Fitness Boxing Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get off the couch and get moving with fun, boxing-based rhythmic exercises set to the instrumental beats of songs by popular artists, including Lady Gaga, Pitbull and Kesha. You can personalize your workouts by selecting from different fitness goals. Train your way, whether you're on yourGet off the couch and get moving with fun, boxing-based rhythmic exercises set to the instrumental beats of songs by popular artists, including Lady Gaga, Pitbull and Kesha. You can personalize your workouts by selecting from different fitness goals. Train your way, whether you're on your own, with a friend, at home, or on the go! Now you can work out anytime, anywhere on the Nintendo Switch system!

    Get down your boxing basics while getting down to instrumental versions of 20 unlockable hit songs, including "Party Rock Anthem" by LMFAO, "Call Me Maybe" by Carly Rae Jepson, and "Sugar" by Maroon 5. Punch and squat while gripping the Joy-Con controllers to get your whole body moving -- no additional gym equipment required!

    Daily training ranges from 10-40 minutes and offers both Normal and Fast mode. The game software estimates your approximate BMI and daily calories burned so you can track your progress. Choose from a diverse group of trainers and customize their look with unlockable trainer outfits. As you progress, you can earn more songs and more challenging training circuits. If you prefer to work out with a buddy, you can use two sets of Joy-Con controllers or share a pair to enjoy working out cooperatively or test your skills by facing off against each other in a virtual ring!
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jan 1, 2019
    80
    Within its common-sense (and, thanks to Wii Fit, well-known) limitations, Fitness Boxing is a breezy, energetic success that gets your blood pumping.
  2. 75
    Fitness Boxing is a fine selection of exercises. With a ton of courses to get through, you will be hard pressed to not find a skill level that suits you. As you go along, it is easy to take the next numbered version in a series and deal with the increased difficulty. The controls aren't the most accurate, but easily a cut above Just Dance. That being said, the music is easily my least favorite part of the game. Considering you have to time the moves with the songs, I am very surprised by the music choices. It left me with only a handful of songs I really cared about using, which will be the thing that eventually gets me to move on. Until then though, Fitness Boxing serves its purpose very admirably.
  3. Feb 12, 2019
    70
    Fitness Boxing is a better fit for me and while I may not get the body of my dreams using it, anything is better than what I'm working with now.
  4. Jan 15, 2019
    65
    Fitness Boxing doesn’t have a lot of features to speak of, but it does provide a solid workout. Its exercise routines are challenging and enjoyable enough, despite their atrocious background music. Fitness Boxing isn’t going to be the most fun game on your Switch, but it’s worth checking out if you need a little extra motivation to get your heart rate up.
  5. Jan 28, 2019
    65
    Fitness Boxing just suffers from feeling inaccurate, even more so when punches and dodges aren’t correctly registered by the Joy-Cons. It is safe to say though, Fitness Boxing is perfect for those who want to lead a healthy and active lifestyle, but if you’re looking for some casual punching fun, stick to Arms.
  6. 60
    Fitness Boxing does its job and gets gamers on their feet and moving, but its barebone features and lack of music variety makes playing feel like a mix of chore and leisure activity.
  7. Jan 16, 2019
    50
    It’s certainly light on content, light on songs, and rarely feels great to play from a video game standpoint. Yes, you can get a little workout in, but it would be nice if the Switch would accurately track movement more consistently. I think Fitness Boxing has the opposite intended effect after you whiff 3 or 4 hooks or uppercuts due to poor motion sensitivity, which in turn leads to some dejected, frustrating moments. As it stands, I wouldn’t recommend Fitness Boxing to Switch owners, at least not without some deep discounts involved.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Jan 21, 2019
    8
    This game is a legit great workout. Really fun. I had muay thai classes, I'm hitting heavy bags regularly, and this is perfect shadow boxingThis game is a legit great workout. Really fun. I had muay thai classes, I'm hitting heavy bags regularly, and this is perfect shadow boxing workout. Voice acting of some trainers could be better though. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2019
    8
    It's actually a nice game, it helps you keeping a healthy lifestyle, besides the music and poorly made scenarios, everything in this gameIt's actually a nice game, it helps you keeping a healthy lifestyle, besides the music and poorly made scenarios, everything in this game seems to complete it's purpose, keeping everyone fit. I truly recommend it if you are willing to exercise on it everyday. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2019
    8
    Not as good as Wii Fit +, but still a good game for basic Fitness. Just don't ask more from it
  4. Oct 5, 2019
    5
    Good to break sweat. Game wise for the point and stars, can forget it. The movement pick up by the system is a totally fraud.
  5. Jan 16, 2020
    5
    Over priced; Unrefined; Weak as workout. The game gets really easy really fast. It's basically like going on a walk in terms of workouts.Over priced; Unrefined; Weak as workout. The game gets really easy really fast. It's basically like going on a walk in terms of workouts. The levels that require more moving are the most frustrating because the game barely picks up the motions. Not worth the price. Should be a $15-20 game at the most. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2019
    3
    The game is very light on content, the workouts are pretty ok. Though it is seriously flawed.

    1. Whatever section of your body you choose
    The game is very light on content, the workouts are pretty ok. Though it is seriously flawed.

    1. Whatever section of your body you choose in your daily workout, it seems to give you random workout plans.
    2. The motion detection is very bad. It designed something it can't even consistently detect. It gets VERY frustrating.
    3. Framerate is very bad. It lags so hard even my parents who never play video games could notice. The motion detection lags hard too, you never feel that you are working out but playing through a badly design mission.
    4. The remixes are very bad. One of them sounds like the howling of a ghost.
    5. The voice acting is irritatingly bad. The trainers talk in very high pitched voices for the duration oi the workout.

    Overall, it's fine if you are very determined to work out every day, then wait for a sale. if you are casual, then don't get it.
    Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2020
    0
    Sooo expensive - probably due to some licencies - yes - music is just terrible! :D
    And voice acting... :/
    Quite good fitness "game" - BUT
    Sooo expensive - probably due to some licencies - yes - music is just terrible! :D
    And voice acting... :/
    Quite good fitness "game" - BUT poor content for me and motion detection very basic. I can buy full version but ONLY after 50% discount !
    P.S. I bought it due to cv - my gym is closed. The game is even worse... But with music off its better than nothing...
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews