Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 21, 2022
    83
    Regardless of how essential Forever Entertainment’s updated Front Mission 1st Remake update is, the game itself is a classic. It’s wonderful that it’s now available on a modern platform and that the developers have sparked their own revival for a series that has been mostly dormant for over a decade (Left Alive? Never heard of it). With one game down, it’s easy to look forward to the eventual remakes of Front Mission 2 and 3 and, hopefully, even more to come after those with Forever Entertainment in the cockpit.
  2. Dec 8, 2022
    80
    As a long-time fan of the series, I'm delighted that FRONT MISSION 1st: Remake is available for Switch as it's great fun and looks superb to boot. With that being said, it's definitely not for everyone and I can easily see modern gamers being perplexed by this SRPG classic.
  3. Nov 30, 2022
    80
    Front Mission 1st Remake is a faithful adaptation of a franchise I’ve been desperate to see get a second chance. Alongside the likes of Triangle Strategy and Mario & Rabbids: Sparks of Hope, the Switch is becoming a bastion for strategy RPGs – and Front Mission 1st rightly earns a spot alongside them.
  4. Dec 12, 2022
    75
    I enjoyed revisiting Front Mission, and I think the base game is neat enough to warrant a look for any RPG fan out there that hasn’t had the opportunity to play one of these games yet. Both campaigns are pretty sizable, it took me a bit to finish the initial OCU campaign, and then there’s the tougher UCS campaign to check out that I haven’t finished, so you’ll certainly get a number of hours out of the game if you decide to dive in. I’d suggest giving Front Missions 1st: Remake a shot, maybe more so if you’ve never played the game before, just keep in mind that it’s a prettier port of a classic strategy RPG that may not have all the bells and whistles you’re used to with more modern titles.
  5. Dec 29, 2022
    70
    The game remains a solid revisiting of a years-old game. And it serves as a good way for folks to experience one of strategy and mecha gaming’s foundational works on a current platform. Front Mission 1st: Remake won’t set hearts aflame with novelty, but it is a satisfying return to first principles, with a promise of more to come.
  6. Dec 20, 2022
    70
    Front Mission 1st is a remake that renews the '95 game mainly from a graphic standpoint. Maybe that's enough for some, but we would have preferred something bigger and more exciting.
  7. Dec 12, 2022
    70
    Front Mission is a venerable SRPG series that appears to be turning a corner in the West. Front Mission 1st: Remake is a solid effort at remaking the first game in the series without modifying too much of what makes this game a classic. With announced remakes of Front Mission 2 and 3 forthcoming, it is an exciting time to be a Front Mission fan. While more effort could have been taken in actually modernizing and upgrading the game’s mechanics for modern sensibilities, Front Mission 1st: Remake preserves the integrity and depth of the original’s complex systems, even if these metal joints are starting to feel a bit rusty.
  8. Dec 8, 2022
    70
    Front Mission 1st is a solid and entertaining tactics game that deserved a bit more attention than it got.
  9. Dec 7, 2022
    70
    Front Mission 1st: Remake often feels old but that’s no huge surprise. It is after all an old game. It released nearly 28 years ago. That it still mostly holds up as an excellent strategy RPG with an excellent story, interesting customization, and strategic combat, is impressive. While it may fall a bit short of what we’d hope for in a true remake, it remains a strong game worth the time of fans of the genre.
  10. Dec 6, 2022
    70
    As remakes go, Front Mission 1st: Remake gets the job done and not much more. Its cleaner visuals oddly make the thing look cheaper than the original at times, but the fundamental gameplay mechanics and story are both as sound as they ever were and generally carry the whole affair. This is a game that probably could have benefited from some bigger changes, but if all you’re looking for is a straight remake and don’t mind the new look, here you go.
  11. Dec 6, 2022
    70
    Front Mission 1st: Remake is a good time, if not quite a great one. For all its bumps in the road, and in a strange way, perhaps in part because of them, there is immense satisfaction in clearing each stage. Regardless, I’m glad the series is getting some love again, and I’m pretty pleased with Forever Entertainment’s crack at things overall. If their quality of work is maintained going forward, I suspect we’re in for some real treats with the second and third installments.
  12. Dec 2, 2022
    70
    A very straightforward remake misses some opportunities, but delivers a fun enough outing for the genre nonetheless.
  13. Nov 30, 2022
    70
    While Front Mission 1st didn’t set my world on fire, and I found it lacking in a lot of areas, I did enjoy it. It’s not the best tactical strategy game to come out this year, but it’s welcome nonetheless. It’s also a great and loving remaster of the Super Famicom title, and while there are places I wish it was tightened up, I’m overall happy about it. It leaves me excited to play the next two remasters as they work their way to release.
  14. Nov 30, 2022
    68
    It's a pity that Square Enix and Forever Entertainment had both settled for a (too) faithful remake of a game that was fascinating and difficult but also unbalanced and often unfair. Little things like new menus, new tutorials and a slew of QOL options could have made this a much better game overall. The way it is now, it's only recommended to hardcore long-time fans.
  15. Dec 5, 2022
    65
    It’s good to have a remake available in Europe and localized, but it feels like a missed opportunity to improve the outdated gameplay.
  16. 60
    For a 27-year-old game with only minor changes this is still an enjoyably taxing tactical role-player but it’s new games this series needs, not more remakes.
  17. Dec 5, 2022
    50
    A list of boxes was checked, but the soul here is missing, and players will most likely pick up on that and stay away. This franchise has long been neglected by its owner, and while a trilogy of remakes ought to be a sign that Square wants to reignite interest in Front Mission, 1st is, unfortunately, the exact opposite. You wanted Front Mission; here it is, now go away.
  18. Nov 30, 2022
    50
    Unless you’re a die-hard fan of the original or the TRPG genre in general, you’re probably safe to give this one a miss or just lower the difficulty of the combat to enjoy the story. Despite the strengths of the setting and the characters, the gameplay becomes more frustrating than fun and won’t keep most players engaged past the first few hours. It’s a shame because there is a brilliance to telling the same story from two opposing points of view, but that gets buried beneath poorly implemented mechanics. Unfortunately, modern visuals and sound can't salvage gameplay here that feels too random to be satisfying.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 21 out of 41
  1. Dec 3, 2022
    10
    I'm really happy to get the chance to play this gem.

