User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 21 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2022
    9
    Very faithful to the og game back on the SNES. Love the new music, UI, animations and content in this remake. Just needs some patches and it be perfect. Wanzers are back, baby!
  2. Dec 8, 2022
    9
    This is a very faithful remake of the Nintendo DS version of the first Front Mission which is the best version. It has a really good remastered soundtrack and upgraded visuals. More importantly the feel of the battles is great and the small changes and additions they made to it only improve the experience. Front Mission is in my opinion the greatest tactical war game of all. All of theThis is a very faithful remake of the Nintendo DS version of the first Front Mission which is the best version. It has a really good remastered soundtrack and upgraded visuals. More importantly the feel of the battles is great and the small changes and additions they made to it only improve the experience. Front Mission is in my opinion the greatest tactical war game of all. All of the customization you can do on your wanzers. All of the grinding and preparation that you have to do before your missions to be able to take down the higher level enemies in some intense battles for this game to have originally come out on the Super Famicom in 1995 it blows my mind. But this remake brings it to a more modern experience in a beautiful way and I can't wait for the upcoming remakes of 2 and 3. Highly recommend this game it is one of the best games that you can play on the go on a handheld console. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2022
    10
    Among the best Tactics JRPG's out there along with Fire Emblem Awakening, Shining Force 3 and Tactics Ogre Let us Cling Together.

    The story is a bit dark compared to other games in the JRPG genre, very comparable to an actual war. Without making any spoilers past the into cutscene, the purpose of the game is to find your fiance who went missing and while looking for her you build up an
    Among the best Tactics JRPG's out there along with Fire Emblem Awakening, Shining Force 3 and Tactics Ogre Let us Cling Together.

    The story is a bit dark compared to other games in the JRPG genre, very comparable to an actual war. Without making any spoilers past the into cutscene, the purpose of the game is to find your fiance who went missing and while looking for her you build up an army and get deeper and deeper into enemy occupied territory.

    Gameplay, there is a lot of micromanaging. This is a game for experienced tactics gamers, but not quite as hard as FE Geneology of the Holy War or Thracia 776. Expect to spend up to an hour between levels to optimize your equipment.

    The actual combat is fantastic, you really need to be careful. Push too hard and your repair bill next level will be over the top. Too conservative and you become overwhelmed and lose anyway.

    This game is also much better than the other Front Mission games. I never understood why people liked Front Mission 3 so much when you only had 4 playable characters in that game.

    If you enjoy tactics JRPG's like Fire Emblem, Tactics Ogre, Final Fantasy then give this game a go. Front Mission 1st is easily among the best Squaresoft games of the 90's.

    Honestly a 10/10, but for a niche genre. The only reason this Squaresoft classic is getting low score is because people can't handle 1990's tactics micro managing and are upset that it costs so much when the changes are minimal.

    If Chrono Trigger or FFVI was remade like this, people would love it.

    Tactics games were at their bests in the 90's, and this is one of the best. Expect a classic 90's Squaresoft JRPG if you pick this up.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2022
    10
    Front Mission 1st it’s more like remaster with new graphics and some new features, but they decided to keep old features as much as they can and price is really affordable for such a nice game.
  5. Dec 3, 2022
    10
    I'm really happy to get the chance to play this gem.

    It is a really good TRPG with cool mechas. On normal it is sometimes quite hard, but since you can lower the difficulty between missions it isn't really a issue.

