designed and most enjoyable version of this RPG classic currently on the market, and it can all be played on the go, too. Though the story comes off as being rather disappointing and the visuals are a little dated, the Gambit-focused combat system still proves to be one of the best we’ve seen in an RPG to date, making it dangerously easy for hours to slip by as you work on min-maxing characters to the best of their abilities. Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age may not prove to be the best Final Fantasy ever made, but it’s still a pretty darned great game in its own right; don’t miss out on this one, it’s certainly worth your time.
  26. May 2, 2019
    80
    But it is above all the prospect of living in such a fascinating setting in portability, and such a profound epic, worth much of the ticket price.
  27. Apr 29, 2019
    80
    If you already own The Zodiac Age, I would still suggest getting the Nintendo Switch version purely for the new additions, which are also available in the Xbox One version. The ability to switch jobs is an invaluable one, and the New Game + feature creates a new level of replayability and grinding opportunities for Zodiac Age’s Trial Mode.
  28. Apr 29, 2019
    80
    Widely acclaimed when it first came out in 2006, Final Fantasy XII is now coming out for Nintendo Switch through its Zodiac Age Remaster, realeased for PS4 in 2017. It's basically the same game, with minor visual flaws, but we won't complain for it's the first time we can enjoy this generous and enchanting journey on a handheld system.
  29. May 7, 2019
    75
    Final Fantasy XII The Zodiac Age on Switch delivers a comprehensive and thrilling journey, though with some flaws. While the game itself offers hours of RPG fun, it's older age shows. The steep price tag is also something to keep in mind.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2019
    10
    Final Fantasy XII was a hugely overlooked game back in the day as the PS360 was already present, but it speaks to its strengths that it stillFinal Fantasy XII was a hugely overlooked game back in the day as the PS360 was already present, but it speaks to its strengths that it still feels like a modern game even today. His approach to open world by giving large but varied areas while still feeling like you are making progress is the kind of great feeling that follows you throughout the game.

    The new gameplay changes allows you to have characters who can fill roles that pushes you to level all of them, and the exclusive features such as the ability to reset jobs instead of being locked to one through the whole game makes experimentation easy and enjoyable. For people with not enough time on their hands, the fast-forward feature allows you to make great amounts of progress even on limited time. It was also highly revolutionary with its gambit system, which still is even today one of the few games that made basic programming enjoyable and intuitive as a visual programming language. I have teached kids how to understand programming concepts with this game. This system allows you to program your party members to do actions for you. in short, you are designing their AI by yourself and it works very well, in a very pedagogic manner.

    The story is also a greatly overlooked one, as it follows Matsuno's flavour of political stories that manages to bring out the humanness in people. It's not so much about good or bad people than it is about the environment they live in and the set of beliefs they have. It's the closest you have to a palatable, Game of Thrones-esque storyline in Final Fantasy alongside Tactics. Not to mention the excellent Sakimoto soundtrack re-orchestrated into rousing arrangements, and the stellar VA cast including class A voice actors such as Gideon Emery, Simon Templeman (Kain!) and Nolan North among many others.

    For people who wants an engrossing experience while witnessing an adult storyline that has few of the anime, shonen-bound trappings but a lot of the western literary references (Shakespeare, Dickens among others) in mind, there is no doubt that it is the best Final Fantasy experience you can have on your switch right now.
    Full Review »
  2. May 29, 2019
    7
    It was the first time I played this game and I think it is good. It is a HD remaster, so smoother visuals which are sufficient. The story andIt was the first time I played this game and I think it is good. It is a HD remaster, so smoother visuals which are sufficient. The story and the characters remembering me a lot of Star Wars what is also good.
    I also enjoyed the Gambit system to create your own AI behavior for each of your party members. You can do it directly in a fight, if you need to change your tactics for an end boss.
    What bugged me the most was the old gameplay and mission mechanics. There is no mission markers and you need to dig deep into the menu to know where you can find your next bounty.
    I caught myself rewatching cutscenes to understand where is my next story mission as the map you have shows only the current dungeon you are into and you can't really zoom out.
    If this old mechanics don't bother you, you will get an enjoyable approx. 70 hour Star Wars like story.
    Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2019
    10
    Absolutely one of the best RPGs I've had the pleasure to play. Final Fantasy XII has always been a personal favorite of mine, ever since IAbsolutely one of the best RPGs I've had the pleasure to play. Final Fantasy XII has always been a personal favorite of mine, ever since I played it back on the PS2, and this port certainly holds up. The added job system and numerous quality of life changes like autosave and a fast-forward button make this the definitive way to play this fantastic game. The story may not be the greatest, and the lip-syncing is yuck at best, but those are the only complaints I can really come up with. The re-orchestrated soundtrack is an absolute treat to listen to and the open-world style gameplay remains as my favorite even after all of these years.

    Put simply, I can't recommend this game enough. If you even mildly enjoy RPGs, this game is a must-play.
    Full Review »