    It is a really good TRPG with cool mechas. On normal it is sometimes quite hard, but
    I'm really happy to get the chance to play this gem.

    It is a really good TRPG with cool mechas. On normal it is sometimes quite hard, but since you can lower the difficulty between missions it isn't really a issue.

    If you like TRPG's give it a try!
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2022
    10
    Front Mission 1st it’s more like remaster with new graphics and some new features, but they decided to keep old features as much as they canFront Mission 1st it’s more like remaster with new graphics and some new features, but they decided to keep old features as much as they can and price is really affordable for such a nice game. Full Review »
  3. Dec 2, 2022
    0
    The phrase "that's XCOM baby" should be replaced with "that's Front Mission baby".
    I love turn-based strategy games, but I absolutely hate
    The phrase "that's XCOM baby" should be replaced with "that's Front Mission baby".
    I love turn-based strategy games, but I absolutely hate Front Mission first remake.

    The RNG is just absolutely brutal and frustrating, On my turn, I will miss half of my shots even the I am taking the highest chance shots I can. It is such a brutal grind repeating turn after turn only for your units to keep missing. Then you run into a boss enemy and one of your parts gets one shotted. So not a whole lot of tactics or strategy on the go here.

    While there are lots of parts in the game you will only use a handful of them.
    Add a very meh story and the grinding you have to do in the arenas to have money to buy parts and it is a horrible game.
    Full Review »