    If you like TRPG's give it a try!
  6. Dec 1, 2022
    8
    Nostalgia is one hell of a thing. I really wanted a new front mission game to play on my switch and it looks like remakes are what I'm going to get. The graphics are nice and a LOT better than I was expecting. The rain, fire, and smoke pop on the OLED screen. I don't like all the menu hopping and think its borderline excessive trying to buy, sell, and setup your wanzers. This could haveNostalgia is one hell of a thing. I really wanted a new front mission game to play on my switch and it looks like remakes are what I'm going to get. The graphics are nice and a LOT better than I was expecting. The rain, fire, and smoke pop on the OLED screen. I don't like all the menu hopping and think its borderline excessive trying to buy, sell, and setup your wanzers. This could have been streamlined. They also could have added a tutorial explaining what weapons and items (different numbers) do but I caught on pretty quick. However I can also see how it could get confusing if you've never played a front mission game before. The story is dark, but it's a tactics game about war so I totally get it. And appreciate it. I started the game on corporal which was the middle of the three options available in the beginning and I'm assuming that it's the normal mode. It is tough enough to give me a challenge and make me think but didn't beat me down. There are tougher modes to unlock I'm guessing after you beat the game and 2 different scenarios to play. I wish it were voice acted but at 34.99 I guess it's budget didn't warrant it. The music is remixed or old school and ranges from getting on my nerves to nice. Gladly the tracks change often or can be turned off. The hd rumble is there. And it's nice because it's simulating war I really wanted this thing to shake. I don't like how much your wanzers miss shots and I'm not really sure how it's decided other than a random number generator inside certain perameters. The game is not broken tho so that's a good thing, it also doesn't stutter or miss frames. Everything runs as expected keeping loading fairly quick. And it's easy to see and detect what is what even in handheld mode. It's more or less what I wanted so I can overlook all the things it does that I don't like. Like I said, nostalgia is one hell of a thing. I wanted front mission and I got front mission for better or worse. For giving me what I wanted, which was a pretty good front mission game graphically and not messing up the core experience I more than feel it earns an 8 out of 10 because when I'm playing it I am all smiles. However I don't think that this game will bring in many new fans or replace Pokemon as a top seller, but for fans of the series, it's nice enough. It may seem like I have a lot of complaints for a game I gave an 8 to, but it's front mission and it stuck to it's source material so I knew what to expect and for that 1st remake met or exceeded what I expected it to be and my quibbles over what it's not are negligible Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2022
    0
    The phrase "that's XCOM baby" should be replaced with "that's Front Mission baby".
    I love turn-based strategy games, but I absolutely hate Front Mission first remake.
    The RNG is just absolutely brutal and frustrating, On my turn, I will miss half of my shots even the I am taking the highest chance shots I can. It is such a brutal grind repeating turn after turn only for your units to
    The phrase "that's XCOM baby" should be replaced with "that's Front Mission baby".
    I love turn-based strategy games, but I absolutely hate Front Mission first remake.

    The RNG is just absolutely brutal and frustrating, On my turn, I will miss half of my shots even the I am taking the highest chance shots I can. It is such a brutal grind repeating turn after turn only for your units to keep missing. Then you run into a boss enemy and one of your parts gets one shotted. So not a whole lot of tactics or strategy on the go here.

    While there are lots of parts in the game you will only use a handful of them.
    Add a very meh story and the grinding you have to do in the arenas to have money to buy parts and it is a horrible game.
    Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2022
    10
    One of the best trpgs ever, maybe a little dated now, but still a good game at its core. The great gritty story, well-updated visuals, and music. It deserves a chance, if you like the genre, I highly recommend it. For first-time players, expect the challenge. It's an old game, and the remake is doing very little in the quality of life features department.
  9. Dec 7, 2022
    0
    This game was a 0 when it originally came out and the price-tag is too high for such a disgraceful lack of soul and content. Square Enix will just throw anything out and I think that's why I do not respect them. Final Fantasy Crisis Core for XBOX but not Remake for XBOX? This company is not loyal to its customer base and supporters. Jim Ryan completely dictates how they release games.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 19, 2023
    95
    Front Mission was already an amazing game that is fun to play even nowadays, and that got better over time, but the remake managed to correct almost all the flaws from the previous ones: brought a faster and intuitive gameplay, more accessible in terms of difficulty, amazing graphics that don't take away the atmosphere which the old ones got right and much more. If you want a game like DioField Chronicles or Tactics Ogre Reborn, but with a modern setting, or just want to play an incredible TRPG, this game is for you.
  2. Dec 29, 2022
    70
    The game remains a solid revisiting of a years-old game. And it serves as a good way for folks to experience one of strategy and mecha gaming’s foundational works on a current platform. Front Mission 1st: Remake won’t set hearts aflame with novelty, but it is a satisfying return to first principles, with a promise of more to come.
  3. Dec 21, 2022
    83
    Regardless of how essential Forever Entertainment’s updated Front Mission 1st Remake update is, the game itself is a classic. It’s wonderful that it’s now available on a modern platform and that the developers have sparked their own revival for a series that has been mostly dormant for over a decade (Left Alive? Never heard of it). With one game down, it’s easy to look forward to the eventual remakes of Front Mission 2 and 3 and, hopefully, even more to come after those with Forever Entertainment in the cockpit.