Golf Story Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tee up anywhere - on and off the course. Golf Story combines the sheer excitement of golf with a serious story that plays out over 8 different courses. Play the story of a golfer who is forced to give up all that he holds dear for one last shot at accomplishing his dreams. But all is not soTee up anywhere - on and off the course. Golf Story combines the sheer excitement of golf with a serious story that plays out over 8 different courses. Play the story of a golfer who is forced to give up all that he holds dear for one last shot at accomplishing his dreams. But all is not so simple in the world of golf. To best today's players you have to be able to keep up with them both on and off the course.

    Features:

    * Tee up anywhere! Youll be surprised by how many problems can be solved by hitting a golf ball at them.
    * Explore 8 unique environments, each with their own courses, challenges, people and secrets.
    * Play through a dramatic story with a diverse cast of characters.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Golf Story - Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 6, 2017
    92
    Golf Story is a smashing success and does so much more than it needs to. While the game would have been well received simply for its golfing aspect, Sidebar Games has built a great narrative and world around it.
  2. Oct 5, 2017
    90
    Golf Story is charming, witty, funny, adorable, entertaining, and a must-have for your Switch collection.
  3. Nov 3, 2017
    88
    Golf Story is well worth the addition to every Switch owner's library. Its zany cast, easy-to-grasp gameplay, and wonderful art design make for an incredibly rewarding experience.
  4. Oct 10, 2017
    80
    Fun, diversified, generous and also technical, Golf Story synthesizes two great gameplay types to deliver a love story between golf and classic RPGs. With great dialogue and a hardy direction, the game offers a decent amount of courses, even though it may lack some real challenge in the end.
  5. Nov 29, 2017
    80
    I was already hooked by the idea of a golfing game with an overworld, side quests, stats, and leveling, but it wound up being so much more than that. The fact it's not trying to be a sim makes it so approachable, and I have no problem suggesting this to people who don't even like golf. Technical issues notwithstanding, Golf Story is an unexpected and excellent addition to the Switch's eShop lineup.
  6. Oct 6, 2017
    78
    A golf game with an interesting story and some good variations that keep changing the classic formula.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Nov 9, 2017
    50
    There's plenty to like here - the script almost justifies a playthrough by itself - but it's a little overlong, a little padded out, it's obvious charms soon obscured by busywork, reputation and irritation. [Christmas 2017, p.122]

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74
  1. Oct 30, 2017
    10
    Definitely 15 dollars well spent. I often prefer cartoon golf games to realistic ones and this is no different. The game provides a fun storyDefinitely 15 dollars well spent. I often prefer cartoon golf games to realistic ones and this is no different. The game provides a fun story and a quick game mode if you just want to fire it up with some friends. This is definitely one of the best indies on Switch yet. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2017
    10
    I've never been into sports games (or even sports), so at first Golf Story didn't catch my eye. However, when people started telling me it wasI've never been into sports games (or even sports), so at first Golf Story didn't catch my eye. However, when people started telling me it was an RPG, I started paying more attention to it. Watching the game's first 30 minutes was all I needed to decide to buy it, and after playing it myself I was hooked! This has got to be one of the funniest, goofiest, most enjoyable and charming games I've played in a while. The game has a lot to offer under its colorful graphics and it's much more than meets the eye. It's relaxing, unexpected and fun! Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2017
    9
    This game provides aesthetically pleasing courses, a Mario Golf style gameplay, combined with elements of old RPG games. While this soundsThis game provides aesthetically pleasing courses, a Mario Golf style gameplay, combined with elements of old RPG games. While this sounds like an odd combination, Golf Story succeeds in nailing it. The golf gameplay can be as simple as you want but also has a little bit of advanced controls if you choose to do so (Draw/Fade, half shots, etc.). The side quests are usually pretty easy and quick and the main story line has very good dialogue and direction. As someone who is an avid golfer in real life and also has enjoyed games like Tiger Woods and now Rory Mcilroy, I was not expecting to enjoy this game as much as I have in the first 2 hours of play. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2017
    9
    I'm a big fan of Mario Golf for GBC and Advance Tour for GBA, and unfortunately it's been quite a while since Nintendo has released a MarioI'm a big fan of Mario Golf for GBC and Advance Tour for GBA, and unfortunately it's been quite a while since Nintendo has released a Mario Golf (or Tennis for that matter) game in that vein. Fortunately, Sidebar Games picked up the slack. This game scratches that same itch on so many levels and it's so clear where they received a lot of inspiration. It may not be quite as polished and fully featured as the games I mentioned, but it's damn close. For $15, it's a game you shouldn't ignore. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2017
    8
    The game is absolutely amazing, the music, the gameplay, the characters and the story!!! My only one complain is that most of time it feelsThe game is absolutely amazing, the music, the gameplay, the characters and the story!!! My only one complain is that most of time it feels too easy for people that know how to play a golf game. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2018
    8
    Golf Story is a goofy, quirky, charming 2D RPG based around golf that doesn't take itself too seriously and has a great sense of humor. YouGolf Story is a goofy, quirky, charming 2D RPG based around golf that doesn't take itself too seriously and has a great sense of humor. You have stats that you upgrade as you progress through the story, not just playing matches or tournaments, but doing golf and non-golf mini-challenges and optional sidequests to gain more EXP and cash for upgrades.

    The golf gameplay is very simple and easy to pick up—press the button on a meter bar at the right times for power and accuracy—but throws in enough mechanics to keep it engaging: club upgrades, applying spin, adjusting hit-point on the ball to affect angle and roll, etc. The courses are mostly unique and interesting. Some of them are rather unconventional, like a caveman valley of dinosaur bones, a spooky graveyard, and a snowy winter wonderland. Every course has its own challenges so it's never boring. You have to learn to deal with ice/snow, landing zones where birds move your ball to a different spot, greens that aren't greens but rough grass, tar, puddles, water animals that can bounce your ball further, pumpkins that will bounce your ball way off...all sorts of shenanigans. It's a refreshing and casual take on golf.

    On the downside, the putting mechanics suck. Your only indication of slope is a directional arrow in the HUD pointing the angle and whether it's slight, medium or hard. Accurate putting can be confounding at times. The AI in matches in tournaments isn't very good either, so most of the game felt a breeze to get through. Would have been nice if there were difficulty options.

    Furthermore, the non-golf mini-games are not fun and have terrible controls. RC car, frisbee, drone, etc...they're all optional but awful if you just can't help but want to do every side-quest. The golf side quests are mostly all interesting challenges, but some of them can be infuriatingly hard. Also, there's some terrible user design: on many side-quest golf challenges, even if you've already met the requirements (like hit x number of targets), you have to take all your allotted shots before the challenge ends; there's no option to quit or restart in the middle of a challenge; and the NES throwback games you can collect and play virtually are glitchy as hell, forcing you to reboot the game.

    Overall, it's a fun, charming little game that's worth it, even if it's got some bad mechanics, user design, and glitches. If they make sequels, there's definite room for improvement.
    Expand
  7. May 18, 2018
    0
    9.5 hours in, game breaking bug. Turned me to the size of mouse and can walk off the screen. Wont buy from this dev again.

See all 74 User Reviews